Sacramento, CA 
John Mackey Park Share
Uploaded By: 100Birds2Squirrels Hole #3 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Hidden Gem in Sacramento

1    5/18/2016   5/19/2016
Review By: cboucher
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging layout with many holes in the 300 to 400 foot range.
Multiple pin locations on every hole, some with 3 or 4.
Great use of elevation and terrain.
Course flowed well, no crossing fairways despite smallish area of land allotted to disc golf.
Good signage/navigation.
Park is clean and well maintained.
Lots of big oak trees to provide obstacles for otherwise open shots.
Use of fallen/dead trees as strategically placed obstacles.
Good sized, concrete tee pads.
Benches at every tee (most looked new or just well maintained).
Good variety, no two holes felt at all the same.
Disc golf course is well separated from other park activities (playground).
Good use of O.B. areas.
Two practice baskets.
Cons: No restrooms.
Very limited parking.
A couple of the baskets had a little rust, but nothing major.
Other Thoughts: Finding this course was kind of a happy accident. One day after work, I had dropped off my wife and son at this political rally thing and had like an hour or so to kill before I had to go and pick them back up. So, I looked up the nearest disc golf course to where I was and found this place. Honestly, I was expecting a small, pitch and putt type course when I first pulled up and saw the playground. I only grabbed a Roc and a putter figuring this was a short course, but this place was anything but. These were decent sized holes that required fairway and distance drivers. Even though the hole lengths were comparable to a lot of 18 and 27 hole, big courses I've played, the guy(s) who designed this course managed to fit the same kinds of holes into a relatively small triangle-shaped piece of land without any crossing fairways or wonky navigation. I was really impressed with the course design. Because of this, the course plays much like the big courses, but without the really long walks between holes. This was great because for one, I didn't have a lot of time to play the course and also I had my 3 year old daughter with me (she caddied my putter for me, she's awesome). I think when I go back (which will be soon) I'll definitely be loading up with some drivers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

1    2/27/2016   3/2/2016
Review By: nathanbutgame
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very open so good for practicing long drives
Holes are pretty spread out for the most part, so not much danger in crossfire
Seem to keep up the hole placements pretty well
Cons: Definitely some questionable people wandering around the park
Took a minute to find hole 3 basket and hole 4, but made sense after we found it

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bring out the Howitzers

5+    8/16/2014   2/8/2015
Review By: sumo21
Played: 31  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
1) Easy access to course using public transit and a quick 5 minute walk
2) Practice basket
3) Improvements to the course almost every time I pass it riding the light rail
4) Mostly open course, so big arms get to break loose
5) Hole 6 has a setup like USDGC hole 7 with fencing around the basket and an opening in the fencing in front of the basket
6) Water fountain
1) No bathroom on site or anywhere within walking distance
2) During my rounds, I would see many loiterers around the fencing separating the course from the train tracks
Other Thoughts: -If you like open courses, this is one that you must play.
-Hole 2, if not on long, is tucked away about 350 feet on the slope of the overpass.
-Holes 6 and 8 criss cross.
-7 is along the fencing near the train tracks so any RHBH hyzer shot may end up OB and/or highly improbable run over by the train or light rail.

Play with a partner or group, due to the loiterers on the course, mostly by the course/track fencing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Small but fun

1    10/22/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: DBGtony
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course board had a good map. (took a pic as reference).
-OBs had access to get lost discs for the most part.
-They have placed lots of dead trees around to add to course but not so much that your afraid to reach in to retrieve your disc.
-They put up some fencing on the back to add to difficulty a bit, the first round it is hard to see.
Cons: -Parking isn't very good.
-I went during a very dry season/year so the ground was hard as concrete and not much grass. (maybe a lot better other seasons)
-There were lots of "world wonderers" on the course constantly walking around and riding bikes but they seem to respect the rules and pause for throws.
-A few holes were in a funny order but I watched some locals just jump to the hole that was closer. (6-8 I think)
Other Thoughts: Really good course for a quick niner. Wasn't too crowded that day but watch for track jumpers crossing into the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Seasonal Changes

5+    9/13/2013   2/7/2014
Review By: elvenschool
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 34.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Seasonal changes in the vegetation adjusts the challenge as the year progresses -- easier in winter, harder in summer, when all the trees and bushes are fully leafed.
Cons: Thick pants can be essential when the weeds are about, as stickers abound.
Other Thoughts: Well-planned course layout, making best use possible of a compact location. Trees come into play wherever they can, and designers used what little elevation is available. Good for a quick nine, as it's seldom busy.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Full little course

5+    12/18/2013   12/22/2013
Review By: Mavurick
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has been upgraded a few weeks ago. There is new orange center tape on all 9 course baskets and the 1 practice basket. There are new number stickers on the Tee signs. Each basket has been re-labeled with its respective hole number. Over the past few years some trees have fallen. A few locals have made to obstacles around the baskets with the fallen tree branches. There are now 2 basket placements for almost every hole.

