Greenville, SC 
Gower Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #5 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Decent little course in the neighborhood park

5+    4/21/2016   4/28/2016
Review By: PipeSmokeMcGee
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.6 Years
Pros: -You can knock out a quick 9 holes in less than 25 minutes
-Flows really easy. No way to get lost. Basket, and a tee pad between 20 and 40 feet away in most cases.
-Not very busy
-Good mix of wooded and open
-Reasonable elevation change
-No obstacles to pushing a stroller. The kids enjoy it.
-The Tank
Cons: -Some trash, vandalism, and glass back in the woods
-Criss-crosses walking path on hole 5 and 8, and throws over a tank that kids sometimes play on on 9
Other Thoughts: Nothing noteworthy, but definitely worth playing if you're a local. Could knock out a quick 9 holes at lunch. My home course that I always enjoy playing.


1    4/1/2016   4/27/2016
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 265  Reviewed: 251  Exp: 20.3 Years
Pros: 9 hole city park course offering a balance of open holes, few trees, and wooded holes. Other obstacles are some fences and the tank on #9's fairway- yes a tank! Though most of the holes are short by most people's standards, there is still some variety here ranging from 150' to 325', so for most there a couple of chances to throw full drives.

Tees and baskets were easy to spot and were in fine playable shape. Navigation was pretty easy using a little common sense despite the lack of tee signs or directional aids.

This is a really good course to introduce somebody to the game of disc golf and for beginners to learn how to play as it shows people the different hole styles out there. Most of the holes were varying degrees of more open so there is room to find and recover from errant drives. Holes 2-4, however, are in tight technical woods, showing beginners this style of disc golf as well. The good thing is these holes are really short and won't punish inaccurate tee shots too bad to the point of frustration and quitting.

Big parking lot, and course was easy to find.
Cons: Biggest con is lots of tee signs were missing (seems to be a problem for all the courses in this part of town). Course is still playable without them however, and it does not affect navigation too bad. Just doesn't look good when introducing the game to somebody.

When busy, beware of other park goers as the course plays close to walking areas, playgrounds, and ball fields, especially because lower level skill players with less accuracy and control will likely be throwing here.

Though great for beginners and families or for a quick practice round, this is not a place people with any experience are probably going to want to play. Good news is there are plenty of other options in this area.
Other Thoughts: I am glad there are courses like this. I wish we had some intro 9-holers where I live to help teach others disc golf and to ease the high volume of slow-playing high-scoring newer players on the advanced courses. Gower DGC serves a purpose and is perfect for the right level of player. Overall this course is pretty flat, in contrast to nearby 9-hole Holmes which has some hills. It is a 3.5-4.0 in terms of beginner courses, but in the grand scheme of things for most people it is "passable" (1.5) if you are in the area.

If you are traveling to the area, my recommendation is to skip it and go play Timmons which is very close by. Gower and Holmes were close to our hotel on a disc golf trip and we had some extra time one afternoon for some quick DG, so we decided to check these out.

 Yes Connor, a freaking Tank!

1    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 241  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 baskets and a cool army tank...that is it.
I guess there were a few ace runs that you can count as a pro.
There were some minimal tee signs, but many were missing or were flat out wrong.
Clear tee pad areas.
Cons: Several short holes with odd lines. It does not appear this course was designed by a disc golfer. Baskets were all obscenely vandalized, lots of litter, tiny tee pads.

Holes 1-4 were trash: No sign on 1, 2 was a 170 foot hole with a slanted tree stretched out across the line. #3 and #4 were insanely short. with silly lines.
SAFETY CONCERNS: 5 plays directly over the sidewalk and actually goes parallel with the sidewalk for awhile. 6 throws over a sidewalk and directly at 2 pavillions. Hole 7 has you throw directly at a playground. Hole 9 throws by an army tank that was crawling with kids. It was a very dangerous situation.
Other Thoughts: Too many safety concerns, lack of quality in the design layout, and lack of anything memorable other than a giant tank leads to a barely passable score. There are far better courses just minutes away, so no reason to return.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Yeah that really is a tank Bill.

1    3/3/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Yup, there is a tank on this course, I have no idea the history of this park so I couldn't tell you why, but all I know is there is a tank.

There is also a decent amount of variety for such a small 9 holer, plenty of fun little ace runs, a couple holes in the woods, and one or two longer holes.

The tees worked well considering what this course is, a pitch-n-putt for the most part.
Cons: These are single chain baskets, but I mean, I'm not going to grade this like a championship caliber course because it's just not. I can't really think of a whole lot of true cons with the design currently present.

The teesigns are crappy or non-existant, but you don't really need them considering you'll be able to see the basket from the tee regardless.
Other Thoughts: That being said, it's not worth it to go out of your way for this course, but it is a fun, quick little nine-holer and I got to throw my putter quite a bit which is great, because I suck with putters.

So yup, usually I would add more, but I can't think of anything extravagant to add about this course. Had fun though.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

5+    7/4/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 137  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beginner friendly course! This was one course I played frequently when I first began playing. It allows beginners to make par if played well and even offers birdie opportunities to award great drives.

-Challenging enough to keep more advanced players satisfied.

-Variety between open and wooded and hole shape variety.

-Good Tee signs and tee pads.

-Bathrooms on-site (located directly behind the tee of hole 5)

-Close proximity to shopping/downtown.

