Roselle, IL 
Goose Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: flingkaching Hole #9 (Taken 10/2010)
4 / 305ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 

1    6/10/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: bokellner
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely mowed fairways, some nice par 5 s. The map at the beginning was nice but I had to take a picture of it to find my way to the tee boxes
Cons: This course needs some work. The fairways at this course are about 70 feet wide with 5 foot grass on each side. I spent more time looking for discs than playing. The baskets needed some work too. At least four of the baskets had no rings around the pole, so the chains would hang straight down and knock your disc out. Many of the tee signs were either missing or laying on the ground. I don't think I would go back here any time soon.
Other Thoughts: This course is always very quiet but I know why that is now. This one I wouldn't go out of my way for.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 What Lake? At least there were no geese

1    8/11/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Hole Par and Distance listed on the posts by the tees.
2) Level gravel teepads are massive and allow for you to pick your spot.
3) Distance out here is one of the biggest factors in the challenge on the course. Holes range from mid 200's to low 500's with everything in between. Excellent variation allows for multiple shot holes, multiple discs to be used etc. This is by far the course with the most distance in the area.
4) Many holes definitely have some trees to challenge you. There also is some prairie grass on a handful of holes to eat up a low thrown disc and cost you distance. This also adds to the variety and feel of the course in addition to playability.
5) Scenic park with wetlands, prairies, mowed turf, nice trees etc.
6) Good variety of shots needed here, although on many holes you can pick your favorite line.
7) I love it when I get a chance or two to throw my rollers.
Cons: 1) There is a missing ring on the #6 basket and the chains are rusty in spots. These baskets have seen some use.
2) The prairie grass eats up discs and will cost you some time if you throw in there. I suggest throwing in the fairway!
3) Walkpath is in play on multiple holes. Please avoid throwing if there are walkers around.
4) Portopotty is right in the fairway on #1. I imagine someone would get quite a shock if a disc hit it while they were inside.
5) Long walk between #5 and #6 as you pass #3 and #2 on the way back to the other side of the wetland.
Other Thoughts: It appears as though I have similar feelings about this course as many other people. I like that is has distance, I like the trees on the property and how the actual holes play. I do not like the annoying tall grass, the constant interaction with the walking path, or the goofy flow and broken up feel of the course. Overall I would say this is just another average course, not much more could be done out here to make it any better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 An unenjoyable sea of grass

2-4    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: geognerd
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Level gravel tee boxes. Holes #6 and #7 are scenic and the trees were worked into those holes nicely. I wish the rest of the course was more like these holes.
Cons: Difficult for players who lack power and/or precision. Most holes are bounded by tall grass, so a poor throw may be costly. Some of the fairways were only about 12ft wide. At #4 and #5, there are few obstacles. Those fairways are wide and all you do is throw your disc as hard as you can. Long walk from #5 to #6. You end up feeling like you played more than 9.
Other Thoughts: It seems like the course was forced to fit the landscape. To make this course better, they would need to mow down more of the wetland plants and grasses so you're not trying to thread a needle or carry an expanse of grass. But that would go against the park district's likely wish to keep this area natural. The park is popular with dog walkers who seem unaware of the course, so watch for them.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    6/22/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a neighborhood park behind a grade school. There is a walking path, some baseball diamonds, and a park in between two holes, so you might have to do some waiting.
- Some very interesting shots here, that require line shaping and accuracy. #1 is a big hyzer/anhyzer around some large trees, #2 is a soft RHBH anny, #5 is a long RHBH anny, #6 is a big hyzer behind some tall grass, and #8 and #9 are both anny/flick shots. Knowing how to shape lines is very important here. Tall grass is big punishment for errant throws.
- A lot of these holes also have blind baskets, due to the severity of the lines - either around tall grass, trees, or both. Some are protected as well, with #6 in between a few trees, and #1 having some slight rollaway potential.
- A little bit of elevation in spots, like a slight downhill shot on #3 or a slight uphill shot on #8. Adds a some fun and challenge respectively, though it's nothing big.
- Awesome variety of hole length, with a few at 240'-275', some others right around 300', and some longer ones for the big arms at 425' and 515'. Overall it's on the long side, except for those easily clearing 300'.
- Good crushed gravel teepads, signage is good with only a few missing (and maps present), baskets are OK even with 9 missing the bottom rings.
Cons: - Biggest con at this course is some walking in between holes. Walking to #1 takes a few minutes from the school parking lot, and the walk from #5 to #6 is another couple minutes. Tee #5 is also a little tricky to find, checking the map is a good idea.
- Most fairways are pretty much wide open, with tall grass on the sides. General accuracy is usually enough to go on, there aren't any windows to hit for the most part (#6/#7 the exception).
- A few holes next to park and baseball field provides some interference, especially taking the hyzer line over the fence on #7.
Other Thoughts: - I came back to this course as a refresher for the review, and I was surprised at the quality. Some tricky lines to hit, with big annys and hyzers, that needed to stay well clear of some nasty tall grass. Scoring well here can require respectable length and decent accuracy. Probably just right for an intermediate player; beginners might lose all their discs and experts won't find too much challenge.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course, Too many kids

