Chester, VA 
Goyne Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: vcuguy86 Hole #15 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 256ft.   3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Scotty67

5+    3/7/2012   3/7/2012
Review By: scotty67
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: tee boxes have been filled in again this helps with footing. Some limbs have been trimmed back on 4,7,and 13.# 16 has been moved away from the water & up the hill.
Cons: love the course. a little wet today, and rough is coming back to life.
Other Thoughts: usually throw course once a week and i believe par is a very nice score. one of the guys i threw with lost 1 disc today so beware the rough!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Hidden Gem

1    11/30/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: slickspin33
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with some nice elevation changes.
Not too woody.
Next tee pad is well marked from the previous basket.
Cons: The "rough" areas are really rough.
You will lose a disc in the swamp if you aren't careful.
We played the day after a rain storm and the course was really muddy.
Tee pads were not level.
Other Thoughts: With a little TLC this course could be a 4.5. I'm coming back when it's a little less damp to check it out.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Oh where oh where

5+    8/18/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Auto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 1/18/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Location. It is in a great location in the heart of Chester . History of bEing a former golf course which allows a lot of open fairways and long drives. A nice degree of difficulty for a newer player but difficult to keep up with more experience players in the same round.
Cons: Mostly open and long fairways that keeps you inthe sun. No trash recepticles anywhere. And no benches to rest. The county seems to forget this park when it comes to mowing and when they do they half arse it! This could be a great park with some tlc.
Other Thoughts: Hole three will drown your disc or the woods will eat it. Five has a litle elevation and you might want to use a spotter for your disc. The trees will hide them or the leaves will bury it. Six has a nice challenge with a Mando for a rhbh thrower. Finding hole seven is a challenge since the sign is facing backwards. Hole
14 is brutal for a novice or snapper shooter just throw you twenty in the woods instead of your disc. It is a huge hyzer shot.
I will say that with the improvement of my game this course is less lethal for me and my plastic. Hole 2 and 3 does have water come into play so have your retriever isnt a bad idea.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Better than advertised

1    11/3/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 226  Reviewed: 220  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course just outside of Richmond. I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed this under-rated course.
- Goyne ended up being a much better course than I expected. Reading the reviews, I didn't have high hopes going in. It clearly seems a lot of work has been put into the course over the past year or so.
- Mostly open course with lots of strategically placed holes near/behind trees to create challenge. There are several open, no-obstacle holes, but those are the exception to the rule.
- Good variety in length. From short tees, nothing longer than 400 feet, and only 2 under 200 feet.
- Good descriptive map at kiosk. It's the same one you can print off the site. There are also signs pointing to next hole on virtually every hole. (It may be every hole, I wasn't keeping tally, but noticed one whenever I was looking for one.)
- The land is for disc golf only, which is always a huge plus. It's separated from the rest of the park. You actually park behind the school, and never enter the park itself.
- Very clean looking course with great overall maintenance. I was impressed with the overall upkeep of the course especially seeing/reading that it doesn't seem to be as popular as other Richmond-area courses. I played on a Wednesday afternoon and never saw another person on the park.
- Course has long & short layouts. As I'll list in my below, this is both a good and bad thing.
Cons: There's one major, potential problem with the course. The holes are too cramped together. In two parts of the course (holes #8 - 13, and #1 & 15-18), you can at least 4 baskets and 4 tees at almost all times. Holes #1, 16 -18 share the same, wide fairway, with #1 & 17 going one direction and 16 &18 the other. If crowded, you'd have to keep an eye on discs flying at you from not one, but two tees.
- Tee signs could have helped a little more on several holes. On hole #13, for example, you see several baskets, but not #13 basket. It's protected by a line of trees. Once I found the hole, it was my favorite.
- On many holes, long tees overlap into other fairways. If the course is empty, not a problem, if it's crowded, another potential problem.
- I also didn't see the long tees on a couple holes. #1 was the major one that comes to mind.
- Basket for #8 is pretty close to barb-wire, OB fence. Just make sure not to throw too far to the right.
Other Thoughts: There's a simple solution to the problem of having multiple baskets within sight. PRINT A COURSE MAP!!!! It fixes the majority of these potential problems.
- I liked how they had a second course map by #10. Not that you can really start on #10, but it's a nice refresher after the first 9.
- Good use of the water on #2 & 3. If not careful, you might have a bigger risk of losing a disc in the water on #3, than #2.
- As mentioned above, #13 is my favorite hole. Semi-dogleg right hole with a thin line of trees in front of holes and heavy tree coverage to right of basket. It's not a difficult 3, but it'll take a great shot to get in birdie range.
- From #13 to #17, it's a great stretch of tough, real-deal holes. Each presents a good challenge, and requires good shot-making.
- Goyne reminded of a light version of Falling Creek (in Beford, VA) and a 18-hole version of Mint Hill (outside of Charlotte).
- I had a blast playing here. If the course was crowded when I played, I might have had a different opinion. I'll play this again any, and every, time I'm in Richmond. I'm giving this course a 3, but if it's as good in future plays, its rating will get a deserved bump higher.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Short

