Charlotte, NC 
Sugaw Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Sugaw

2-4    9/9/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to get to. A lot of wooded shots at the start that require more than just distance to shoot well. The back portion is more open and allows for some longer throws. The combination should allow various shots. Left hand/right hand neutral. The course is easy to get to and if you feel athletic there are really good tennis courts nearby to hole one and the rec center. I started at 8;30 on Saturday morning and was the only one playing. When I finished there were at least 4 or 5 groups. Go early which I like to do anyway.
Cons: Hole one does not have a tee unless you consider the sidewalk. No basket on hole 17 the day I played. The pole supposed to be holding it was there and I played to hit the pole. Not a lot of hole to hole guidance so follow the most obvious path through the woods.
Other Thoughts: I am 67 and only been playing since March of 2010. I had only played three rounds at home on the coast when I played in Charlotte while on business. While I cannot throw like the youngsters I now can at least break posted pars. I encourage people to go back to their earlier discouraging course. I had improved 16 strokes.

Try to get people to play. I certainly wish I had started earlier and have already found that disc golf players are like fishermen. You don't find many who are not friendly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Charlotte Classic

1    6/22/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sugaw has a broad appeal for players from beginner through advanced level. The design maximizes the use of the land and provides a nice variety of holes. There are many beautiful old trees that canopy most of the course and make for an attractive setting.

The course is well balanced between technical and power requirements. There are plenty of opportunities to make birdies and score low; however, there is also quite a bit of OB that creates bogey opportunities.

In contrast to some of the bigger Charlotte area courses, Sugaw provides the opportunity for a quick, casual round on a lunch break or after work.
Cons: The land area for the course is on the small side; hence the course does have some crowding and safety issues. The park walking path comes into play on several of the holes in the initial section of the course. The park road is very much in play on holes 1 and 18.
Other Thoughts: Sugaw is a great part of the awesome Charlotte area disc golf scene. At present, North Carolina doesn't have any courses on the DGCR top ten list, but overall I don't see any city that stacks up with Charlotte in terms of the number and quality of disc golf options within a short drive.

Don't be a dirty discer, leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Another Charlotte gem

1    4/17/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat park. The front 8 play through woods with nice underbrush waiting to punish errant drives. You'll need to hit tight lines between the trees, but if you do there are plenty of birdies available. A couple shots call for low ceiling distance, especially the tee placed underneath the canopy of a nice old tree. The back 10 open up a little more into grassy areas with mature trees. You can throw some bigger drives here, but there is still lurking rough and some ob roads to contend with.

There is a nice mix of ace runs and holes where many players will pull out a distance driver, which keeps things interesting. The course plays nicely balanced for righty or lefty players, even the more open areas of the course have enough trees to force some interesting lines. The flow of the course is quite easy to follow with no navigation issues. The tees and baskets are showing some wear, but are in fine shape.
Cons: The course is a perfect challenge for intermediate and rec level players, but doesn't offer and really interesting challenges. There are lots of nice straightforward par three holes with enough variety to keep it interesting, but it lacks some of the 'toughness' of other area courses. There are some areas of the course where the brush is encroaching on the fairways, a little clearing and cleaning would make the course feel a lot more taken care of. There are a few holes right near roads, a little bit of a safety issue and it takes away from the peaceful feeling of the wooded areas.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course, it makes a really nice break from some of the tough courses around the area. It's a nice beginner course, if a little long on the back side, and intermediate players will find themselves challenged to hit lines. Better players won't find much challenge here, but will still find some fun holes and some good holes to practice shaping shorter lines through the woods.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Tricky

1    10/23/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: terptwerp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although none of the holes are very long, every one of them has some twist to it. You will have to throw around trees, bushes, and mandos on almost every hole. In order to play near par, you need to shape your shots carefully. The front 9 is mostly narrow and wooded. The back 9 has more open (but still tricky) holes.
Cons: The neighborhood is pretty rough. I would not advise anyone (especially female players) to play here alone near dusk.
Other Thoughts: This course hosts well organized handicap tournaments (Thursdays in the summer and Sunday mornings in the winter). It can be frustrating at first, but gets easier after you play it a couple of times.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 decent course

