Port Huron, MI 
Holland Woods DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 135ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/26/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays around the track and "backyard" of a middle school. Course is closed during school hours (as it should be) so just watch for runners on the track.

Teesigns--- good, descriptive and accurate

Variety-- a littlea everything here. long 400'ers, wooded ace runs, wooded 400' fairways... great variety.

Baskets-- all but #1 were in good repair. #1 was pretty wonky, the basket portion was off kilter severely.

Routing and nav-- fairly easy with the map. the routing from #1 to #2 made zero sense, everything else flowed relatively well.
Cons:
Challenge-- the challenge factor here is relatively low. with the exception of the river holes, there is really no risk v reward.

Age-appropriateness-- I have to agree with mashnut, this course is not overly appropriate for middle school aged kids. the 3 400+' holes seem like they would be a bit of a turn off for the younger crowd.

teepads-- muddy messes. the ones in the woods had two blocks to denote a throw line but none of the others did.
Other Thoughts:
decent fun little 15 minute course.

Needs some love

5+    7/1/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: JBryant
Played: 70  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.7 Years
Pros: Fun 9 hole layout. Favorite holes are 1, 6, 7 (wooded holes)

Innova baskets are a change from the normal Michigan scene. Being from the South we see yellow bands often. **note: I really have enjoyed the DGA baskets. The newer style catch really well. I prefer the visibility of Innova baskets.

Wind presents a challenge here.

Not very buggy or muddy compared to other courses in the area. Muddy is relative to recent rain however.
Cons: There seems to be no direction with this course. As a designer and caretaker myself, it takes time and maintenance to keep a course at a quality level. Not championship level but competitive requires some upkeep. I'd like to see some changes here to make it more challenging and less monotonous.

Other Thoughts: My suggestions: Hole 2 could have a cut through lane in the woods to eliminate another ordinary righty hyzer. Hole 5's tee should be moved behind 4's basket if walking in a straight line from 4's tee. Eliminate another unnecessarily long right hyzer by cutting a longer shot through the woods. Why have woods if you don't use them? Hole 9, despite the prettiness of the hole, is really a mess. It presents a long walk back to 1. Flow is very important. The flow here is great but the loop back to 1 has to be considered in flow. I would throw from the current 9 tee but 90 degrees right, facing the practice basket. Then I would move 9's basket to the group of trees that are short of the practice basket and ball diamond. This adds to the flow and makes a great finishing hole.

Add dual tee pads to make 18 holes.

With some love, this could be a gem. Someone please hear my suggestions and put them in action.

 Nice little course

5+    5/4/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: aseely2
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Has a few challenging holes, nine being my favorite. I feel safe on this course because it isn't in a bad neighborhood. Also, hole three allows you to whip a shot as hard as you can.
Cons: Prone to flooding, slightly repetitive shots. Also, VERY CONFUSING MAPS when playing for the first time. It took me a while to figure this out but the maps are mostly wrong, but you will get used to it.
Other Thoughts: Bug spray and sunscreeen.

 Cute little started course

2-4    8/17/2009   8/5/2011
Review By: AKasprzak
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Great started course. Nice holes, well maintained.
Cons: Big drop of on a longer back hole that drops into a quetionable body of water that i dont think i would fetch my best disc from. Other then that it was pritty clean.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great cource for beginers or for practicing technequie.

 Not awful

1    7/4/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays around the perimeter of a middle school's athletic fields. 5 of the holes play mostly out in the open, though most of them bring some thick rough into play on the left side (the course plays clockwise). 3 holes play through thick woods with shorter technical shots. The final hole plays through more mature trees with the school on one side and rough on the other. This makes for a decent variety, especially with a few of the pins tucked nicely into the edge of the rough.

There is some distance variety too, with everything from technical ace runs in the woods to a couple 400'+ holes where you can open up and throw some longer drives. A water hazard comes into play along one hole adding some risk. The baskets are in fine shape (other than the practice basket), and the tee signs are informative with hole distance and layout. The flow of the course is easy to follow.
Cons: My biggest issue with this course isn't actually something that hurt my rating (the opposite in fact). I enjoyed the challenges but the course isn't very appropriate for middle school aged kids trying out the sport. I would rather see an interesting but more beginner friendly course here that wouldn't frustrate new players with distance. The three long holes could be broken up to make a 12 hole course that would still be a lot of fun and offer a better length and difficulty for new players.

