Charlotte, MI 
Lincoln Park Share
Uploaded By: jlord6911 Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Lincoln Park - Putt Putt, and more.

5+    4/18/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: RyanF
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredibly easy to navigate, I can imagine this course to be a breath of fresh air for anyone traveling across the state. The Tees are concrete and every hole has a well made, colorful, and metal course marker. It's mowed regularly, plenty of trash bins, benches and now BATHROOMS!!. Aside from the skate park bisecting the front 9, this course is used exclusively for disc golf.

The front 9 are short, simple, and mildly technical, while most are visible from the tees none of the front 9 are "straight shots" they all have a few obstacles and are offset from the pads. I've heard to it referred to affectionately as "Putt putt disc golf" and it's one of my favorite in the area.

The back 9 again are mildly technical, a lot of the courses issues have been addressed, weeds on 18 have been completely mowed down making for a less frustrating shot in all weather. There are course benches every few holes and unofficial benches(giant cut logs) on pretty much all of them.

The back 9 are an even mix of near blind and wide open shots. And the tees are concrete and large, 10 or so feet I believe.The open holes make great shots for MA1 or lower to go wide open and just let some discs rip. And a lot of the shots are planned well enough that shooting forehand or backhand are both viable. The only "straight shot" is 18.

ABCDE&F make for good technical shots and up the tally of holes to 24.
Cons: The front 9 are short, the longest hole is 240ish feet and the tees are barely 6 feet long, if you're MA2 or lower and you need that long windup to power over some of the holes you'll probably find yourself falling off the tees.

The back 9 for "the long holes" are very short, the longest being just over 400 feet. Areas of standing water dot the course throughout the year, not very deep usually but if you're wearing thin shoes you might get your socks wet. Mild bordering on sad elevation changes, and the changes are abrupt, no shooting up and down hills here, there are just plateaus of long flat area at different elevations the highest elevation difference is maybe 14 feet.
Other Thoughts: There is a pavilion with grills by the bathrooms, this area might make for a good rest stop for the traveling disc golfer, and alcohol is not allowed.

Many of the old reviews in my opinion should be updated and are only marginally relevant at this point, I'm confident this course would have a much higher score if they did.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/16/2013   5/17/2013
Review By: egarnaat
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There has been alot of improvements to this course over the years. Tee signs and concrete tee pads at at every hole. Navigation is much eaiser, especially with the new map in the mailbox at tee #1.
Cons: Front is short but the back more than makes up for it.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Warm Up Course

5+    9/22/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: TGuthrie2006
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice mix of technical holes on the front 9, all easily aceable, then a nice stretch on the remaining holes. Makes it nice to play through since it gives you a little bit to warm up before you have to start bombing them out.

There appears to be a good community based around this course. The Charlotte Disc Golf Association I believe. They have a league called the Lincoln Logs and they have tournaments here quite often. Everybody that i've ran into at the course seems to be nice and respectful.
Cons: Sometimes it's not really clear where to go. There is a map available sometimes and that helps out. If there is no maps, I can promise you will get lost if it's your first time. Some tee boxes are facing towards baskets that are not for that hole. Also on one hole you have to cross over the hole you just shot.
Other Thoughts: If you are planning to play all day and travel for courses, I'd suggest stopping by and playing this if you are on your way up to Lansing to play some of the bigger courses. This course will take you about 2-3 hours if you are taking your time and it has just the perfect amount of balance between rewarding holes (little bit of difficulty that makes you feel good) and some trickey holes. Good variety for all players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: mandylan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not very crowded.
Easy to locate the tees and baskets.
Easy to follow to find the next course.
Every time I have been, there have been maps / scorecards in the mailbox.
Quite clean everytime I have been.
The front 9 is pretty easy, with short shots that can be very fun for a beginner and the back 9 are nice and long to really air it out.
Cons: The front 9 are around a skatepark so there are kids usually hanging out around the area and can sometimes get in the way.
Do not park near Tee #1. I would suggest parking closer to the skatepark as Hole #3 is right next to Tee #1 and I have seen cars get hit on a wild putt.
Along with the tee and hole being so close, is that Hole #3 is slightly blind, so be careful when you are teeing off from #1 and #3 to not hit anyone.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played, and its definitely one of my favorites. If I am looking for a quick game, I will just play the front 9. Hole #9 ends by the parking lot, so if you want to finish there, you aren't lost in the woods like I have seen at a few other places.
Also, for beginners, the holes close to the road can be a little intimidating. I know that when I started, I was over correcting a little too much to stay away from the road. But hey, I never had a disc run over!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 a navigational cluster "F"

1    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Teesigns-where available, they are nice and colorful and informational. Distances seem accurate

-Baskets-In good repair and fairly visible

-Teepads-Concrete, in good repair and of an appropriate length.

