Boone, IA 
McHose Park Share
Uploaded By: moldrepair Hole #2 (Taken 4/2010)
4 / 401ft.   4 / 540ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach: Basket is set middle of photo across roadway into trees.



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 very difficult course

1    3/10/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is very difficult. Definatly not for beginners. Mixture of long and short holes kind of on the long side. Hole 3 is pretty awesome to the throw from. Kind of tricky. Also like the hole over the pond. Dont see those too much around this area. Lots of good elevation changes and tree holes. All around a solid course
Cons: The reason why i gave this a little lower score was because. A couple of the back woods holes were in peices. One them was missing a basket. And the one right after that was missing the tee pad. Which was unfortunate because that hole could have made the course for me.
Other Thoughts: Maybe try to rework that one hole with no tee pad.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Potentially Great, Currently Frustrating

1    6/7/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 Full holes which are all very different. Good shot variety and length. The overall length was very long and challenging. This course is hard!
-Holes like number 3
-Nice baskets
-Nice tee pads, dual tees on many.
-Reasonable signage
-Elevation in excess
-This part of park is disc golf only.
-Park is very clean
Cons: -Horrible layout. There is long walks from basket to the next tee and even if you know the right direction you still might search for a long time.
-The wooded sections are too wooded and the underbrush is too thick. If you are playing alone plan on losing a disc or two or at least spending 6 hours playing the course because you will look for discs forever.
-The wooded holes are often too much of a challenge for just about any player. Some have multiple turns or doglegs to blind baskets with narrow fairways.
-Often going up or down hill is nearly impossible. The only way is narrow dirt trails that are slippery with any moisture on them. They often take you in roundabout ways to avoid the steepest parts of the hill. This means that you might throw then go on a trail exploration for 10 minutes. I didn't like leaving my Cryztal Z Buzzz sitting under hole 3 while I found my way over there.
-Bugs
-Poison Ivy
-No garbage cans or bathrooms on the course at all and this course can take awhile to play due to the length and difficulty of holes as well as looking for discs and tees.
Other Thoughts: This course sucks to navigate. Play it with a local or take a picture of the large course map at the beginning and refer to it early and often. Play cautiously or have a spotter or you will lose discs and die from a combination of mosquito bites and poison ivy. This course could be great with more maintenance and added signage to make navigation easier. I would think that playing in the spring or fall could make the course better with less bugs and underbrush. Approach this course with caution.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/20/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: happytree290
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is very creative, and challenging for anyone that plays it. This isn't a course for beginners. They have a good variety of wooded, and open shots.
Cons: This course is a pain to navigate, especially when you get deeper into the course, and the wooded areas. There's no signs directing you where to go so my group ended up getting lost trying to find 9-12. I don't like walking through water, and I think they could do a better job of keeping up the wooded areas, and maybe adding a bridge or too so my shoes don't get wet. It really sucks walking half the course in soggy wet shoes. One of the bridges is shaky and part of the guard rail is missing so if you lose your footing and fall you'll probably break something. Don't like the steps on 3. Watch your footing and balance. If you're clumsy like me watch your feet because there are invisible tree stumps everywhere, and if your not looking you're likely to trip over several of them.
Other Thoughts: I think this is a great course, but it's hard to navigate, and has a lot of safety issues that need to be addressed.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Most Xtreme Course By Far

2-4    4/1/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: NessMasta
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was my first time playing disc golf on my own and first time playing at McHose Park. The last few times I've played the game with either my friends or my Dad.

Anywho, the course is well located in a park that's just in town and not too far away. One of the things I like about this course is that it's very challenging from beginning to end, with the first drive has a nice little revine in between. But, if you plan on doing the full course instead of the recreational course, then you're in for one heck of a ride, my friend. Once you get to the 3rd drive, that's where the real fun begins.
Cons: The challenging part from the pros can also be considered a con here, as it's pretty much the most brutal and tormenting course I have played by far, and it's really not a course for beginners, like me. I've received a handful of cuts and bruises, almost lost a disc twice and a water bottle, and was close to falling backwards a few times in a deep revine that's in the middle of the 3rd drive.

Also, Drives 3-11 are pretty much non-accessible with no trails from one drive to the next, no bridges over the river/creek and are not maintained well. When trying to play the 8th drive, it was impossible to find the basket, if only it was this net-type thing I found along the creek which was completely destroyed, and was kind of creepy and scary when walking down the path trying to find the 8th hole.

