Chester, VA 
Goyne Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: vcuguy86 Hole #18 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 372ft.   3 / 535ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great course, no maintenance.

5+    8/3/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: itsbai
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -very technical, great layout, keeps you thinking
-never lost a disc
- some interesting wildlife you wouldn't see elsewhere
Cons: -so grassy! I came home so itchy.
-the water is discusting (just a pet peeve ;)
Other Thoughts: I love this course when it's maintained. During the fall the course is great! I guess the maintenance takes a break in the summer. I will still go back often, just wil come with high socks and more big spray!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Simple way to lose discs

5+    5/31/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: rchendricks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 6/4/2013
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Bigger shots for those who have a great arm.
Great RHFH shots.
Not a lot of people play this course, tends to be more open then a lot of other courses in Virginia
Cons: YOU WILL LOSE A DISC i have played this course about 10-15 times and have lost a ton of discs on it. You will spend more time finding discs than actually playing the course.

The lake/pond is just a natural disc eater and if you don't have a great anhyzer throw for 3 you will lose a disc

Course can be unforgiving considering its a par 3 all the way through
Other Thoughts: While this is not an intricate course at all the fact that hardly anyone plays makes the course play better but you will likely go hiking into the woods to find a disc

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/14/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Goyne was a fun course to play. My group had the course to ourselves. The distances from the short tees are all under 400 feet but there is still a nice challenge here. There are many blind holes and OB to contend with. The disc golf area of the park is "disc golf" only which is nice.

Other Pros:
- practice basket visible at parking lot
- kiosk with a course map (do take a look for tricky spots)
- great tee signs at short tee (arrow pointing to the next tee on those signs)
- clean, well kept
- risk/reward (water, blind shots, OB)
Cons: The biggest con has to be how cramped the holes are. Like I said, we had the place to ourselves so it was not an issue but, it could be.
Take a look at the course map (Links/files tab), you can see where fairways can overlap.

Other Cons:
- bugs were bad
- navigation can be tricky
- long tees are tough to find sometimes
Other Thoughts: The course parking lot is located at the back of Ecoff Elementary. I saw a porta-potty towards the actual park if you are in need of that.

When I walked to the first tee, I came to the long tee which is next to the water, if you want the short tee, it's just down the small hill.

I loved the first 3 holes which utilized the pond.
The long tees for these holes are very challenging, risky, and fun.

I had a hard time deciding on the rating, to me it's somewhere in between 2.5 and 3. I gave it a 3 because I had the course to myself which does alleviate many of my cons.

Go play it at non-peak hours!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

1    4/17/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great variety of short, shot-placement holes, some ace runs, and some wide open bomb holes.

Nice, well demarcated tee areas (for the yellow tees).

2 sets of tees for varied levels of challenge.

They honestly made an 18 hole course out of the land needed for a 9 holer.

Great signage! The course map is at the start and at hole 9-10. Signs at every tee and directing you to the next tee after each basket. Best signage in the Richmond area!

Nice practice/warmup area and basket - that is always a plus.
Cons: Navigation is confusing. Way too many baskets can be seen from many tees, making it hard to figure out which one is the intended target.

Holes are clustered together too much - dangerous if multiple groups are on the course at the same time.

Lots of briars and marshland - definite disc loss opportunities.

Blue tees are not nearly as well kept as the yellows. Some we could not find.

The sand/gravel tees are pretty nice, but have also been confused as litter boxes by some local animals.

Technically the course is only open after the elementary school hours. Not sure you would get kicked off, but it says so on the kiosk.
Other Thoughts: Holes 14-15 looked like they completely ran out of real estate and squeezed them along the property line.

Overall its a really fun course that is a decent change of pace from some of the other courses in the area.

Navigation to the course is a little strange. DO NOT go into the Goyne Park entrance. Instead, go into the Ecoff Elementary school and down the right side of the parking lot - you will find the practice basket at the end of the parking lot and the kiosk for the course.

