Disc Golf Store
Chester, VA 
Goyne Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: vcuguy86 Hole #13 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 372ft.   3 / 407ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Basic Beginner Course

1    8/15/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course with nice baskets and decent tee signs at each hole. Course is set in its own piece of land so there should be no interference from other park users. Navigation is pretty simple, and there are plenty of next tee signs to make sure you know where to go.

There is a lot of of open holes and grass here, and today it was mowed nicely, and everything was well kept. Fairways are clear and obvious with nothing to complain about.

Hole lengths varied from around 198' to about 380' with most holes being of the deuce or die type. Lots of open holes with plenty of fairway to work with, and a few tighter holes sprinkled in. There is one water carry of almost 300', but there is also an alternate pad that plays to the tune of a nice, dry 246'. That's a nice option on a course that appears designed mostly for beginners and recreational players.

While most holes are pretty open there are a few tighter holes with some thick rough on the back 9. Nothing too brutal, but at least it keeps you from having to throw all wide open holes.
Cons: Natural pads that were a little lumpy in spots. Some decent sized depressions to work around.

Lots of open holes with straight shots. Not much line shaping or variety. Throw straight, then fade a little left or right. That's the plan here.

Pretty dull little course. Nothing overly exciting or thrilling. Mostly flat, simple golf.
Other Thoughts: This is a clean, well kept little course, that seems like a great place for families and beginners. Lots of open fairways to keep lost discs to a minimum, and no overly challenging layouts. For the people that have played for a while this course could get old real quick. I wouldn't go out of my way to play here, but if you are looking for a quick, simple round it'll do.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course, no maintenance.

5+    8/3/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: itsbai
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -very technical, great layout, keeps you thinking
-never lost a disc
- some interesting wildlife you wouldn't see elsewhere
Cons: -so grassy! I came home so itchy.
-the water is discusting (just a pet peeve ;)
Other Thoughts: I love this course when it's maintained. During the fall the course is great! I guess the maintenance takes a break in the summer. I will still go back often, just wil come with high socks and more big spray!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Simple way to lose discs

5+    5/31/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: rchendricks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 6/4/2013
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Bigger shots for those who have a great arm.
Great RHFH shots.
Not a lot of people play this course, tends to be more open then a lot of other courses in Virginia
Cons: YOU WILL LOSE A DISC i have played this course about 10-15 times and have lost a ton of discs on it. You will spend more time finding discs than actually playing the course.

The lake/pond is just a natural disc eater and if you don't have a great anhyzer throw for 3 you will lose a disc

Course can be unforgiving considering its a par 3 all the way through
Other Thoughts: While this is not an intricate course at all the fact that hardly anyone plays makes the course play better but you will likely go hiking into the woods to find a disc

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/26/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: neilbert20
Played: 87  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 sets of tee pads.
No one else there playing to slow us up.
Looks like it is only for disc golf and there was a guy mowing when I was there so the grass was low.
Pretty challenging especially 1 and 6 from the blue tees.
Easy to navigate.
Cons: The back tees for the most part are not kept able to use and couldn't even find others. 1-8 blue tees were easy to find but many had weeds completely overtaking them. Most of the back 9 blue tees were nonexistent.
Lots of mud from 11-17 and seems like its there from the pond and if there was a better drainage system it wouldn't have been there.
Other Thoughts: This course has potential to be a very nice course but deinately needs some work maintaining both the yellow and especially the blue tees. Some I the holes were unique and very challenging but many were the same as others and open and straight to the basket.

There are better courses to play in Richmond and I wouldn't go out of your way to come here unless you want to try something different like I did.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of my got to courses

5+    11/27/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great location (close to me)
A good variety of holes
Some long and spacious holes as well as tight and narrow ones
Nice people, isolated area, well kept
signs that clearly distinguish where to go and what the distance to the baskets are
A challenge
Cons: No trash cans so can me litter filled (Clean up there constantly with my own trash bag)
Unforgiving lake, wilderness, and thorn bushes
Tee boxes have lost alot of sand and are very easy to turn an ankle in.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course about 100 times now and it continues to grow on me. I really enjoy the courses variety and the way the grass is always mowed. The tees are my only real issue with the place because so much sand has been removed due to its constant use and it leaves large holes in the tee area. This causes me to have to think about where i am stepping when i tee off which can be a distraction. I have talked to multiple people that play here and alll of them have this same issue. Also, the lake and thorns are unforgiving so don't mess up your throw or your disc will be gone for good (Lost about 15+ disc here). over all, i love the challenge it brings and my determination to go under par here brings me back daily as i am getting closer and closer :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/14/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Goyne was a fun course to play. My group had the course to ourselves. The distances from the short tees are all under 400 feet but there is still a nice challenge here. There are many blind holes and OB to contend with. The disc golf area of the park is "disc golf" only which is nice.

