Disc Golf Store
Chester, VA 
Goyne Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: vcuguy86 Hole #14 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 290ft.   3 / 384ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Mid-Fairway: Basket located further up to the left.



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Better than advertised

1    11/3/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course just outside of Richmond. I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed this under-rated course.
- Goyne ended up being a much better course than I expected. Reading the reviews, I didn't have high hopes going in. It clearly seems a lot of work has been put into the course over the past year or so.
- Mostly open course with lots of strategically placed holes near/behind trees to create challenge. There are several open, no-obstacle holes, but those are the exception to the rule.
- Good variety in length. From short tees, nothing longer than 400 feet, and only 2 under 200 feet.
- Good descriptive map at kiosk. It's the same one you can print off the site. There are also signs pointing to next hole on virtually every hole. (It may be every hole, I wasn't keeping tally, but noticed one whenever I was looking for one.)
- The land is for disc golf only, which is always a huge plus. It's separated from the rest of the park. You actually park behind the school, and never enter the park itself.
- Very clean looking course with great overall maintenance. I was impressed with the overall upkeep of the course especially seeing/reading that it doesn't seem to be as popular as other Richmond-area courses. I played on a Wednesday afternoon and never saw another person on the park.
- Course has long & short layouts. As I'll list in my below, this is both a good and bad thing.
Cons: There's one major, potential problem with the course. The holes are too cramped together. In two parts of the course (holes #8 - 13, and #1 & 15-18), you can at least 4 baskets and 4 tees at almost all times. Holes #1, 16 -18 share the same, wide fairway, with #1 & 17 going one direction and 16 &18 the other. If crowded, you'd have to keep an eye on discs flying at you from not one, but two tees.
- Tee signs could have helped a little more on several holes. On hole #13, for example, you see several baskets, but not #13 basket. It's protected by a line of trees. Once I found the hole, it was my favorite.
- On many holes, long tees overlap into other fairways. If the course is empty, not a problem, if it's crowded, another potential problem.
- I also didn't see the long tees on a couple holes. #1 was the major one that comes to mind.
- Basket for #8 is pretty close to barb-wire, OB fence. Just make sure not to throw too far to the right.
Other Thoughts: There's a simple solution to the problem of having multiple baskets within sight. PRINT A COURSE MAP!!!! It fixes the majority of these potential problems.
- I liked how they had a second course map by #10. Not that you can really start on #10, but it's a nice refresher after the first 9.
- Good use of the water on #2 & 3. If not careful, you might have a bigger risk of losing a disc in the water on #3, than #2.
- As mentioned above, #13 is my favorite hole. Semi-dogleg right hole with a thin line of trees in front of holes and heavy tree coverage to right of basket. It's not a difficult 3, but it'll take a great shot to get in birdie range.
- From #13 to #17, it's a great stretch of tough, real-deal holes. Each presents a good challenge, and requires good shot-making.
- Goyne reminded of a light version of Falling Creek (in Beford, VA) and a 18-hole version of Mint Hill (outside of Charlotte).
- I had a blast playing here. If the course was crowded when I played, I might have had a different opinion. I'll play this again any, and every, time I'm in Richmond. I'm giving this course a 3, but if it's as good in future plays, its rating will get a deserved bump higher.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Short

1    8/21/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Easy to find
-Easy to navigate around the course with well marked signs
-Not many chances to lose a disc
-Well maintained(except needs weed wacked)
-Good use of trees to make holes more technical
Cons: -Many holes are too short
-In some places the holes are too close together, so if it were busy you would have to watch out for discs
-Needs someone to weed wack the tee boxes
-
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, especially if you are new to disc golf. I went there with only one disc(roadrunner 171) while on vacation and played 5 over. The course is deceivingly short, but the use of the trees make it pretty technical. Holes 14 and 15 are tight and longer than the rest of the course. You can play the majority of this course with a mid-range. If you are a good disc golfer, play the blue tees. Most of the blue tees are marked and easy to find. The signs for each hole are very accurate. All in all, good quality course. I was not let down.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

2-4    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: cahurley
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Detailed tee signs, course care, variety
Cons: Tee boxes need grooming and absence of tee boxes for blue tees, easy to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: Goyne Park is mostly an open course but the hole placement and random sprouts of trees keep the game interesting. Most of the holes are fairly short and provide ace opportunities, but there are a few for big arms. They also vary from right to left doglegs so there's no favor for right or left handed players. The tee signs include distances from both tees and a map that shows, in addition to the hole, how to get to the next tee. If that isn't enough, there are other signs posted around to help you find the next tee. Goyne park isn't very large, so the course has to wind around itself. Fortunately, I've only ever been when there were only one or two other groups, but on a crowded day the course could be difficult to share as many of the holes play through or very close to other fairways and baskets.

