Lewisberry, PA 
Pinchot State Park - Quaker's Challenge Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #11 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 147ft.   4 / 444ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Approach



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Excellent challenge!

2-4    10/10/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging 18 hole course with excellent use of elevation and land. Nice baskets, concrete tees and good signage throughout the course on the tees with map and basket position, and directional signs to next tee. Excellent variety of hole length and shot requirements. Rewards good shots and punishes shots off the fairway. Disc golf only area.
Cons: Rough fairways and trails with sharp rocks, divots and little tree stumps can be dangerous without good footwear and awareness. Trail crosses back over hole 2 fairway, so beware.

Other Thoughts: I loved this course especially the huge elevation changes, length, variety, and the challenge. There are bathrooms at the parking lot, and a Subway right down the street for food. Favorite holes 1, 3, 8, 11, 17. This is basically hiking a mountain for 18 long holes, so hiking boots and water are highly recommended. I might be a little crazy, but I had a great time and can't wait to go back!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 masicism at its finest

2-4    8/23/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.5 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice maps and arrows under all of the tees make this course easy to navigate. small pegs in the sign let you know which tee pad is set up.
Super challenging course with some intense elevation changes in play.
Hole 1 sets the pace with an intimadating uphill shot that has you thinking, "what am i getting into".
There is a bathroom down by the water on the otherside of the parking lot. There is a playground and water activities for family members who do not play.
The scenery and creativity is worth the beat down this course can provide.
Cons: the frustrating part of this course was not being able to see the baskets. I think holes 14 and 15 were the only holes where you could see the basket from the tee. On some holes I threw par before ever seeing the basket. On hole 10 you can not see the basket until you are with in putting range. Hole 6 took several throws to get with in sight of the basket.

Also there are times when you are walking or teeing off and discs can come flying at you. you have to walk right through the middle of fairway 2 to get to hole 7 from 6. There is also a tee near the fairway of hole 2 and baskets 1 and 9 were back to back.
Other Thoughts: This is NOT A COURSE FOR BEGINNERS. Smaller children will find it difficult just to walk the course. If you are looking for a family friendly course I hear Boulder is better.
Forget par and plan on staying a while. This course measures about 7,700 ft from tees to baskets. you will end up walking about 3 miles so plan on being there for 1 1/2 hours solo or several hours with a group.
BRING BUG SPRAY! wearing hiking shoes would be a good idea too, the terrain is rough and in some parts very muddy and wet.

Signature holes:
1. intense uphill 242ft. Par 3
9. 300ft straight down hill
10. starts uphill with no sign of a basket and ends going downhill after a turn.
11. steeep uphill shot 444 ft.
17. interesting downhill shot that appears far more difficult than it is.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 DISC GOLF ON STEROIDS!!!

2-4    6/6/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely Challenging!!! Well thought out course. Very interesting layout with many different types of throws required. Both times I played the course, my friend and I were the only ones on the course. This is a beautiful course set in the woods at Pinchot. The first hole just intimidates you looking up the hillside to see the basket up on top. Number 3 can either be exciting or make you want to end your round early, depending on how much you hit trees. I am proud to say I parred the hole the last time I played and it was in position A which I know is the easiest, but hey, I felt good. Each hole on the front gives you a chance to use different throws and discs. There is a good mix of long and short, so it doesn't feel like you always have to wing it as hard as you can. The more intelligently you play this course, the better your score will reflect. What I mean is, if you throw it in the bush and you have a clear chip out versus a risky shot to go over top and a little further...take the short throw out and set yourself up for a better next shot....this will help you more in the long run.
Cons: Extremely Challenging! This course is really difficult. The easy holes here, are still fairly difficult, but the hard holes, are really hard. I would definitely bring bug spray because at some point you will pull a tick off of you because your disc didn't go perfectly straight. Some holes are extremely long with a very narrow fairway.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course a lot. It is very well thought out and different from many of the courses in the surrounding area. I imagine that I will enjoy this course more when I can throw it longer and straighter off the tee. The more you play this course, the more you feel like you want to conquer it. It is far more challenging than boulder, and it makes you feel like a champ when you play boulder after Quaker. I can't imagine many ace's happening on this course, but you never know!

IF YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED THIS COURSE, YOU ARE MISSING OUT

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  The "Caliber" Course

5/9/2008   5/9/2008
Review By: discncrawdad
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a great course for Pros to play on. Has long distances, with many Trees. A great course for Worlds to appear on. Multiple pin positions can change the courses feel substantially.
Cons: The course could still be cleared a bit more. Saplings could be removed.
Other Thoughts: In the parking lot by the water tower there could be a disc market.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.