Fredericksburg, VA
Pratt Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #10 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 438ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Approach



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Pratt has changed

5+    1/29/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: discgolfne1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean fairways, bathrooms on both sides, variety of shots needed, parking for front or back holes, well marked tee pads.
Cons: On some of the back 9 holes you must walk carefully. Some tee pads (natural) can be tricky.
Other Thoughts: I read the other reviews and decided to do something about it. I don't think it deserved 0 stars from 1 reviewer (Giles? you must be kidding... bring extra blood and discs with you) Anyway as of 10/1/08 it has gone through a complete transformation, and is going to get even better. The fairways are fair. The pads are now marked with tall white 4 x 4 posts. There is a map on hole 1. There is a 1000 ft walk from hole 18 to hole 1, but if you know the short cut through the YMCA you can park close to both these holes. It is suggested that you park there during the winter months because they chase you out at 5pm. No problem parking at the YMCA. Since the cleanup everyone I have talked to says it is a wonderful course. BTW was established in 1984 not 1978.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Scenic must play course

5+    12/31/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: bangdachains
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with many scenic holes. There are elevation changes, so you have to throw some shots uphill, some downhill and some flat. There are a variety of long holes and medium holes. There are a few open holes but mostly wooded technical holes which dogleg both left and right as well as some straight fairways. There is good parking, bathrooms w/ automatic flush toilets & hot and cold water sinks. Lamenated course maps are available in the mailbox right next to hole #1's teepad.
Cons: Some of the walking paths can be slippery, especially on the back nine, be careful walking across the creeks on the back nine. No tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend playing this course. It is very scenic and tests your skills. It is fun and challenging for both beginners and experienced players.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Play the back nine twice

7/30/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: sLogan
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The back nine holes are a lot of fun, especially in the fall. There are good changes in elevation and distance, and the holes around and across the creek bed make for a scenic half round.
Cons: Signage. Like other reviewers the first time I played here we wandered around looking for tees and baskets. Go with someone who knows the course if it's your first time out. I'm not a big fan of the front nine holes but the back nine can be a lot of fun.
Other Thoughts: Park at the back of the park near the skate park and baseball fields to avoid the long walk back across the soccer fields from 18. You can access the back parking lot from Butler Rd. Drive to the back of the lot near the shelters and you should see a path to the left of the shelters that will take you to the 9th-ish tee and make a quick 9 hole game (or two rounds of the same 9 holes) very convenient.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  This is the worst course in Va

4/21/2008   4/25/2008
Review By: 8675309
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: It's close to many much better parks
Cons: The whole course
Other Thoughts: This course is absolutely the worst sourse i have ever been to. The layout is horrible, Holes are poorly marked. I don't think this course has ever been maintained except for the mulch dumped in huge piles at the tee pads. Half of the holes throw over or across a parking lot, picnic area, soccer field, running trail, even power lines. There are a few nice holes that are fun to play but unless you plan on playing the 3 good ones six times each then this course is a complete waste of time. i had more fun seeing how far i could throw across the seven hundred soccer fields between #18 and the parking lot than i did playing the course. Go north and play Giles Run instead!

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 This Course Frustated Me!

8/10/2003   3/11/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2008
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I think the park itself has a world of potential. It's a beautiful location for a course and has some elevation change. Some of the back nine holes were scenic, challenging and enjoyable to play. The course starts with a few open holes then moves into the wooded area.
Cons: The course was so poorly marked. We wandered around aimlessly, finally missing about four holes. We never found a tee area for one of the early holes. It was totally frustrating to drive around and locate this course and then discover how poorly marked it was.
Other Thoughts: Until the local Disc population steps up and properly signs the course, I would mark it off your to play list. There are too many other courses to play and discover.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Tough call

11/25/2006   8/2/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 239  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The cayon/river area is beautiful. I say skip right to the back 9 and you'll like this course much more. Those last 7 holes are just beautiful.
Cons: Virtually no signs led us to play #'s 2 & 3 to wrong baskets. After #1 the wooded holes are just poorly laid out.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A few beautiful holes on the back 9

1    8/2/2007   8/2/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 295  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The approach to hole 12 and the green are gorgeous down by the creek.
-Hole 16 is one of the most beautiful I've played in VA (played ~3/4 of the courses in the state.)
-Holes 17 & 18 have very pretty and unique fairways along a creek bed in the bottom of a ravine.
Cons: If you park in the lot nearest to hole 1 you have a beast of a long walk back from basket 18.
Other Thoughts: Holes 12, 13, 16-18 alone make the course worth playing. They also considerably boosted my overall rating.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.