Lewisberry, PA 
Pinchot State Park - Boulder Woods Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #3 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Good beginners course

5+    6/5/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great beginners or pros course. The holes are not overly long and at most times you can have a decent shot at par. The course is easy to follow and the course is maintained very well. Some of the holes are creative as in there are mandatory shots and a couple of neat doglegs. The course can be easy yet really challenging at the same time. Holes like number 4 are always fun and give great chances for people of all skills to get a possible ace. The more I play this course, the more I want to conquer it. There are always new challenges when playing this course, which is one of the things that makes it so nice. The course is taken care of by a local group who has taken great pride in their courses.
Cons: People can get in the way if the park is really busy. Make sure you keep an eye on your disc during the summer months.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play. I had 3 brand new people to disc golf playing with me and they had an enjoyable time. The more I play this course, the more I enjoy it. There are always different shots that you get into at this course, and you can always try and beat your score on this course as it's not predictable. Tournaments at this course are fun to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect Tees! Perfect Trees!

1    2/27/2009   3/6/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best tee pads I have ever played that are in a wooded setting. Usually wooded courses have smallish concrete pads or uneven natural tees....not here. The pads are enormous, grippy, level and tapered well. These tees would be great in an open field course but to have such footing in a densely wooded course was a treat. After beating up my feet across the lake at Quakers Challenge I found these tees particularly welcome. The pads make this course play so much more pleasurable. The course itself is wooded but does not have any horrendous underbrush to ruin your mood. 2 holes #5 and #8 play over 400 feet and are fair. The rest play under 200-300+ range. None of the holes stand out as gems but none of them are bad holes either. Several mandos to promote safety, including a ten foot wide double mando that I thought was interesting on hole 13. The mandos can be viewed as a negative to some but it added a n interesting challenge and forced me to make specific throws which I thought to be a nice challenge. Good variety of shot making needed to play here.
Cons: No open holes for those who want to recklessly crush drives. No elevation, it is mostly flat. No water in play, it is close to lake however.. Often criss crossed by walking trails and a big pavillion runs to the left of hole #5. Could be a problem on a nice busy summer day.
Other Thoughts: Basically this is a pleasant low stress technical course. A great place to introduce people to the game. Perfect remedy for your bruised ego after playing Quaker's Challenge across the park. I think it's optimal to have a specific expert course and a specific recreational/beginner course in the same park. I really can't get over how nice the tees were. I never played a woods course with such big ample tees. This really made the course for me. It's fun and challenging enough to keep you interested. The course are much further apart than 3/5 of a mile. This got me confused. They may be 3/5 of a mile as the discs flies over the lake, but as a car drives it's a few miles AROUND the lake!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice wooded course

1    12/28/2008   12/28/2008
Review By: MarkN
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice wooded course tucked into Pinchot State Park (Conewago area). Concrete pads and well-marked, good signage, scorecards available (no par info, but avail on kiosk). LIttle elevation, several blind holes, several mandos (of questionable necessity on some). The course seems to be targeting beginners although challenging enough for anyone.
Cons: Be careful of blind holes and nearby fairways & trails. Numerous possibilities to throw into a trail or players on other holes. Can be sufficiently soggy. May be discouraging to beginners given need for tree-threading accuracy. Several baskets don't have hole numbers.
Other Thoughts: I'm generally not too fond of completely wooded courses but this one is pretty nice. I played this on a very mild December day so no green vegetation, made for fairly easy navigation and no trouble locating discs. I am interested in playing in summer as it is likely to have a completely different personality and less friendly to wayward throws. I also need to revisit Pinchot for Quaker's Challenge on other side of lake.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not a baby anymore

7/13/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: Asvetic
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great (when it's dry). It's come a long way over the last few years and now offers a worthy challenge. All while playing through very dense woods. A note, accuracy is more important than drive strength, so if you throw a short disc but have great control, this can be a wonderful course. A few holes have mandatories to keep things interesting. Well marked with concrete tee pads and Disc Catcher baskets. Bathroom accommodations and water on-site.
Cons: Hole 5 is a beast and while I love long holes, tree (yes, tree) placement is a huge factor on this hole. There aren't many finished/grassy fairways on this course, so expect rough woods and rocky terrain for footing issues.

