Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Grand Rapids, MI 
Earl W. Brewer Park - Red Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 471ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Wide open

1    3/10/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
Pros: The course plays through a large open prairie with mowed fairways through longer grass. This is the longest of the 4 loops here, and offers several chances to open up and throw some drives. Several of the holes use minor elevation changes to make things a little more interesting. The concrete tees are in fine shape, and the signage is adequate with hole layout and distance. The baskets are older but in ok shape.
Cons: The course is wide open, with just a few trees in play other than a couple holes that use a tree line on one side. Prairie grass is in play on every hole, and that's my least favorite type of disc golf obstacle. In my opinion it only adds frustration, not real challenge or punishment for errant shots.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will likely be frustrated in the summer months with long distances and lost disc potential in the long grass. Some experienced players will enjoy the chance to throw some drives and the challenge of hitting the mowed fairways, others will find the "links" style holes frustrating and not very interesting. I liked the idea of 4 loops each with their own feel, it's a unique way of using the space.

 "Smokers" Spot

2-4    7/4/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: myhouseinthewoods
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - This course is a good challenge
- Around one of the holes, there is a nice - private area and a bench where you can relax, and smoke
- This course doesnt get as busy as Blue course
- Nice open areas where you disc uphill and downhill
- There are nice sunny spots
Cons: - Watch your disc, theres woods around certain holes ready to rob your disc
- Gets busy on whole park
Other Thoughts: - Its a nice area
- A or more than one hole next to the road, watch your disc and try not to hit any cars

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Red was dead...

1    4/30/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: kizzle54
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well kept course

- lots of rangey holes
Cons: - lots of rangey holes

- nothing technical, just open
Other Thoughts: I thought I was going to throw my arm out on this 9. The 9 probably averaged about 350 ft+. I didn't like it all that much because it was all length and no technical holes.

If I was to play brewer tomorrow I'd pass on Red and play the other three.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Open Range

2-4    4/1/2011   4/2/2011
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2011
Pros: - Very open, long straight holes.
- Pads are cement, very clean and level... no cracks
- Holes are very sturdy, a little rusty but strong. (Mach 3's I believe)
- Holes visible from tee, something I always am challenged by. :P
- Doesn't interact with other 3 9's too badly.
- Few hazards, but overall the easier course.
Cons: - As the smaller of the four courses, it is also the least challenging, except little bends with the mando in hole 3 and the bend with a tree in hole 6.
- With it being so open, expect cross winds to effect your game greatly.
- Open means hot in the summer, even cool days.
- No verity; straight, back and forth; some challenge with elevation.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course, all four very close so no need to drive to the different areas. Very clean, markers at every hole, along with trash. There are even some practice holes by the main area as to play HORSE or practice putts.

 A good warmup for the other 9's.

5+    11/17/2010   11/17/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The most open fairways at Brewer park
-Very few obsticals
-cement pads
-trash cans on most holes
-a good 9 to play if you like big bomb drives.
-a putt and aproach kind of 9 holer course
-this is one of the 4 - 9 hole courses at brewer
-seemless smooth flow, impossible to get lost.
-Baskets are okay, old and rusty and falling apart but they work, atleast for now.
Cons: -Rather boring, straight shots, big open fairways, almost no challenge besides distance.
- probably the least fun of any of the courses Brewer park offers.
-very few trees as obsticals, wind breakers, or for shade during summer on this course perticularly.
-no variety, just straight, open, easy shots.
Other Thoughts: This is my least favorite of the 4 courses at Brewer. Its average fun to play, you cant really lose a disc. If you come to brewer park make sure you play all 36 holes. This is a park where drinking alchohol is allowed and gets pretty rowdy at times. My league plays here, not my favorite Park in Grandrapids but its alright, 36 holes total is pretty cool though!! If your in the area come check Brewer out, if you play all 36 holes you will enjoy yourself.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 the good, the red, the ugly

1    9/30/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Tee pads-- Big and Cement, how could you ask for more.

Navigation/signage-- not an issue, apparently the signs are inaccurate for distance and actual hole layout.

Pins-- Old, some are super rusty and super grabby.

Upkeep-- because this is a lesser played course at brewer there isn't so much of the cigarette box/40oz can of PBR trash here.
Cons:
Variety-- not really any variety here. everything is long, straight and kind of boring. the only saving grace here is the elevation.

No shade-- this course can get very hot, even on cool days if the sun is out...