1    6/1/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: phildafunk1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is realtively fun to play. Challenging holes. Some distance.
Cons: Built around a park, so way too many 9-13 year-old kids looking at you as kids that age will. Also there is a walking path that winds throughout the course, so there is a lot of waiting and praying. I almost took out two young girls with a "drive" that hit a branch and did it's own thing. I don't think they understood why I yelled "fore."

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/20/2010   4/5/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Goose Lake is one of the many shorter nine hole courses in the Chicagoland area. Like others, it is relatively wide open with very few obstacles to contend with and while it does require that a player is able to throw a driver or two, it makes up for this positive feature with nasty waist-high grass that lurks just off of many of the fairways. In the summer, the grass is pretty unbearable and on my visit in the winter the mud, while not terrible, was certainly a bit of an unpleasantry.
Cons: Use the trees!: There are several places where the natural features of the park (trees and brush) could be used much more effectively. There are several points where it seems that trees were almost purposefully avoided in the design. This park, while not huge, has room enough to add a bit more challenge and utilize available obstacles a bit better.

Long grass: Long grass and reeds really bum me out as obstacles on a disc golf course because they maximize the annoyance of having areas that are tough to find your disc while minimizing the actual punishment (score-wise) of throwing into these areas. Really it isn't difficult to throw out of even waist high grass when there aren't any other obstacles between you and the pin. Get your tomahawk/thumbers ready!
Other Thoughts: Goose Lake is 'par' for the course for the massive collection of nine hole courses in the area. Its fairly open, has little elevation, and overall doesn't have many features that challenge a player to play their best game. Newer players will probably enjoy the low-challenge level but would probably prefer to play at a park without the annoying grass rough. Players with more experience will probably enjoy the chance to air out some longer drives but won't experience any penalties for spraying off the tee.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Slightly Longer Blah

2-4    11/6/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 123  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Goose Lake Park's greatest asset is length. Like an island in a sea of short pitch'n'putts, Goose Lake provides refuge for underused distance drivers. Don't get the wrong impression though, this course is nothing special. Hole 1 was well designed to make a RHBH hyzer impossible except for big arms. The anny route is treacherous, with a cattail marsh to the left of the fairway. After that, the design is more blah. The crushed gravel tees provide good traction while still allowing you to pivot easily.
Cons: The baskets need a tune up, they are abused Innova Discatchers. About half of the baskets are missing at least one of the rings that holds the chains together, leaving the outer chains hanging straight down. The layout here isn't very good, there is a lot of backtracking between holes. Looking at the land, I'm not sure that there was a better layout but the flow here sucks. Some holes also throw over or along walking paths, make sure its clear before you drive. Very wide open, there are no obstacles to air shots with the exception of 2 or 3 holes. The main obstacle is the long grass that surrounds most fairways. It won't get in the way of any lines, but it will drive you nuts if your disc ends up in it. The tee signs are very basic, with only hole # and distance. On the second longest hole, the sign is located directly behind the tee making a long run-up awkward.
Other Thoughts: Park in the school parking lot. The apartment complex parking lot nearest the first tee is full of tow-away signs. Walk straight back from the school parking lot and down the asphalt walking path to the first tee. Bring a buddy so you can watch each others shots or play a safe line. The long grass can be hell if you are not exactly sure where you went in. Next time I am out at this course, I will bring some wire or a couple of old coat hangers next time I am at the course and will try to temporarily fix the baskets.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Descent & room for improvements

5+    10/2/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: flingkaching
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 34.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quiet park in natural wetlands, spacious crushed gravel t-boxes, groomed fairways & rough, hole/shot type variety, fairly challenging, course demands accuracy, some holes demand power, course layout maps & signs,easy to navigate, high end discatcher baskets, course length at 3110 (longest 9 around), well maintained, low traffic from other players & park users. Improvements would not be difficult & there's plenty of room to expand to 18.
Cons: Lots of brush, grass, reeds, etc., it's lined on one side by wetlands. This summer's hot sunny weather made for added lush growth. The thickest trouble areas are to left of hole 6 & 7. Holes 8 & 9 are moderately thick, the rest of course has spotty areas.

