Charlotte, NC 
Sugaw Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 389ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Fun. Fair. Challenging

1    9/19/2015   9/19/2015
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 24  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best way I can describe this course is "smooth" if that makes sense? The course flows well, and plays well.

The course is well worn, and has clearly been around for a while. I loved the well worn and walked fairways and trails, making the popular, or preferred routes clear.

There is a great variety of holes throughout the course. Holes in light woods, holes in tight woods, long(ish) open field shots, holes that start in woods and end in the open, then holes that start in the open and end in the woods. Even an elevated basket or two. One is on a pole for elevation, but not ridiculous, the other is perched in a grouping of trees. Both changing how the hole would play with a normal in the ground placement. I like it.

Another pro, but a minor one, was the unique tee shot on the front 9. I believe #6 or #7. The tee pad is under the shade of a large tree with magnificent long, low hanging branches. A nice break from the open field heat of the prior hole. This tee requires a low release to clear a low hanging branch only a few feet from the end of the tee pad. Cool stuff!

The course is very fair. Some courses can be overbearing on times, and the risk/reward ratio highly skewed. However this course, I felt, was a fine balance of risk and reward. Nothing terribly challenging, or extra long, but enough challenge and tight fairways to require adequate control for a decent score.

Fun and challenging use of Mando's on a few holes. I feel like Mando's are often left out of course design, so to see them on more than one hole was great. They're not un-fair, and really enhance what would normally be a boring, lackluster hole. Great job from the design team using the land available.

The course (mostly) flowed well from one basket to the next tee, with semi adequate signage. With a bit of common sense, I pretty easily found my way through the course.
Cons: Although not a big con, it's still a con...the course is very compact in that there are a lot of close fairways, and baskets close to other tees or baskets/fairways. The designer did a great job and made the most of it, but there are 18 holes in a relatively small area it feels. I can see this being a potential hazard when the course is crowded, but wasn't much of a concern otherwise.

Keeping along the lines of tight spaces, a handful of the holes play along a pretty busy road. This really can add to the noise level, which detracts from some of the serenity and relaxation of playing golf.

Aside from the major road along the side of some holes, a few of the other holes play next to or end up right near the park road. This wasn't much of an issue as the road isn't terribly busy, but felt like "forced" OB if that makes sense?
Other Thoughts: Great course! I thoroughly enjoyed playing the course, and didn't leave feeling abused like some other tougher courses can do to you. You can play this course with no real idea on course layout and using the clearly worn/cleared fairways and nice tee signs not have much of a deficit. Compared to some courses, where it really pays to have a knowledge of the holes' layout to improve your score.
For that reason, I describe the course as a "Fair" playing course. Doesn't cheat you out of strokes for not knowing the in's and out's of each hole.

Although the tight quarters of some holes, and the noisy road take away from the potential greatness, I still highly recommend and enjoy Sugaw Creek.

It's long enough to not feel like a beginner's/learner's course, but not too long to leave you beat down, sore armed and exhausted. A great course if you're planning on playing others the same day!

Fun fun fun

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A tail of two 9s

2-4    7/21/2015   7/21/2015
Review By: ncbrett92
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great mix of a tighter and placement shot filled front 9 then a much more open back 9 with some grip it and rip it opportunities. All of the shorter holes have a turn or trees to make it around so none of the holes feel overly basic. All of the holes have good tee signs and big, roomy tee boxes. Neither of the mandos on 9 or 17 are overly hard to make which is a plus.

On the front 9 the course can sneak up and bite you in a hurry with the tighter fairways and the raised basket on 6. Get off the line and you may not always be to pitch out of the woods and save par. The road behind 8 makes the tee shot a extra challenge with the traffic noise.

The back 9 opens up and holes 10,11, and 15 offer a great chance to stretch your arm out and the 9 as a whole is a nice change from the front side. The basket in the tree on 14 is an awesome idea and makes you really think about your putt on that hole.

None of the foliage is so thick that you can't go hunting for a missed drive and only hole 5 has much undergrowth to lose a disk in. All of the grass is cut short and your disks can get a good skip for some extra distance.
Cons: While there are no crossing fairways there are threw out the course holes that come close to each other so always be aware of who is around you. Holes 1,2,3, and 8 have walking paths threw them so be watching for walkers at the park. The road into the park comes into play on 8 and 18 if you overshot the basket. High school age kids tend to walk threw the back 9 to get into the park vs walking around.

