Charlotte, MI 
Lincoln Park Share
Uploaded By: jlord6911 Hole #18 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lincoln Park - Putt Putt, and more.

5+    4/18/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: RyanF
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredibly easy to navigate, I can imagine this course to be a breath of fresh air for anyone traveling across the state. The Tees are concrete and every hole has a well made, colorful, and metal course marker. It's mowed regularly, plenty of trash bins, benches and now BATHROOMS!!. Aside from the skate park bisecting the front 9, this course is used exclusively for disc golf.

The front 9 are short, simple, and mildly technical, while most are visible from the tees none of the front 9 are "straight shots" they all have a few obstacles and are offset from the pads. I've heard to it referred to affectionately as "Putt putt disc golf" and it's one of my favorite in the area.

The back 9 again are mildly technical, a lot of the courses issues have been addressed, weeds on 18 have been completely mowed down making for a less frustrating shot in all weather. There are course benches every few holes and unofficial benches(giant cut logs) on pretty much all of them.

The back 9 are an even mix of near blind and wide open shots. And the tees are concrete and large, 10 or so feet I believe.The open holes make great shots for MA1 or lower to go wide open and just let some discs rip. And a lot of the shots are planned well enough that shooting forehand or backhand are both viable. The only "straight shot" is 18.

ABCDE&F make for good technical shots and up the tally of holes to 24.
Cons: The front 9 are short, the longest hole is 240ish feet and the tees are barely 6 feet long, if you're MA2 or lower and you need that long windup to power over some of the holes you'll probably find yourself falling off the tees.

The back 9 for "the long holes" are very short, the longest being just over 400 feet. Areas of standing water dot the course throughout the year, not very deep usually but if you're wearing thin shoes you might get your socks wet. Mild bordering on sad elevation changes, and the changes are abrupt, no shooting up and down hills here, there are just plateaus of long flat area at different elevations the highest elevation difference is maybe 14 feet.
Other Thoughts: There is a pavilion with grills by the bathrooms, this area might make for a good rest stop for the traveling disc golfer, and alcohol is not allowed.

Many of the old reviews in my opinion should be updated and are only marginally relevant at this point, I'm confident this course would have a much higher score if they did.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/13/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
Pros: Its near my house, usually play twice a week then we travel to play disc golf. Front nine is very quick, u can manage to get a lot of birdies on the front nine, baskets are in good condition, putting in new trees to make it intersting.
Cons: trash everywhere, dnt mow, skate park in the where-abouts, but doesnt afftect the course, did i mention theres alot o trash.
Other Thoughts: this course is great for me and my dad during the week, gets me warmed up for the weekend roadtrip.

 Beginner's Luck

5+    11/8/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: jamays
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Now a 24 hole course. A is short. B, C, D are medium distance. E and F are ~300 and ~400.
-The whole course is easy to navigate and pretty well laid out.
-There are score cards and a map near the first tee which is always a plus!
-Cement tee pads are good size and big enough to take three steps on.
-Secondary pin placements on 10,12 and 15 make the course a bit more technical.
-A, B, C, D, E and F add technicality and some hole variation! They fit in fairly well into the flow, but not perfect, by any means.
-Baskets really snag discs. Two layers of chains.

The Front 9:
Fairly short but it is great for beginners. Winds around a skate park that can be pretty busy. Basket placement tends to favor righties.

The Back 9 + A - F:
Much more wide open than the front and is good for practicing your fairway driving. The back isn't real long (with the longest at 400') but is still much longer then the front 9.
Cons: -The back 9 can be especially muddy.
-Some baskets are hard to see and find from tee. A spotter is needed on just a couple.
Other Thoughts: This course is close to where I live so I am partial to it. Nice baskets and tee boxes! Generally well maintained, but the back needs more mowing!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Much improved

5+    10/19/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: jlbohms
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The City of Charlotte now has the back 9 in place, which makes the course much more complete. The front 9 can be a little tricky, but the brush has been trimmed back lately and opened it up more on a few holes.
The back 9 adds some much-needed length to the course, with 1 hole at 425' and 3 more over 300'. These holes are the first stage in expanding the park, so the area won't have as many people doing other things wandering the course. The tee-pads on the back 9 are longer than those on the front, which is also helpful.
Cons: Since the back 9 is currently new, it still needs some paths and things hacked out, and hopefully the city will mow regularly as the gras and weeds could easily get out of control and make it tough to find your lie.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.