Sacramento, CA 
John Mackey Park Share
Uploaded By: 100Birds2Squirrels Hole #1 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good Use of Space with Some Flaws

2-4    12/7/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: Discology1
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: John Mackey is another shining example of the sport of disc golf moving into an un, or under-utilized land area and providing a recreational opportunity for the community where one otherwise wouldn't exist.

The layout here is great for such a small area especially since three of the holes play over 400' and it is easy to navigate without a map. For the most part the holes are spread far enough apart to limit cross paths from errant throws. The topography is utilized very well which creates elevation changes of about 10-15 feet on a few holes helped out by some of the baskets being located on small knolls instead of on the flats. Overall the trees that are on the course are used fairly well. Advertised as a 9 hole course, there is a 10th hole (5 1/2) that plays to the 8th basket. Overall this course is uncrowded and groups let you play through - take that Shady!
Cons: "Noisy" trains is an understatement - defeaning is more accurate - though only intermittantly and on certain holes close to the tracks. Some of the holes would be bettter and more challenging if the layout was tweaked a little more around the fine oaks. 18 holes would be nice, but this space wouldn't handle it. Also, the tees are smallish (4x10) so if your stride is long, it may bother you. The neighborhood is bad = drug use is apparent, though the disc golfers are fine.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play on the way home or on a lunch break. I've played it two times and will be back.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Mack in Sac

1    9/28/2011   9/30/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love the use of what would otherwise be wasted land near a freeway on ramp. This is a legit bombs away 9-hole course, that plays in less than an hour. Love the fact that it's DG only space, other than the nearby playground.
Cons: Hot & dry. All the grass was browned out & dead. I bet late spring/early summer would be the ideal time to play here.
Other Thoughts: This course is quite comparable to Hellyer Park in San Jose, except flatter with less trees.
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (great use of land; dedicated; near live trains)
Difficulty: B (longish; mild elavation changes)
Fun Factor: B+ (variety of drives required; bombs away)
Aesthetics: B- (could be cleaner; played during brown/dried-out season)
---------------------
Overall: B+

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course, just be careful

2-4    8/20/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: tgashby
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 9 relatively long holes, for the space they have to work with
Decent Layout
Fun for a beginner, lots of wide open shots
Cons: Having grown up near this area, I can tell you that it's not the best neighborhood. Just be cautious, haven't seen any problems yet.
Not too many obstacles for the more seasoned players.
Other Thoughts: Great park in the Sacramento area if you can't make it out to Shady Oaks.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  HEADWINDS

5+    5/2/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: sactoduck916
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun course for beginners and seasoned players as well. Good friendly crowd ( Locals ) . Monday doubles are great. A extra hole known as 5.5 , so 10 total holes.....
Cons: Not to many. At this point the grass is tall in area's and you could find yoursef looking for a minute if you dont watch where it comes down. Stickers Galore in your sox but i can deal with that. Can be windy at time, but like the wind out there
Other Thoughts: For those who may not have played Mackey ( aka: Marconi ) its a great course with good pace of play. Come out monday's @ 6pm and play random doubles, cards are drawn to match up pairs. oddman if numbes dont jive

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

the mackey park experience

5+    4/19/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 25.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: We now have 20 pin positions on this 9 hole course, hole 5 1/2 was removed, and a basket for hole 3 was put in in the teepads place. Local club does most the mowing, as the park district only mows once a year. Playground on site, and very frequently see horse riders in the park, they have learned to stay away from the baskets, mostly. Dirt and weeds in the summer, green the rest of the year. Monday random doubles at 6pm, april -september. Local club Mackey Chainwreckers, do an awesome job of running this course. The new short position on hole 2, up the hill at the top of the stairs, might be the toughst hole in the area
Cons: now that we have all the t-signs up, not to many cons. grass will get tall n certain areas, and during heavy rains, 2 holes will get surrounded by water. we golfers do most of our own mowing out here, so the tall grass is an inconvienence more than a hinderance. no public bathrooms,
Other Thoughts: Mackey is a great golfing experience, long holes with unique lines. weekly random doubles on mondays at 6pm from april till the end of september. email us at marconimashers@comcast.net for inquiries

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Down by the tracks

1    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete teepads
- Good distances for a 9/10 hole'er
- Easy access from major freeways
- Good use of the slight elevation changes there to help provide a little bit of variety
- Players seemed more friendly and willing to let people play through than in other areas of Sac
- Benches
- Playgound onsite
Cons: - Right next to the railroad tracks so there is both noise and the risk of throwing your disc over the fence and onto the tracks on a couple holes
- Some teesigns missing
- Airport neerby had planes flying over providing more noise
- Two holes share a basket
- Homeless campsite next to hole 2
- Litter around even though there are trash cans on the course
- Wet and muddy in winter. I'm sure this isn't a problem in the summer, but in the winter there are many swampy areas on the course, and one basket that was surrounded enough that I didn't even bother to put out on it even with my birdie look.
- Not enough trees on the course for my taste (this could be a pro in some peoples eyes)
Other Thoughts: For a park in the middle of Sac there was actualy some good distance on most of the holes. Speed of play was fast with groups letting me play through where in other areas around Sac (Orangevalle, Rocklin), I've been stuck behind groups that would refuse to let you pass. The locals here seemed more friendly than I've found elsewhere which gives me hope for Sacramento area golfers yet. The park was prety wet and muddy when I played it, but we had just finished with a week of storms so it could be expected for the course to be a little wet, but it seemed to hold alot of water making for a few areas to become swampy, one basket was even surrounded by a puddle. There was a little bit of elevation change around the course, and it was used well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Grip it and Rip Course

1    1/29/2011   1/29/2011
Review By: Shuie
Played: 631  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - has baskets
- has cement tees
- easy to navigate
- some slight elevation change
- course has some decent length to it, 3/4 of the holes are 300+
- fairly open so you can just air it out
- the "extra" hole. playing from the tee pad that is to the right of 5's pin placement at the number 8 basket
Cons: -its mainly all open, to real shot shaping
- can get congested around number 8 basket
Other Thoughts: Another one and done in the Sacramento area, i am starting to see why shady oaks is so crowded its the only true course in Sacramento. They should really put baskets in at Schwitzer instead of tone poles..

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 OK

1    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 holes, pretty wide open with concrete pads. Not much traffic in this park.
Cons: signage lacking, most likley stolen and recycled. One hole plays right along a fence next to the railroad tracks, kinda sucks. I dont know if a basket was stolen but it appears holes 6 and 8 share a basket, kind of confusing.
Other Thoughts: Doesn't look like a good area, however you can pretty much see your car from everywhere on the course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/1/2009   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee pads
-Good place to practice your long game
-Has a few trees that come into play
-Has a little bit of elevation change
Cons: -Couse design is lacking a little bit. Thought designers could have made better use of the little bit of elevation change and vegetation that is there.
-Mainly long straight holes
-One of the holes has a rather large fence that rungs along the side of it
-fairly boring
Other Thoughts: -This is really the only decent course in Sac proper. Sacramento really needs an upgrade. I think a great place for a course would be somewhere along the American River Parkway around Discovery Park area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/26/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: LocalsRoute
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course has wide open space and a good place to learn how wind affects plastic
Cons: very repetive with 8 of the 9 holes all being accessable with any type of line no true golf challenging shots unless you have over 400 ft power to reach the 2 long ones.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.