Disc Golf Store
Boone, IA 
McHose Park Share
Uploaded By: moldrepair Hole #3 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 162ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 very difficult course

1    3/10/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is very difficult. Definatly not for beginners. Mixture of long and short holes kind of on the long side. Hole 3 is pretty awesome to the throw from. Kind of tricky. Also like the hole over the pond. Dont see those too much around this area. Lots of good elevation changes and tree holes. All around a solid course
Cons: The reason why i gave this a little lower score was because. A couple of the back woods holes were in peices. One them was missing a basket. And the one right after that was missing the tee pad. Which was unfortunate because that hole could have made the course for me.
Other Thoughts: Maybe try to rework that one hole with no tee pad.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Most Xtreme Course By Far

2-4    4/1/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: NessMasta
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was my first time playing disc golf on my own and first time playing at McHose Park. The last few times I've played the game with either my friends or my Dad.

Anywho, the course is well located in a park that's just in town and not too far away. One of the things I like about this course is that it's very challenging from beginning to end, with the first drive has a nice little revine in between. But, if you plan on doing the full course instead of the recreational course, then you're in for one heck of a ride, my friend. Once you get to the 3rd drive, that's where the real fun begins.
Cons: The challenging part from the pros can also be considered a con here, as it's pretty much the most brutal and tormenting course I have played by far, and it's really not a course for beginners, like me. I've received a handful of cuts and bruises, almost lost a disc twice and a water bottle, and was close to falling backwards a few times in a deep revine that's in the middle of the 3rd drive.

Also, Drives 3-11 are pretty much non-accessible with no trails from one drive to the next, no bridges over the river/creek and are not maintained well. When trying to play the 8th drive, it was impossible to find the basket, if only it was this net-type thing I found along the creek which was completely destroyed, and was kind of creepy and scary when walking down the path trying to find the 8th hole.

I never really completed the course in full. after the 10th drive and just went to the nearest drive when I got back to the recreational part of the park which was the 16th drive. I just couldn't bare the extreme part of the course any longer.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a well maintained course with the exception of drives 3-11. Those drives really don't have any clearance or a good clean fairway, some signs were missing and like I mentioned in the cons, there were really no bridges over the creek. So if they really want this course to be a full course, then they really need to start to maintain/fix drives 3-11 and make them accessible.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 S I C K

1    12/24/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: ChubbyChad
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first few holes you really appreciate the people who have kept it up.. Nice bridges, wooden steps, breathtaking views... Very challenging for all players.
Cons: Went with a group of guys and we got totally lost around hole 9/10ish... You get real tired of bad shots being ate up by the deep revine. A couple holes were just unrealistic (minimum 6 to 8 shots)
Other Thoughts: This course is GNARLY! By far the craziest course I have played in Iowa. If you are an accurate throw, you will love the shots you watch fly over the revine, if you are inaccurate, enjoy the journey. A buddy of mine summed it up best by calling this course " A hike with a little bit of disc golfing."

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 There are nine holes that you really can't play

5+    9/3/2009   5/6/2010
Review By: Caligolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course can be very challenging if you play the back nine.
Cons: Holes are closed if it has rained. There also 4 holes that are over 750 feet, and some holes are hard to find if you haven't been there before.
Other Thoughts: Do not take out people who don't have at least a year of experience, because they will loose a disc.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.