Springfield, IL
Lincoln Park - South Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
4 / 273ft.   4 / 273ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    5/12/2013   5/12/2013
Review By: donny vomit
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Best course in spfld
Cons: Worse course in spfld for signs ,no par numbers , or footage distances, and grass management.
Other Thoughts: Love this course, but the reluctance to put down signage well just sucks.playing here since last Feb. And still don't know what par is for this course on the holes them selves. Don't go by the sign by no#1 that sign was several designs ago. Other than the signage and no par#s this is the best course in town hands down.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Course

5+    5/3/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 155  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple concrete tees and good signage here. A great variety of lines and distances on this course with some fun elevation. Hole two has an interesting down sloping fairway to the right. 4 is such a cool par 4. It is a placement shot down a hill through a gap and then a short approach over the fountain pool to the green with an up sloping back stop. 5 is a short, fun uphill hole. 6 is a cool downhill par 4. First you must hit the tight gap heading downhill. Then to get to the green for a birdie putt you must navigate the fairway that slopes towards the ob road with a treacherous basket placement atop the slope. 9 is a cool downhill shot with the fairway as a peninsula surrounded by an ob road. 10 is a tough birdie as the fairway goes way uphill making the hole play much longer than its listed distance. 11 is a fun par 4 where you can rip a drive off the tee and then a have a challenging low ceiling shot to a protected green that sharply drops away behind the basket. 14 is a super tight tunnel shot through the woods. Once you get out of the woods the terrain drops away and then slopes back up to the green.
Cons: Some holes lack interest for me like hole 3, a short dogleg left with no good line. 12 is a boring straight shot or a flukey skip shot left when the pin is over there. 15 is a short hole with the basket in a tricky position on the slope on the right. The green is cool but the drive is boring. 17 is a boring open straight shot or big hyzer.
Other Thoughts: Much better course than the North course in the same park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A True Gem

5+    12/13/2011   12/21/2011
Review By: Shade Seeker
Played: 88  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course and it is a true gem! The setting is beautiful with elevation you wouldn't expect in the heart of the prairie. The park is filled with mature oak trees. There's a lovely lagoon and even some woods.
There are concrete tee pads on all tees, with 2 or 3 tee placements 12 of the 18 holes. There are at 2 basket placement positions on nearly every hole.

The signs are pretty basic. The map at the first hole pictures the old course so isn't much help with navigation, but the tees and baskets are numbered and there are "next tee" signs at the bottom of each basket. There are no benches devoted to the course but the course maintenance is outstanding. The layout takes great advantage of the terrain, although you are nowhere near the parking lot after playing #9 and have quite a walk to your car after #18.

Most of the holes have multiple lines to the basket and there is a good variety of short and long holes. The course favors RHBH players a little bit, but is fairly balanced. There are some challenging risk-reward decisions on several holes, with an road OB on #6 to make you think about your drive and approach to the side-slope basket. Baskets on #14, #15 and #16 are also posititioned on tricky slopes. The course is very fair, with no reliance on lucky shots execpt for the #3 hole through the woods from the long tee.

There are several "wonder holes" at Lincoln South. #4 is a beautiful, downhill dog-leg right with woods on the right and the lagoon looming dead ahead for long drives that don't make the turn. It's my favorite hole on the course, especially when the basket is positioned at the alternate spot across the lagoon. This postition requires a decision about whether to lay up or go for it, and four mighty oaks and deep water add to the risk. Unfortunately, this position is rarely utilized. The blue/white tee on #6 demands a downhill tunnel shot through the woods, follow by a tricky, side slope approach shot. #11 is a long hill-top hole that calls for a long distance drive followed by a low, controlled second shot to a basket on the "edge of the table" and another risk-reward choice. #14 is a phenominal layout through a tunnel in the woods, across a small valley to a basket perched on a hillside in the woods beyond. The lagoon lies downhill on the right for the full length of the hole. Getting a 3 on this one always feels like an accomplishment.
Cons: One con of the course is that the basket positions aren't changed very often. For the most part, you either get the long or the short positions all at once. It would be great if they could mix it up a bit, but I shouldn't complain if I don't want to volunteer. The other major con is that the lagoon does not really come into play except for when #4 is set to the "tournament position" mentioned earlier. This is a Park Disctict decision. There used to be a nice shot over the water but they installed some waterside benches in the fairway which forced a move of the hole. I guess when you're sharing a park with other users you can't have everything, but one can't help but to fantasize about a ridge-top tee in the woods above where you could rip one out of the trees and over the water.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and I tip my hat to the Springfield Park District and the Springfield Disc Golf Club for creating and maintaining 2 great courses on this property. In my opinion, Lincoln South is one of the best courses in Illinois.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but Dangerous