-Front 9-Decent layout, a bunch of short holes in a multi-multi use park
Cons: Oh where to begin...
-NAVIGATION-even with the map printed from the course home page (there were none in the mailbox at tee 1) I was lost at many times. the front 9 was reasonble but the back 9 (+6) was rediculous. routing made little to no sense most of the time and even with the map it was ludicris.

-Aesthetic-lets face it, this is not a pretty park. The "Beach volleyball" court is laughable.

-lettered holes- completely superfluous. these holes (specifically B) were completely unnecessary, which leads into...

-basket placement-(specifically the lettered holes) is aweful. too many blind holes where you have no idea where you're throwing to. Hole D is a prime example of this. the basket is 300'ish down the fairway, up the hill to the right.

-feeling like you were just throwing at baskets in a field- the back 9 is just aweful. there is no rhyme or reason for any of the basket placements or fairways (which there really aren't any).

-Missing Teesigns- there were plenty of them.
Other Thoughts: I will not be back to this park. the front 9 were reasonable and then it just gets silly.
I'm sorry there could be so much more done here with fewer baskets and more thought.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/13/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
Pros: Its near my house, usually play twice a week then we travel to play disc golf. Front nine is very quick, u can manage to get a lot of birdies on the front nine, baskets are in good condition, putting in new trees to make it intersting.
Cons: trash everywhere, dnt mow, skate park in the where-abouts, but doesnt afftect the course, did i mention theres alot o trash.
Other Thoughts: this course is great for me and my dad during the week, gets me warmed up for the weekend roadtrip.

 A tail of two courses

2-4    8/21/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: sorotan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As the other reviews have mentioned, this course is really two totally different courses in one.

Front 9: Baskets (DGA) and Concrete Tees are in good shape. Not a bad warm up.

Lawn is well maintained, nice park.

Back 9:

Some decent distance shots.

Most Baskets have some obstacles that making the shots interesting.

The topography has mild elevation change (10') that for this Northerner are laughable, I give the designer credit for making the most of what they have.

Final Note: While I was there on 8/21, an Eagle Scout and friends was installing 6 new wood benches on various Tees throughout the course. I don't know if the scout reads this, but the bench quality and installation was well done.
Cons: Front 9:
Faaaalat. There is less than 1 foot of change in elevation on the front 9.

The distances between Tee and Basket are morbidly short.

Back 9:

Low areas are prone to flooding.

Tees 15 and 17 share the same concrete.huh?

Tee 17 only has 125 feet and shoots threw an opening in the trees with high weeds 150 feet from the tee. Do NOT launch a disc blindly threw trees... Easy to loose discs.

Tee 18 has high weeds along left side. Easy disc eater.
Other Thoughts: There are 3 alpha (A, B, C) tees. They are not logically within the "flow" of the other back 9 tees. The pads are gravel. I never bother to play them. They are an oddity.

The course is alright. I wouldn't bother driving out of my way for this course, but when in the area, it's alright.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 two very different 9 hole courses.

5+    6/12/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: CharlotteChris
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The front nine are great for starting out or playing with the family. It is an open city park with some mature trees but not a lot of weeds and no water.
Cons: The back nine is a totally different course. It seems more like an abandoned lot than a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my house and I continue to play the front nine with my family but we call it quits after nine because none of us seem to have fun on the back nine.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 to many holes for the size

1    5/22/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: msumike2001
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great baskets
good for putting practice
Cons: holes are to short.
tees are concrete but to short for someone tall to take more than 2 steps
Water is all over back 9
grass is very high
Other Thoughts: The size of this park could handle a 9 hole course much better than 21. I couldn't pull out a distance driver once. some holes have trees blocking all angles of a shot to the basket. I would take the extra 10 mins to Lake Alliance and enjoy a much nicer course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's Luck

5+    11/8/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: jamays
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Now a 24 hole course. A is short. B, C, D are medium distance. E and F are ~300 and ~400.
-The whole course is easy to navigate and pretty well laid out.
-There are score cards and a map near the first tee which is always a plus!
-Cement tee pads are good size and big enough to take three steps on.
-Secondary pin placements on 10,12 and 15 make the course a bit more technical.
-A, B, C, D, E and F add technicality and some hole variation! They fit in fairly well into the flow, but not perfect, by any means.
-Baskets really snag discs. Two layers of chains.

The Front 9:
Fairly short but it is great for beginners. Winds around a skate park that can be pretty busy. Basket placement tends to favor righties.

The Back 9 + A - F:
Much more wide open than the front and is good for practicing your fairway driving. The back isn't real long (with the longest at 400') but is still much longer then the front 9.
Cons: -The back 9 can be especially muddy.
-Some baskets are hard to see and find from tee. A spotter is needed on just a couple.
Other Thoughts: This course is close to where I live so I am partial to it. Nice baskets and tee boxes! Generally well maintained, but the back needs more mowing!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.