Moraga, CA 
Moraga Commons Park Share
Uploaded By: Tomveeh Hole #6 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 431ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 my home course

5+    1/11/2012   1/11/2012
Review By: dkfromthebay
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This has become my home course and the course i learned to play disc golf on. It has been very challenging for me with holes #2 and 3 having you navigate through some trees. #4,6, and 9 good size downhill throws that you can really put some power into but still have some obstacles in the way. # 5 and 8 have been ones I've really gauged my power on with some uphill shots. All and all as I experience different course this one has still been my favorite and still challenging.
Cons: The first tee is right next to the skate park they have there and its on the left perfect for a beginner to toss right in the middle of. The first downhill shot on #4 has a walking path at the bottom that gets used pretty frequently. #6 crosses paths behind trees with hole 7 which can be pretty dangerous.
Other Thoughts: All and all I really like this course a few flaws in the design of it but defiantly the best they could do with the space they have. Its got a lot of other things to do at this place besides just golf that the family can enjoy while you get some rounds in. Challenging course that still makes me use a lot of different shots in my repertoire.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Very Nice 9 Holes

2-4    12/24/2011   12/29/2011
Review By: n8director
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Elevation Change adds to challenge.
-Baskets and tees in good condition.
-This is a small park, but they did as well as they could at keeping it away from playgrounds, picnic areas, etc...
-3 pretty dramatic downhill shots. I've played plenty of 18 holes courses that can't say this!
-Course was pretty clean. Access to Water and bathrooms is very good.
-Locals are welcoming. Jumped in with 3 of them and had a nice time.
Cons: -You will have to watch for others using the park on foot and bicycle.
-A couple times holes cross or play very close to each other.
-It's only 9 holes and multiple tee pads were not always an option or in good condition.
Other Thoughts: For a 9 hole course, there is good golf here. You'll have to shape shots, gauge distance on elevation shots, make putts on fast greens, and even throw hard a few times. If I lived within 15 minutes of it, I'd be a regular. Nice people and a good place to work on the game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole in Moraga

5+    4/23/2011   11/17/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 105  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the terrain and wonderful views of the town of Moraga an the Oakland hills. Mach II Baskets are older but still do the job perfectly. Most of the holes have cement block tee pads that are a good size and level. There are multiple pin locations that can make play much different from the previous location. Great locals that will help guide you in the right direction. There is a great variation of hyzer/anyhzer opportunities. Trash cans at most of the holes. Good signage to indicate pin locations.
Cons: Moraga Commons is a busy park with lots of folks utilizing the walking paths. There are several holes 4, 5, and 8 that are near the bike path and caution when throwing will need to be exercised. This is the only course in the immediate area and can get crowded during certain times. Discs can be hard to find when the grass is tall during the spring. When the grass dries out the city discs the grass down making the fairways on some holes hard to get good footing. When course id wet the clay soil is slick and will stick to your shoes making play difficult. There is some poison oak to worry about so use caution.
Hole 7 has been changed for the worst. The tee pad is much closer to the pin due to people hanging out below the properties on the old tee pads.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course to go to and bust a couple rounds or more. The locals that take care of the course are not high in numbers but still make sure the course is well maintained. This course has slowly over time improved to be one of my favorite 9 hole courses that I have ever played.
There is a locals tee that is located to the left of hole 2's pin for hole 3 that greatly changes the pay of the hole and is very fun to play when the course is not crowded.
One has to watch out when enjoying a beer or a smoke during the round because there is an access road that goes through the middle of the course that is patrolled by the local cops. This course is worth taking the time to play if you are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/27/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with kids playing soccer, jungle gym/kids play area, skate park,hiking trails, and they also fit in a cool little 9-hole course!
Great baskets, great tee-pads, and tee signs!
Course utilizes elevation very well, making for some memorable and very fun shots.
3 big downhill shots, but only one that requires a big bomb (the tower of power shot)
Lots of cool technical shots but many lines to the basket
Some nice views from on top of the hill
Good alternative to GGP. Not near as good, but with plenty of fun shots and not at all crowded


Cons: Not too clear on where to start, no signs even mentioning there is a disc golf course there.(not that I saw) Hole 1's teepad is located to the right of the skatepark.
I believe 1 or 2 holes cross fairways, potential for trouble. 
Could not find the teepad for #7, but there was a teesign and a basket.  I shot from in front of the teesign (matted down grass suggests that most people shoot from there.)
Some poison oak OFF the fairway
Other Thoughts: This was a very cool course for what they had to work with. The downhill shots were a lot of fun. Holes 2 and three were awesome holes that could be on any great courses. I only played it once because it was getting dark on, but I finished it fairly quickly and I would have played it again. I will play it again when I'm in town, and I recommend if you are nearby play it,  will take only an hour or so.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A decent 9 holes

2-4    9/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: SuperUnleaded
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some long holes.
Water fountain right in middle of course.
Clean bathrooms.
Friendly people.
Just about every hole has an elevation change.


