Springfield, IL 
Lincoln Park - South Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 360ft.   4 / 456ft.   4 / 597ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great combination of variety and challenge

2-4    8/6/2011   6/1/2010
Review By: uigrad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 24.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NOTE: Even though this review is dated as 2010, I have re-written most of it based on my play in August of 2011 :)

This course has a core group of local golfers that have really invested a lot. Most of the work has been done through volunteer time, by people that really care, and it shows.

Even though this course was probably a typical aged park course, the group has brought it up to modern standards. Nearly every hole has multiple tees and pin positions, and the distances for each combination (often 6 combinations) are printed on the concrete tees.

The distances for the holes covers a wide spread. The longest hole has a distance of 750 feet from the blue tee to the far pin location, and it doesn't even have wide open fairways!

Most of the holes offer multiple paths to the pin. Those who can drive precisely will have a nice advantage.

There are a lot of interesting features as out of bounds areas (lagoons, cliffs, fountains, and park roads), and plenty of amenities. Even with the cliffs and lagoons, the layout makes it unlikely that you will lose a disc to any of the hazards.

The thing that is truly unique about this course, though is the variety. Some holes are all about distance, while others are all about accuracy. The design for hole 5 made me laugh out loud today as we played it. It's clear that the designers very much wanted the course to have character.

Even thought this park has 2 full size courses, don't think that they crammed it into a space that is too small. You won't breeze through this course quickly. Expect semi-difficult terrain, and frustrating shots. If you are out of shape (as I am), you will probably be worn out by the time you finish it.
Cons: The main disadvantage to this course is still the layout. The course was redesigned shortly before I initially made this review to make room for the new course in the northern part of the course. When I first reviewed this course, I spent a lot of time discussing the confusing nature of the course. Since then, the baskets with incorrect numbers have been corrected. 4x4 posts with tee numbers have been planted near every tee (previously you just had to guess). And the NextTees help you find the next hole.

Still, the map at the front of the course is incorrect. Some tee pads (such as #2) are angled incorrectly, so it is hard to determine which basket you are seeking. The tees do not have maps. And sometimes the tees can be hard to find (ie #15), and sometimes the baskets can be hard to find (ie #5)

The other big issue with this park is that there can be a lot of people. When I first played the course, I encountered walkers, kids on bicycles, playgrounds full of kids, and a group of LARPers that blocked some of the tees for hole 4. If you go on a weekday, this shouldn't be a problem. My second time playing was a Saturday in August, and this time, I had very little problem with nonplayers being in the way, other than hole 15.

Worst of all, for a multi-use park, there are a couple of blind shots. Sure, blind shots are fun, but with this many other park-goers, you just don't want to take the chance of hitting someone. On busy days, you may need to send someone ahead to spot pedestrians, or just skip some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: The distance between holes and the confusion caused by moving things around are all associated with the plan to expand the park to 36 holes. I haven't tried the north course yet, but I think that the golfers in Springfield are extremely fortunate to have 36 holes in a single park.

My original rating (2010) was a 2.5, but I've raised it to a 4 now that the posts with tee numbers have been added.

As far as rating the Springfield disc golf community, I'd give them extremely high marks. Their website shows that they are very active, and they have a lot of experienced players will go out of their way to help newer players. Now that the city has three 18-hole courses, all with multiple pin placements, it seems like a great disc golf environment for the locals.

If you want to try this course now (before the numbers are fixed), check out the plan for the layout here: http://www.discgolfclub.org/S...sion_Kent.pdf

The .pdf was the plan used for building the modifications, so it may not be completely accurate, but it can help in a few places.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed bag...potential to be great.

2-4    5/25/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: cooktastic
Played: 45  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the prettiest parks I've ever had the pleasure of playing in. The park is very well maintained with such a variety of activities available there (playgrounds, shuffle board, horseshoes, ice rink, ball fields, and of course the 2 18 hole disc golf courses). The terrain on the south course is an ideal setting for disc golf with nice elevation changes, water, a few heavily wooded holes, a few more open holes, every hole has amazing big mature trees. The course has really nice concrete tee pads (multiple tees) and nice DGA baskets. Most holes have interesting multiple pin locations as well. It is a very difficult course with some really long holes with a couple shorter ones thrown in. Very nice mix of hyzer/anhyzer shots on this course.
Cons: The course that is there is a very challenging yet fun mix of holes to play. Having said that...I have played the course twice (with two different layouts because of the new north course now)...and both times that I have played have been so frustrating because the signage is so poor. I was using a map off of this site and got so lost on the course. The tee's and baskets are not numbered correctly and the middle section of the course where multiple holes are close together are very hard to navigate (not knowing where to go). I didn't even play all 18 because I didn't know which hole was next and so forth...I just had to ignore the incorrect signage and guess which was the next hole. This is such an easy fix with some proper signage on the tees and baskets...AND some simple signs pointing you in the right direction for the next hole...I can't believe that this solution hasn't already been addressed.
Other Thoughts: I REALLY like this course...but can't give it a higher rating simply due to the fact that the fun I had out there was so tempered by my frustration at it taking so long because I couldn't find my way around. This would be one of my favorite courses if and when this is addressed. Springfield is a great town with a good disc golf community...that is why it surprises me that they haven't made it easier for non-locals to enjoy this beautiful course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Dazed and Confused

