Charlotte, NC 
Sugaw Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 211ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Great mix of holes

5+    9/7/2008   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots for the different holes. Well-designed to test all your skills. Every hole is Par 3, so long,accurate drives are a necessity. Because the Front 9 is so tight, you'll need to bring your accuracy. Then the Back 9 is mostly open, you can "air it out" a little. Great mix.
Cons: This course is in a bad part of town. Don't play by yourself. No really long holes.
Other Thoughts: The first nine is mostly tight and wooded. The back nine is mostly open and grassy. Fun to play and you'll probably use all your discs. The woods are mostly open, no water. It's hard to lose your disc, but not impossible.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Urban Disc Golf

1    2/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: PanicKJ
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Innova Discathers, concrete tees. Easy enough to navigate without a map, just look for the arrows spraypainted on the trees. I believe they just cleared some more trees in the woods as I saw some fresh cut lumber. Nice mix of open and wooded holes. Even on the wooded holes the fairways weren't too tight so it is a good course for all skill levels. Two of the baskets were raised up which added to the challenge a little. All holes were par 3's most about 320-350 so an 18 hole round goes fast.
Cons: The first hole had a tee pad that was actually just a line spraypainted on a preexisting sidewalk. There is really not any significant elevation changes. The worst part is that Sugar Creek Road is four lanes of roaring traffic that you hear on all but 5 of the holes. Not my idea of a good time playing disc golf. The course is actually very nice but because of the loud hwy I will probably never go back. If you do go I would take some earplugs, seriously.
Update: I have played this course again recently in the CAC and at a Club singles event and have to say that the course was much quiter during the weekend. The first time I went it was during rush hour traffic and the noise drove me batty. I would suggest checking it out early saturday or sunday.
Other Thoughts: If you are driving by, maybe on the way home from winthrop or another course you can get a quick 18 in an hour at sugaw. I don't think it is worth the drive to play just that course though unless you live close.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Sugaw

2-4    5/30/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.8 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course with a good variety of open and wooded holes. Most of the holes are shorter but there is a few that will let you air it out. Even the short holes are challenging enough to keep the course entertaining.
Cons: There are several fairways that play thru one another. There is also quite a bit of litter and the park as a whole seems kind of shady.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth playing and I would rate much higher if it wasnt for the "enviroment".

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Sugaw Creek Park

5+    12/6/2008   12/11/2008
Review By: borndasaur
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2009
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is located in an urban park with lots of amenities. Attended rec center has a gym and rest rooms. Tennis courts, basketball courts, football and baseball fields, playgrounds and picnic shelters are fairly well maintained. There is plenty of parking. If the first lot is full follow the road to the larger back lot.
The course features concrete tee pads, tee box signs, lots of benches and trash cans. Good mix of holes. Heavily wooded holes force accurate shooting, open long holes will test distance for intermediate players. The mandos and other OB areas are clearly marked (roads and sidewalks are also OB). Maps are available on the CharlotteDGC website.
Cons: There need to be more signs directing players from basket to the next tee at some of the holes. There is a lot of litter on the course, some of which is unsanitary. Some of the fairways run close to each other so players should be alert when throwing. Sets of holes to be careful on are: 2,3&8; 6,7; 9,17; 11,16. Errant drives on 14 can come close to the tee on 15. Try to avoid throwing into the underbrush on 12,15 and 16. It is very dense.
Other Thoughts: There are some holes that have directions spray painted on trees. These were directions for a cross-country meet held at the park in the fall of 2008. Although they follow the course in many places they were not intended for the DG course so a they may seem to be misleading. The litter on this course is a real problem even for those of us that try to pick it up while playing casual rounds. This park is not in the best neighborhood in town. I would avoid playing solo here. There has been an increased police presence lately and, hopefully, this will help the situation.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Sugaw Creek Park

1    12/8/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes with nice concrete tees. Good mix of mostly wooded holes with some open holes. Length not overpowering. Probably one of the first times I've teed with a tree just 5 feet above my head. Elevated baskets at 6 and 14 provided a unique putting challenge. Bakets were easy to see. Some minor elevation.
Cons: A few of the wooded holes were crapshoots (14 comes to mind), and I thought a few more arrows would have been helpful. I did print a map out.
Other Thoughts: The course, located just half a mile south of I-85, is just 10 minutes from downtown Charlotte. If I was in the area again, I'd certainly be back for another round.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Good Ole Sugaw

5+    11/21/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: governmentthief
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. About half wooded and half open. Doglegs to the right and left, tunnel shots, mandos, elevated baskets (one in the middle of a freaking tree!), giant disc-eating magnolia trees, a good wide open field shot, and a couple of tight risk/reward birdie holes. Nothing overly long so those that wimp the disc (like me) can still do well, yet tight enough to challenge better players. Well maintained course.
Cons: There seems to be a seedier side of humanity that likes to visit the park. Ive often found empty beer bottles near the tee pad of hole 17 and some crazy looking dudes walking around.
Other Thoughts: While not really a pro or a con, it needs mentioning that the woods/rough on a few holes (8, 10, 15, 16) can eat discs if you throw an errant shot. Watch where they land!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet as Sugaw

