Wichita, KS 
Herman Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: Innovadude Hole #8 (Taken 7/2008)
3 / 221ft.   3 / 221ft.   3 / 307ft.   3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Good variety on this course

1    7/1/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 344  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course and well maintained. Provides a variety of shots and has multiple pin placements and tee pads. Offers challenges and different lies and tests all aspects of your game.
Here are my observations, I played from the red tees, so take that into account when reading this.
#1- Elevated tee box, works left to right. Road to your right.
#2-Close to the police station, to the left, and has cedar trees right off the box. Try a tomahawk shot here.
#3-Has a mando, must drive to the left.
#4-Drive uphill, road to the right, mando towards the end.
#5-Tight window off the box.
#6-Long hole with the river to your left.
#7-Another hole with length, not as long as 6, road on your left and finished with an elevated basket.
#8-Has pine trees in the fairway to challenge you, again you might try a tomahawk shot.
#9-Uphill drive with a low ceiling, dog leg right with a protected pin when it is in the short position.
#10-Here is a change to air it out from the red tees, be aware of the parked police cars to your left.
#11-Drive up hill, basket on a hill and trees to challenge in the fairway.
#12-You will tee off across a small pond and trees come into play with your second shot.
#13/#14-Water to your right and 2 more chances to air it out from the red tees, 565 on #13 and 333 on #14.
#15 Dog leg right past 4 big trees when the pin is closest to the river.
#16-You will have a stream to cross with your drive, or you could lay up before that. The stream runs down into the river, which was kinda cool. Again the river is to the right.
#17-Downhill drive then up the small hill and to the left. Also has a somewhat low ceiling with trees guarding the basket.This is when the basket is in the short position.
#18-A nice finishing hole. From the red tee box you have a big bush off the box to contend with. Then you have a big sand hill with trees on both sides running up to the hill. When the basket is in the long position it is on the backside of the hill and to the left. When it is in the short position it is right on top of the hill.
Overall I like this course better than its cross town counterpart, Oak Park. Just my preference and both are great courses.
Cons: As of my visit 7/1/11 there were stickers in the fairways on several holes. As stated in other reviews you have to be on your toes at this course so that you don't put a disc into the busy streets. Also if you go when it's busy I could see having to wait to throw as there are multiple walking paths, side streets, botanical gardens, etc that are in the throwing path. First timers should print a map to help navigate this course. I would have had to do more backtracking if I didn't have my map. I thought the walk between #7's basket and #8's tee pad was a little too long. Could have used some signs on all the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: There is something on this course for everyone. Has water threat on several holes, roads, up hill down hill there really is something here for everyone. Could be a little difficult for a novice and I could see this one being really crowded on the weekends. There are good amenities here and walking paths and a playground. If you needed assistance there is also a police station. I will definitely play this course again in the future. Just be on your toes before you throw and take a map and you will be fine.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/28/2009   12/7/2009
Review By: Austin4224
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Best Course in Wichita
*Right by Arkansas River
* Nice baskets % Concrete Tee Pads
*Have to use diff shots on a few holes
*Most challenging course in surrounding areas.
*Water Treatment Center is beautiful.

Cons: *Back 9 is harder by the river on a windy day
*Sand Burs
* Very Flat but thats Kansas for ya.
*Even if your not doing anything "bad" Police station located in the park.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Professional level Course!

2-4    11/22/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: bquick222
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great pro level course in the Wichita area. Has nice baskets with numbers on all of them and signs for each hole. Has multiple pin placement (short and far) and has a red and blue tee off locations. Has a good combination of short technical shots and long drive shots.
Cons: It is always windy in Kansas and there about 4 holes down by the river with no trees to block the wind can be tricky. I have lost lots of plastic there.
Other Thoughts: Nice park with big mature trees a must play if you live in the Wichita area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dynamic and fun