Due to the depressed basins throughout the park, there is some slight up and down shots. A number of baskets are on the edge of a slope.

Other than a small playground, the rest of the park is a disc golf course. Sometimes people walk through the holes passing through. But usually you only have to wait for other disc golfers.

The average hole distance is 300'. There are a few 400' holes when the baskets are in those respective placements.
Cons: The tee pads will be narrow for some. They could be a bit longer too. But overall the concrete pads are in good shape.

Lately the horses in the park have been sparse. I have only been delayed once by a few minutes as they rode through hole #6 to get to their stables. But I heard they sometimes train in the park. That would be a problem.

There are a few vagrants passing through from time to time. Due to frequent disc golfers, the vagrants don't hang around long though.

It is a popular park with the local disc golfers. Unless you come really early you most likely will not have it to yourself - even on the weekdays. There can be big groups of disc golfers on weekends too. I have seen groups up to 20!
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a small enjoyable course to keep up on your beginner or intermediate skills if you live in Sacramento County.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent creatively planned course

1    10/21/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Mr_Limo
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creative layout in a small neighborhood park. Good use of the area.
Cons: Dusty in the summer. Nice open course, different from my home courses near the coast.
Other Thoughts: Decent little 9 hole course tucked in between a couple of neighborhood streets and some train tracks. Course was dry and barren when I played, but it's early fall and the rains have yet to start to fall. Really creative use of the space, since it's very limited. Short to medium-long distance holes are mostly straight, with a couple of Mando's around some large gnarly oaks. I'll go back when I'm in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home To Some Gnarly Oaks!

1    8/26/2012   10/9/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had a difficult time finding John Mackey Park, once I finally stumbled upon it, I was pleased with the course. The park was parched dry and brown in mid-August but I understand it greens up rather nicely during other months of the year. Also, you can tell it's green from the pics. The park utilizes a piece of land sitting between a busy street and electric train tracks. The triangle shaped piece of property was probably an eyesore before the course was put in.
The course features Mach 3 baskets, concrete teepads, basic fiberglass tee signs, garbage cans, benches, and a water fountain.

The main obstacles on the course are mature Oak trees some of which are quite gnarly and bent. One of these makes up the designing feature of what I feel is the signature hole on the course, # 6. It's just 264', slightly downhill, but it's the basket placement tucked into this large, gnarly, uprooted Oak which really defines the hole. It also happens to be an interesting ACE run, too.

The course has just enough elevation to make things interestings and OB on # 1 and # 7 add to their challenges.

There were lots of groups on the course when I played including many more couples than I'm used to seeing. Nice to see that.
Cons: The course was not very pleasing to look at here in August, just kinda brown and desolate looking but I hear it greens up during the wetter months.
It might be a little too open for some people's tastes.
Other Thoughts: Popular course utilizing an otherwise wasted piece of property. I loved seeing the couples out playing. Unforunately my wife throws like a girl!
This course is just long enough, has just enough challenge, has just enough amentities to be the nice little course that it is.

My only question is, "Is this course named after the old Baltimore Colts Tight End, John Mackey?" I seem to recall him being from Sacramento.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice urban course

1    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: ZdybelT
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets in good condition.
-Easy to find next hole with great signage.
-Locals were very friendly.
-Decent use of land
Cons: -need trashcans. trash everywhere.
-Need more shot variations, seemed repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This was a decent course to play at. Met some very nice locals and were ab le to play through with no problems. I felt like there could have been more variations of shots as most distances were about the same and basket was dead ahead. it is a great long range nine hole course but could also be improved.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sacramento desert

1    6/16/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: swampdisk
Played: 53  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -long and short holes
-easy to navigate
-cement tee pads
-newer baskets
Cons: -HOT!
-hole 7 and the train tracks
Other Thoughts: This is a good 9-hole course. I wouldn't recommend this to new players on the fact that there are more 350'+ holes than short. I think its hole 7 that is next to the train tracks that if u shank you have to find a hole in the fence.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.