Monroe, OH 
Monroe Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Only played 10 holes

1    7/4/2014   7/4/2014
Review By: RlemontW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I loved the pin placements on the first ten holes. I only played 10 as my 11 year old got tired. Distances are good. Not too tight. Good course to practice different shots.
Cons: Slighty muddy today but after a few days of sun this would be an awesome course to play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Troll's Review

5+    11/14/2012   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 24 holes
Tight and wooded, mostly, good mix up all around.
Decent lay out, and easy to follow progression
Cons: Could be better labeled all around with signs to the next tee pad
Other Thoughts: Good addition to the Cincinnati hub of courses popping up. turtle creek and few other courses are right in the area...

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great for shot shaping and learning lines

1    9/9/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: Oldmanplayin
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just a great fun couse. Easy access of I-75. Great course for beginner and rec players to learn lines and shot shaping and I would believe challenging enough for seasoned players also to keep up on their game. Plenty of uphill and downhill, rights, lefts, s-shots and dead straight in the mix. Clean well defined fairways (instead of the "pinball" type of wooded courses I have played). Nice workout with all the elevation changes and after playing the 24 holes you have had a good day of disc golf. Easy to navigate , only had to look at map twice. hole 15 seems to go straight but you need to turn back toward t-pad and take trail to the right, also t-pad for 23 is up the hill hidden in the woods on left. Otherwise great signs on t's and enough "next T" signs for ease of flow.
Cons: A little too much trash left on t areas, not enough trash cans, I think i only saw 2. Lots of glass in fairways. Hole 11's t pad gets washed onto very bad and is covered in dirt and gravel making it very slippery. Hole 18 basket is bent from a tree falling onto it.
Other Thoughts: The rough is rough in most places so errant shots can be costly. Quite a few ace-able holes and plenty of birdie opps. Hole 19 looks too easy but the creek will simply put you OB and cost you a sroke so watch the power and just land short.
Just 2 miles off I-75 so a great course to play when traveling 75, The entrance is on the left off of Cin-Day Rd. (Main Street) and can be tricky to spot. It is at the bottom of the hill and is a large brick and morter marker with a very small "Monroe Community Park " sign on it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of park edge hills and woods

2-4    7/18/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 180  Reviewed: 159  Exp: 3.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 24 decently challenging holes await the recreational to intermediate player in a location midway between Cincinnati and Dayton, Ohio in the wooded and edge areas of a large park which includes several ball fields, some play equipment, bathroom facilities, and even a log cabin! The beauty of the disc golf course is that it uses the hilly and wooded areas of the park that weren't suitable for the other activities, and seldom crosses paths with them. Even the walking paths that go into the woods are separated from the DG fairways.
The course design starts uphill near the middle of the spacious parking area, coming back down nearby after the 5th and the 9th holes, then goes out around the end of the park, with #20 coming back to the main drive, and the last four holes finishing a short walk away from the original lot. Each segment of the design seems to incorporate uphill and downhill, tightly wooded and open, and shots that shape best left and right. There aren't any real monster length holes here, but the 317' #6 rises between 40 and 50 feet, making it effectively a 450 footer for the bigger arms to wow the rest of us. The shortest hole on the course (the 152' #19) presents its own precision challenge, as the basket is nestled in the bend of the twisty (and often muddy) creek bed that drops a sheer 5' down only a dozen feet from the pin in three directions (I know: it's not a lot, but you don't really want to climb down, or up out of there!)
There has been some clearing of the trees and underbrush here this past year which makes the course more enjoyable for players at my level (Rec/ rookies), but appears to have disappointed some of the more experienced players who liked it a bit more challenging. There are still a dozen fairways that require really good lines to avoid playing lumberjack!
Tee pads a level and concrete, but not overly large. Tee signs are appropriate, and baskets are decent quality.
Monroe is challenging enough to host at least a few tournaments every year, in addition to weekly random draw doubles events.
Cons: Some of the early, uphill fairways seem to hold on to water a bit too much, and could use some drainage improvements. I've noticed that, after a rain, several of the tee pads can get a little muddy and slick, particularly in the shaded areas.
A couple of the holes (21 & 22) require strong, confident hyzer shots (rhbh) which put the end of the ball fields a bit too much in play if there are families sitting there in the shaded park edge cheering on their kids.
Other Thoughts: Print a copy of "Course Map II" if it's your first time here, and playing alone. You may not need it, but it does a great job of indicating 'next tee' positions, if you don't spot the signs.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    5/29/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: cambo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 31.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation Changes, Lots of tight fairways, Slight water hazard, 24 Holes. They make great use of the land here. Up hill then Back down then up and down on front 9. but not tedious or boring.
Cons: Fast few holes may be a problem if soccer games are going on. Lots of short holes. Could use a couple of longer open and tight holes.
Other Thoughts: All in all a good place to play. good for accuracy over power. Can have soggy fairways. Pay attention to next Tee signs, lol

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    2/12/2011   2/12/2011
Review By: Triflusal
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun to play and challenging course, that plays up and down a hill.
Baskets are in good condition, and catch great.
The teepads are fairly smaller than what I'm used too, but you won't be using the whole thing anyway. They are in great condition.
There are teesigns on most of the holes (I think there are one or two missing, I can't remember which holes), and the are accurate and clear.