*Beware this course is swampy after a heavy rain.*
Other Thoughts: Pinchot rents discs. I discovered this when I crossed a family of 3 playing with rented discs. They were having fun, but honestly this course isn't for beginners. Still it's always good to see a family trying the sport out. They were kind enough to let me play through after a short chat.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Course

9/12/2007   6/29/2008
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads and signs on every hole. Clearly marked Mandos, and next tee signs. Mostly wooded course, not too tight. Bathrooms available, free park admission.
Cons: Busy part of park. Bathroom was between holes on back 9, which caused some pedestrian traffic.
Other Thoughts: Nice course to challenge any player, regardless of ability.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for working on accuracy.

3/25/2008   4/3/2008
Review By: BubbaThrewIt
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I immediately fell in love with this course the very first day I played it. It is great for working on accuracy and is kind of hard to lose a disc with the layout and terrain. Great for us Ams! In a beautiful setting near the lake.
Cons: In a busy part of the park.
Other Thoughts: Can't think of any.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta love it

1/27/2008   2/3/2008
Review By: matt30556
Played: 65  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great wooded course to work on your accuracy. The nice big concrete tees are the best ones I have ever played on. Some slight elevation changes. The course is well maintained and manicured.
Cons: Leave your rolling discs at home you won't need and can't use em. The hiking and nature trails have people walking through fairways, keep your eyes open and I'm not sure all the mandos are absolutely necessary.
Other Thoughts: It is a great rec. course and will challenge any discer. With it being in the woods you don't have a lot of chances to just grip it and rip it, but if you get lucky enough to get through all the trees it will fly a while. Excellent tournaments and events are well ran by the local club (Fighting Llamas) who are also building the new course on the other side of the lake.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pinning Pinchot

2-4    1/20/2010   11/12/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2010
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 holes of solid disc golf. Great tee pads, long and wide, and easy to see DIScatchers, most of which are in great shape. Numerous shorter holes with a few longer throws but none of which are not threeable. Some holes have shorter tees as well. Tee signs are nice and well illustrated. Although the course does favor righties a bit, most left-handers shouldn't have a hard time with the layout. Arrows below the basket point you to the next tee, always a plus. Some of the mandos are designed more so for safety issues with the walking paths, but many of them are fair. Bag hooks are provided on nearly every tee post. Fairways are groomed, but don't miss them.
Cons: The early three holes as well as 18 play in a lower area of the course and usually are very wet much of the year. In January these were frozen, thankfully. The only mandos that were tougher is the double mando on 13. Sure, it's great and makes it tough for the seasoned player, but a noob or a rec may be forced to lay it up and then shoot it through, kinda interesting.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast out here today and shot well, surprisingly. The course is definitely unique and the mandos add a little more spice to a course that without 'em, might feel kind of repetitive. Off the fairways, some holes you can catch a break and move much closer to the hole, but a few will leave you with nothing more than a pitchout. The Llamas have done a great job with both Boulder and its counterpart, Quaker's Challenge.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sharpens your accuracy

9/18/2007   9/18/2007
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some of the best concrete tees i've thrown from. Signs with maps footage. Hole #1 offers free scorecards! Wonderfully challenging course to practice your wooded shots. Tournaments are very smooth and well organized and usually offer a players package ranging from discs to T-shirts.
Cons: Not the most friendly roller course, they dont call it boulder woods for nothing. No wide open field holes for the big arms to really air one out without any obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Quaker Challenge across the lake is set to open in the fall of 2007 and from what i've heard, thier club has designed and installed a challenging professional course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for that tree!

6/3/2007   7/30/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes in deep woods, I love it. With the nicest mando markers I've ever seen.
Cons: When I played the park was also home to a triathalon people kept running through all the shots I was lucky to not hit anyone.
Other Thoughts: I heard that a new course was being built "across the lake". It was a small lake, so that must be nearby.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.