Only about half of the holes have next tee sighs and with the back 9 having so many holes in sight of each other you can get crossed around if you don't get a map from the office at the park.
Other Thoughts: Because this course does't demand to much of your arm and it being all par 3s it's great as a second round after Killborne or Eastway or as a first round then you still have enough in the tank to play another round later in the day. Or as a stand alone course it's a really fun round and a great place to work on a good mix of shots.

In the 3 course set of Sugaw Creek, Eastway, and Killborne I would rank this course #2. Behind Killborne but in front of Eastway.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    3/12/2015   3/12/2015
Review By: Pirate35
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very fun. It offers a great layout that is very easy to follow. It was my first time playing this course, I had heard many great things about it from friends so I had to go check it out. There is a practice basket which is nice. Hole 1 starts right at the parking lot which is also nice. The fairways offer difficult shots but are so difficult that you just ping pong between trees. There are multiple lines to take on each hole to get to the basket which is very fun.

One basket is located in a tree which is a very cool aspect.

Navigating the course is also very easy. Tees for the next hole are very close to the basket of the previous hole.

If you do happen to kick off a tree and off the fairway, getting to your disc is very easy, with much of the brush taken out and many paths to travel along to get to it.

Baskets catch pretty well.

Tees are a good size.

There are bathrooms located in the building at the center of the park which is always a good thing.

The course is fairly clean..for the most part

FUN COURSE, I had a blast playing this course
Cons: This is a great course. But it is not in the best part of town. There were some very sketchy people walking around the course. I didn't have any problems with them but just a be cautious. I said the course is clean for the most part, but it does still have its share of trash throughout the park. (beer cans, bottles, old metal scrap)
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for players of any skill level. It offers open and tight shots. Forcing you to make many different shots.

I would say that if you are a right handed player you will score better if you have a decent flick. I do not, but still had a decent score throwing RHBH.

Like I said this course is very fun and would recommend it to anyone, I will certainly be back to play more rounds here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sugaw Creek: The Sweetness of Charlotte DG

5+    5/13/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: dndelli
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sugaw Creek is an excellent course, and is very close to many other popular Charlotte courses. (Reedy Creek, Kilborne, and Eastway.) Beware, this course can be deceivingly tougher than it appears, but still isn't too demanding- making it a great for both beginners and intermediate players. This set up allows you to experience a lot of Disc Golf on a nice Saturday. Sugaw has a variety of shots and lengths, and even environment (with about a 50/50 split on open and wooded holes). However, there is little-to-no elevation change. The way the course designers have made use of a couple elevated pins, and integrated Hole 14's pin into a tree feel very fresh and are creative. The added mulch on Hole 6's pin makes retrieving your putter easier, while also adding a slight challenge to your approach.

The OB flower beds on Hole 9 and the large amount of Kudzu has been cleared away, making it harder to lose your disc. None of the OBs or Mandos are too restricting, and their combination with a course filled with both technical fairways and grip-and-rip fairways manage to give the course its distinct feel over the other courses nearby. Another definite plus is the large amount of Police presence thanks to training programs that occur in the park regularly, making the Parking lot much safer than the rest of the neighborhood.
Cons: Sugaw Creek isn't in the safest of neighborhoods. Even with the police presence mentioned above, it is advised to not leave valuables lying out in your car. And even though a lot of the brush around the course has been cleared to make it hard to lose your disc on most of the course. However turning your RHBH bomb over more than you want on Hole 10 or over shooting the green on Hole 11 (if you can manage that much distance) can be devastating. If you enter the woods across the road (especially on Hole 10) there is a chance you may never see that disc again.
Other Thoughts: The $5 Am League that is held on Thursdays at 5:30pm is a great way for newer Disc Golfers to get into the competitive scene. Using a nice handicap scoring method, the host has managed to create a relaxed, yet competitive atmososphere that leads to large amounts of fun. Though I haven't played in them for a few years despite living in Greensboro for 3 years, it still seems to be wildly popular. A similar Am League was started at Reedy on Sundays at 10:30am due to the popularity of the Sugaw Am League.

Favorite Holes: 7, 9, 11, 14, 15

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 In the middle of the pack for Charlotte courses!

