Moraga, CA 
Moraga Commons Park Share
Uploaded By: Tomveeh Hole #2 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 295ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun 9-hole course

5+    4/12/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: mdegs
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Lots of elevation change, many good tee boxes. Varied pin positions.
Cons: Occasional walkers / nearby park users. Exercise caution. Some tee pads are muddy or slick when wet (esp the rubber ones).
Other Thoughts: A great 9-hole course that has enough variety to keep you entertained for 18 or 27 holes.

Spring Overgrowth Ruins Course Experience

5+    4/17/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: gmoney
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course on rolling hills. Toughest 9 hole course in the East Bay.
Cons: Town of Moraga does little to no maintenance in the section of the park where the course is located. Every spring the grass and weeds grow to knee high level or worse. Moraga claims they can only afford to cut once annually, despite the fact that the remaining areas of the park are cut on a regular basis. Moraga is one of the wealthiest municipalities in the Bay Area, so it seems to be a matter of priorities rather than a lack of funds. Spring is the best time of the year to play the course before the hot weather arrives...but it is also the season in which the overgrowth is severe.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good First Time Spot

1    1/5/2014   1/5/2014
Review By: tenayaguevara
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 2/17/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Mix of challenging holes and fairly simple but pleasing holes
- Not a ton of people on a warm Sunday afternoon - waved 3 groups to play through us, but got to throw 2 discs each our second time around
- Great use of the hill - makes a small area feel like fairly interesting
- Baskets with the number in green on top where much-appreciated
Cons: - The first two holes were pretty tough and could punish; not the best to start off on
- #7's dirt-only tee made for a rough approach to a challenging hole
- Wish it were longer
Other Thoughts: People are pretty harsh on this course to me -you'll enjoy a day here for sure, but there are enough minor detractions that people have which are valid which can add up for people. For me, coming from Aquatic Park, which is a pretty punishing course, this was a welcome spot. I didn't see too many non-disc people using the area and getting in the way.

Tree and bush issues weren't as bad as I imagined, but I can see how if you're not on the look out for PO, especially in the leafless season, you can get some bad Poison Oak.


"I'm new to but excited about the sport - why should I come play here?": This course really utilizes the great hill at the center of it for maximum effect. The 9 holes are varied and some are quite challenging.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Approachable and Challenging for Most Players

5+    12/10/2013   12/13/2013
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Challenging but not punishing
- Pleasant rural suburban setting with some nice views
- Comfortable weather for most of the year
- Overall a very lovely park with lots of nice amenities. The course itself is isolated enough that you usually have pretty clear play.
- Large concrete tees, decent signage. Course is pretty well maintained
- Multiple pin locations on most the holes that move periodically
- Multiple Teepads on 2, 3 & 6 spice up your 2nd round a bit with different lines and distances
- Challenging but approachable. This is an intermediate level course and will accommodate a broad skillset
- I almost never lose discs here. Just steer clear of a couple heavily forested areas and you will most likely be OK
- Not usually over-crowded. Everyone I've met on this course has been extremely pleasant
Cons: - After a rain, avoid this course like the plague. The mud continually clings to your shoes and adds about 2 lbs to each foot
- Prominent poison oak on a couple holes (2 & 4)
- Occasional interference from other park attendees. Although most non-disc golfers hang out in a different part of the park
- Criss-crossing fairways (4/5 & 6/7) can hinder play at times
- Alternate teepads are dirt
- Navigation could be improved. Look for worn paths in the dirt and you'll probably find your way through.
Other Thoughts: I live witihin walking distance of Berkeley Aquatic park but I play this course more often. It's become more challenging in the past years. 6 from the long tee is not an easy par and could be a hole at Stafford Lake. 8 with the long basket placement is a challenging too. It's a ~350ft incline with the basket perched on the edge of an 8ft drop off.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Spt!

2-4    4/6/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: hydro5757
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great elevation changes
-all around ffun course
-away from the rest of the park activities
-couple of long shots required
-signage is great
-lots of parking. 2 lots. if there is something going on or the weekend though it gets tight!

