Lewisberry, PA
Pinchot State Park - Quaker's Challenge Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #13 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    9/24/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: homemadegravy
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Challenging. Great hike.
Cons: Trees, trees, trees and nothing else.
Other Thoughts: Full disclosure, I had a terrible round here. That is my fault and my problem, but it did leave me a little incensed at the course. I understand why it is rated so highly. We all like challenging courses. However, I felt like it was a little one dimensional. There is more to disc golf than threading trees all day, just as there is more to it than wide-open holes.
Again, I understand the desire to be challenged, but I felt that Boulder Woods across the lake was more enjoyable while still challenging. Maybe the bad round is clouding my judgement.
I will say, if you are one of those people who base their lives on reviews, don't miss this course on my behalf, but I think you'll see what I mean.
Thanks for listening.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Great Pro-level course...getting better

1    9/13/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: mattohara
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Difficulty, Length, Creativity, Contrast (to Boulder Woods on the other side of the lake), Llamas, Map, Scorecard, Signage, Water Fountain by the Tower, Clean, Multiple Pins
Cons: Gravel/Crushed Rock Tees, Unmanicured Holes (some more than others), Heavy Woods, Bugs, Pools of Water, No facilities on-course, Thorns
Other Thoughts: This course is a BEAST! The first hole is a gigantor uphill blast that really sets the tone for this course. I'm glad I had my hiking boots on because I needed them. (Note that there is also parking on the other side of the course by the water tower so you can "work up" to Hole 1 by playing the back 9 first).

My buddy and I tackled the front 9 with gusto. These holes are looong and, over parts of the course, heavily wooded, in deep grass, and complicated by lots of saplings on fairways that could be cut back a bit. I can't even imagine a pro trying to get through some of these.

Walking back on 5 and 6 we realized that what we thought was bug spray was actually sunscreen! Luckily we ran into Jeff and George (I think those were their names) at the top of the hill. They were very nice, talked about the course, lent us some bug spray. The state gave them 80 acres and they're using all of it! They're working on getting concrete pads and trying to clear out some of the greens a bit more. Great work these guys are doing, given the rough terrain and rocks. Don't forget to stop for some water at the fountain!

Back on the course we forgot to use the map (it's a good one, use it) and went from 7 to 12. That's one spot where an additional signpost would be nice. We realized it on 14 and decided to backtrack later. On the REST of the course the signage is EXCELLENT, with "next tee" arrows under the baskets and great tee signs that show you the layout and tell you which pin you're aiming for. Nice benches at practically every hole too. It was partially our own fault for getting off course.

We finished the course about 2.5 or 3 hours after starting. On lots of holes we hiked 3/4 of the way to the basket before we could see it and we spotted for each other. I'm used to Sedgely Woods, which I can play in an hour or less. So be prepared. Bring lots of water, bug spray (no sunscreen necessary), hiking boots and jeans (in case you have to go off-course through the thick, thorny undergrowth-we did and we found an unmarked Panther in great condition).

I LOVED the challenge, but I don't think I'm ready for this course yet. Next time I'll warm up at Boulder Woods and have lunch before tackling this creation.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

6/21/2008   6/21/2008
Review By: gameboy9
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Definitely a beautiful course. You'll love all the trees and the bushes... unless you don't like the hoards of challenge this course will present to you. Excellent course for the pros, by my estimation. I also liked the fact that there were either real benches or logs to sit on the vast majority of the holes. All holes had maps to show you where to go, so that was also very helpful.
Cons: About 30% of the time, I personally was looking for a disc I threw. I passed another group, and I think they were looking for discs a lot too. I can tell you that on the sixth hole, I was looking for a disc for about ten minutes, and I considered this disc to be on the fairway! You can easily lose a disc here if you make a bad throw as well, especially if you throw it too far to one side. You do have to cross the second hole to reach the 7th tee, and I also found the 8th hole before I reached said 7th tee. Finally, I don't think that this course bodes well for you if you're a beginner. (156 throws for me, which includes four penalty throws)
Other Thoughts: You need to prepare for this course like you would prepare for a challenging hike: that means you should wear jeans and hiking boots. If you don't have hiking boots, you definitely should wear sneakers, but sandals and shorts, like what I was doing(I'll admit it!), are a definite no-no here. If you play during the morning, your legs or pants will likely get wet. If you play during the summer, you will be ambushed by flies. Finally, you will run into sticker bushes and thick grass all over the place, whether you're in the fairway or not. So, bottom line, be prepared!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 What a beauty!

3/21/2008   4/3/2008
Review By: BubbaThrewIt
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course in a great setting. Can hardly wait to see what it looks like this summer. Many kudos to those that have put this course "on the map." Signage is well set, benches are at every hole, and the grooming is very well.
Cons: Nothing other than the uphill climbs for us that are a little out of shape!
Other Thoughts: If you love disc golf, you MUST come play the QC. Ok so my very first round there I shot a 133 but with that in mind, I will only get better and so will you!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.