5+    7/15/2012   3/31/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course caters to beginner / intermediate players.
Course is easy to navigate.
Good mix of open and wooded holes that require an array of shots to score well.
Benches and trashcans at most holes.
Course has other amenities like tennis courts, baseball fields, playgrounds, basketball courts, etc.
Nice tee signs with layout of hole.
A couple of raised baskets (#6 & #14) with #14 being placed in the middle of a tree adding some variety.
Park is smaller in terms of acreage, however makes good use of the land that is there.
Haven't witnessed the course being over crowded like Reedy can be at times.
The mandos on this course are reasonable.
Police will patrol the area often.
Cons: Park is not in a great area of Charlotte.
Slim to none elevation change.
Course has trash lying around.
Only one tee pad and pin per hole.
Walking paths and entrance road come into play on several holes. Some holes also play along a major road in Charlotte with consistent traffic.
No tee on hole 1, but you are able to use the sidewalk so not a huge con for me.
Other Thoughts: Course is more catered to RHFH and/or LHBH players.

The course brings a challenge, however not quite the challenge like you will get at Reeny or Hornet's Nest. I'm by no means am the best disc golfer out there, so I will find this course a challenge to break par. Having said that, I believe that luck is needed more than at most Charlotte courses.

Front 9 consists of more wooded holes for technical shots while the back 9 is more open for a "grip and rip" feel.

Course is also nearby other parks with disc golf courses. Eastway and Kilborne.

Make certain that you leave no valuables out in plain view in your vehicle.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sugaw-ahh, Yeah!

1    1/1/2013   1/2/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 259  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sugaw Creek is home to a fun and well implemented course. Layout is compact and easy to follow. The terrain alternates between fairly open to moderately wooded with a couple of mandos, or a peculiar basket location here and there for fun. Minimal elevation change, and water not much of a concern. Not over powering in terms of distance (my only birdie was on the second longest hole, at 358'). Good mix of left/right holes, used the backhand and sidearm. Most holes had character, and were nicely framed.

The tees are concrete, with nice signs, and short transitions between holes that are also clearly marked. Baskets are new condition and pretty sweet. Park was deserted and pace was fast, had a lot of fun. Like other courses in the area, very nicely marked and well thought out.
Cons: A couple of filler holes sprinkled in. Mud made the ground slick, but considering it had rained that morning not too bad. I guess there could be problems outside of disc golf concerns that are associated this city park. I had no trouble on this holiday morning, but I have had an attempted break-in on my truck at Hornets Nest, so I know how it can go in a city park.
Other Thoughts: Sugaw Creek is the first new course of 2013. Based on one visit I really liked this course. Not super difficult, but really fun and somewhat scenic. I know if I could play several rounds, I could score way better here. Preferred Sugaw to nearby Eastway, valuing fun-factor and difficulty in terms of shot making instead of strength. Similar to good old Earlewood in Columbia, SC except with far less elevation change. My New Years Day new course streak is at 3 years in a row now, since the rain stopped long enough to sneak in one more round on my trip to Charlotte. A fine new tradition!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sugaw isn't sweet like sugar

5+    5/12/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2012
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Sugaw is a nice, pretty park in Charlotte that has a moderately challenging disc golf course. The course has some wooded holes and some open holes. It has straight holes and holes with different shaped fairways.
-The course is very easy to follow. I do remember a couple next tee signs for the walks to the next holes that are a bit confusing and there are diagrams of the hole by the tee so you will know how to play the hole
-The course has new baskets that are in good shape and they are double chained. The course was in need of new baskets and now we have 'em.
-Some designs at Sugaw are very unique and memorable (Especially on #14). Hole 14's basket is in a tree and that is what makes the hole a tricky birdie attempt. Get close if you want the birdie. Another memorable hole is #7. Your teeshot is under a magnolia tree and it requires the teeshot to be low.
-All of the fairways are pretty easy to hit if you pay attention to where you are throwing. If you hit the fairways then the course will be pretty easy.
-The course has plenty of garbage cans and bathrooms are in the building close to the first hole. It's in front of the parking lot.
-Practice basket is next to the parking lot. It's very close to hole #1.
-Every hole has at least a small birdie opprotunity. Having said that, there is a way to birdie every hole. Some holes require Righty backhands and some require sidearms.
-Every hole is very punishing and a birdie opprotunity can turn into a 4,5 or even a 6. In exception to #18, that is a sweet finishing hole. It's a bit downhill and it goes into the woods. If you throw into the woods and land in the fairway a good bit past the opening mouth into the woods then a birdie will probably come.