Cons: Alot of poison oak.
A few of the holes cross each other slightly.
Close to walking paths.
Other Thoughts: I thought this course was fun to play. Holes #4 and #6 are downhill rippers that will boost your ego with long drives. :) I missed hole 8 completely on my first round, due to misleading signage,but managed to find it on my second time through.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenges for al levels, but watch the poison oak!

2-4    6/23/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: MudDisk
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quiet suburban setting;
Lots of parking;
Variety of holes to challenge you;
Playground, skate park, picnic area and restrooms all nearby
Cons: POISON OAK! It is everywhere on the course-leaflets 3 let is be; berries white poisonous sight!
Other Thoughts: I enjoy Moraga Commons as a good challenge. There are shots up hill and down hill and over gullies and ditches. On some of the downhill shots you can really let it fly!
Keep an eye on those disc as they dive into the brush because inevitably you will hit the poison oak. This course is really defined by it since it makes use of the "back 40" in Moraga Commons Park. In the hills of California you will always find poison oak and Moraga Commons Park has more than its fair share. Use caution when searching for your discs in the brush.

Some poison oak tips: if you brush up against it make sure that you wash up with soap and water after your round to get rid of the oils that commonly cause skin irritation. If your discs go into the brush, assume that they hit some poison oak and wash them off with soap and water after your round. Don't just do the old towel wipe...the oils from the poison oak will get on your towel and be spread wherever that towel goes. Moraga Commons is a fun course, but requires a little preventive personal care when you play it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Hill-rover

2-4    10/13/2010   12/8/2010
Review By: Tomveeh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good use of the land
-Long throws mixed in with some short holes.
-Good change in elevation.

A good course with a nice mix of holes that will challenge the good players. The course uses the land well where the holes play over rolling hills with pars available with good drives. Many of the holes run up and down a hill and the shots will require good drives. Overall the course will improve your game with the variation in the fairways.

Cons: -A few holes play over a walkway.
-Can get hot in the summer.
-Out of the way.

If you live in the area it is a nice course to have in your backyard. It is worth the drive from Oakland and a nice course to try.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not so Commons Park

2-4    10/5/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super-legit course; perhaps best 9-holer in the East Bay Area. Fun and impressive layout & elevation variation with some challenging basket positions. Generous amount of land for 9 holes. Nice tee boxes.
Cons: Grass is kinda long right now.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to park next to the skate park along the wooden fence, as it'll save a longer walk from the main parking lot. I look forward to many more rounds here!
=================
Uniqueness: B (spacious for 9 holes; good use of elevation changes & landscape)
Difficulty: A- (long; uphill holes are tough)
Fun factor: A- (satisfying round; birdies are rare & rewarding)
Aesthetics: B+ (rural feeling in the suburbs; lush with good amount of trees)
----------------------
Overall: B+

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 OK if you in the area

2-4    8/12/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: Sharkbite
Played: 64  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: LOL Close to my Moms house. Can play the course in 20 min.
Cons: Boring
Other Thoughts: Didn't want to drive through the tunnel to play Berkley so I went here. It was alright, a local described it as a mini Stafford Lake which is WRONG in so many ways. If you right in the area hit it up but don't go out of your way

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9 Holer W/Three Big Down Hill Throws!

1    8/20/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Moraga Commons is a mostly pretty multi-use park with all the usual amenities. The course for the most part stays away from the other park users and does an excellent job of utilizing the parks naturally hilly terrain. The signs and teepads are both excellent with oversized pads built with building blocks and informative signs. This is no pitch and putt. The course will challenge recreational up to advanced players but families can play and enjoy it. There are three chances for long downhill bombs. #'s 4, 6 and 9 all offer you a chance for fun, challenging downhill throws ranging 350' to 425'. There were no holes here that I didn't enjoy, none that I would consider throwaways. The baskets were older but caught well. Navigation was easy. There were benches to sit in the shade no less.
Cons: When we played in late August, the ground was dry and parched and extremely broken and uneven in places making walking on it uncomfortable. Watch out for the poison oak in a couple of places.
Other Thoughts: This is just a very enjoyable little nine hole course. The three downhill holes kind of make the course in my opinion. They're just the holes that one dreams about and keeps you coming back. # 9 is aceable with the right touch. Come visit Moraga Commons and see for yourself.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.