The course is a little rough, with natural pads that are a bit rutted out and can get muddy. The wooded holes were a bit overgrown and could use a little cleaning up. The course would not be playable during school hours or extra-curricular activities.
Other Thoughts: This is an ok stop if you're in the area, or a good way to pass the time if you want to wait out a long line at the border crossing. There are some nice challenges, with some technical shots and some long placement shots that will keep experienced players on their toes. Beginners will find a few of the holes pretty long, and the rough can be pretty punitive of errant shots.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad course

1    5/21/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: Jabanger
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mis of open field and tight woods shots, good mix of distances from just under 200' to 420', Signs at every hole.
Cons: Only 9 holes, little elevation change, dirt tee pads.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course but not great. Considering it's the only course in the area I'm giving a little higher rating because there is nothing to compete with it. It is a good course for practicing mids and putters and an occasional driver.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    8/4/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
It's the only course in the area.
Very good signs.
Well maintained
Decent variety in length and open/tight fairways
has a practice basket

Cons:
9 holes
favors RHBH
VERY repetitive. 5 of the 9 holes (2,3,5,8,9) are basically the same shot.
dirt/grass tee pads
practice basket was broken (the basket part is broken off and is on the ground)
The course is closed during school hours
Other Thoughts:
I wasn't sure if it is a pro or a con but there is no alcohol allowed, it is on school property.

favorite hole: #4
420' shot. slightly to the right. there is a river running to the left

least favorite hole: #9
402' shot. way too many trees in the "fairway." It's basically impossible to get a decent drive.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Easy, quick, and fun.

2-4    3/14/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 15.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -
-Only course in the Port Huron area.
-Excellent signs
-Excellent baskets
-Hard to get lost or confused
-Well maintained
-Quick and easy
-Good mixture of long/short/open/woody/water holes
Cons: -
-Nine holes
-Muddy/natural tees
-Wind is a strong factor on some days.
-Not playable during school hours
Other Thoughts: -
-Fun, quick, and easy. This is the only course in the area and if you have an itch to play it will satisfy you.
-The course as good variety, there are wooded holes with obvious paths, and open fields that are long and allow you to rip it.
-Good course design that mixes in short/short/long/long ect.
-A little repetitive and easy.
-Hole one had water on the right and could be prone to flooding. This is a very aceable hole.
-Hole 2 is a short hyzer to the right, this hole will be aced many times.
-Hole 3 is the longest on the course. Wind is a BIG factor on driving and putting.
-Hole 4 is a cool hole that has a deep canal next to it. It would take a very errant throw to hit the canal, but if it did go down in that water, bye bye disc.
-Hole 5 is a huge dog leg left, there is a path through the woods. Easily one of the better challenges. (If you know Oshtemo in Kalamazoo think hole #5 from the shorts)
-Hole 6 is a very easy and an aceable short shot although it is a guarded by trees.
-Hole 7 is about the same as hole 6 just a different approach, again guarded well by trees. (If your from Kzoo area think Knollwood hole #2 and #5--very similar)
-Hole 8 is a long bomb that hyzers to the left, this is a challenging shot because if you go errant just a little you'll end up in some challenging woods.
-Hole 9 I would consider the signature hole on the course. The pathways are guarded by old thick trees, an easy path is to the left however, the school and glass windows come into play. The basket is also well placed and guarded by trees.

Overall a fun course, reminds me of Begg Park (Battle Creek) without the extensive scenery. If you got an itch and your in the area it is worth playing. Course is located on a school property and is not playable during school times.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great starter course

5+    8/4/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Steven Hromek
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great small course, one of every throw. get you working on throwing through tight tree paths, long winding turns left and right, and straight open fairways. over all it keeps me coming back for more.
Cons: remember the bug spray on this one, if not you'll get eaten alive.
Other Thoughts: also its at a school so during the day or sometimes the night the school is occupied. doesn't get in the way of the course its just awkward.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.