Cons: -This con doesn't have an effect on the disc
golf course, but it's in the bad part of town. From what I have heard, homeless people sometimes are around the course. I haven't had a problem with that but if they ask for money, give them a disc or something. NOT money because they will likely waste it on drugs.
-I think #6's elevated basket is a buzzkill. Sometimes, you will miss putts and a birdie or par could result in a high number. It's cool and all but a few years ago, it was an elevated basket but not on a fife foot hill.
-The OB past the mando gate on hole #9 is ridiculous. That's what makes the hole a bust and very irritating.
-It's a good idea that they made the ace runs a bit tricky but on #13, there are a lot of thorns and on #14, the fairway is hard to hit and it's not a straight hole. It needs to be widened.
-The mando gates on #9 and #17 are the same and you cross #9's fairway to hit the mandos. I like the mando on #9, but not on #17.
Other Thoughts: I am 15 and I started playing in march 2011 at the spring retreat at Bonclarken (Prespyterian camp in flat rock) and wanted to give disc golf a try.
Sugaw is not an easy course. It's hard and demands a nice, long shot or a straight shot. If that's a little hard for you, go to Elon park. It's in South Charlotte or if you live in Rock hill or Clover and just started, play Fewell park in Rock Hill. That's super easy and every hole is aceable.
Once you get the hang of disc golf, come over to this region of Charlotte since Eastway and Kilborne are very close. It's in the hood and I see very suspicious looking people who don't look friendly at all. Hobos aren't the only people who hang around here, come for disc golf because the course is great (one of the best in Charlotte). If it was safer and a bit more hilly, it would have a higher rating but it's just another great course in Charlotte.

Hole by hole review
#1. Tee is on the sidewalk and has trees in front of you. There are two routes. The safer route is not straight but the harder route is a better birdie opprotunity.
#2. A straight hole in the woods. This hole has a wide fairway and needs no work. Sidearm or RHBH is safe if you go straight.
#3. Very hard and needs deforesting. Sidearm is a bad idea. RHBH on this one and it wont be so hard.
#4. Punishing as well. The tree in the middie of the fairway is a disc magnet so throw right of it if you throw rhbh. Throw left of it if you throw sidearm. That way it's in the fairway.
#5. Very good design for sidearmers. It basically has a short route that can get you close. Or play it safe and go to the landing zone. This is a small dogleg right.
#6. Not one of the super punishing tee shots, but the basket is on a tall hill and if you miss your putt then you will be lucky to recover for a par or bogey or whatever.
#7. Memorable tee shot under a magnolia tree. The green has a small opening. Trees are guarding the green. If you are a rhbh and birdie this hole, you're a beast.
#8. One of the holes that requires distance and accuracy since it's in the woods. This hole is tough.
#9. The OB past the mando to the right has got to go. This would be a great hole if it wasn;t so punishing. It's straight and open but accuracy is definitely required.
#10. In my opinion, this is one of the best on the course. Throwing a big hyzer from the tee to throw right of the magnolia tree makes this a very fun hole. Th road is in play to the right, avoid that and enjoy the challenge.
#11. Another great hole, it's not that punishing because once you go past the tee, this hole is completely open. Basket is very close to the road. Keep your approach shot a little short to avoid the road.
#12. In the woods, this is not easy. Do whatever it takes to do well on this hole because if you miss the fairway then it wont be easy to get out of the trees.
#13. Ace run, finally! This is only 211' feet long but it's in the field and then it goes in the woods and the basket is back out in the field. Again HIT THE FAIRWAY UNLESS YOU WANT TO GET CUT. Thorns are to the right and left.
#14. Memorable hole that has a narrow fairway. Get close since the basket's actually IN a tree.
#15. Getting out of the woods on you teeshot is good enough because you have an open, downhill approach shot. Or go big and get close to the basket. A par is definitely good.
#16. Very tricky teeshot though a small gap. This is a tough hole since it fades a little bit right and lots of OB is to the right. Do I have to mention there are thorns.
#17. This would probably be the best if there wasn't a mando gate. A birdie opprotunity would be good if the mando gate wasn't there, it's the same mando gate as #9.
#18. Great finishing hole that goes in the woods. It's not very punishing if you throw a nice shot pretty far into the woods.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Another day in the ghetto

5+    6/1/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 304  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 4.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very beat in and is easy to navigate.