5+    5/18/2008   6/12/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2012
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sugaw Creek is a course that offers something for most players, from beginners to advanced. It's devilishly deceiving, which makes good scores even sweeter.
- Good course that has a mix of open and wooded, tight holes. There's a great flow throughout the course. With the exception of the open hole trio of #9 - 11, you're not going to see the same layout two holes in a row. So, if you're not a fan of the dogleg layout on #3, you have a straight, mid-range tee shot on #4. If a tight, wooded fairway isn't your thing (#12), you have a potential birdie/ace run on #13.
- Great variety of holes. Two baskets are raised. #6 is on a dirt mound about 6 feet off the ground. #14 is placed in a small tree, which gives a unique challenge. There are several tight, gauntlet-like fairways: #2 & 12. No holes longer than 389 feet, none shorter than 211.
- Course has a high risk/reward factor. Every hole is a potential birdie opportunity for the top players; plenty of birdie chances for even the average player. If you throw straight, none of those holes are overly difficult, but a bad tee shot can easily lead to bogey or worse.
- Good tee signs. Course is easy to navigate, even for the first-timer. There are several benches & trash cans spread throughout the course.
- Rec center at park has restrooms and water fountains. There are other nice amenities throughout the park: tennis courts, basketball courts, ball field and the aforementioned rec center.
Cons: Holes #2 & #8, and #9 & 17 play right next to each in opposite direction, so you have to watch for discs coming your direction as you walk up fairway. Also a lesser issue on #6 & #7.
- Thick underbrush on wooded holes. You can spend lots of time searching for discs if you get off fairway.
- For several weeks each spring (usually mid March - early April), canker worms can be a problem. In 2008, the city sprayed for canker worms, greatly reducing the problem this year. Hopefully, spraying will be a yearly occurrence, reducing the problem.
- Sidewalks come in to play on #1, 2 & 8, so watch for pedestrians. Also, don't be surprised to see foot traffic in obscure parts of the course: cutting through the woods on #5 &6, walking down the road parallel to #10 - 12.
- Course is not in the best part of town. I've come across people begging for money and homeless people sleeping in the park when I've played.
- Course, and park as a whole, can get trashy at times. Garbage cans on course aren't emptied often enough. I've also seen evidence of seedy/illegal activity on the course and park all the way up to a old dryer lying in the park. It's sad people in surrounding neighborhoods that most often use the park don't respect it enough to keep it clean.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course that will challenge all parts of your game. Course isn't long, no holes more than 400 feet so you don't have to be a big thrower to score well. Higher emphasis on accuracy.
- Course is deceivingly tough, at least for the average player. Or maybe it's just me. Without any long holes, and plenty of open ones, one may think this should be a birdie fest. If you throw in the 300 - 320 foot range, the open holes are going to leave you 40 -60 foot birdie putts. The point being, you're not going to get reward for throwing average tee shots here.
- Mandos might appear gimmicky at first, but they all serve a purpose. On #9, the double mando is to keep you from throwing over the road (on the right) and from throwing into #17s fairway (on the left). On #17, mando on left keeps you from throwing into #9s fairway, and on right, it keeps you from throwing on #18's fairway.
- My favorite hole is #7. You tee off under a tree to a hole that is protected by a series of trees. You either have to try to throw through or over trees, or lay up and throw through them with second shot.
- Park name is actually Sugaw Creek, not Sugar. The name Sugaw is an Indian word that comes a tribe that lived in the area years ago.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 SUGAW not Sugar!

4/6/2008   4/9/2008
Review By: basegiants
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Compact Course, not much walking from hole to hole. Well kept, challenging hole locations.
Cons: INCH WORMS EVERYWHERE. They hang from the trees all over the course and are a constant issue. Can be a very wet course days after the actual storm.
Other Thoughts: Some holes are in an open field and feels as though they just scattered them to the wind. I would much rather play Reedy Creek or Kilborne instead. I wont be going back.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

3/23/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: kpkirishy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Nice Course with varied hole layouts. This course was short but challenging enough to keep me interested. I rate it right around the level of Kilborne.
Cons: Heavy traffic in the surrounding area of the park. This park can also get a little dirty.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great course right off Interstate 85

12/25/2007   12/25/2007
Review By: mactavius
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Great layout; easy to play a quick round of 18
Cons: Could use a bit more signage on a couple of holes
Other Thoughts: Absolutely loved the two artificially-heightened baskets

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.