1    9/3/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 103  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The South course has some really neat holes with great elevation, great usage of the park, and beautiful scenery. Multiple pin placements were a nice addition for the most part.... Hole 4 is a beautiful left to right, sweeping downhill hole with a pond coming into play. Hole 6 is a huge hyzer hole playing back up the hill with out of the bounds road to the right. Hole was an interesting hole bordering a neighbor's yard with a tight green. 10 was a tough uphill hole with out of bounds way left and 11 was a monster par 4 with a low ceiling green. 13 was a very unique hole with a nice hyzer drive - the hole required you to hit the landing area and then throw downhill about 150 feet into a protected green with out out of bounds road long. Then it got real interesting.....
Cons: Hole 14 needs some serious work....this was simply a brutal brutal hole. Not only was the fairway incredibly tight, but the hole was simply unfair. No hole should be over 550 feet with that type of fairway. After this hole things became extremely confusing. We found tee pads that indicated hole 15 which appeared to be a hole over the pond....but it turns out those were old pads and the tee was over the pond and the basket was back into the woods. 16 was a dangerous shot so close to the road, and felt eerily like the North course: long, with a low-ceiling shot and no defined fairway. Hole 3 was also extremely odd....it looks to be a brand new hole but there wasn't really a fairway on the hole. It was just 180 feet of a hyzer-woods shot with a brush/shule/woods all around. Some of the holes had concrete pads while others didn't. In addition, while I typically like a course that has some options via multiple pin placements.....there were way too many pin placements on the course and it became confusing which pin we were playing towards. In addition, while I typically like a course that has some options via multiple pin placements.....there were way too many pin placements on the course and it became confusing which pin we were playing towards. Some of the distances painted on the concrete pads seemed to be a bit confusing.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this was a fun course. There were some really memorable holes and I did enjoy the course. If not for the danger factor I would give this course a 4. If I knew that smart players were the only ones to play this course (and would watch for cars and pedestrians) I would have no beef with this course. But the fact remains....this course has some dangerous areas. I would change my review to a 3.5 if holes 3 and 14 had widened fairways and the tee situation on hole 15 was remedied either by moving the old concrete pad to the new tee area or removing the old concrete altogether so people weren't confused. If you are curious...I would rate the North Course 2.5 stars based on the fact that a lot of the holes had the following characteristics:
1) Low-ceiling shots
2) No real defined fairway
Its okay to have low-ceiling shots, but a majority of the holes required a low shot. Also, a lot of the holes seemed to have no true fairway....just had trees in the middle with some type of route. Hole 2 is the best example: 400+ foot hole with an apparent route right up the middle between the two oaks, but when you pass the two oaks you are literally throwing into a bunch of small saplings that cannot be considered a fairway.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Challenging Course

2-4    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Red/White/Blue tee pads, some shared
- Multiple pin placements
- Very challenging layout
- Lots of risk reward
- A few risky greens especially #4, #11, and #14.
- Shot placement and smart play are a necessity
- Many true par 4s
- This course is a little more removed from the rest of the park.
- Lots of other activities at the course, including the water park.
Cons: - This course is in need of some serious tree trimming!!!! Low hanging braches everywhere really destroy the lines. A few holes with this feature are OK but when they are an overwhelming feature it becomes a bit much.
- The cement tee pads are nice but they are not level with the ground around them. making timing-steps and run-ups not safe. Worst part is the longest holes have the worst issue.
- No descriptive tee signs. Lots of walking the fairway to find the hole.
- Water (personally i am not a fan of water OB. losing your disc to OB is lame. A permanently marked OB circle is just as effective and no one loses a disc. (not holing against the course)
- Holes #3, #5, and #12 are stupid. there are no real lines at the basket. Chuck n' pray holes.
Other Thoughts: **Played in the 2011 Mother Lode on the Mother Road from blue tees**
The South course is far more challenging than the North. Shot placement and accuracy are very important to score well. This course will really test ADV players and provide a good challenge to PRO players. I would say True par from blue tees is around 57-58, with holes #4, #11, and #14 being true par 4s. Holes #6, #13, and #18 being par 3.5.
Hole #4 is a tricky beast. The pond next to the basket is nasty. Choice and execution are essential for good scores. Not many birdie opportunities so get them while you can.