Only 9 holes.

Minor layout issues that could be improved. Some areas of brush could be cut back & lower. Some trees & bushes could be added for obstructions, esp. back side for some holes.
Other Thoughts: Course designers did a fairly good job given what is here to work with & doing so along a wetland sanctuary & park surrounded by residential neighborhood. The course is tougher if you play OB & 3 min. search rule. Can make up alternate tee placements from walking paths to add holes.

The course has similarities with some of the other courses in the area, yet this course, with nice tee boxes, equipment, length and other positives gets ripped on a lot. Some of the ratings here are low, the overall ratings of 1 (poor) & zero (abysmal) are harsh & lack in overall objectivity.

Have played this course since it opened and not lost a disc to date. The course takes some getting used to. I do not see this as a beginner's course because of the length & accuracy demands as well as the discouragement factor of having to avoid rough & losing discs.

To counter the rough, I use bright, bouncy type discs, my Pro Wraith t-dye for example is good for this courses & sits up on brush & tall grass well. Super soft putters work well also. Watching were it goes & keeping eyes on the spot helps tremendously to short search & find. If you're worried about losing discs, play for accuracy esp. first runs on the course or play as a group and spot each others shots on troublesome holes.

An okay course & facilities with room for improvements. There's not an abundance of prime courses in this area to date & many suburbs won't even consider doing a DG course at all. It's another course in the ground, not a bad thing after all. As for improvements, constructive suggestions to the park district is the way to go, they've seemed upbeat & positive about the game & course.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Perplexed by my bewilderment

2-4    3/26/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2012
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Goose Lake has me quite confused. I either like it quite a bit or I hate it, and I'm not quite sure which it is. The course could be quite challenging if you play the tall grass O.B. It would demand accuracy on your drives, and many of the holes have some healthy distances. Hole # 1 and # 8 took away the hyzer route for a RHBH thrower, so you had to use a few different shots. The course overall was flat, but the distances set it apart from most of the flat Chicagoland 9-hole pitch and putts. They did try to use what little elevation changes they had to work with. The tees were a crushed gravel and were in good shape, and there were good tee signs including several that had a course map attached.
Cons: If you don't play the tall grass as O.B., it's just annoying. There is tall grass on most of the holes, and all it does is make finding your disc a hassle.

The basket for # 3 and # 5 were close together, and there was no need for it. They easily could have been moved further apart.

You can see the basket for # 1 from the road, but you have to walk up past it to get to the tee and shoot back to it. It is just one example of the poor flow of the course. The tees for # 2 and # 6 are actually right next to each other; you shoot #2-#4 down to one end of the park, shoot # 5 back and then take a long walk past # 3 and # 2 to get back to that 2/6 tee. Then you shoot # 6-#9 to another part of the park. Once you finish # 9, you have to walk past # 6 and # 1 to get back to the parking lot. The course is marked fairly well and has course maps on a few of the tee signs so it is easy to navigate, but the overall flow is poor.

Hole # 7 played along a ball field outfield, the fence being a bit too close for safety sake if the ball field was in use. Most of the baskets were in good shape, but the ring was broken on # 7 and the chains were just hanging straight down.

Hole # 9 is sorta/kinda tucked into the woods, but the area in front of the basket is wide open. They missed a chance at a protected pin there. All the rest of the baskets just sit in the open
Other Thoughts: I think Goose Lake is one of those places you have to figure out for yourself. I can see where some players might really enjoy it and find it a challenge, and I can see where others would hate it and find it to be a waste. Between the distances and the disc-eating tall grass it might be a bit much for a beginner, but the design really isn't challenging enough for an advanced player. Players that fall in-between those two levels might find this to be a good test of their skills. Personally I go back and forth on it. Playing the long grass OB added quite a bit of challenge to it, so with creative ground rules I could see a round being quite fun. It's not a course for everyone, but some players should enjoy this one

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Tough but Rewarding

2-4    11/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: Blonde Thunder
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice crushed gravel tee stations
Manicured fairways cut out around the rough (like a ball golf course)
Challenging holes with a couple tough left-right dog-legs.
A couple of long holes over 425 feet
Very easy to follow and great flow through course with the exception of one walk back to hole #6.
Nice wetlands backdrop
Nine holes that give you a little bit of everything!
Cons: It is easy to spend awhile looking in the rough on holes 3, 6, 7, 8, and 9 if you make a bad throw. Hole 8 actually has a blind placement left to right over a wicked patch of weeds.
Other Thoughts: I am still a beginner so this course is very challenging for me but because it is so challenging it is also very rewarding when you make a great shot.
If you have good accuracy this course is a must for you to try!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.