It seems as though the people taking care of the course need a weed whacker because the course itself is very well maintained but the tee boxes are overgrown and appear snaky (Blue tees don't even have a tee box, and instead can be right up against the woods). The fairways are mowed lower than the surrounding grass to help guide you to the corresponding hole.

The biggest issue with this course is that if you aren't accurate it can be easy to lose a disc. The brush around the course is extremely dense and full of thorns. It can also get muddy around the lower holes with a lot of rain.

Overall, Goyne Park is a small but pretty course with a lot of variety. I'll definitely be playing out there again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated!

1    5/6/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of variety, right turns, left turns, low precision shots, grip and rips.

Actually very easy to navigate. Signs point to the next tee box.
Cons: You do have to be careful on some of the holes, there are very think vines and bushes on some of the holes.

Also, I could tell that water/mud could be a problem, so definitely give the rain a chance to dry.
Other Thoughts: Overall had a great time playing this course. Played the course from the white tees and there are definitely some challenging pars and some good chances for birdies.

I have a feeling some updates have been made to this course, because I thought it was really nice except for a few broken wood boxes at the tees which really wasn't a big deal.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/13/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: cawesjmu
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Location. Closer than the Richmond courses (to me). Usually isolated from other people.
Cons: Swampy in the cooler months when rain doesn't dry as fast.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Blues make it quite a bit more challenging. Decent variety of shot.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Eater

2-4    9/23/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: natedog007
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It has about 5 good open shots.
Cons: Beware of Snakes and Dont take your nice discs.

Even though I'm a beginner I never had to worry before about losing discs, let alone 2 in one day.The first casualty came at hole 2 that is lined with a pond to the right. The second came on hole 11 that has thick forest on the right. My disc didnt go far, but the overwhelming briars and the spotting of two copperhead snakes left me defeated after 20 minutes of searching.
The course overlaps itself quite a bit and isnt well maintained. Most of the tees are either overgrown or the markers have been devoured by a riding lawn mower.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Trampled Tees

1    7/6/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Two tee locations (blue longer than yellow, signs at blue). Online map and (critical) next tee signs at course make it easy for a first-time visitor to navigate. Practice basket.
Cons:
Nearly all tee "pits"/locations in complete disrepair, small, ground-level markers smashed. Many places where slightly-errant throws could come near other tee locations.
Other Thoughts:
For this review, I played the course from the shorter (yellow) tees.

Take a rectangular-shaped meadow, with a slight right-to-left slope, add a smattering of clusters and lines of trees, and you have the topography of this course. It plays in a counter-clockwise direction, occasionally doubling back on itself, or zig-zagging towards the center.

The first five holes are 200' +/- right turning shots, followed by two left turning shots of similar length, all with some trees involved. You then have two ~350' open shots. The back nine mostly consists of left-turning shots, with slightly more length and more challenging tree locations.

Favourite holes(s): #13, a long, slightly left-turning hole with a treeline about halfway across then to a right-side basket, followed by #14, a 300' drive down a narrowing fairway with the basket hard left.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 meh... pleasant little course, needs better signage

1    6/21/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Goyne exceeded my expectations and was played during a daylong tour of all the Richmond courses. The course has decent shot variety, makes good use of the available land, and from what I've heard from locals, is slowly and steadily improving -- which is great. If it makes full use of it's potential, I think it could eventually be a 3.0-rated course. But for now, the problems outweigh the benefits of playing here.
Cons: The biggest cons are the signage and markings for the tees. Even with the map, my brother and I failed to find all of the tees. Some of them don't have any markings at all (at least, as of this review), and some of the ones that have flags in the ground don't have any other information.

Quick advice related to the map: print the map in color -- if you print it in black and white, you can't read or see anything on it -- not even the hole numbers -- so it becomes virtually useless. If we'd had a color map, it would have helped, but a course should be navigable without a color map.