Keep a look out on the hole signs for yellow/orange arrows. These are Mandos that you might otherwise not know about.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Oh where oh where

5+    8/18/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Auto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 1/18/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Location. It is in a great location in the heart of Chester . History of bEing a former golf course which allows a lot of open fairways and long drives. A nice degree of difficulty for a newer player but difficult to keep up with more experience players in the same round.
Cons: Mostly open and long fairways that keeps you inthe sun. No trash recepticles anywhere. And no benches to rest. The county seems to forget this park when it comes to mowing and when they do they half arse it! This could be a great park with some tlc.
Other Thoughts: Hole three will drown your disc or the woods will eat it. Five has a litle elevation and you might want to use a spotter for your disc. The trees will hide them or the leaves will bury it. Six has a nice challenge with a Mando for a rhbh thrower. Finding hole seven is a challenge since the sign is facing backwards. Hole
14 is brutal for a novice or snapper shooter just throw you twenty in the woods instead of your disc. It is a huge hyzer shot.
I will say that with the improvement of my game this course is less lethal for me and my plastic. Hole 2 and 3 does have water come into play so have your retriever isnt a bad idea.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Better than advertised

1    11/3/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 160  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course just outside of Richmond. I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed this under-rated course.
- Goyne ended up being a much better course than I expected. Reading the reviews, I didn't have high hopes going in. It clearly seems a lot of work has been put into the course over the past year or so.
- Mostly open course with lots of strategically placed holes near/behind trees to create challenge. There are several open, no-obstacle holes, but those are the exception to the rule.
- Good variety in length. From short tees, nothing longer than 400 feet, and only 2 under 200 feet.
- Good descriptive map at kiosk. It's the same one you can print off the site. There are also signs pointing to next hole on virtually every hole. (It may be every hole, I wasn't keeping tally, but noticed one whenever I was looking for one.)
- The land is for disc golf only, which is always a huge plus. It's separated from the rest of the park. You actually park behind the school, and never enter the park itself.
- Very clean looking course with great overall maintenance. I was impressed with the overall upkeep of the course especially seeing/reading that it doesn't seem to be as popular as other Richmond-area courses. I played on a Wednesday afternoon and never saw another person on the park.
- Course has long & short layouts. As I'll list in my below, this is both a good and bad thing.
Cons: There's one major, potential problem with the course. The holes are too cramped together. In two parts of the course (holes #8 - 13, and #1 & 15-18), you can at least 4 baskets and 4 tees at almost all times. Holes #1, 16 -18 share the same, wide fairway, with #1 & 17 going one direction and 16 &18 the other. If crowded, you'd have to keep an eye on discs flying at you from not one, but two tees.
- Tee signs could have helped a little more on several holes. On hole #13, for example, you see several baskets, but not #13 basket. It's protected by a line of trees. Once I found the hole, it was my favorite.
- On many holes, long tees overlap into other fairways. If the course is empty, not a problem, if it's crowded, another potential problem.
- I also didn't see the long tees on a couple holes. #1 was the major one that comes to mind.
- Basket for #8 is pretty close to barb-wire, OB fence. Just make sure not to throw too far to the right.
Other Thoughts: There's a simple solution to the problem of having multiple baskets within sight. PRINT A COURSE MAP!!!! It fixes the majority of these potential problems.
- I liked how they had a second course map by #10. Not that you can really start on #10, but it's a nice refresher after the first 9.
- Good use of the water on #2 & 3. If not careful, you might have a bigger risk of losing a disc in the water on #3, than #2.
- As mentioned above, #13 is my favorite hole. Semi-dogleg right hole with a thin line of trees in front of holes and heavy tree coverage to right of basket. It's not a difficult 3, but it'll take a great shot to get in birdie range.
- From #13 to #17, it's a great stretch of tough, real-deal holes. Each presents a good challenge, and requires good shot-making.
- Goyne reminded of a light version of Falling Creek (in Beford, VA) and a 18-hole version of Mint Hill (outside of Charlotte).
- I had a blast playing here. If the course was crowded when I played, I might have had a different opinion. I'll play this again any, and every, time I'm in Richmond. I'm giving this course a 3, but if it's as good in future plays, its rating will get a deserved bump higher.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Short

