Sacramento, CA 
John Mackey Park Share
Uploaded By: 100Birds2Squirrels Hole #3 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 426ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
  shelter in the city

5+    3/13/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: matticus fry
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some love has gone into my home course over the year, a few benches have been placed as well as tee signs for all the holes. Large and friendly home course community. Some of us are taking on the daunting task of mowing out the fairways, so hopefully the burrs and grass will be more manageable. Hole placement and trees challenge and allows for practice of a multitude of shots. Great for all ages and skill levels. + lot's of ace runs.
Cons: Long and hot in the summer, DON'T go over the fence, drinking fountain works now but there is only one and it can be quite a trek from holes 6,7,8,9 bring a bottle. Lot's of gopher holes, and next to a horse farm (they like to walk their horseys on the course) so watch your step there are piles, but atomatic ace if you get em', minus an extra stroke if you knock the rider off.
Other Thoughts: Weekly Doubles start as of Monday March 23,2009 5-530 pm. Draw for partner, 7$(5 pot,1 course fund,1 optional ace pot). It is our haven in the city, for those of us who can't drive to Sacramentos' nicer parks. Great local community, very supportive of beginners and usually there are a few groups out, easy to join up if you're flying solo

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It's Ghetto but I love it.

5+    11/20/2008   2/28/2009
Review By: blackskies
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate.
If you loose a disc you may need corrective lenses.
Good for beginners and experienced a like.
9 holes, so if you can get through it before work.
Right off the highway = easy access
Cons: Sometimes it can be over crowded.
Obstacles....you may throw onto the train tracks. There's a hole in the fence that you can leap over to get it. Railroad police do drive by so make sure you don't hop it when they're in sight. Usually they'll grab the disc and thank you for not hopping it.
The other obstacle is people crossing the train tacks and using the course as a short cut. Usually what I do is yell "Four!" and throw at their faces
One time I got stuck behind a group of 15 or so "thugs" that stopped at every basket to get high, drink a beer or lay down some freestyles. I was not allowed to play through.
Other Thoughts: Marconi was my home course for a few months and I loved it because you have kids playing on the playground who wander into your flight path randomly. (some people seem to have no idea that there is a course there, which is odd)
Sometimes people will run across the train tracks jump the fence and bolt through the course while the whole time you hear police sirens.
I'm not being sarcastic that the "ghetto-ness" of this course attracts me to it.
Something always funny happens. So don't go there expecting to play a serious round. That is unless there is no one there. BAM!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9 hole good location

5+    10/12/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: J.Koeberlein
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 12/14/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners not many obstacles but enough challenges to make it fun. Can be played fairly fast and it's open enough to play at night! We played a night game there with battery lanterns to light the pins and our BlackJax lightup disks. What a hoot. Playground for the kids. The water is working now, don't count on it though.
Cons: The ground is still a little rough and has ankle eating holes, watch your step. The railroad can be a problem on two holes. Don't get caught crossing the fence to retrieve your disk, you may get a ticket. Early summer you will find not just some stickers but all of them. There are no bathrooms or water. (there is a fountain but it never works.) There is a drainage ditch across the pathway to the first pin.
Other Thoughts: Nothing special but a nice course. We can easily play three rounds after work and though we end up playing the last two pins in the dark the course is open enough that it's not a problem. Bring water in hot weather.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick game

8/9/2008   8/11/2008
Review By: DuBose
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NIce local small course. Fairly easy to play with hardly any obstacles. Great layout for the amount of land that they had to work with. NIce pads and signs at every hole except #1 was missing and I think one other.Very easy course to find. Nice play ground for the kids to play on while you throw a round, and you can see it from most of the course.
Cons: Not the best looking course or the greatest location. I had a little bit of difficulty finding the pad for #6. NO bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course that I have ever seen for a beginner. It would be almost impossable to lose a disc. Hole #1 is the most difficult so don't let it get you down if you are a beginner.(Probably not the best way to design a course) The only real hazard is the train track on hole #7, just make sure that you aim a little right and keep it LOW. You can play the course pretty fast. There were 3 of us and we were able to play 2 rounds in about an hour. I would recomend playing this if you are a local. If you are coming in from out of town, the other local courses are MUCH better. Take the time to find one of them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Little hideout.

4/9/2008   4/13/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: An open area with obstacles to improve your skills on. Sheltered by the wind. Right off the freeway. Worth a stop.
Cons: If they only had more space.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.