5+    6/7/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 330  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Top notch park golf with a scenic water center in the middle of the course and beautiful view of the Arkansas River. Dual tees and pins on every hole. Actual bathroom available if its open. This course can shrink to 2/3rds of its long configuration and the local club changes the positions around quite often. Due to its mostly open nature, provides players with varying shot selection opportunities. Plenty of parking and there are some restauraunts and a Wal-Mart nearby if you need a drink or some greasy sustanance. Hole 16 is one of the coolest holes in the area from either tee to either pin. Not as crowded with casuals as Oak.
Cons: Some holes that are a bit dangerous as you can very easily put your disc into a busy street. Namely holes 2, 3, 5 from the short tee and essecially 7. Hole 10 also borders a police substation parking lot (talk about pressure!). Park is frequently visited by non-DG'ers who seem to be in the way on Holes 12 and 16 enjoying the scenery of the water center and the brook which flows from it to the river. Signage is deteriorating, as the distances are outdated and needs replacing.
Other Thoughts: Herman Hill was originally a single tee course (you can tell which tees are the older ones by the look of the concrete), and has had to undergo occasional revisions when the water center was installed. Alternating red and blue tees give you two additional options for layouts, along with the usual short and long, but in many cases there really isn't that much difference from the short or long tees, its often more a matter of left versus right. Its the pin positions that give Herman its differing flavors. Holes like 11, 16 and 17 play much different to their short placements versus their longs.

For some reason, Herman is not as well liked by many locals as its sister course at Oak Park despite offering players a more dynamic layout. Granted, its not as scenic and for a casual I suppose the varying pins can be confusing. If you're in Wichita, I recommend both courses for a day's play as they compliment each other well, and play reasonably fast. If you only have time for one and you're south of Kellogg, this one will scratch your itch.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wichita Gem!

1    5/12/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 7.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This has to be one of the cleanest, best maintained courses I've seen!

All concrete tee pads, plenty big and in great shape. Mach baskets in very good condition. Tee signs are really good, and the map on here is great in helping navigate the course quickly. Facilities are awesome and even a cool river history center in the middle of the course.

Very good combination of length and skill shots..

My memorable holes:
3 - Nice kind of long annie shot, playing along a busy street to help hone your concentration level.
5 - Tough mando, and try to hit the gaps through the tree trunks.
6 - Wide open, but just try and not let the Arkansas river intimidate you on the left...with a slope drifting toward it...I applaud you if that doesn't affect your shot
9 - Blind shot over a knoll, and have to stay very low to not hit low hanging branches.
10 - You might say, oh that Mando isn't too tough...then you see how far right you have to go AFTER it.
13 - Let 'er rip!! Wide open straight hole to test your arm (or lack thereof).
14 - Seeming easy (but kind of long) shot framed by trees left and the river right. Now you would think that with the river on your right you might be OK, but just make sure you throw an overstable disc with a headwind, and you won't lose a money midrange like I did in the drink.
16/17 - Not only really long holes, but very intimidating again with the river tempting you to flip and donate more plastic to it. If you take par on these you are better than me.

Sand...keeps the moisture from building up too much, more solid footing. Good considering Wichita had received an unholy amount of rain in the weeks leading up to (and DURING) my round.
Cons: Flat. Limited trees in play, making it seem simple, even though it is really not.
Sand...despite the pros of sand there are also cons. It sticks to everything. It gets in your socks and takes forever to rid yourself of. The big sand mound mid-way on 18 was the icing on the cake when my second shot landed square on top of it and I had to trudge through wet sand ankle deep to throw.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 3.5 is based on the fact that this course just did not have much terrain or space to work with. I feel that it made good use of the available land, but there just was not enough foliage or area to create a world-class course
That being said, there is no way you should skip this course if you are in the Wichita area. It was a very fun course (even in the miserable conditions I played in) and would make an awesome stop on a DGer's trip. Overall I'm VERY glad I have added this course to my repertoire.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/4/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: Basilikos
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Good mix of long and short holes
+ Maps and signs are very well done and helpful
+ Trees provide good obstacles
+ Good amount of water hazards
+ Multiple tees and pin locations for variety
Cons: - Sometimes grass can be very long
- Not a spectacular variety of holes, mainly only varying lengths
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course, though it is not without it's flaws. It is kept well most of time, but when it has not been mowed, it's a frustrating walk through high grass. Also, while the holes vary in length, the majority of holes tend to be straight on shots with few forced mandatories, dog-legs, or pond shots.

The varying distances and pin locations are really nice to have. I think it might be the only course in Wichita with multiple pin locations. Scenic views near the river and woods also provide a good surrounding.

Overall it is a really good course that will keep you on your toes, but with it being spread out so much it limits the majority of its holes to distance drives.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


7/3/2008   7/3/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 17.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's the nicest course in Wichita, tournament level and tough with good design. Large and many trees, some small hills and sand dunes. Plays next to a river on a few holes.
Cons: Course layout is kind of weird-double loop. Could hit kids on one hole that throws around a blind corner towards a building. Police station on site (con for some).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.