Springfield, IL 
Lincoln Park - South Share
Uploaded By: chuckdisc Hole #1 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 384ft.   3 / 438ft.   3 / 438ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun but Dangerous

1    9/3/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 146  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 14.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The South course has some really neat holes with great elevation, great usage of the park, and beautiful scenery. Multiple pin placements were a nice addition for the most part.... Hole 4 is a beautiful left to right, sweeping downhill hole with a pond coming into play. Hole 6 is a huge hyzer hole playing back up the hill with out of the bounds road to the right. Hole was an interesting hole bordering a neighbor's yard with a tight green. 10 was a tough uphill hole with out of bounds way left and 11 was a monster par 4 with a low ceiling green. 13 was a very unique hole with a nice hyzer drive - the hole required you to hit the landing area and then throw downhill about 150 feet into a protected green with out out of bounds road long. Then it got real interesting.....
Cons: Hole 14 needs some serious work....this was simply a brutal brutal hole. Not only was the fairway incredibly tight, but the hole was simply unfair. No hole should be over 550 feet with that type of fairway. After this hole things became extremely confusing. We found tee pads that indicated hole 15 which appeared to be a hole over the pond....but it turns out those were old pads and the tee was over the pond and the basket was back into the woods. 16 was a dangerous shot so close to the road, and felt eerily like the North course: long, with a low-ceiling shot and no defined fairway. Hole 3 was also extremely odd....it looks to be a brand new hole but there wasn't really a fairway on the hole. It was just 180 feet of a hyzer-woods shot with a brush/shule/woods all around. Some of the holes had concrete pads while others didn't. In addition, while I typically like a course that has some options via multiple pin placements.....there were way too many pin placements on the course and it became confusing which pin we were playing towards. In addition, while I typically like a course that has some options via multiple pin placements.....there were way too many pin placements on the course and it became confusing which pin we were playing towards. Some of the distances painted on the concrete pads seemed to be a bit confusing.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this was a fun course. There were some really memorable holes and I did enjoy the course. If not for the danger factor I would give this course a 4. If I knew that smart players were the only ones to play this course (and would watch for cars and pedestrians) I would have no beef with this course. But the fact remains....this course has some dangerous areas. I would change my review to a 3.5 if holes 3 and 14 had widened fairways and the tee situation on hole 15 was remedied either by moving the old concrete pad to the new tee area or removing the old concrete altogether so people weren't confused. If you are curious...I would rate the North Course 2.5 stars based on the fact that a lot of the holes had the following characteristics:
1) Low-ceiling shots
2) No real defined fairway
Its okay to have low-ceiling shots, but a majority of the holes required a low shot. Also, a lot of the holes seemed to have no true fairway....just had trees in the middle with some type of route. Hole 2 is the best example: 400+ foot hole with an apparent route right up the middle between the two oaks, but when you pass the two oaks you are literally throwing into a bunch of small saplings that cannot be considered a fairway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Redesign needs a redesign

1    1/6/2011   1/10/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) 3 sets of tees, some overlapping between red and white and some between white and blue. Pick a color and play along! I like variety and options to allow for more people to be able to play a course.

2) Fairly beginner friendly because it is mostly open. Sure there are mature trees and there are the couple adjusted holes with tight wooded fairways, but for the most part, beginners shouldn't be too frustrated.

3) Colored stripes on the posts (grayish on the South) next to the tees help you find where you are going. The North course also has a different color post (blueish) soy ou don't end up crossing between courses unkowingly amd it would be possible if they were not numbered and colored.

4) Mach baskets with # plates facing the tees are always helpful.

5) Next tee indictor located on the locking mechanism. Its a good idea, and this is the first time I have ever seen that. It is up to the installer to make sure they are in the right spot, and if baskets are going in and out the person doing the work better know how that works or it will be a hinderance.

6) Very nice park with all sorts of activities. Playgrounds, bathrooms, and a whole lot of room to play.

7) #4 is just an awesome risk/reward hole. I threw a big anny and it made the turn all the way around and was headed to the frozen pond, but fortunately fo rme it hit the last tree and I was left with a 75' putt. I missed but to have a run at birdie on that hole was a great feeling and fun to execute.

8) Nice variety in distance and shot shaping. With the newer holes it also adds the variety by including tight woods shots (see cons also though).

9) Practice baskets were available by the parking lot.

10) Massive Oak trees always make for good disc golf because they are so wide but also because they have sprawling branches that force you to throw low too.

11) Map kisok at the first hole is helpful but has not been updated after the redesign.

12) Distances to the baskets are painted on the concrete in the back corner which is a good idea. It helps you decide which tee it is, without the chance of having tees vandalized.

13) Elevation and undulation are helpful to the fun factor on this course. There isn't a ton of elevation change but enough to make it fun.

14) Concrete tees are perfect!
Cons: 1) New Hole #3 is really odd. The red tee is no more than 80' to the basket and in uncleared woods. #5 is another new hole that uses the dense woods and needs more clearing. #11, 12 and 13 are all the same. If there were fairways that would be better but it seems unfortunate that these holes needed to be changed because it clearly neagtively impacted the course design.

