Lewisberry, PA 
Pinchot State Park - Quaker's Challenge Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 355ft.   3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Huge Quake will Crumble You!

1    2/27/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place will challenge if not break you. A completely wooded course boasts elevation, looooong fairways with plenty of trouble all around, multiple pin placements, big wide gravel tees that are in good condition for a woods course, and enough overall difficulty that your game will be honed as your ego is crushed. If your a beginner go play across the lake at Boulder Woods. If your cocky, foolish, or have a disc named after you then play here! Hole Breakdown as follows,(all heavily wooded):
#1 is a rocket spike shot straight up 290 ft but feels like 400 due to the vertical climb needed.
#2 a long slightly uphill drive 550 ft to a clearing
#3 the uber super challenging flat winding tight but not impossible par 6 953 foot hole....ranges from par 4-6 depending on pin position. Could be 2 par 3s but is instead a unique chance to play for the albatross!
#4,5,6 all play flat shorter but tight and difficult
#7,8 are longer and difficult still flat
#9 is fun controlled downward drive to a fast green with the basket teasing you to go for it! But don't overshoot.
The back 9 is just as difficult but has more fun factor:
#10 an uphill long hyzer very fun hole
#11 another big uphill drive to a protected basket
#12,13 hyzer, anhyzer combo
#14 tight drive off of elevated tee
#15 catch your breath-low ceiling precise 150ft drive
#16 another long challenging drive
#17 funnest hole on course IMO-drive downhill to a basket below- aceable but also plenty of trouble if you mess up the drive
#18 finish on a unique downward hyzer that goes into the clear and back into woods, but if you throw too far or flip it over your toast, too short your in deep trees, hit it just right you can have a 2...a great tournament finishing hole...I could see 2 players playing for a title here and one getting a deuce here and the other flipping it over ,due to sudden wind from lake?, back over road or ending up in jail and taking a 4-5 and swearing at themselves, their disc, or the designers. Great hole!
The theme is length and trees here...fairways are reasonable for fairway length. Stop bitching and start focusing. Well Marked.
Cons: Could be too grueling for some players...this course is exceptionally demanding
Other Thoughts: This course along with French Creek, Nockamixon, and Whispering Falls to me is pushing Pennsylvania to the forefront of Wooded Disc Course excellence. I would expect some very good players coming from this area if they are able to play this course regularly. Nice job LLamas I will return!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

6/21/2008   6/21/2008
Review By: gameboy9
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Definitely a beautiful course. You'll love all the trees and the bushes... unless you don't like the hoards of challenge this course will present to you. Excellent course for the pros, by my estimation. I also liked the fact that there were either real benches or logs to sit on the vast majority of the holes. All holes had maps to show you where to go, so that was also very helpful.
Cons: About 30% of the time, I personally was looking for a disc I threw. I passed another group, and I think they were looking for discs a lot too. I can tell you that on the sixth hole, I was looking for a disc for about ten minutes, and I considered this disc to be on the fairway! You can easily lose a disc here if you make a bad throw as well, especially if you throw it too far to one side. You do have to cross the second hole to reach the 7th tee, and I also found the 8th hole before I reached said 7th tee. Finally, I don't think that this course bodes well for you if you're a beginner. (156 throws for me, which includes four penalty throws)
Other Thoughts: You need to prepare for this course like you would prepare for a challenging hike: that means you should wear jeans and hiking boots. If you don't have hiking boots, you definitely should wear sneakers, but sandals and shorts, like what I was doing(I'll admit it!), are a definite no-no here. If you play during the morning, your legs or pants will likely get wet. If you play during the summer, you will be ambushed by flies. Finally, you will run into sticker bushes and thick grass all over the place, whether you're in the fairway or not. So, bottom line, be prepared!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  The "Caliber" Course

5/9/2008   5/9/2008
Review By: discncrawdad
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a great course for Pros to play on. Has long distances, with many Trees. A great course for Worlds to appear on. Multiple pin positions can change the courses feel substantially.
Cons: The course could still be cleared a bit more. Saplings could be removed.
Other Thoughts: In the parking lot by the water tower there could be a disc market.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 What a beauty!

3/21/2008   4/3/2008
Review By: BubbaThrewIt
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course in a great setting. Can hardly wait to see what it looks like this summer. Many kudos to those that have put this course "on the map." Signage is well set, benches are at every hole, and the grooming is very well.
Cons: Nothing other than the uphill climbs for us that are a little out of shape!
Other Thoughts: If you love disc golf, you MUST come play the QC. Ok so my very first round there I shot a 133 but with that in mind, I will only get better and so will you!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Big boy course

1/26/2008   2/3/2008
Review By: matt30556
Played: 65  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In my opinion, this one is already one of the best in the state and it's only getting better. A great mix of righty and lefty holes, some shorter and some way long. Every hole has alternate pin locations and some of the most dramatic elevation changes I have personally played.
Cons: Considering the course is still being developed and groomed I don't have anything negative to say about it, except for those rotten thorns, but if you keep it in the fairway you don't have to worry about them anyway. Although as of now the tee boxes are still natural turf it won't be that way for long.
Other Thoughts: The club that is building this course (The Fighting Llamas) are some of the best and most dedicated people to the sport. They have put and continue to put many, many hours of labor in to getting this course to realize its full potential. I see some major A Tier events in QC's future.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pinning Pinchot, Part 2

2-4    1/20/2010   11/12/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 64  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice signs illustrating the holes. Tough fairways with thorny consequences. Nice mix of elevation. Many of the holes have two or three pins. Signs are nice and benches are provided on a few of the holes. Baskets are, for the most part, still in great shape. Gravel tees are nicely groomed and had no puddles. I liked the tunnel shot on 15, the downhill holes, and the good mix of some shorter threes to go along with your heavy dosage of 4's, the occasional five, and a six in the 935-ft position on 3.
Cons: The course is Thorn City, USA. As with a typical PA state park course, the course is prone to being wet a lot of the year. Definitely not a course for the below average player. May feel a tiny bit repetative, but as long as the pins change frequently, it will change a player's perspective a bit.
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable course with nice view of the lake and the par 54 Boulder Woods course conviently on the other side, this makes for a long day of disc golf. A quiet setting merely ten minutes from the state capital.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.