Wichita, KS 
Herman Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #14 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 264ft.   3 / 264ft.   3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Long Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Herman's Will

1    10/19/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Herman's Hill in Wichita is a fine representative of good disc golf in Kansas, from of the handful of courses I have played there. It has dual tees on every hole, and two basket locations for each as well. I think mostly they were in the shorter layout when I played there. There were good signs on every tee, and the baskets were fine. The park itself was very nice, with a river and other water features in play occasionally. The majority of the course is grassy, with large trees scattered throughout. There are a few holes with elevation changes that make things more fun, like 4, 5, 17, and 18. A few holes with considerable length where par 3 is no easy task, such as holes 6 and 10, each over 550' from the long tees. The water will also influence shot selection. 12 is especially tricky driving over a small creek with plenty of trees and a low ceiling. 16 crossed the same creek but much closer to the basket, making a good drive crucial. The couple of holes along the river have a little more room for error. I liked the placement of the tee boxes and pin locations, using the trees well to require different shots for each fairway. My favorite holes were 4, 5, 11, 12, and 16, but the rest were also pretty good. Overall park is very clean, grass is short, and other activities are available to for those not interested in throwing discs.
Cons: There are several holes that are near roads, sidewalks, and other potentially dangerous misfires. Number 1, 10, 12, and 16 in particular. Not super technical, may not be a strong enough challenge to the advanced player. There is the hazard of losing discs to water, but not overly dangerous if you can trust your arm to be accurate. Wind will almost always be in play on the plains, and it got me once or twice.
Other Thoughts: I liked the Herman Hill Park disc golf course. A fun round on a fantastic October afternoon. I was recovering from a bachelor party the previous night, and was only able to manage a 59 from the long tees. Still, I had my chances at some birdies despite a couple of unusually bad throws. There is a police sub-station near the parking area, promoting feelings of safety, and good behavior. Wichita is a town with plenty of fun things to do, and if you are enthusiastic about disc golf, I think you will count playing here as one of them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

good course!

2-4    7/18/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: austin.ogle
Played: 60  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
Pros: Well marked and easy to follow. Multiple tees with signs and benches are nice to have. Has enough variety to keep it interesting. If you have a big arm there a some lengthy holes. The river makes some other wise plain holes more of a challenge. This is a fairly difficult course.
Cons: This is a fairly difficult course. There are stickers in some portions of the course, so be prepared to take care of them.


5+    10/20/2012   8/20/2013
Review By: Broll
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: wide variety of shots with some good views of the arkansas river. been out there a few times to retrieve a disc! well kept and maintained.
Cons: wear shoes there a lot of sand burs! when the river is low it is a little less challenging

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Championship Course

1    6/19/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: nat16dick
Played: 48  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple Pins
-Multiple Tees
-Great Signage (Still up after 2013 Doo-Dah)
-Wide Variety of Shots Required
-Great Scenery
-Excellent use of Trees and Water
-Quality Baskets & Well Marked
Cons: -Mandos not always clear
-Signs not revamped for the Doo-Dah were useless
Other Thoughts: Not much bad to say about the course. Definitely a challenge, especially in the Kansas wind, but hey, that's what this course was designed for. Takes a golfer with distance and incredible accuracy to score well on this course. For the rest of us, it's a fun challenge, and well worth the horrible score to play. Well worth a drive. Do yourself a favor and get out to Herman for a great experience!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/5/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: DiscPirate
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course, 2 sets of launches. Never boring, you get a good work-out. Always well maintained and tourney ready. Nice mixture of woods and long open holes.
Cons: Brutal course for beginners. Big drop-off on holes 6, 14, 15, 16. Holes 1-5 if thrown out of bounds your disc will get run over by passing vehicles. Bring your arm to play this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course

1    11/3/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 115  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Great tee pads with obvious markings for red and blue. Good baskets. The water center is pretty cool i the middle of park. the rolling hills for 1,2,3,4,5,7,8,9,11,12 very nice and fun to work different shots on.
Cons: Sand burrs = terrible. Not a big fan of holes with sand fairways. Although 18s mogul is pretty cool.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 this course bites back!!!!

