East Troy, WI 
East Troy Middle School Share



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  New to the sport try this place

2-4    5/12/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: kayaklg13
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great rarely used baskets. Its not a very much used course. Great for practicing all of your new discs out. Very wide open,
Cons: No real challenge to this course. No tee markers or tee pads. Course basically just laid out around the school. Got yelled at for playing it during school hours.
Other Thoughts: Course is a good first timer course. Also good to try out you new discs. Otherwise I would pass on this course everytime. Play it once and forget it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good thought, poor execution

1    5/8/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 764  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays around the flat grassy fields of a small town middle school. The holes play across nicely manicured grass and around the outside of baseball fields. The baseball fence comes into play on one hole, it tempts you to cut the corner but you may end up out of bounds if you don't make it back over.

The tees are marked with numbered boards in the ground, and the bare tee spots are all visible from the previous basket. The layout is intuitive and easy to follow, there are no questions about where to go next or where to throw on any holes. I love that there is a course at the school that's very visible and probably exposes a lot of people to the sport.
Cons: The course is pretty boring and wide open. Most of the holes are easy ace runs with a putter, and have absolutely no obstacles. A couple holes have some real length, but are still wide open, which would seem to be a very frustrating type of hole for beginning players, especially younger kids. All the holes are open enough that it doesn't matter what kind of shot you throw, so it won't teach many different skills to play here.

The course begins and ends at opposite sides of the school, so it's a long walk back to your car or to play another round (though the layout is basically identical to play backward if you're going to play 18 anyway). The tees are natural, and are basically worn down depressions in the grass that don't provide a great surface to tee from and would be very muddy after a rain. There are no distance markers on any of the holes.
Other Thoughts: This course really doesn't have much going for it other than the fact that it exposes kids and the community to disc golf just by existing. It's an ok layout to try disc golf for the first time, except for the holes that are way too long for that kind of course. More experienced players won't find any challenge or interest here. It's not worth a stop unless you have a need to check it off your list, so don't feel bad about driving on by.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Better than no disc golf

1    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, seldom used baskets.
Cons: This is not really a disc golf course. There are 9 baskets placed aroung the school property. No tee pads ot specific teeing areas. No signage. No sings of wear in the grass to indicate play patterns.
Other Thoughts: Any disc golf is better than no disc golf. I gave it a 1. There are good things to be accomplished by playing here if you look for them. This is a great place to practice putting. Great place to practice approach shots. There is some good distance between the baskets so some short driving is posible here too. Bring any 1 disc and play all holes and all shots with one disc. A great way to learn your discs, how they fly and how you can use technique to build control and shot optioning. Use the wide open space to just grip and rip... forget about the baskets and just fly 'em... although you do not need the baskets here to do that. Bring a measuring device or a hand held GPS and set up some lengths to practice distance control. Just get out and trhow! Do not make a special trip here for this. But if you live near here... come out and play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 D Grade = Dud

1    6/3/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Like all elementary & middle school courses, this one is not designed to cater to real disc golfers, but rather to kids in a gym class. I applaud that heartily and wish there were tons more schools with disc golf baskets so that more people could learn about the great (and greatly fun) recreational and/or competitive pursuit that DG is.

Unfortunately, I grade courses against other real courses that are out there. Here is what I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == D
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == D+ (Distances are decent)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == D (or lower)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == D
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == D (2 of 9 holes are real two throw holes for me - a decent ratio. They are not long enough to make a birdie 3 rewarding, however.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 DON'T BOTHER!!!!!!

2-4    5/9/2009   5/10/2009
Review By: Seananagins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: The baskets themselves are top of the line. Pitty they couldn't find a better location in that crumby little town.
Cons: No obsticals other than a baseball fence,
A bunch of corn fed hicks running around.
Other Thoughts: How come my school didn't have a frolf course? Even if it was a weak one, it would still have been awesome. Those kids are lucky.

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Boring wide open beginner course

2-4    4/5/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2009
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice discatcher baskets. Tee areas are at the very least marked with a 4x4 in the ground.

2) Tee areas and turf are in good condition, must not get a lot of play except for gym class.

3) At least they have 2 holes that are of some significant distance. It may or may not have been by design, only because they had to get past the athletic fields.
Cons: 1) Goofy setup for the course starting on one end and finishing on the opposite end of the school.

2) Boring easy holes for the most part. The only obstacles on the entire course is the outfield fence for the baseball field, a couple soccer goals, and a backstop to a baseball field.

3) Nothing challening. They could put up some trees to create some obstacles, or at the very least only mow a strip of grass instead of the whole width of the lawn areas to make it a little more interesting.
Other Thoughts: Beginner course not worth a trip to play. It was on the tail end of my third 5 course adventure and it was on the way home anyways from Whitewater so I stopped and played it.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.