The course plays in almost a loop, with a short walk back to hole 1 and the parking lot.
There are benches and trash cans on many of the holes, and they are in great condition.
Cons: The underbrush is pretty thick and can be hard to work with.
Most of the holes are under 275 feet.
It can be pretty confusing near the end of the course finding the next holes, but I was playing in the snow.
Other Thoughts: This course is tight and technical, with tons of elevation changes, valuing accuracy over distance. It will punish errant shots with its thick underbrush.
plenty of different types of shots will be needed.
This course will appeal to the beginner and veteran alike, with fun, challenging and technical holes, that don't require a huge arm.
There is plenty of parking, and I saw some drinking fountains, although I did not try them out, so I don't know if they work.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, short, and wooded

1    9/11/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly wooded park with dense enough woods and brush to really punish errant shots that go off the fairway but not so thick as to eat discs too badly. The elevation is used well to make some really fun downhill shots and some tricky uphill holes. There is a nice balance of left and right turning holes that keep you throwing different lines and really thinking about your shots. The course is pretty short, but the elevation changes and some variation in hole lengths keeps the lengths from feeling too repetitive.

There are decent concrete tees that are large enough for the length of the holes. The signs are informative, with hole layout and distance. The navigation is good here, it's mostly pretty obvious and there are some next tee signs where there's a possibility of confusion. There are bridges over small creeks and nicely kept paths through the woods that make the course feel very finished and cared for.
Cons: There are some safety issues here. Several holes bring the park road, ball fields and other holes into play, on a nice day there could easily be conflicts. There are lots of downhill walks here, making it feel like you are playing uphill a lot, when you have nice hills to work with it's fun to have more downhill holes than uphill and this course feels like it's the other way around. Some longer holes would make a nicer mix of lengths and a little more balanced layout.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will have a good time here, with relatively short holes, though it can be pretty tight and punitive on errant shots. More experienced players will find it to be a bit deuce or die, but in a fun way with good lines to hit and some good elevation. It's not a course to go way out of your way for, but it's enough fun to be worth a quick stop, and could be a really fun putter round with lots of short tight shots.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Up and down for awhile but then.....

1    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 140  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They really mix it up on this one, just about every shot you would want
Mowed, trash free, and well taken care of
Good mix of wooded and open holes
Plenty of elevation changes
Your in the woods most of the time and they do a really good job of making fairways with challenging but definable lines.
High fun factor
good for different skill levels
Cons: You share the park with playgrounds, soft ball, and soccer courses, it wasn't a problem when I was there but you may have to contend with traffic when the are games/practices going on
The first part of the course goes up and down the side of a steep hill, they start to feel kind of the same.
Other Thoughts: The 1st part of the course as I've already said goes up and down the side of a steep hill, many of the holes are repetitive. There are some good ones in there with some fun elevation changes. But the course really gets going at hole 10

Your never far from the park but you kinda get the feeling that your deep in the woods. The fairways in the wooded part of the course are perfect. They mostly are fairly tight lines with some obstacles but they are clearly defined. If you throw you disc off the path into the woods you can normally find it pretty quickly, the brush is not overly dense. Some nice elevation changes and shot variety back in there as well.

One of the final holes runs right along the edge of a soccer field. You may want to just skip that one when it's in use.

I wouldn't call it a destination course but its a lot of fun. If you live in the Cincinnati area it's worth hitting. I feel it's a bit of an underrated course

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tight N Technical

5+    8/1/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is both a compliment to the Greater Cincinnati scene and the Dayton courses. Now that the course has been in the ground a few years and has matured I can give an honest review without sounding so negative about a great course. First off, I may sound a little homerish eventhough I live an hour away from the course. It is home to my first PDGA Ace, my first PDGA Pro Cash, and several local wins.

I feel this course can challenge both the new player...without being totally punitive....and the seasoned Pro...all because of the scoring expectations that different people have when they go here. A beginner can see most baskets from the tee and play fairly quickly through the course. A seasoned Pro is rewarded for hitting tight but fair gaps in a Deuce or Die quest that can have you muttering to yourself....but enjoying yourself.

The course has great use of elevation playing up and down the hillsides. Some of the holes appear short on paper but play much longer than they are due to elevation and tightness of the fairways. You have to be able to throw straight for distance, throw early breaking hyzers, late breaking hyzers, anhyzers, S-shots, and a good thumber comes in handy from time to time. The course is more about touch and accuracy than it is about raw power. Hole #6 will allow most mortals to air it out and #7 challenges most Intermediate and below players on distance in the open...but most hyzer power throwers will have difficulty on this course if they haven't mastered a hyzer flip with say a Comet or beat Roc that goes lazer straight. I've seen some really good players have difficulty on this course because they were just a touch off the angles on the fairways.

