Moraga, CA 
Moraga Commons Park Share
Uploaded By: kevaunne Hole #1 (Taken 11/2014)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Not bad

1    9/29/2016   9/29/2016
Review By: cxr1037
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Scenic.
- Not crowded (at least on a weekday like today)
- Some moderately challenging shots, but then again I'm not very good and it was my first time playing.
- Decent signage and tee pads.
Cons: - Some thick trees that can be troublesome (which ate one disc of mine)
- Poison oak
- Baskets are often difficult to locate for first timers. We had to do some hiking around to figure out where we were going.
- Two holes cross one another. Could get dicey with a lot of people on the course.
Other Thoughts: All-in-all, this is a nice course and one I'd like to play again. It's a nice change from Aquatic Park and Golden Gate, but without having a car, it's hard for me to get to. My advice on playing here is watch where your disc lands, watch out for poison oak, and carry a baseball or a long stick for when you get one stuck in a tree!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Commons

1    8/27/2016   8/29/2016
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 238  Reviewed: 228  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: California seems to know how to build nine hole courses fairly well. The elevation change from hole to hole makes for a very fun round and adds difficulty. Shot selection is also a critical aspect for this course for the downhill throws; throwing the wrong disc or line could result in a disastrous result either getting lost (worse case) or a big roll away or what have you. Hole three is interesting from the tee pad as it looks like a straight forward toss across a large flat area only to throw your disc and watch it disappear into a fairly deep/wide valley.

In my opinion you only need drivers on a few holes even though most are a good length. Uphill holes need drivers while downhill holes for the most part are better played with a putter or mid disc unless throwing a spike hyzer for holes like number nine. There is for sure a RHBH friendly slant at this course but I believe good lefty players could overcome fairly easily by taking a different route or turnover as there is quite a bit of freedom for line shaping here AKA it's a more open course.
Cons: The biggest problem here as with a lot of public courses these days are dealing with other park users getting in the way. Apparently other park users here don't understand that there is a course here and stood right near the baskets, especially on hole nine. While this could be an isolated incident it's something to remember; look before you throw and never throw when someone is near. Also the walking path is a dangerous area for errant disc throws from the top of the hill.

The course terrain had these giant balls of dirt and rock like they run tractors up in there, again this could be an isolated incident but being my first time from out of town it was a little annoying trying to find footing and avoid these giant hard balls. Giggity. Sure made walking much harder.
Other Thoughts: This is a very decent nine hole course and maybe the best of the limited nine holers in the area. While not epic it is a solid course with solid holes and decent challenge. It is more than a course baggers course and I think anyone within the area should check out this course first before any other shorter nine hole courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pleasantly surprising 9-hole course

1    8/11/2015   8/12/2015
Review By: sumo21
Played: 31  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Tons of bathrooms on site.

2) A few water fountains located around course.

3) Multiple pin positions on every hole.

4) Signs on every hole.

5) Signs show the preferred route to reach basket location, as well as the change in declination from the teepad.

6) Teepads on all but one hole (8).

7) Nice, long and wide teepads.
Cons: 1) Some baskets to holes are located within the same vicinity of other holes, so have the course map handy or ask one of the locals.

2) Signs do not have a marker to indicate basket location. So you must physically verify where the basket is or again, ask a local.

3) Some holes criss cross or are in close proximity to another hole so errant throws can be a problem.
Other Thoughts: Course play revolves around the hill that it's built on. After playing Golden Gate Park earlier in the day, I was ready for this hill and course: Be Prepared to do a little hiking.I only saw one hole (3) that had an alternate tee, but was more concerned with what challenge that the next hole would bring. From first hole to last, this 9-hole course did not disappoint. I was pleasantly surprised with the variety of lengths and types of shots that this course presented. Equal amounts of uphill/downhill, short/medium/long and hyzer/anhyzer shots. Hole 3 on short presents a challenge as the basket is placed near an edge, so choose your shot/disc/throw wisely. Hole 5 is a bomb in either position, launch your disc over the trees. Be wary of stickers in the field as you approach the basket to hole 6 and on your way back to hole 7. Hole 8 is the only hole that doesn&apos;t have a teepad, look for the chalk line that designates it as the throwing area. The course is nicely groomed with lots of dry grass and dirt, so skip shots are definitely in play. No elevation change, up/down, that is greater than about 40 feet.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Little Course!!

1    10/5/2014   10/6/2014
Review By: thetomswift
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 41.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lovely location.
Easy layout to understand. (Pay attention on 7 and 8. On seven, they have changed the basket and it's a much longer hole. And, 8 goes UP the hill, not across. Doh!)
Lots of challenging holes.
When I was there, I didn't see another golfer until the end of my round, which allowed me to play multiple discs, and practice.
The weather was gorgeous.
They do a lot with a small plot of land. Really impressive.
Lots of elevation changes.
Well maintained.
Easy to use.
At the end of hole seven, it looks like folks have made a nice little place for a beer break. Couldn't be a better idea. (There's a picnic table near the top of the hill, where you can also chill, have a beer, and watch great drives.)
I will absolute play this course again, and it may become my home course. (The drive from Redwood Road is spectacular: Lots of places to stop and see views. Would be a great destination for folks into heavy-duty biking, too.)
Cons: They wisely keep the holes away from trafficked areas in the park - but watch for bikers and joggers - I nearly took a dude's head off with a drive, cuz he came out from a blind spot.
I can imagine that driving from The City would be a pain in the ass (and the tunnel can be a challenge. Try using Redwood Road.)
Some of the signage has not kept up to date with hole changes, but it's not major. Just pay attention and don't be afraid to walk a hole to figure out where the basket is. It's worth it.
Other Thoughts: I'm still relatively new at this, after 40 years away from the game, so I may be a little generous. That said, I think this is a deceptively difficult course with lots of variation. I had a fantastic afternoon, and can't wait to play it again (and again and again).
Although there are some trees that come into play, it's largely an open set up. I like that, but I know others don't. (That said, I can't imagine losing a disc here. Sight-lines are clear and the course is open and well maintained.)
I really can't think of much bad to say, given some of the options in this neck of the wood. FAR superior to Chabot Park and Aquatic Park in my opinion.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9-hole course

