Moraga, CA 
Moraga Commons Park Share
Uploaded By: kevaunne Hole #3 (Taken 11/2014)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 284ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Pleasantly surprising 9-hole course

1    8/11/2015   8/12/2015
Review By: sumo21
Played: 30  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Tons of bathrooms on site.

2) A few water fountains located around course.

3) Multiple pin positions on every hole.

4) Signs on every hole.

5) Signs show the preferred route to reach basket location, as well as the change in declination from the teepad.

6) Teepads on all but one hole (8).

7) Nice, long and wide teepads.
Cons: 1) Some baskets to holes are located within the same vicinity of other holes, so have the course map handy or ask one of the locals.

2) Signs do not have a marker to indicate basket location. So you must physically verify where the basket is or again, ask a local.

3) Some holes criss cross or are in close proximity to another hole so errant throws can be a problem.
Other Thoughts: Course play revolves around the hill that it's built on. After playing Golden Gate Park earlier in the day, I was ready for this hill and course: Be Prepared to do a little hiking.I only saw one hole (3) that had an alternate tee, but was more concerned with what challenge that the next hole would bring. From first hole to last, this 9-hole course did not disappoint. I was pleasantly surprised with the variety of lengths and types of shots that this course presented. Equal amounts of uphill/downhill, short/medium/long and hyzer/anhyzer shots. Hole 3 on short presents a challenge as the basket is placed near an edge, so choose your shot/disc/throw wisely. Hole 5 is a bomb in either position, launch your disc over the trees. Be wary of stickers in the field as you approach the basket to hole 6 and on your way back to hole 7. Hole 8 is the only hole that doesn&apos;t have a teepad, look for the chalk line that designates it as the throwing area. The course is nicely groomed with lots of dry grass and dirt, so skip shots are definitely in play. No elevation change, up/down, that is greater than about 40 feet.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good First Time Spot

1    1/5/2014   1/5/2014
Review By: tenayaguevara
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 2/17/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Mix of challenging holes and fairly simple but pleasing holes
- Not a ton of people on a warm Sunday afternoon - waved 3 groups to play through us, but got to throw 2 discs each our second time around
- Great use of the hill - makes a small area feel like fairly interesting
- Baskets with the number in green on top where much-appreciated
Cons: - The first two holes were pretty tough and could punish; not the best to start off on
- #7's dirt-only tee made for a rough approach to a challenging hole
- Wish it were longer
Other Thoughts: People are pretty harsh on this course to me -you'll enjoy a day here for sure, but there are enough minor detractions that people have which are valid which can add up for people. For me, coming from Aquatic Park, which is a pretty punishing course, this was a welcome spot. I didn't see too many non-disc people using the area and getting in the way.

Tree and bush issues weren't as bad as I imagined, but I can see how if you're not on the look out for PO, especially in the leafless season, you can get some bad Poison Oak.

"I'm new to but excited about the sport - why should I come play here?": This course really utilizes the great hill at the center of it for maximum effect. The 9 holes are varied and some are quite challenging.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Approachable and Challenging for Most Players

5+    12/10/2013   12/13/2013
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 38  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Challenging but not punishing
- Pleasant rural suburban setting with some nice views
- Comfortable weather for most of the year
- Overall a very lovely park with lots of nice amenities. The course itself is isolated enough that you usually have pretty clear play.
- Large concrete tees, decent signage. Course is pretty well maintained
- Multiple pin locations on most the holes that move periodically
- Multiple Teepads on 2, 3 & 6 spice up your 2nd round a bit with different lines and distances
- Challenging but approachable. This is an intermediate level course and will accommodate a broad skillset
- I almost never lose discs here. Just steer clear of a couple heavily forested areas and you will most likely be OK
- Not usually over-crowded. Everyone I've met on this course has been extremely pleasant
Cons: - After a rain, avoid this course like the plague. The mud continually clings to your shoes and adds about 2 lbs to each foot
- Prominent poison oak on a couple holes (2 & 4)
- Occasional interference from other park attendees. Although most non-disc golfers hang out in a different part of the park
- Criss-crossing fairways (4/5 & 6/7) can hinder play at times
- Alternate teepads are dirt
- Navigation could be improved. Look for worn paths in the dirt and you'll probably find your way through.
Other Thoughts: I live witihin walking distance of Berkeley Aquatic park but I play this course more often. It's become more challenging in the past years. 6 from the long tee is not an easy par and could be a hole at Stafford Lake. 8 with the long basket placement is a challenging too. It's a ~350ft incline with the basket perched on the edge of an 8ft drop off.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Spt!

2-4    4/6/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: hydro5757
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great elevation changes
-all around ffun course
-away from the rest of the park activities
-couple of long shots required
-signage is great
-lots of parking. 2 lots. if there is something going on or the weekend though it gets tight!