It is a nice fair challenging course. Now that the fairways have grass down in the woods you can even throw a few forehand rollers...or have a reasonable guess of how to play the skips. The tee pads are adequate size for the distance of the holes, the tee signs are accurate, and many trash cans are on the course.

One PRO I must mention due to it being a pet peeve of mine at other courses is...there is a walking trail thru the park being used by kids, moms, dads, grandparents and what not. The park and course designers have made great effort to separate the disc golf course from any dangers of hitting guest walking the trails. The distance...and wooded backdrops leading from one hole to the next across the walking trail is more than enough to ensure the safety of other park guests.
Cons: After mentioning the Pro of the walking trail I need to mention the Con of some holes situate too close to other park activities. While #5 is a pretty good distance from basket to some childrens playground equipment...it isn't out of the realm of possibility that some idiot throws a thumber way too hard with a highspeed driver and cracks some kid because he threw one 80 feet past the hole and way right. Hole #21 is a wonderful hyzer tucked into an elevated tree line at the top of some steps....however..when all the soccer moms are standing on the field watching little susie play...the hole is unplayable unless you are 'that kind of guy' and think it is your God given right to play every hole at the expense of other people's safety. #22 can play over the same soccer field but the main thing is most people hyzer over the top of #24's basket and that can create an unsafe playing experience. #23...there is a baseball field way past the basket...but I've seen people throw too far and hit the aluminum bleachers when nobody was on them...I'd hate to play the hole when the bleachers were full of parents.

Oh...and bring bug spray...the mosquitos are quite hungry here...sometimes the ticks can get bad as well.
Other Thoughts: As far as safety is concerned your biggest concern is tripping over a wayward stump that has yet to rot or be taken out...the bridges are in great shape, the tee pads are level, you won't hit your hands on the tee signs on your follow thru...and the neighborhood is small town safe. A regular police cruiser can be seen driving thru regularly.

The park is mere minutes off Interstate 75...there is absolutely no reason not to stop by this park on your way thru. You will enjoy it...unless you are a power hyzer thrower with no touch :)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Course

1    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice and well taken care of course. I came here and was not dissapointed one bit from the reviews. Well where should i start with the pros. First i would have to say the concrete launch pad was unbelievably nice. The one thing that i really liked was how the parking lot lined up exactly with the very first hole. Then the twenty-fourth hole ended right in the parking lot also. One of the reasons that i came here was that it was twenty-four holes. There is alot of vegitation and elevation changes. Now that was one big reason why i gave it such a good rating. Each hole was different and even more exciting than the other. The sign at the tee was very nice showin the par, what number the hole was, where the pin is located, and finally the distance. Right by the first tee they have scorecards already for you. Then also right there they have a map of the course so that you will know where each hole is located. It is located in a nice community park that is very well taken care of. From hole to hole there will be a bench located here and there so that if you get tired you can sit down and relax. Also from hole to hole there is a trash can so you wont have to carry your garbage around with you all day. This is a beginner friendly course. Any one can come out here and play no problem. It usually isn't too busy here so you dont have to wait behind others while you are playing. Inside the pin there is a marking showing you what the par is so that if you forget to check it at the tee you wont have to go all the way back, you can just look right in front of you. The bright colored rocks on the ground right by the pin show you where it is if you are from a distance and cant see the pin. The community takes such good care of this park it is almost unreal. Also on the sign at the tee they have the out of bounds line so you can count you stroke count properly. Overall they just make this park so nice. I loved it.
Cons: Oh my i am really going to have to think hard about this. There really are not many cons. The one main one that caught my attention was on holes five and hole number twenty the sign at the tee box was missing. What i think is that some kids have vandalized it. So really that isn't much of a con. I think that on a few of the holes in the woods the fairway is too tight. On the fairways that are too tight there are tree roots sticking out of the ground and when you are walking watch out for this because it is very easy to trip. On hole number ninneteen there is water involved. So make sure you dont throw it in there because it will be very hard to get it out. The woods are very thick. When you go into the woods you have to watch out for spider webs and thorn bushes. On a few of the beginning holes you are kind of throwing through someones back yard. On the beginning holes that are open the grass is somewhat longer. On holes twenty-two and twenty-four the pins are hard to tell apart and the fairways somewhat cross. To tell you the truth it took me a long time to figure out some of the cons because there were barely any.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. If i am in the area again i will for sure come here. I do recommend to anyone passing by this area to stop here and play a round of twenty-four. Personnaly i think that some of the holes should have been a little bit lower in the par area. But that doesn't really make too much of a difference in my rating. This course in general is just very fun. The beginning holes are all very different in the area of elevation and vegatation. On the back holes most of them are very wooded until you get out to hole number twenty-one. I really like hole number twenty-one because i like walking up the steps and getting right to the pin. Out of all the courses i have played this is one of my favorites. I am so used to playing completely different courses that this one was just so much fun. So if you are ever in the area i strongly recommend coming to Monroe Community Park and playing a twenty-four round of disc golf.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.