This course is a 4 disc layout. But... there are some things that seriously take away from its quality. They could easily be fixed/improved.
First, hole #3 ranks in my top 5 for stupidest holes ive ever played. the line from the tee doesnt complete go to the basket. you have to count on your disc crashing through and getting "lucky".
Second, holes #5 and #12 are clear Chuck'n'pray holes. There is no true line at the basket. Greens are overly protected and need to have some definitive line cleared. Also, those pillars on #5 would be awesome if you could incorporate those into the hole design.
Third, low hanging braches are insane. You are forced to constantly disc up to make the distances. Im 6'2" and walking down the fairway i was ducking under branches alot. You are forced to disc up constantly if you want to make the distances.
Forth, the tee pads on several holes are sometimes a couple inches above the ground. I personally like to take a couple of timing steps leading into my x-step. the teepads themselves are long enough for just my x-step. So i found myself catching the teepad edge often. the worst part is that the longest hole on the course, #11, was the worst culprit.

With that said, this is a fantastic course. I highly recommend this and North. I am truly jealous of those in Springfield with such great home courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nooby on the course!

1    6/27/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: Redleg
Played: 35  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: Very Challenging course for a new player. Great location. lots of different placement of holes. Lots of long holes. Busy park but course is laid out so you do not have them interfearing with play very often.
Cons: They were moving the baskets for a tournament and some of the holes were very hard to find and basket markers did not match holes in a few cases. I was told that once they go back to normal play it will be better.
Other Thoughts: for a guy who has only played for 4 days total at this point. Great place to play!

 Nice park course

1    2/26/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the more technical and hillier course of the two in Lincoln Park. There is more brush and woods in play to really punish errant drives, and a lot more holes with fun elevation changes. There are a couple fun downhill shots, and some tricky uphills mixed in. Most of the course plays through grassy park areas with mature trees, offering multiple lines and often a lower ceiling to contend with. A few shots play through the woods to add some tighter lines.

There is a pretty good mix of right and left turning holes here, it felt pretty balanced. There are long 'tournament' settings for most pins, and those also looked like they offered a great variety of lines to hit while adding quite a bit of length and difficulty. There is a good mix of lengths out here too, with a few longer holes where most players will pull out a driver, and lots of short to medium length holes that are reachable but only with a good shot.

The tees are mostly concrete, and are in nice shape. The few holes that don't have concretes yet will get them soon, so that wasn't a big issue. The tees are marked with nice posts that have the hole number and which tee you're playing, as many holes have alternate tees. The distance to the pin is painted on most tees, and there are next tee markers at the base of every pin.
Cons: There are some navigation issues, even with the next tee markers. Some areas of the course have several tees and baskets close together so it occasionally takes some time to figure out where to go next. Some of the sections of the course felt a little repetitive, when you're using park style terrain it's difficult to make that different of holes at times.

The tournament pin placements looked like they would add a lot of fun and challenge, but they also bring roads into play quite a bit more and I don't think they're used all that often. The new holes in the woods need some work. They aren't cleared out, so they're just poke n pray type shots right now, and don't fit at all with the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with some nice challenges, and especially with another course onsite it's definitely worth a stop. Beginners will find some length and some holes that are a little punitive of errant shots, but overall it's not too frustrating for newer players. More experienced players will find some nice challenges, with some rewarding birdie opportunities mixed in.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Redesign needs a redesign

1    1/6/2011   1/10/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) 3 sets of tees, some overlapping between red and white and some between white and blue. Pick a color and play along! I like variety and options to allow for more people to be able to play a course.

2) Fairly beginner friendly because it is mostly open. Sure there are mature trees and there are the couple adjusted holes with tight wooded fairways, but for the most part, beginners shouldn't be too frustrated.

3) Colored stripes on the posts (grayish on the South) next to the tees help you find where you are going. The North course also has a different color post (blueish) soy ou don't end up crossing between courses unkowingly amd it would be possible if they were not numbered and colored.

4) Mach baskets with # plates facing the tees are always helpful.

5) Next tee indictor located on the locking mechanism. Its a good idea, and this is the first time I have ever seen that. It is up to the installer to make sure they are in the right spot, and if baskets are going in and out the person doing the work better know how that works or it will be a hinderance.

6) Very nice park with all sorts of activities. Playgrounds, bathrooms, and a whole lot of room to play.