Cons: -atleast a couple holes have differet hole locations. Particularly hole 7 from the tee box you cant see either hole location, and there is no noting of wich location it is.
-the grass/weed can get out of controll
-poison oak is huge on the outskirts, stay on the course!
Other Thoughts: If I would have written this review after the first time playing, I would have given it a 4 probably.
Dont get me wrong, this is a fun course, and I understand the costs involved in up keep, so just be warned, there will be a couple times a year were the disc loss value is very high on this course!
Other than 2ft grass, the course is fun and is easily walked 2-4 times in a day!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice 9 hole coarse

5+    12/25/2012   1/15/2013
Review By: disc cogg
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - lots of elevation change
- good mixture of easy and challenging holes
- drinking fountain located in the middle of the coarse
-never gets too crowded
- very friendly locals
Cons: - very little parking
- poison oak
- gets very muddy and the mud is thick and clumps up on shoes
-grass gets very long at times which makes it difficult to find discs
- bathroom is located in park which is a far walk forom the coarse
Other Thoughts: overall this is a fun coarse i like the elevation changes and all the green grass. never gets too hot here. makes for a nice fun afternoon just watch out for the poison oak

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Moraga Course

2-4    5/26/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: Mateoqua
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is great for beginners and amateurs. I think this course has some good challenges, but you shouldn't have problems losing any discs. I love having a course where I can let a few discs fly without having regrets if they fly over the hole. There are many poison oak warnings, but thus far I haven't had any issues when searching for my discs.
Cons: The course has recently tilled fairways so much of the walking is done over large dirt clumps, which can be quite annoying. The poison oak may be a problem for some. There is a small playground close by and many kids often play around hole #9.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 my home course

5+    1/11/2012   1/11/2012
Review By: dkfromthebay
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This has become my home course and the course i learned to play disc golf on. It has been very challenging for me with holes #2 and 3 having you navigate through some trees. #4,6, and 9 good size downhill throws that you can really put some power into but still have some obstacles in the way. # 5 and 8 have been ones I've really gauged my power on with some uphill shots. All and all as I experience different course this one has still been my favorite and still challenging.
Cons: The first tee is right next to the skate park they have there and its on the left perfect for a beginner to toss right in the middle of. The first downhill shot on #4 has a walking path at the bottom that gets used pretty frequently. #6 crosses paths behind trees with hole 7 which can be pretty dangerous.
Other Thoughts: All and all I really like this course a few flaws in the design of it but defiantly the best they could do with the space they have. Its got a lot of other things to do at this place besides just golf that the family can enjoy while you get some rounds in. Challenging course that still makes me use a lot of different shots in my repertoire.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    10/27/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with kids playing soccer, jungle gym/kids play area, skate park,hiking trails, and they also fit in a cool little 9-hole course!
Great baskets, great tee-pads, and tee signs!
Course utilizes elevation very well, making for some memorable and very fun shots.
3 big downhill shots, but only one that requires a big bomb (the tower of power shot)
Lots of cool technical shots but many lines to the basket
Some nice views from on top of the hill
Good alternative to GGP. Not near as good, but with plenty of fun shots and not at all crowded

Cons: Not too clear on where to start, no signs even mentioning there is a disc golf course there.(not that I saw) Hole 1's teepad is located to the right of the skatepark.
I believe 1 or 2 holes cross fairways, potential for trouble. 
Could not find the teepad for #7, but there was a teesign and a basket.  I shot from in front of the teesign (matted down grass suggests that most people shoot from there.)
Some poison oak OFF the fairway
Other Thoughts: This was a very cool course for what they had to work with. The downhill shots were a lot of fun. Holes 2 and three were awesome holes that could be on any great courses. I only played it once because it was getting dark on, but I finished it fairly quickly and I would have played it again. I will play it again when I'm in town, and I recommend if you are nearby play it,  will take only an hour or so.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Hill-rover

2-4    10/13/2010   12/8/2010
Review By: Tomveeh
Played: 67  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good use of the land
-Long throws mixed in with some short holes.
-Good change in elevation.

A good course with a nice mix of holes that will challenge the good players. The course uses the land well where the holes play over rolling hills with pars available with good drives. Many of the holes run up and down a hill and the shots will require good drives. Overall the course will improve your game with the variation in the fairways.

Cons: -A few holes play over a walkway.
-Can get hot in the summer.
-Out of the way.

If you live in the area it is a nice course to have in your backyard. It is worth the drive from Oakland and a nice course to try.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not so Commons Park

2-4    10/5/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super-legit course; perhaps best 9-holer in the East Bay Area. Fun and impressive layout & elevation variation with some challenging basket positions. Generous amount of land for 9 holes. Nice tee boxes.
Cons: Grass is kinda long right now.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to park next to the skate park along the wooden fence, as it'll save a longer walk from the main parking lot. I look forward to many more rounds here!
Uniqueness: B (spacious for 9 holes; good use of elevation changes & landscape)
Difficulty: A- (long; uphill holes are tough)
Fun factor: A- (satisfying round; birdies are rare & rewarding)
Aesthetics: B+ (rural feeling in the suburbs; lush with good amount of trees)
Overall: B+

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.