1    8/21/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Easy to find
-Easy to navigate around the course with well marked signs
-Not many chances to lose a disc
-Well maintained(except needs weed wacked)
-Good use of trees to make holes more technical
Cons: -Many holes are too short
-In some places the holes are too close together, so if it were busy you would have to watch out for discs
-Needs someone to weed wack the tee boxes
-
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, especially if you are new to disc golf. I went there with only one disc(roadrunner 171) while on vacation and played 5 over. The course is deceivingly short, but the use of the trees make it pretty technical. Holes 14 and 15 are tight and longer than the rest of the course. You can play the majority of this course with a mid-range. If you are a good disc golfer, play the blue tees. Most of the blue tees are marked and easy to find. The signs for each hole are very accurate. All in all, good quality course. I was not let down.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/13/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: cawesjmu
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Location. Closer than the Richmond courses (to me). Usually isolated from other people.
Cons: Swampy in the cooler months when rain doesn't dry as fast.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Blues make it quite a bit more challenging. Decent variety of shot.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Goyne Park

5+    10/20/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variation from hole to hole, with many holes unlike any others that I am aware of in the Richmond area (at Gillies, Dorey, or Bryan). Lots of challenging holes that are too short for big drives but still difficult to make par on. Pro and amateur tees on every hole is a plus as well. The baskets all look nice and new, and having a practice basket is nice as well. The course is secluded so, aside from other discers, there's no park patrons to watch out for.
Cons: Goyne is somewhat difficult to navigate the first time around, but after playing through once its easy. You'll have to be careful on a lot of your drives or you will spend a good deal of time looking for your disc in the woods, which are not easy to get around in (lots of bugs and thorns). Watch out for all of the holes in the ground, too.
Other Thoughts: Goyne seems to be in the process of being renovated - the tees on the front 9 are boxed in and clearly marked, but some of the ones on the back 9 are difficult to locate because the markers are old and destroyed. Once the tees are all boxed in (and hopefully filled with cement) this should be a great course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Goyne Park

5+    5/23/2008   5/24/2008
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Off the road setting, not busy. Challenging holes, baskets hidden in tress make for a fun setting. No use other than disc golf!
Cons: Ground very unbalanced. Rough terrain. Muddy in many places (Back nine can seem unplayable after a hard rain) and hidden holes make for treacherous walking. Blue (long tees) dificult to find at times.
Other Thoughts: This course is much improved since I first reviewed it years ago. It has become a fun and challenging course. I wrote previously that it was hard to find tees and had no map, well now both have been fixed! The map is right at the parking lot and the Yellow (beginner) Tees all have tee boxes and are easy to find.

NOTE: The bugs are still RELENTLESS at this park and the terrain rough, but now knowing the tees of the course is a huge benefit. I believe the map can be found on the Nationwide PDGA course directory.

NOTE 2!!!!: I have again went back and played Goyne and I am happy to report that they have made a lot of improvements. They have now placed a practice tee and a beautiful gravel paved walkway leading right to the first hole! Grass has been placed where there was once brush and the Tee posts are brand new, well not all of them, but when I last played there Tees 1-9 were brand new. It looks like a lot of work is being placed into Goyne and it plays much better thanks to that effort. If the work continues, Goyne will be a great course for the Richmond TriCity Area players to enjoy! I can't wait to see and report on any future improvements to this up and coming course.

NOTE 3: 10/16/08: Looks like they are boxing off the tees at Goyne. If they are going to put in concrete tees, it will be yet another step to increase the appeal of this park. A lot has been done since my first review and its all for the better!

Note #4 (2-17-09): This course just keeps getting better. A lot has been done about the landscaping and there are now signs pinting players in the direction of the next Tee. A fantastic addition. Also at the blue Tees, there are great signs with the distance and detailed maps showing tee to basket layouts. This park only keeps improving and is quickly becoming one of the best in the area!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.