Other Pros:
- practice basket visible at parking lot
- kiosk with a course map (do take a look for tricky spots)
- great tee signs at short tee (arrow pointing to the next tee on those signs)
- clean, well kept
- risk/reward (water, blind shots, OB)
Cons: The biggest con has to be how cramped the holes are. Like I said, we had the place to ourselves so it was not an issue but, it could be.
Take a look at the course map (Links/files tab), you can see where fairways can overlap.

Other Cons:
- bugs were bad
- navigation can be tricky
- long tees are tough to find sometimes
Other Thoughts: The course parking lot is located at the back of Ecoff Elementary. I saw a porta-potty towards the actual park if you are in need of that.

When I walked to the first tee, I came to the long tee which is next to the water, if you want the short tee, it's just down the small hill.

I loved the first 3 holes which utilized the pond.
The long tees for these holes are very challenging, risky, and fun.

I had a hard time deciding on the rating, to me it's somewhere in between 2.5 and 3. I gave it a 3 because I had the course to myself which does alleviate many of my cons.

Go play it at non-peak hours!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

1    4/17/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great variety of short, shot-placement holes, some ace runs, and some wide open bomb holes.

Nice, well demarcated tee areas (for the yellow tees).

2 sets of tees for varied levels of challenge.

They honestly made an 18 hole course out of the land needed for a 9 holer.

Great signage! The course map is at the start and at hole 9-10. Signs at every tee and directing you to the next tee after each basket. Best signage in the Richmond area!

Nice practice/warmup area and basket - that is always a plus.
Cons: Navigation is confusing. Way too many baskets can be seen from many tees, making it hard to figure out which one is the intended target.

Holes are clustered together too much - dangerous if multiple groups are on the course at the same time.

Lots of briars and marshland - definite disc loss opportunities.

Blue tees are not nearly as well kept as the yellows. Some we could not find.

The sand/gravel tees are pretty nice, but have also been confused as litter boxes by some local animals.

Technically the course is only open after the elementary school hours. Not sure you would get kicked off, but it says so on the kiosk.
Other Thoughts: Holes 14-15 looked like they completely ran out of real estate and squeezed them along the property line.

Overall its a really fun course that is a decent change of pace from some of the other courses in the area.

Navigation to the course is a little strange. DO NOT go into the Goyne Park entrance. Instead, go into the Ecoff Elementary school and down the right side of the parking lot - you will find the practice basket at the end of the parking lot and the kiosk for the course.

Keep a look out on the hole signs for yellow/orange arrows. These are Mandos that you might otherwise not know about.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Scotty67

5+    3/7/2012   3/7/2012
Review By: scotty67
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: tee boxes have been filled in again this helps with footing. Some limbs have been trimmed back on 4,7,and 13.# 16 has been moved away from the water & up the hill.
Cons: love the course. a little wet today, and rough is coming back to life.
Other Thoughts: usually throw course once a week and i believe par is a very nice score. one of the guys i threw with lost 1 disc today so beware the rough!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Hidden Gem

1    11/30/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: slickspin33
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with some nice elevation changes.
Not too woody.
Next tee pad is well marked from the previous basket.
Cons: The "rough" areas are really rough.
You will lose a disc in the swamp if you aren't careful.
We played the day after a rain storm and the course was really muddy.
Tee pads were not level.
Other Thoughts: With a little TLC this course could be a 4.5. I'm coming back when it's a little less damp to check it out.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Oh where oh where

5+    8/18/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Auto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 1/18/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Location. It is in a great location in the heart of Chester . History of bEing a former golf course which allows a lot of open fairways and long drives. A nice degree of difficulty for a newer player but difficult to keep up with more experience players in the same round.
Cons: Mostly open and long fairways that keeps you inthe sun. No trash recepticles anywhere. And no benches to rest. The county seems to forget this park when it comes to mowing and when they do they half arse it! This could be a great park with some tlc.
Other Thoughts: Hole three will drown your disc or the woods will eat it. Five has a litle elevation and you might want to use a spotter for your disc. The trees will hide them or the leaves will bury it. Six has a nice challenge with a Mando for a rhbh thrower. Finding hole seven is a challenge since the sign is facing backwards. Hole
14 is brutal for a novice or snapper shooter just throw you twenty in the woods instead of your disc. It is a huge hyzer shot.
I will say that with the improvement of my game this course is less lethal for me and my plastic. Hole 2 and 3 does have water come into play so have your retriever isnt a bad idea.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.