-Plays quick- 20 minute solo round.

-Great place to bring new players or families.
Cons: -This will not be your go-to course for advanced players due to the lack of difficulty.

-Lots of litter. This course is in the worst shape of the ones in Greenville county.

-Most baskets have graffiti/sharpie across the ring.

-Couple of baskets need maintenance (some held up by a nail, rusted chains, etc.

-Some danger posed to park goers due to shots over and around walking path.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course over 100 times, especially when I was new to the game and lived in the neighborhood. This course definitely has it's place and offers variety from Holmes/Furman/TImmons.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 ...but it has a tank...

1    4/22/2011   4/22/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good quality, but older single chain discatchers
Some signs but most holes are obvious
Some lefty and right shots
Challenge due to the tight lines
Nice, smallish concrete pads (you don't need bigger)
A TANK!!!!
Cons: Poke and pray nature in the woods
Crosses some walking paths
A few signs missing
Other Thoughts: This course has a decent variety of mostly short shots. Some of them are crazy short but also crazy tight. The course has a good variety of elevation and some lefty and righty shots for your shooting pleasure.

Did I mention it has a tank? How many times can you say you got to throw a disc in the general direction of a war machine?

This is a fun and decent course but I would probably still play Holmes if I only had time for 9.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/25/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 226  Reviewed: 220  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, little course in a neighborhood park. Good use of elevation and woods. Course has good variety of short and longer holes - 2 holes in the 290 - 325 range.
- The 3 true wooded holes, #2 - 4, are all short, but require good, precise shots for birdies.
- Course is easy to navigate without a map. So easy, in fact, that a couple of tees are less than 30 feet from the previous hole's basket.
- Can play through twice in less than an hour when it's not busy.
- Park has good amenities - ball fields, tennis and basketball courts, playgrounds and the tank.
Cons: Holes #6 - 9 all have baskets that could be in crowded areas of the park. This is a HUGE ISSUE because of safety for others!!! In order, you're throwing at/near a picnic area/walking path (#6); a playground (#7); over a walking path (#8), a common area between ball field and tennis court & near the tank (#9). On a busy weekend, these holes would seem to be almost unplayable, especially #7 & 9. I would not play these holes, especially #7, if people were nearby. It's not worth the potential issues, to throw near kids.
- Some of the tee signs (4 of 9) were missing. 1 missing, I understand; but 4 is excessive.
- As mentioned above, a couple of tee pads are really close to the previous hole's basket. Too close in my opinion. On those holes, you'll have to wait until the next hole tees off until you can tee off on your hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall, as mentioned, this isn't a bad course. It's about what'd you expect from most 9-hole courses.
- Course does a good of cramping in 9 holes in such a small space. The park, as a whole, does a great job having so many amenities in such a tiny area.
- It's a nice little change of pace course from Timmons or Holmes, and within 15 minutes of both parks.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Gower Power..not so much

5+    9/11/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: JBryant
Played: 97  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like this course so first and foremost let's say that. Some challenging holes are here. A couple of air it out "kinda" holes are here. Some cool features like a TANK and tight wooded holes are here. A super hyzer hole here. Challenging and fun.
Cons: Not a power course. Many in this area aren't. There are better courses for your time in this area. I live here and Timmons, Century, and Boilings Springs are courses I would play in a heartbeat before Gower. I would play Holmes before Gower if that tells you anything. Not many runs at the chains here. Couple of holes do not have signs. I like to see the ft of each hole.

Picnic areas are in play along with a playground, and tennis courts if you super float one. Seems to be a high traffic area for pedestrians although we have never had any problems with that.

Some vandalism on hole 2 basket.
Other Thoughts: A typical course. Nothing special here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden gem

1    9/5/2009   10/1/2009
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 96  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean little 9-holer with mostly easy shots of varying length & direction. Decent tee signs & pads. A mix of tight & open holes. #4 basket is surrounded by some strange looking trees. Good pin placement here. Super easy to navigate.
Cons: #6 & #7 throw near some picnic areas so an errant shot has the potential to hit somebody. No elevation, water hazards, OB's or Mandos. No extra pads or pins. No benches.
Other Thoughts: Most memorable feature of the course? There is a very large tank set off to the side of #9 fairway. I would love to live here. There are more than a few very cool courses all in this one area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Everything ValkyrieKid said plus...

1    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 395  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Everything ValkyrieKid said plus...

- I think 1, 5, 6, and 8 were decent holes... especially 1.
- Without a map... and missing tee-signs... this course was a breeze to follow.
Cons:
-Danger. Danger. Danger! Besides the Tank (which was cool, and a kid was playing on it)...
-Hole 7 is right next to a swingset/playground - rediculously close... especially considering the shape of the shot you must throw to park it. They need to clear out the left side gap and put mandy signs up. And, even then???
- Also, Hole 6 throws near a pavillion. My disc went threw it and DiscChainBasket18's disc hit it.
- And, I have to reitterate the potential danger with the baskets being so close to the next tee-pad (some less than 10').
- And, not the best neighborhood (by appearance)... we hid all valuables in the trunk.
Other Thoughts:
- There are three other courses within 10 miles, making this a great road trip destination. We easily bagged 4 courses in one day.
- My GPS was telling us we had arrived... but, we didn't see the park - it's hiding behind the KIA dealership.
My Score: -1 (left more than a few behind)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.