Some of the tees are boxed in and were just uneven, rutted dirt. If these boxes become concrete, it will be better, but not great, since they will be elevated -- boxes should ideally be level with the ground. Simply placing flags is preferable to boxing in a small square of ground and creating trip hazards for a teepad.

Most holes are fairly open, with a lack of variety in teeshots. Some of the long tees are much harder, but do so at the expense of a line. I'm a pro-level player, and have been playing for 11 years and have most shots in my bag, but there were blue teepads out there where I saw no reasonable way to reach the basket. The blues just make some holes a huck and pray and take the three... which is silly. Skill should always up your chances, and there are places here where the blues add difficulty and mitigate skill, which is just frustrating and poor course design.

The course wasn't horribly overgrown, but it could definitely use some work. Tall weeds throughout the course fairways made it uncomfortable and slowed down walking. This also made roller shots and skips pretty much impossible, which is a shame because the ground otherwise was relatively free of debris and would make a great place for roller shots across many of the open fairways.

Overall, the place had a desolate, deserted feel to it. We saw one other car with a pair of disc golfers wrapping up as we were starting our round midday on Saturday. After that, we saw no other people. Any growing course should have at least a few players on a beautiful Saturday. The lack of player interest suggests to me that this is definitely a B-list course by local standards. Lots of people at some of the other parks, but virtually no one at this one.

I guess the upside to the emptiness is that there are no collisions that way. There were several places on the course where you would be teeing off into a fairway you'd just walked up, or where baskets were too close to tees or multiple holes shared fairways... this would be a danger if the course were ever busy.
Other Thoughts: My rating of 2.0 may seem overly harsh, but I don't think so. This course is "2.0 - Reasonable" and that defines it perfectly. It is a reasonable place to play if you are nearby, but on one will go out of their way to play here until some of the issues are addressed. Good signage and tees, and frequent mowing would make this course a 3.0. And I think that's where it would peak. There are too many problems with this many holes on this little land for it to achieve much more than that. I'm not knocking the course designeres -- they're doing a great job of building a fun practice course out of what they have, but it's not there yet.

The course has a couple of cool holes -- #14, as mentioned by another reviewer, is a great shot -- fantastic tight hyzer alley blind up a hill to a fast green. Definitely one of the coolest shots on the course. Hole #2 across the water has some potential as well, but the long tee isn't marked, so it's hard to know what the actual shot over the pond is supposed to be.

This is worth checking out if you are in the area -- it's fun. But print a color map, bring plenty of bug spray (they are out in force), and don't come in with high expectations. Bring your teebird and you're putter and you'll be prepared for every hole this course has to offer.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 good; but could be better

2-4    5/19/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: cbowl06
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: good variety between the font and back nine. Its a nice small course for the afternoon.
Cons: Still needs work for holes 15-18. A lot of drainage problems. Makes it extremely hard to navigate, esp on 15 and 16.
Other Thoughts: This course could be so nice if the water problem was fixed.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Much improved.

2-4    6/16/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In Jun of 2008 I slammed this course for its obvious lack of anything good except the baskets. Well there has been a lot work since then. They have added the nicest signs for each tee I have ever seen. But they are missing on 2,4, and 5. The signs are very accurate and easy to read. They are on the pro tees so if you are playing the rec tees you will have to walk a little out of the way. The signs pointing to the next tee are very good and accurate. With just a little common sense used on a couple you will no problem getting around with the signs. There has been some work to improve the tees but it is not finished. The course offers a nice variety of throws. Very technical ones such as 2, and 6 and some real good grip and rip shots such as 13, 16 and especially 18. This course has seen a lot of work and if it continues this could be a very special place. At the entrance to the course and next to Blue 10 is a great map of the entire course
Cons: The course will still eat discs if you are not careful because several of the fairways are lined on one or both sides with very nasty briars. They will motivate you to learn control and accuracy. Some of the tee areas are still in bad shape. The course is still hard to find and the park employees did not even know where it was. If you play after a rain storm the drainage on 11 through 17 is bad but correctable. The course rule sign that has been put up at the entrance says you are not suppose to play during school hours. To find the course enter Ecoff Elementary School in your GPS or look for it on a good Richmond area map. Then go to the end of the parking lot on the right of the school and you are there.
Other Thoughts: "I am going to try this course again because I think it and the city deserve another chance. It has great potential for a good neighborhood course". I left the prior statement because my thoughts have not changed.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.