Cons: -atleast a couple holes have differet hole locations. Particularly hole 7 from the tee box you cant see either hole location, and there is no noting of wich location it is.
-the grass/weed can get out of controll
-poison oak is huge on the outskirts, stay on the course!
Other Thoughts: If I would have written this review after the first time playing, I would have given it a 4 probably.
Dont get me wrong, this is a fun course, and I understand the costs involved in up keep, so just be warned, there will be a couple times a year were the disc loss value is very high on this course!
Other than 2ft grass, the course is fun and is easily walked 2-4 times in a day!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

nice 9 hole coarse

5+    12/25/2012   1/15/2013
Review By: disc cogg
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - lots of elevation change
- good mixture of easy and challenging holes
- drinking fountain located in the middle of the coarse
-never gets too crowded
- very friendly locals
Cons: - very little parking
- poison oak
- gets very muddy and the mud is thick and clumps up on shoes
-grass gets very long at times which makes it difficult to find discs
- bathroom is located in park which is a far walk forom the coarse
Other Thoughts: overall this is a fun coarse i like the elevation changes and all the green grass. never gets too hot here. makes for a nice fun afternoon just watch out for the poison oak

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

What happened

1    10/7/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 93  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seemed to be a busy/popular course.
Some great uphill/downhill shots.
Great visibility but still technical with trees and obsticles.
Tee markers and tee maps in place at most tees.
Cons: Quite a few tee maps were inaccurate - baskets were often moved from their apparent original placement with no alternate marking on the map (basket 7 or 8 was pulled out of the ground with concrete intact).
Tight course with a little more overlap than I prefer - causes backups on the course
Course crosses public paths numerous times - make sure to check for bystanders.
Dangerous foliage (cactus, poison oak, etc.) - most are well marked/visible
More than half of the baskets were not visible without significant scouting - a pain if you are having to go up and down the hill between throws
Other Thoughts: I had mixed feelings about this course. If it was not my first time playing I think I would have enjoyed it more. I never like overlapping runs but sometime it's difficult to avoid with courses in tight spaces. Correcting basket locations to match the maps or updating the maps could help first time players of this course.

If for some reason you don't feel this review was helpful, please PM me to let me know what you are looking for in these reviews so I can consider ways to improve my reviews going forward. Thanks!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Setup

2-4    6/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: bassman87
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Free course. Holes are clearly marked. Interesting setup with both short and long fairways. Not to many crowded days, with helpful locals.
Cons: Pins are permanently set. mostly dirt fairways with wild grass (easier to loose disc).

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Moraga Course

2-4    5/26/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: Mateoqua
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is great for beginners and amateurs. I think this course has some good challenges, but you shouldn't have problems losing any discs. I love having a course where I can let a few discs fly without having regrets if they fly over the hole. There are many poison oak warnings, but thus far I haven't had any issues when searching for my discs.
Cons: The course has recently tilled fairways so much of the walking is done over large dirt clumps, which can be quite annoying. The poison oak may be a problem for some. There is a small playground close by and many kids often play around hole #9.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 my home course

5+    1/11/2012   1/11/2012
Review By: dkfromthebay
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This has become my home course and the course i learned to play disc golf on. It has been very challenging for me with holes #2 and 3 having you navigate through some trees. #4,6, and 9 good size downhill throws that you can really put some power into but still have some obstacles in the way. # 5 and 8 have been ones I've really gauged my power on with some uphill shots. All and all as I experience different course this one has still been my favorite and still challenging.
Cons: The first tee is right next to the skate park they have there and its on the left perfect for a beginner to toss right in the middle of. The first downhill shot on #4 has a walking path at the bottom that gets used pretty frequently. #6 crosses paths behind trees with hole 7 which can be pretty dangerous.
Other Thoughts: All and all I really like this course a few flaws in the design of it but defiantly the best they could do with the space they have. Its got a lot of other things to do at this place besides just golf that the family can enjoy while you get some rounds in. Challenging course that still makes me use a lot of different shots in my repertoire.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.