7) #4 is just an awesome risk/reward hole. I threw a big anny and it made the turn all the way around and was headed to the frozen pond, but fortunately fo rme it hit the last tree and I was left with a 75' putt. I missed but to have a run at birdie on that hole was a great feeling and fun to execute.

8) Nice variety in distance and shot shaping. With the newer holes it also adds the variety by including tight woods shots (see cons also though).

9) Practice baskets were available by the parking lot.

10) Massive Oak trees always make for good disc golf because they are so wide but also because they have sprawling branches that force you to throw low too.

11) Map kisok at the first hole is helpful but has not been updated after the redesign.

12) Distances to the baskets are painted on the concrete in the back corner which is a good idea. It helps you decide which tee it is, without the chance of having tees vandalized.

13) Elevation and undulation are helpful to the fun factor on this course. There isn't a ton of elevation change but enough to make it fun.

14) Concrete tees are perfect!
Cons: 1) New Hole #3 is really odd. The red tee is no more than 80' to the basket and in uncleared woods. #5 is another new hole that uses the dense woods and needs more clearing. #11, 12 and 13 are all the same. If there were fairways that would be better but it seems unfortunate that these holes needed to be changed because it clearly neagtively impacted the course design.

2) Flow is grossly interrupted and we nearly got lost 3 or 4 times due to the new configuration. We apparently played #5 tee to #6 basket and then walked backwards to play #6 tee to #5 basket, then we were lost, but we eventually figured it out. Then we did it all over again on 11-13.

3) #18 is a long long way from the parking lot. It's not a huge deal, but I typically like to see the first and last holes ending near each other. Its simply worth mentioning, as long as the holes were designed the best way possible an issue like this can be overlooked.

4) Directionals would be helpful on the new holes for sure and in a few other locations. Having the #'s on the posts is helpful, but a sign would be better than those small next tee things on the locking mechanism.
Other Thoughts: I would compare this course to Anna Page but the redeisign has really changed things around. It isn't wuite on par with Anna Page but it could be if some issues were taken care of.

This course was in a transition phase I think. I am not sure if the changed holes will be staying the way they are but some work needs to be done to make thos eholes acceptable. There also needs to be some clearing of the trees to make actual fairways. Signs need to be put in place to help and the distances need to be listed. I am doing an evaluation based on the current setup, but as soon as I hear things have been updated I will edit my rating and my review. I JUST DON'T WANT PEOPLE GOING TO THIS COURSE EXPECTING A 4 DISC RATED COURSE WITHOUT ISSUES. IN IT'S CURRENT STATE I GIVE THIS COURSE A 3, BUT IF THE ISSUES I HAVE MENTIONED GET RESOLVED, I COULD SEE IT BEING A 4 DISC RATED COURSE, ASSUMING THE NEW HOLES RECEIVE SOME ATTENTION. REGARDLESS THE NEW HOLES WILL MAKE THE COURSE FEEL DISJOINTED, BECAUSE IT OBVIOUSLY WAS DESIGNED DIFFERENTLY THE FIRST TIME. I LIKE VARIETY BUT I THINK THISJUST MAKES THE COURSE INCONSISTANT.

On a positive note, Abraham Lincoln's tomb is just a mile or so away. Check it out if you have a chance.

Outside of the new redesign, this course is solid and a lot of fun, so please take my issues with a grain of salt, there are still a lot of positives.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's Perspective

1    9/25/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Warrick1
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads and markers, although the markers were in the process of being updated to a new layout. Good baskets. Wide variety of shots and hole types kept the course interesting.
Cons: For the beginner, this is a more challenging course than the north one. The course was going through some changes and a couple of holes were difficult to follow but that will be corrected as the course markers are updated. The course is more closed in on several holes with some thick woods and narrow, narrow fairways. A lagoon can cause problems on a couple of holes as well. I did lose a disc in the lagoon after it hit off a tree and landed in the water.
Other Thoughts: This course seems better for the more advanced player. Less so for a beginner like myself and my wife. It is a really good course - very challenging. But if you are still new to the sport, play the north course. My wife and I enjoyed that one more as we had more fun and lower scores.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Schweet Course

1    7/11/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: eggmixer
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park
Nice concrete tee pads
Great challenge
Nice Variety of holes - distance, obstacle, OB


Cons: Course layout still in flux - No map - really wasn't a problem at the time since we met up and played the 36 holes with the guys who are doing the new layout - there were markers at the base of the baskets that you could conceivably navigate by.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.