1    5/25/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park was made for disc golf---particularly the part that they put the south course on. I love the topography here. Wonderful elevation changes as well as large mature trees everywhere. Each hole feels like a separate challenge with no two holes feeling the same. Great concrete tee pads throughout. The course appears to be immaculately maintained by the workers there. The baskets were in very good condition (DGA Mach III's?). Tremendous challenge from all the tee pad's. The course definitely forced you to throw most every shot you have....although both the North and South park seemed to favor anhyzer lines from the tee pads we played; which is a bit unusual for most courses.
Cons: This course could have been enormously fun, but instead I was just frustrated most of the time trying to figure out where the next hole was...and what hole we were even on. Recently, the second course was added to the park and they took a few holes from the old course and added them to the new. They then added a few new holes to the old course, but the result is total confusion for someone who has never played out there. I did have a current map, but it didn't help much at all. On most holes, the tee sign is blank or incorrectly numbered. Very few of the numbers on the tee signs match the numbers on the basket...and almost none of the numbers on either the basket or tee sign are correct at all. Because of those things it was really tough to figure out which pins to throw at. It is an easy fix...which is why I am surprised they haven't done anything to help that. Spray paint on the ground or trees, or putting some thing on the sign and baskets to indicate the new numbers would have easily eliminated my frustration an added a disc or more to my review score.
Other Thoughts: This review might not sit well with the Springfield crew, but it is not meant to be a slight to them at all. It is a fair representation of what I experienced out there yesterday. I traveled 3 hours to play and had high expectations. The course could become one of my favorites if they can work out the flow/signage issues. All the pieces for greatness are there, they just need to help me make sense of it all=)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New Holes Configured May'10

5+    5/2/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: ruzz2112
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Best course in Central Illinois overall.
Cons: BEWARE the course has changed. The new North course starts 1,2,3 as the old 16,17,18. Now 15,16,17,18 was 17, 12,13, 14. Somehow they inserted and juggled around 6-14.
Other Thoughts: Need new map somehow. I've played this one +20 times and could not understand the new layout 6-14. Where is #14?

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 South Lincoln

1    3/6/2010   3/6/2010
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a nice park and a lot of the holes were nice and long and interesting. It's a beautiful park and there were dozens of people here walking along, biking, and just having fun, so it was fun to be a part of it.
Multiple tees and pin placements are sure to make every round unique and enjoyable.
The Springfield community is just plain awesome. I love this city.
Cons: I had two major problems with this park. About 80% of the maps on the tee signs were torn off which made it really hard for me to know what was going on. I figured it out, but it took a little bit of work.
The second problem I had is that the map given on this site and the actual hole #'s were off. I think they were right for the first 4 or so, but then they started getting inconsistent which made it hard for me to follow.
I had a very hard time trying to figure out the flow of the course while transitioning holes.
As mentioned, there were a lot of people there so hitting someone is an unfortunate possibility. Be careful!
Other Thoughts: While you're here, definitely check out Lincoln's Tomb and play Douglas Park if you have the time.

Oh, and check out Springfield's Disc Golf Club's website

www.discgolfclub.org

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Lincoln

5+    10/3/2009   1/7/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is one of the best kept courses in Illinois. It has large cement tee pads and multiple pin positions. The fairways are always well manicured when i've played there.

It has some minor elevation and some unique holes. It does not have a lot of heavy rough or tight tunnel shots but it has enough trees to make it difficult. Roads come into play on several holes making some tough out of bounds.

Lincoln South has a wide variety with 3 sets of tees. SSA for the Blue tees was 55.21 and 44.06 for the red using results from the tournament this year. I am not sure what SSA is for the White tees but it would obviously fall somewhere between. This course will test every shot in your bag.
http://www.pdga.com/course-ra...?TournID=9479

I would absolutely love this course as a home course. You have many options with the multiple tees and pin positions. It's really fun to play and you won't have to worry about looking for discs. It's a nice stroll thru the park.

Currently Hole #3 is one of the most unique and best holes in Illinois. It's a fantastic par 4. There are 3 other really nice par 4's (#9, 11, & 14.)

Hole #17 is a really cool hole to. You throw across the pond with some tight road out of bounds on the left and woods to the right.
Cons: There are a few areas where flow is an issue. Course directional arrows would help. This course lacks a few tight tunnel shots and rough. With the addition of the new 18 hole course on site 3 new holes will be added to the course and 3 average holes will be removed and used on the other course. I got a preview and will probably move this rating to 4.5 once that is complete. Those 3 holes should make this course play tougher too.
Other Thoughts: Douglas Park is a shorter course but pretty fun to play. It's not far from Lincoln.

Springfield Disc Golf Club website forum is active. If you are looking for people to play with post there.

