Greenville, SC 
Gower Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #7 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Gower

5+    1/3/2001   8/27/2009
Review By: robbiepitzer
Played: 120  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The best thing about this course is throwing over the army tank on hole 9. Tight in the beginning and opening up towards the end.
Cons: Its just a nine hole :( and very popular with none discgolfers
Other Thoughts: Its close to the mall and also close to 2 other courses

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Another Quick Little Nine Holer In A City Park!

1    7/20/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 998  Reviewed: 948  Exp: 38.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a decent little nine holer to get a quick round in. There are concrete teepads and single chain baskets. A variety of holes await you from some very tight holes in the woods to a couple longer, more open holes. It's a little too long to be considered a pitch and putt. It's more of a beginner/recreational type course. Would be a great place to introduce a newbie to the game or to bring your family.
Cons: The teepads for the wooded holes are very close to the previous baskets. You have to wait for them to clear before you let go. # 9 has a WW 2 tank that's slightly right of in the fairway. You really should be able to throw by it with no problem. But if there are kids playing on it, it's a good idea to give them a heads up before you throw just in case, one really gets away from you. I yelled and all the kids hid on the far side of the tank. Maybe they thought I was a German! It appeared that they had been through the drill before.
Other Thoughts: Another "What you see is what you get course." Don't come expecting to be really challenged or awed. Come here for that quick practice round. Bring your buddy for his first time throwing. Maybe you'll add to your ACE count.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 At least it's a DG course

5+    2/17/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: bethehole
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: OK, a 1.5 rating deserves an explanation. One pro I have is that this park has a dg course. I think the flow of the hole layout is nice though as there is no confusion as to where the next tee is.
Cons: Holes 3 and 4 are through tight woods and like others have said, seem to be an after thought or poorly designed. Trash can be found at many holes. Signs are in disrepair for the holes that have them still in the ground.
Other Thoughts: I play this course only if I have a short window of time and want to play something besides Timmons or Holmes.This course can only be a challange for absolute beginners or those not wanting to challenge themselves. I hate to write anything negative but this course needs some TLC.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/16/2009   1/28/2009
Review By: marcusdavis
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner course. Fairly open for the most part. Short holes, only a few times where a driver could be used.
Cons: Very trashy course! We even found a crack pipe on hole. I felt like I needed to be "packing heat" for protection at times on this course.
Other Thoughts: The Philly Blunt tree on hole three was pretty impressive...somebody has WAY too much time on their hands.( You have to see it to believe it.)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 iffy

1    11/24/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 227  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 18.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Cement tees
-Signs
-Flows well and plays FAST
-2 chances to pull out a driver
Cons: -Bad area
-LOTS of trash on the course
-3 tight woods holes with no design, 2 of which are just akward and pointless, not thought out holes
Other Thoughts: A small park and small course, there are 2 better and nicer 9 hole beginner courses in town to play before this one.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.