2) Flow is grossly interrupted and we nearly got lost 3 or 4 times due to the new configuration. We apparently played #5 tee to #6 basket and then walked backwards to play #6 tee to #5 basket, then we were lost, but we eventually figured it out. Then we did it all over again on 11-13.

3) #18 is a long long way from the parking lot. It's not a huge deal, but I typically like to see the first and last holes ending near each other. Its simply worth mentioning, as long as the holes were designed the best way possible an issue like this can be overlooked.

4) Directionals would be helpful on the new holes for sure and in a few other locations. Having the #'s on the posts is helpful, but a sign would be better than those small next tee things on the locking mechanism.
Other Thoughts: I would compare this course to Anna Page but the redeisign has really changed things around. It isn't wuite on par with Anna Page but it could be if some issues were taken care of.

This course was in a transition phase I think. I am not sure if the changed holes will be staying the way they are but some work needs to be done to make thos eholes acceptable. There also needs to be some clearing of the trees to make actual fairways. Signs need to be put in place to help and the distances need to be listed. I am doing an evaluation based on the current setup, but as soon as I hear things have been updated I will edit my rating and my review. I JUST DON'T WANT PEOPLE GOING TO THIS COURSE EXPECTING A 4 DISC RATED COURSE WITHOUT ISSUES. IN IT'S CURRENT STATE I GIVE THIS COURSE A 3, BUT IF THE ISSUES I HAVE MENTIONED GET RESOLVED, I COULD SEE IT BEING A 4 DISC RATED COURSE, ASSUMING THE NEW HOLES RECEIVE SOME ATTENTION. REGARDLESS THE NEW HOLES WILL MAKE THE COURSE FEEL DISJOINTED, BECAUSE IT OBVIOUSLY WAS DESIGNED DIFFERENTLY THE FIRST TIME. I LIKE VARIETY BUT I THINK THISJUST MAKES THE COURSE INCONSISTANT.

On a positive note, Abraham Lincoln's tomb is just a mile or so away. Check it out if you have a chance.

Outside of the new redesign, this course is solid and a lot of fun, so please take my issues with a grain of salt, there are still a lot of positives.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Dazed and Confused

1    5/25/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park was made for disc golf---particularly the part that they put the south course on. I love the topography here. Wonderful elevation changes as well as large mature trees everywhere. Each hole feels like a separate challenge with no two holes feeling the same. Great concrete tee pads throughout. The course appears to be immaculately maintained by the workers there. The baskets were in very good condition (DGA Mach III's?). Tremendous challenge from all the tee pad's. The course definitely forced you to throw most every shot you have....although both the North and South park seemed to favor anhyzer lines from the tee pads we played; which is a bit unusual for most courses.
Cons: This course could have been enormously fun, but instead I was just frustrated most of the time trying to figure out where the next hole was...and what hole we were even on. Recently, the second course was added to the park and they took a few holes from the old course and added them to the new. They then added a few new holes to the old course, but the result is total confusion for someone who has never played out there. I did have a current map, but it didn't help much at all. On most holes, the tee sign is blank or incorrectly numbered. Very few of the numbers on the tee signs match the numbers on the basket...and almost none of the numbers on either the basket or tee sign are correct at all. Because of those things it was really tough to figure out which pins to throw at. It is an easy fix...which is why I am surprised they haven't done anything to help that. Spray paint on the ground or trees, or putting some thing on the sign and baskets to indicate the new numbers would have easily eliminated my frustration an added a disc or more to my review score.
Other Thoughts: This review might not sit well with the Springfield crew, but it is not meant to be a slight to them at all. It is a fair representation of what I experienced out there yesterday. I traveled 3 hours to play and had high expectations. The course could become one of my favorites if they can work out the flow/signage issues. All the pieces for greatness are there, they just need to help me make sense of it all=)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 South Lincoln

1    3/6/2010   3/6/2010
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a nice park and a lot of the holes were nice and long and interesting. It's a beautiful park and there were dozens of people here walking along, biking, and just having fun, so it was fun to be a part of it.
Multiple tees and pin placements are sure to make every round unique and enjoyable.
The Springfield community is just plain awesome. I love this city.
Cons: I had two major problems with this park. About 80% of the maps on the tee signs were torn off which made it really hard for me to know what was going on. I figured it out, but it took a little bit of work.
The second problem I had is that the map given on this site and the actual hole #'s were off. I think they were right for the first 4 or so, but then they started getting inconsistent which made it hard for me to follow.
I had a very hard time trying to figure out the flow of the course while transitioning holes.
As mentioned, there were a lot of people there so hitting someone is an unfortunate possibility. Be careful!
Other Thoughts: While you're here, definitely check out Lincoln's Tomb and play Douglas Park if you have the time.

Oh, and check out Springfield's Disc Golf Club's website

www.discgolfclub.org

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center