5+    4/12/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: mdegs
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change, many good tee boxes. Varied pin positions.
Cons: Occasional walkers / nearby park users. Exercise caution. Some tee pads are muddy or slick when wet (esp the rubber ones).
Other Thoughts: A great 9-hole course that has enough variety to keep you entertained for 18 or 27 holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Spring Overgrowth Ruins Course Experience

5+    4/17/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: gmoney
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course on rolling hills. Toughest 9 hole course in the East Bay.
Cons: Town of Moraga does little to no maintenance in the section of the park where the course is located. Every spring the grass and weeds grow to knee high level or worse. Moraga claims they can only afford to cut once annually, despite the fact that the remaining areas of the park are cut on a regular basis. Moraga is one of the wealthiest municipalities in the Bay Area, so it seems to be a matter of priorities rather than a lack of funds. Spring is the best time of the year to play the course before the hot weather arrives...but it is also the season in which the overgrowth is severe.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good First Time Spot

1    1/5/2014   1/5/2014
Review By: tenayaguevara
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 2/17/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Mix of challenging holes and fairly simple but pleasing holes
- Not a ton of people on a warm Sunday afternoon - waved 3 groups to play through us, but got to throw 2 discs each our second time around
- Great use of the hill - makes a small area feel like fairly interesting
- Baskets with the number in green on top where much-appreciated
Cons: - The first two holes were pretty tough and could punish; not the best to start off on
- #7's dirt-only tee made for a rough approach to a challenging hole
- Wish it were longer
Other Thoughts: People are pretty harsh on this course to me -you'll enjoy a day here for sure, but there are enough minor detractions that people have which are valid which can add up for people. For me, coming from Aquatic Park, which is a pretty punishing course, this was a welcome spot. I didn't see too many non-disc people using the area and getting in the way.

Tree and bush issues weren't as bad as I imagined, but I can see how if you're not on the look out for PO, especially in the leafless season, you can get some bad Poison Oak.

"I'm new to but excited about the sport - why should I come play here?": This course really utilizes the great hill at the center of it for maximum effect. The 9 holes are varied and some are quite challenging.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Approachable and Challenging for Most Players

5+    12/10/2013   12/13/2013
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 39  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Challenging but not punishing
- Pleasant rural suburban setting with some nice views
- Comfortable weather for most of the year
- Overall a very lovely park with lots of nice amenities. The course itself is isolated enough that you usually have pretty clear play.
- Large concrete tees, decent signage. Course is pretty well maintained
- Multiple pin locations on most the holes that move periodically
- Multiple Teepads on 2, 3 & 6 spice up your 2nd round a bit with different lines and distances
- Challenging but approachable. This is an intermediate level course and will accommodate a broad skillset
- I almost never lose discs here. Just steer clear of a couple heavily forested areas and you will most likely be OK
- Not usually over-crowded. Everyone I've met on this course has been extremely pleasant
Cons: - After a rain, avoid this course like the plague. The mud continually clings to your shoes and adds about 2 lbs to each foot
- Prominent poison oak on a couple holes (2 & 4)
- Occasional interference from other park attendees. Although most non-disc golfers hang out in a different part of the park
- Criss-crossing fairways (4/5 & 6/7) can hinder play at times
- Alternate teepads are dirt
- Navigation could be improved. Look for worn paths in the dirt and you'll probably find your way through.
Other Thoughts: I live witihin walking distance of Berkeley Aquatic park but I play this course more often. It's become more challenging in the past years. 6 from the long tee is not an easy par and could be a hole at Stafford Lake. 8 with the long basket placement is a challenging too. It's a ~350ft incline with the basket perched on the edge of an 8ft drop off.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Spt!

2-4    4/6/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: hydro5757
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great elevation changes
-all around ffun course
-away from the rest of the park activities
-couple of long shots required
-signage is great
-lots of parking. 2 lots. if there is something going on or the weekend though it gets tight!

Cons: -atleast a couple holes have differet hole locations. Particularly hole 7 from the tee box you cant see either hole location, and there is no noting of wich location it is.
-the grass/weed can get out of controll
-poison oak is huge on the outskirts, stay on the course!
Other Thoughts: If I would have written this review after the first time playing, I would have given it a 4 probably.
Dont get me wrong, this is a fun course, and I understand the costs involved in up keep, so just be warned, there will be a couple times a year were the disc loss value is very high on this course!
Other than 2ft grass, the course is fun and is easily walked 2-4 times in a day!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice 9 hole coarse

5+    12/25/2012   1/15/2013
Review By: disc cogg
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - lots of elevation change
- good mixture of easy and challenging holes
- drinking fountain located in the middle of the coarse
-never gets too crowded
- very friendly locals
Cons: - very little parking
- poison oak
- gets very muddy and the mud is thick and clumps up on shoes
-grass gets very long at times which makes it difficult to find discs
- bathroom is located in park which is a far walk forom the coarse
Other Thoughts: overall this is a fun coarse i like the elevation changes and all the green grass. never gets too hot here. makes for a nice fun afternoon just watch out for the poison oak

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.