1    5/26/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee-pads & baskets. Tee pads are marked with the hole number and several holes have two pads. The scenery is nice with the river in play on many holes. The location is good and park is well maintained. The play is very good and difficulty is pretty high. Technical and Distance all in one. Good balance and mix of shots. Wind off the river is amplified so get ready if their calling for wind!!!!!
Cons: My biggest complaint with this course is the grass (or whatever that stuff is), they mow it short but it gets stuck all over your socks and stabs you. WEAR PANTS!!!!! Signs at tee-pads are hit and miss, some are missing completely. On several holes its hard to find the next tee. You will need a map if your from out of town. River is large and the bank is steep and high; you will not be getting your disk back!
Other Thoughts: Plays around a cop shop for those who care. Streets are close and a hazard on many holes. Its a pretty long course. 18 plays over a blind hill with a playground off to the left, be careful on a long bomb fading much left.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 muggy

1    7/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: RevDrDisc
Played: 89  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 37.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has nice picture signs on it.
Cons: The course is mostly holes that turn to the right and goes counter clock wise. Traffic and police parking lot come into play.
Other Thoughts: It was 90 degrees at sunrise an oppressive day

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great course in wichita

1    4/22/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: DTB501
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful setup of the course. Many of the holes were fairly difficult but still fun. Most likely the nicest course I have ever played on. Covers a fairly large area so overcrowding is kept to a minimum.
Cons: Many people are at this park that aren't playing disc golf. One of the holes is next to a busy street so you really need to watch for cars. A few run next to a river so caution is definitely recommended, it is possible to lose disc's. Geese are also seen across the course making it more difficult.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course, probably my favorite course I have played so far. If you live in Wichita or are going there I would definitely recommend this course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good variety on this course

1    7/1/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 270  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course and well maintained. Provides a variety of shots and has multiple pin placements and tee pads. Offers challenges and different lies and tests all aspects of your game.
Here are my observations, I played from the red tees, so take that into account when reading this.
#1- Elevated tee box, works left to right. Road to your right.
#2-Close to the police station, to the left, and has cedar trees right off the box. Try a tomahawk shot here.
#3-Has a mando, must drive to the left.
#4-Drive uphill, road to the right, mando towards the end.
#5-Tight window off the box.
#6-Long hole with the river to your left.
#7-Another hole with length, not as long as 6, road on your left and finished with an elevated basket.
#8-Has pine trees in the fairway to challenge you, again you might try a tomahawk shot.
#9-Uphill drive with a low ceiling, dog leg right with a protected pin when it is in the short position.
#10-Here is a change to air it out from the red tees, be aware of the parked police cars to your left.
#11-Drive up hill, basket on a hill and trees to challenge in the fairway.
#12-You will tee off across a small pond and trees come into play with your second shot.
#13/#14-Water to your right and 2 more chances to air it out from the red tees, 565 on #13 and 333 on #14.
#15 Dog leg right past 4 big trees when the pin is closest to the river.
#16-You will have a stream to cross with your drive, or you could lay up before that. The stream runs down into the river, which was kinda cool. Again the river is to the right.
#17-Downhill drive then up the small hill and to the left. Also has a somewhat low ceiling with trees guarding the basket.This is when the basket is in the short position.
#18-A nice finishing hole. From the red tee box you have a big bush off the box to contend with. Then you have a big sand hill with trees on both sides running up to the hill. When the basket is in the long position it is on the backside of the hill and to the left. When it is in the short position it is right on top of the hill.
Overall I like this course better than its cross town counterpart, Oak Park. Just my preference and both are great courses.
Cons: As of my visit 7/1/11 there were stickers in the fairways on several holes. As stated in other reviews you have to be on your toes at this course so that you don't put a disc into the busy streets. Also if you go when it's busy I could see having to wait to throw as there are multiple walking paths, side streets, botanical gardens, etc that are in the throwing path. First timers should print a map to help navigate this course. I would have had to do more backtracking if I didn't have my map. I thought the walk between #7's basket and #8's tee pad was a little too long. Could have used some signs on all the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: There is something on this course for everyone. Has water threat on several holes, roads, up hill down hill there really is something here for everyone. Could be a little difficult for a novice and I could see this one being really crowded on the weekends. There are good amenities here and walking paths and a playground. If you needed assistance there is also a police station. I will definitely play this course again in the future. Just be on your toes before you throw and take a map and you will be fine.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.