There are benches and trashcans on almost every hole.

Design wise this course is solid. There are a few negatives or things that I disagree with but for the most part this course will test your game and specifically your accuracy

There are a few unique touches on this course that I have never seen anywhere else such as the tee under the magnolia branch on 7 and the basket in the tree on 14.

There is a good mix of open and wooded holes.

Brand spanking new baskets!!

Cons: as far as design goes many of these aspects could not be avoided with the land given. The course is sqeezed together and thus has multiple fairways that run parallel to one another and require OB and Mandos. While these speed up play they do not protect from discs flying into other fairways.

I personally do not like the design of hole 3 at all.

This course is in the Ghetto and there are usually bumbs sleeping on benches, sketchy dudes(non-dgers) rolling joints, and overall sketchy people around the course. I have never personally had problems but I have heard some rough stories. Be aware as you play.

The course has a lot of trash most of which is not from DGers .
Other Thoughts: This course is a solid course but lacks the fun factor to me that other courses in the area give you,. I struggled with a rating of 3 or 3.5 but ultimatly lowered to 3 due to the roughness of the area. The design is more along a 3.5

Thic course is well worth your time and with the proximity of Kilbourne and Eastway it makes for an easy 3 in one day combo

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The Sugaw Shack

1    6/2/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - There's a solid mix of open and wooded fairways as well as a decent mixture of distance. There's no absolute bomber holes but you'll probably pull out a driver more than once.

For the most part the wooded fairways are short and technical with trees within the fairway. The course won't really test your game but you will have to work some shots different directions and maybe pull out some OH's. You will need to be accurate through gaps as well as avoiding some well placed OB.

The more open holes still force you to make solid shots, they're not just wide open spaces with straight on looks.

There's a few neat twists thrown in the course. A couple of raised baskets, one on a hill one within a tree. There's also a very unique tee right behind a low branch that doesn't affect your throw but gets in your eye line and makes you think a bit.

Equipment - New baskets and decent sized tees for the distance you'e going. Good signage. The mandos are very visible.

Atmosphere - There's some nice looking holes out there. It definitely has a city park look to it but there's some areas that have more diverse foliage than I'm used to. Nice mix in that regard.
Cons: Layout - The biggest con layout wise is that there's a lot of holes really close and it does give you that crammed in feel in a few places. I had a guide but I could see people getting confused. The crammed in deal also causes the course to use more mandos than i like to see to keep you separate from other park activities, other fairways and the road.

Some of the holes have one tree to many in the fairway and it's creating more of a luck situation. I don't say that about many courses but you'll find it here.

No elevation changes really. It's flat out there.

The greens aren't cleverly designed like you see in a lot of Charlotte courses; and because it's in the Queen City you notice more.

The course would seem to fit beginner and intermediate players more but I could see this course not only confusing new players but frustrating them with some unfair holes.

Atmosphere - The course has this feel of "hey it's there" to it. That may have to do with the neighborhood and clientele that frequents it. I was told it's a ghetto course and although I didn't really experience anything that stood out to me I got that feeling. There's more pristine courses in Charlotte for sure.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun round and isn't that the best compliment you can give a course? Even though some holes have some BS factor I didn't mind not making the gap, it's not a course that will frustrate you to death. It kind of gives you that low expectations feeling so when you had fun it just makes it that much better.

However, I can't really look back and say that any hole really stood out to me. There's a couple I remember but none that wowed me.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 'Sweet' Advanced Level Course

5+    5/28/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: curmudgeonDwindle
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 36.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Course is situated in a neighborhood level park of about 50 acres, which, typically for this region, features rolling piedmont terrain and semi-mature to mature canopy. Large areas of this park have been cleared and grassed, so the course has only a few holes exhibiting the 'tunnel carved through the forest' style. Park also features a recreation center and many other amenities, which are buffered by the park's land.