1    8/29/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: bigflicknick
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I liked the open portions and the wooded sections were very frustrating, but it was an even mix and I think with a little more play time on this course it has a lot to offer.
Cons: neighborhood kinda scary and there are mandos( which i disagree with but follow nontheless)

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sugaw

1    6/12/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: Pitty241
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: very challenging and many trees bloking the pins. I personaly loved it for this reason but had some cons to
Cons: very boring at parts and also frustrating if you hit the trees. It was frustrating with the fact that you had all these tunnel shots that where nearly imposible to get through to. also very messy and not well maintained

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 solid course

5+    6/12/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: Watchitgo
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is challenging in that it tests every shot possible. You have to throw different ways off of tees to have the best chance of a good score. Course is kept in good condition. One of the tougher par 3 courses ive played. Good course.
Cons: Some people like long open courses. This is a par 3 course and mostly in woods. There are also a couple tough mandos on hole 9 and 17 that are further than most ive seen. Occasionaly you WILL get the homeless/drunk person but its never hindered my play. Not many cons on this course overall.
Other Thoughts: Ive hit chains on a first shot before but didnt stay in. I observed the basket and saw two inner rings missing. Dont know about all the other baskets though.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    6/9/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: lew311
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Easily accessible to I-85

-Variety of tight and wooded holes

-Very challenging
Cons: -A lot of the challenge comes from obstacles that don't add to the course, they are just there to get in the way. Huge trees in the center of the fairway five feet in front of the tee pad, a tee pad in a tree, etc.

-Lots of 'field goal' type holes. Luck is more important than skill here.

-This course has no problem going from a very tight tunnel shot to a hole with nothing but grass between tee and basket. Many holes are frustrating, some are just plain boring.

-The course is horribly maintained. The underbrush is thick almost everywhere. If you find yourself off the fairway, and are lucky enough to find your disc, you could easily find yourself in a thicket of briars... or worse. Trash everywhere - beer bottles tossed wherever people feel like it. Very few trash cans is a big contributor here, but still... is it really that hard to carry your trash with you?

-The road (and the area of town) make for a major distraction. My group had to wait ten minutes to tee off because a pair of drunkards decided to stumble down the middle of the fairway as opposed to the sidewalk.
Other Thoughts: I didn't list this as a con, because it doesn't particularly bother me, but the tenth tee is nowhere near the start of the course. Keep that in mind if you only plan to play nine holes.

It is a shame, because with a little bit of care this could be a decent course... but as it is it is poorly thought out and poorly maintained. I don't plan to go back any time soon.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 DONT PLAY AFTER DARK!!!!!

1    8/31/2009   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.1 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: nice ob with sidewalks. had 2 rush through wen i played for it was getting dark. but well thought out placments. half woods and field. not much room for error. like the course just not wat goes on there after dark.
Cons: HOMELESS PEOPLE AND DRUG ADDICTS COME OUT ABOUT DUSK. my frind showed me a bench near the road with dried up blood and stab marks on the bench.
Other Thoughts: TRAVEL 2 THIS COURSE IN LARGE GROUPS

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 technical and open all in one course

5+    2/1/2010   2/4/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.1 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice park with a mix of wooded and open holes. the first 5 holes are pretty technical when OB comes into play and they are somewhat tight.the back nine is mostly open but there are a few mando trees to keep it intresting on #9 and#17. all holes are reachable if you can throw 300ft. concrete pads on all holes and baskets are in good shape
Cons: the park sits in a somewhat shady area of town, but dont let that deter you from enjoying it. some of the course could use some clean up, trash, limbs everywhere, and the occasional used condom
Other Thoughts: wasnt areally huge fan of this course at first, but it has grown on me over time. nice practice basket area.the charlotte club holds a AM league here on sundays rain or shine during the winter, and then goes to thursdays when the weather and daylight change. it is a great time to meet other golfers,while having a chance to win some cool plastic

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.