1    8/21/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Easy to find
-Easy to navigate around the course with well marked signs
-Not many chances to lose a disc
-Well maintained(except needs weed wacked)
-Good use of trees to make holes more technical
Cons: -Many holes are too short
-In some places the holes are too close together, so if it were busy you would have to watch out for discs
-Needs someone to weed wack the tee boxes
-
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, especially if you are new to disc golf. I went there with only one disc(roadrunner 171) while on vacation and played 5 over. The course is deceivingly short, but the use of the trees make it pretty technical. Holes 14 and 15 are tight and longer than the rest of the course. You can play the majority of this course with a mid-range. If you are a good disc golfer, play the blue tees. Most of the blue tees are marked and easy to find. The signs for each hole are very accurate. All in all, good quality course. I was not let down.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

2-4    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: cahurley
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Detailed tee signs, course care, variety
Cons: Tee boxes need grooming and absence of tee boxes for blue tees, easy to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: Goyne Park is mostly an open course but the hole placement and random sprouts of trees keep the game interesting. Most of the holes are fairly short and provide ace opportunities, but there are a few for big arms. They also vary from right to left doglegs so there's no favor for right or left handed players. The tee signs include distances from both tees and a map that shows, in addition to the hole, how to get to the next tee. If that isn't enough, there are other signs posted around to help you find the next tee. Goyne park isn't very large, so the course has to wind around itself. Fortunately, I've only ever been when there were only one or two other groups, but on a crowded day the course could be difficult to share as many of the holes play through or very close to other fairways and baskets.

It seems as though the people taking care of the course need a weed whacker because the course itself is very well maintained but the tee boxes are overgrown and appear snaky (Blue tees don't even have a tee box, and instead can be right up against the woods). The fairways are mowed lower than the surrounding grass to help guide you to the corresponding hole.

The biggest issue with this course is that if you aren't accurate it can be easy to lose a disc. The brush around the course is extremely dense and full of thorns. It can also get muddy around the lower holes with a lot of rain.

Overall, Goyne Park is a small but pretty course with a lot of variety. I'll definitely be playing out there again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated!

1    5/6/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of variety, right turns, left turns, low precision shots, grip and rips.

Actually very easy to navigate. Signs point to the next tee box.
Cons: You do have to be careful on some of the holes, there are very think vines and bushes on some of the holes.

Also, I could tell that water/mud could be a problem, so definitely give the rain a chance to dry.
Other Thoughts: Overall had a great time playing this course. Played the course from the white tees and there are definitely some challenging pars and some good chances for birdies.

I have a feeling some updates have been made to this course, because I thought it was really nice except for a few broken wood boxes at the tees which really wasn't a big deal.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/13/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: cawesjmu
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Location. Closer than the Richmond courses (to me). Usually isolated from other people.
Cons: Swampy in the cooler months when rain doesn't dry as fast.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Blues make it quite a bit more challenging. Decent variety of shot.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Eater

2-4    9/23/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: natedog007
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It has about 5 good open shots.
Cons: Beware of Snakes and Dont take your nice discs.

Even though I'm a beginner I never had to worry before about losing discs, let alone 2 in one day.The first casualty came at hole 2 that is lined with a pond to the right. The second came on hole 11 that has thick forest on the right. My disc didnt go far, but the overwhelming briars and the spotting of two copperhead snakes left me defeated after 20 minutes of searching.
The course overlaps itself quite a bit and isnt well maintained. Most of the tees are either overgrown or the markers have been devoured by a riding lawn mower.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Trampled Tees

1    7/6/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 448  Reviewed: 360  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
Two tee locations (blue longer than yellow, signs at blue). Online map and (critical) next tee signs at course make it easy for a first-time visitor to navigate. Practice basket.
Cons:
Nearly all tee "pits"/locations in complete disrepair, small, ground-level markers smashed. Many places where slightly-errant throws could come near other tee locations.
Other Thoughts:
For this review, I played the course from the shorter (yellow) tees.

Take a rectangular-shaped meadow, with a slight right-to-left slope, add a smattering of clusters and lines of trees, and you have the topography of this course. It plays in a counter-clockwise direction, occasionally doubling back on itself, or zig-zagging towards the center.

The first five holes are 200' +/- right turning shots, followed by two left turning shots of similar length, all with some trees involved. You then have two ~350' open shots. The back nine mostly consists of left-turning shots, with slightly more length and more challenging tree locations.

Favourite holes(s): #13, a long, slightly left-turning hole with a treeline about halfway across then to a right-side basket, followed by #14, a 300' drive down a narrowing fairway with the basket hard left.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.