I never really completed the course in full. after the 10th drive and just went to the nearest drive when I got back to the recreational part of the park which was the 16th drive. I just couldn't bare the extreme part of the course any longer.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a well maintained course with the exception of drives 3-11. Those drives really don't have any clearance or a good clean fairway, some signs were missing and like I mentioned in the cons, there were really no bridges over the creek. So if they really want this course to be a full course, then they really need to start to maintain/fix drives 3-11 and make them accessible.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 S I C K

1    12/24/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: ChubbyChad
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first few holes you really appreciate the people who have kept it up.. Nice bridges, wooden steps, breathtaking views... Very challenging for all players.
Cons: Went with a group of guys and we got totally lost around hole 9/10ish... You get real tired of bad shots being ate up by the deep revine. A couple holes were just unrealistic (minimum 6 to 8 shots)
Other Thoughts: This course is GNARLY! By far the craziest course I have played in Iowa. If you are an accurate throw, you will love the shots you watch fly over the revine, if you are inaccurate, enjoy the journey. A buddy of mine summed it up best by calling this course " A hike with a little bit of disc golfing."

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 mchose dg course a tourney course that ams can play

5+    12/2/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: disclover55
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 30.5 Years
Pros: New facilities, large lavoratory, large permanent course sign ,water , two new bridges and steps built by the eagle scout org. New graded and graveled roads,New historical kiosk giving historical perspective on the park. Playground facilities in the park. Remember disc golf is a family activity/sport.
The course is set up holes 1+2/12-18 for amateurs. and holes 3-11 for hardcore, professional , physically gifted and those who have 3hrs+for a round of golf. The top course (amateur)is perfectly maintained by the city.SCENIC course large mature trees, Innova baskets, Low traffic on the course. Good location right off of highway 30. Restaurants and Walmart located just a few blocks away. Plenty of places to picnic and a log cabin is available through the park department .
Cons: The course has been riddled with vandalism esp. when the course was installed.Signs are missing plus a basket on the bottom (hole8)
The bottom of the park is not maintained by the city and lack of bridges make accessibility a problem .

 next tee please

1    10/22/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: claymcclellan
Played: 62  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.9 Years
Pros: This is the perfect park for a course. the elevation changes are perfect, the woods are perfect. lots of fun out at the course. most of the tee pads where good, and the pin placements were awesome.
Cons: The only con that i found in this course was the up keep. specifically the tee signs, most of the pads didnt have tee signs and the ones that did, didnt tell you where the next tee was, making it very hard to find the next hole. i believe this course could be the best in the central iowa area if not the best in iowa only if they took care of that one little problem, and once more people started to play it as a result of that then you could expand the course if needed.
Other Thoughts: Pro shop and a place to get drinks in the park would be nice.

 No Wimps, No Whiners

5+    8/10/2009   6/23/2010
Review By: Clue
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the best designs in the country. Holes 3,5, and 9 are 3 of the coolest par 3s you'll see anywhere. The par 4s are all incredibly tough. Steve Kenton is a protege of John Houck and you can see that signature all over the course. The option of the flatter 9 or the *experts only* 9 is a plus. The flat 9 is no picnic. 5 holes in excess of 500ft with an incredible canopy of mature trees makes it beautiful. The expert 9 has some of the toughest/beautiful terrain you'll ever play on.
Cons: The caretakers do not do much to take care of this course and there are some unfinished spots including 3 creek crossings where you're likely going to get wet. The rough can be punishing and there are lots of places to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: If polished, this would be one of my favorite courses. Nobody has shot 54 or better yet, but it's there.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 There are nine holes that you really can't play

5+    9/3/2009   5/6/2010
Review By: Caligolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course can be very challenging if you play the back nine.
Cons: Holes are closed if it has rained. There also 4 holes that are over 750 feet, and some holes are hard to find if you haven't been there before.
Other Thoughts: Do not take out people who don't have at least a year of experience, because they will loose a disc.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Nature Walk

2-4    4/22/2010   4/22/2010
Review By: kcorkery
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variation in shots, uphill, downhill, and across ravines. Front 9 is really wooded, and back 9 is longer holes with mature vegetation.
Cons: This course is a good nature walk, not a good course. The distance from the end of a hole to the next pad was often a very long walk. Hole 9's fairway is the creek...
Other Thoughts: Hole 8 does not have chains, and hole 9 is a dirt pad.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.