Check out my Illinois Top 10 list.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful, huge city park course

2-4    10/3/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 356  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -really nice facilities: ample parking, 2 practice baskets, bathrooms, water
-2 pin placements per hole and 1 to 3 tee boxes per hole
-good mix of shots: hyzers, anhyzers, straight, short and long holes
-great elevation changes, lots of downhill shots, and some subtle uphill shots
-great use of OB: there are roads all over the place here, a couple yards, and a couple water shots that make you think about shot placement
-new 18 hole park
Cons: -the layout is strange and somewhat confusing, less so if you play the longs
(for instance- after hole 6 you cross a road for one hole then you see the next logical tee pad which happens to be 12 but actually you go back and play to a pin right by 6's pin (which could also be confusing) then continue to 9, 10, and 11. Where the more logical layout would have been 1-6, then 9-11, 8, 7 then to 12, but I'm just being picky.The 15-18 loop could also be fixed.

-Really all these layout problems could be fixed with some navigation signs or arrows. for instance a sign for 2-3, 7-8, 11-12, 17-18

-There is no double loop in the layout, so 9 ends nowhere near the parking lot and 18 is also a hike back to the lot. However I'm not going to drop my rating for this as it will be fixed once Lincoln North is in.

-this park is also very multiuse, there is a cross country course, playgrounds, I even saw some kids playing live action role playing (and yes, it was hilarious), and lots of oblivious walkers, so you need to be careful when throwing, especially near roads
-tee signs are at the blue pads, and while decent enough there is no indication of the current layout's pin placement
-after a rain, be careful on the tee pads, I slipped once and so did my buddy.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is one of my favorites in Illinois, it's got that classic city park dgc feel, except it is a head higher than your good city park. It is really a great course when played from the longs, you'll not be disappointed. And with the addition of the North course, which is a different type of course entirely, this will be a great complex. The club here is also really helpful, jump on sdgc's forum at www.discgolfclub.org , and get a local to play with you. Also bring a course map when you play, and the frustration of navigating this beast will improve.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, challenging course

5+    8/20/2007   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 230  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful park. 2 sets of tees. From the longer set this course is a real challenge for anybody. Alot of length with well designed holes that use the many tall oak trees to force shots from a variety of angles. Good course to throw some rollers on and several opportunities to unleash long drives. There are a few par 4's out there that really challenge you to play smart and execute. Your throwing driver off the tee out here off of most of the tees. Water and road OB come into play several times as does some perilous pin positions on the sides of some steep hills. This is a well manicured multi-use park that makes this a fun course to play over and over and over again!

Hole 3 is one of the finest holes in Illinois with a tight wooded downhill fairway (OB road tight to the left and heavy woods tight to the right) that opens up to a landing zone with the basket to the right nestled against a pond. The pond OB comes into play on a long drive that sneaks its way through the gap. Alot to think about on this hole!
Cons: Not much bad to say about this. I love the design. There are maybe a couple holes that might be in that 'par 3.5' range where deuces are a little too hard to come by, but most everybody is taking a 3.
Other Thoughts: I entered Hole 3 on this course in an amateur tournament with a 3 stroke lead on 2nd place and a 4 stroke lead on 3rd place in 2005. After my double circle 7, and a 3 and a 4 by my competition, we went to Hole 4 in a 3-way tie! (i ended up losing by 1 to nick rapp) Thats what you call a good hole!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Championship Level Course

1    8/5/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: atomictoyguy
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I found the course to be challenging, I really enjoyed the landscape and the use of terrain. Blue and White tees make you spend a little extra time thinking about how to best play the hole.
Cons: Poor flow from hole to hole in some areas. Also the streets come into play fairly heavily on several holes. Also signage was fairly beat up some of the signs were missing.
Other Thoughts: I would like to have seen the other tee pad positions have signage as well.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Mother Lode on the Mother Road

5+    6/21/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: TROTTER
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
7 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is equipped with NexTEEs...

36 holes in one park...

The new layout for the south course is now in play - all 18 baskets are now in. 15, 16 and 18 from the old layout are now 1, 2, and 3 of the new north course.
Cons: In the process of being renovated yet again... but the Park District is A-1 and quick to move forward once ground breaks...

The second course is now playable...
Other Thoughts: www.discgolfclub.org is the host club

http://www.discgolfclub.org/S...sion_Kent.pdf

Here is a copy of the layout that was approved by the local park district and installed by the local park district and is now a reality and available for you to play... and write your own review...

You are always welcomed in Springpatch.

18 of the new 18 new pins for the additional course are now in concrete...

New Layout...

1 same
2 same
3 In the woods behind the maintenance shed
4 old 3
5 new hole - in the meadow - pin up on the hill in the woods - dual route/left and right
6 old 4 - new tee for blue and white - up on the hilltop in the woods
7 old 5
8 old 6
9 old 7
10 old 8
11 old 9 - a new alternate pin farther back in the woods
12 old 10 - a new alternate pin in the woods on the left
13 old 11
14 new hole in the woods across the top of the lagoon - there is an alternate tee across the opening with the new retaining walls...
15 old 17
16 old 12
17 old 13
18 old 14

more info at www.discgolfclub.org

7 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.