It should be noted that this park is located in a Charlotte neighborhood with a very dangerous reputation. Extra care should be taken regarding personal safety and the security of valuables, especially near nightfall. Use common sense and remain alert when playing here.

Course is fairly well sequestered from other park activities although some walking paths are interlaced with the course on the front side. Although this reviewer has only rarely experienced play delays at Sugaw, it is obvious at a glance that this course receives a fairly high amount of foot traffic, as worn areas around tees and targets are starkly evident. Some of these issues have been ameliorated with the addition of mulch. Course is well drained and no serious issues are evident, even soon after a rain event, but the course can get somewhat sloppy after same, especially in the more wooded areas.

Park's amenities are superior, as are tees, equipment and signage. The course features a practice basket, a returning 8 (front) and returning 10 (back), separated by the entrance road. Sugaw Creek DGC is very compact spatially and the park's topography is primarily flat, with fairly subtle and gradual elevation changes throughout. Most all fairways are amazingly flat. A great deal of this course's design was dictated by the existing cleared areas, meaning the course was primarily installed (as opposed to built - wholly carved out of virgin forest). This method certainly reduces the time, expense and labor of realizing the finished product, and as a result, many holes and tees are secreted in tree lines, while fairways play out over the cleared and grassed areas. Holes are also often played between 2 open grassed areas, with a 'gate' in the tree line being the major restriction in the fairway.

The front side's routing is a bit convoluted but there are no vex some way-finding issues, while the back circles the park's north side in a counterclockwise fashion. Average hole length for the 18 is just over 300'; 14 holes are between 240' and 350', which means that not only does the course suffer at bit from relatively static hole distances, but also, only fair to average power is needed to score well. This aspect of the course combined with the course's overall 'flatness' might help more inexperienced players gain consistency with throws in this general distance range. Lower speed discs can work very well at Sugaw Creek Park DGC.

7 holes are essentially 'straight', with 4 of these featuring obstacles in the middle of the fairway. This yields options for the golfer's preferred shot shape from the tee and generally this reviewer finds these types of holes more 'fun'. Options are good for the golfer. The remainder of the holes is well balanced between each spin's stable shot shape. The roller game is also a strong option for more than 50% of the course's holes. Course features double mandatories on 2 adjacent back-side holes, no doubt to channel play in the desired direction and to 'protect' the 18th tee. The more wooded fairways are plenty wide, certainly considering the hole distances, and are of an almost uniform width. #7's tee deserves a special mention, as it is a rare example of a severe height restriction right off the tee. The entire tee box sits under a mature southern magnolia and one of its large limbs extends directly over the front of the tee, perpendicular to the line of play. The limb's height is about 5'. Obviously this tee shot is nettlesome for the golfer, as and the limb is well covered with bruises and puckers from errant (point blank) tee shots. The hole is 300'. This type of flight restriction is rare in the piedmont. One wonders if the designer was attempting to reference the so-called 'Indian Trail Trees' found throughout this region. This reviewer enjoys tests like this, but each player will have to decide for him/herself.

Greens are primarily flat and open within the circle. Two greens are elevated, one a top a mulch mound and the other inside the spreading limbs of a crape myrtle. Reviewer has seen the latter idea in play at one of the iterations of the Oak Grove DGC in California and has some reservations about the durability of this particular species for this use. This green, #14, is very fun to play and the idea is sound, albeit underused in disc golf generally. Greens in general are more receptive to fades from counter-spin shots, although the advantage is not excessive, owing to the aforementioned 'flatness' of the course overall.

Roughs are very forgiving overall and recovery chances are excellent throughout, although there are a few 'jail pens' just to keep the golfer honest. These areas will be readily apparent after the golfer's initial round.

#18's target is blind from the tee, but #1's target is clearly visible from same. This might cause some confusion the first time through, although a 'short' drive at #1 from #18's tee could result in a surprise birdie at #18 to finish the round. Reviewer is uncertain if this 'feature' was intentional or the result of the space limitations at the park.

Sugaw Creek DGC is another solid offering in the Charlotte area, as I'm certain many readers are 'envious' of hearing and represents a good learning platform for golfers to ascend to more challenging courses. Scratch golfers may be disappointed, as the course could almost be classified as 'deuce or die'; really only scores in the low 40s would be competitive here. Perhaps they might try playing off-hand...

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center