Other Thoughts:
it's brewer. put on your camo, grab a PBR and go out. it's a little trashy, but sometimes (not all the time, trust me) it's part of the charm.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Red Course

5+    3/25/2011   9/10/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course to work on your driving ability. A lot of the holes you can just let it rip. if you can keep it straight you will do fine. easy to navigate your way around the course. nice open course so even if you are in the rough your next shot can still put you back on track.
Cons: mostly the same type of shots over and over for each hole. so no real need for trying to figure out how you are going to shoot the next shot to get back on track for the hole.
Other Thoughts: The elevation changes help to make the course challenging. throwing uphill then downhill then back uphill. I like on hole 7 the ability to just rip it and watch your disc fly as far as it can. A good throw there seems to float forever.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 #3 of the four

1    8/28/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Footage on these holes teaches 1/3 300 ft., 1/3 350 ft. and 1/3 400 foot drives. Good training ground for open style hole, distance control.
More than one practice basket is nice touch.
Elevation available is used well. More gradual meadow hills than anything big. #9 is a fairly long 470 ft. uphill finishing hole.
I'm adding this paragraph for my pros for all four of these: This is a 36 hole complex. I would give a 3 rating, for the complex as a whole. If you're there; you're going to more than likely play all four. All of the courses balance each other; and allow a number of styles of play.
Course very well maintained. Ball golf feel to some extent.
Cons: Meadow type of course; primarily in the open. Not only does this make for a 350 foot drive style of play; but this makes play hot; in the open sun. Not much shade escape on Red!
Buckets primarily homemade. I had one, for sure, kick out based on lackluster targets. Double chain assemblies not bad; but center poles have more kick out potential than major company models (due to larger center pole?). Baskets are also shallow. Most have some rust. (They were installed long ago; and this part is a plus.)
Repetitious holes. Red, blue and gold feel much the same and blue is simply a short course. Red is the most repetitious of the longer courses.
The land comprising Brewer is nice, but nothing spectacular. This is really the biggest con facing the complex.
Other Thoughts: Local noted that there are times when taller grass to side of fairways is o.b. during tourney play. This would then make it a fairway driver/tight fairway course. IMHO, this may add, another level of interest. This type of tourney is rarely done; and therefore; could be considered quite unique.
The format would be slightly gimmicky, but, would spread opportunities to place....shorter, but more controlled arms would be back in the hunt.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby

5+    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open shots for the most part, with a couple young trees which politely suggest you might possibly consider being intimidated by their presence.

The elevation changes add some dimension. Uphill, then downhill, then along the face of the hill, repeat.
Cons: If you can drive straight 300', and putt in a light breeze, you're going to shoot under par every time. Zero need for line shaping or accuracy.

During my last visit, both my brother and I had a skin reaction to the tall grass. He broke out in serious hives all over his legs, and my sweat glands all turned red and started itching and burning.
I don't know if they sprayed something into it, or if the grass has evolved into some Mknight Shamalan-esque murder plant, but I don't even react to poison ivy, and this stuff cut my day short.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Kind of Good, but Kind of Plain

5+    10/9/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has some nice long holes with a few trees coming into play every now and then. There are a couple holes are near the woods, a couple holes with slight doglegs, and a couple other holes with blind tee shots. The elevation can serve as a bit of an obstacle on some holes. The fairways are in good shape, and the weeds in the rough can grow real tall in the summer, encouraging you to throw your disc more accurately. This is a good course to work on your driving skills, because there isn't a lot of trouble you can get into (except maybe holes 5 and 8, which are near the woods), and the course doesn't favor one type of throw over another, like backhand over sidearm or anything like that. Any kind of throw your comfortable with will work on this course.
Cons: The holes are too wide open, and most of them are straightaway shots with almost no obstacles to worry about. The rough is normally too short to be considered an obstacle, and some of the trees on this course don't even come into play on any holes. There needs to be more obstacles to help make these holes more challenging, which can also make them more fun for all players. Right now it doesn't seem like this course has much to offer besides its length and, to some extent, its elevation. Also, some of the baskets are real rusty and need to be replaced.
Other Thoughts: For a 9-hole course, this one isn't bad, but it doesn't offer much to challenge anyone unless they have a weak arm. This makes it seem more like a beginner friendly course. It is kind of fun fun having the freedom to launch your disc as far as you possibly can with little to worry about, but it also gets kind of tiring after awhile. This course is the complete opposite from the blue and white courses in the park. Those holes are mostly filled with trees and need some of them removed, while the red holes are mostly open and could use some more trees. I think red is better than those two because it's not as frustrating to play and it also has this thing on it's fairways called grass that I prefer to play disc golf on.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.