Monroe, OH
Monroe Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #20
4 / 277ft.   3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Monroe DGC

2-4    10/21/2013   1/21/2014
Review By: joshtrum
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - 24 Holes
- Variety of Shots and types of Holes
Other Thoughts: A tightly wooded course. Monroe is a course where a player can work on there technique and need to throw shots in tight spaces. 24 Holes. A more advanced level course to play on. Course has emphasis on control of the disc, not necessarily how far you can throw.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

good couse

2-4    8/3/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: chris171
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice place to work on control, holes are easy to find and give a good challenge with the trees. Good mix of holes that are in the woods and also in open field.
Cons: Not many cons other then you will get a good workout playing this hole
Other Thoughts: Love this course and enjoy playing it with friends.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Monroe DGC

1    6/5/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: pmorgan1214
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Monroe DGC is a really nice course that is well designed and has some really technical shots.
1. Tee pads are concrete and are in pretty good shape.
2. Baskets are nice 24 chain and can catch discs very well.
3. course has good flow, very little chance of you losing your way when playing.
The course is a little bit harsh with the way it is built on a side of a hill. A lot of walking up and down the hills makes the body tire out quickly. The course gives you all types of shots that any great course should have. `st hole is a nice uphill hyzer shot that is not distance long but you have to put some power into the shot to get a birdie. 2nd hole is the same way. Not sure if the course has the wrong distances but some of the first holes play a lot longer than what they say. Hole 3 4 and 5 are all nice control shots. I say control because getting into the woods on these holes will leave you with a bogey or a double bogey if playing all par 3's. Hole 5 and 6 play open distance shot. Hole 5 is a best uphill and you have to put a ton of power. 7-9 back in the woods to play some nice control shots and your goal is to try to stay in the fairway. That is all i will tell you for now but all i can say is go play this course. absolutely love this course.
Cons: Not many cons for this course. When it does rain this course is very slippery and water stays here a long time in the woods. Bring water and snacks for this course if you want to keep your strength up to get under par. Not as easy as it seems.
Other Thoughts: Overall course is just fun. There are a few things that make this course so enjoyable. First, none of the holes are huge. Do not get me wrong i dont mind airing out a shot for distance but when your in the woods your not going for distance, your going for accuracy. Second the course gives you good open shots and wooded shots. Finally it is a big course with 24 holes. When i disc golf i usually like to play for 5-6 hours and you can do that here. I play this course to work on accuracy of drives. allows you to get better at drives from the pad.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Monroe

2-4    7/21/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: excellent 24 holes course in a massive park, lots of elevation change, mostly wooded some in big open fields.
Cons: lots of elevation changes, it is a hike to do all 24 holes, but well worth it.
Other Thoughts: well rounded 24 hole course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 improvements being made

5+    3/7/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: Gonzo86
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation (Personal opinion a lot of my friends do not care for this course for said reason)
Heavily Wooded
Forces you to try numerous ways of throwing
Good mix from playing in the woods to and open field then back into the woods and so on. Rather than the fron't half being a giant field, and the second half being all wooded.
City Works Dept. has been doing a lot of trimming of overgrown shrubbery.
Cons: Drainage is an issue some times after rain and in the spring time.
There is quite a bit of up hill throwing. I don't mind this but some people do.
Can't really think of any other Cons other than those.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all ranges of play. Challenging for beginners, but a good course to really practice your basic skills as a more advanced disc golfer.
They are still looking for sponsors for holes through out the course which is quite in need of just a few more trash cans to help with the litter control.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 well worth the drive

5+    9/8/2011   2/8/2012
Review By: sidearmdon
Played: 124  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my all time favorite courses. It has it all. 24 holes, elevation, woods, open shots, righty and lefty holes. While it is a difficult course the average player should be under par most of the time. It is a very fun course to play. Plenty of parking available. It is hilly so you will get a work out.
Cons: In the summer, there can be soccer and softball going on at the same time so you might have to skip a couple of holes but that shouldn't be a big deal. Someone needs to pick up the trash.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to play. The designer did well with the land that was available.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Technique Not Power

5+    12/22/2008   1/6/2009
Review By: CincyRocs
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Located along I-75 so it's easy to find
-Set in a community park
-24 holes
-Concrete teepads
-Tight, wooded fairways
-Excellent tee signs
-Signs pointing to next tees
-Challenges an array of shots
-Good elevation changes
-Punishes bad and arrant shots
-Shelter and bathrooms between #20 and #21
-Map and Board at #1
-Challenging
-Accurate power needed
-Well groomed course
-Wind isn't a big factor b/c it's located in the woods
-Not much player traffic
Cons:
-Some fairways seem too tight
-No trashcans
-Benches only on a handful of holes
-Random trees added to middle of fairways to make lanes extremely difficult
-#21 runs along a soccer field
-Only one water fountain after #20
Other Thoughts:
Overall this is one of the better courses in the Greater Cincinnati area. This is a technical course that will defiantly challenge anyone's ability to drive accurately. There is a good mix of different shots required for this course.

Signature Hole:
#6 is a 317ft open shot, but up a huge hill
#17 is a 312ft REALLY tight fairway that doglegs left uphill

Final Verdict:
Excellent course on the North Side of Cincinnati. It is short, but it makes of for lack of length with it's tight fairways. This course is defiantly not for beginners. Intermediate and advanced players will enjoy this course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the woods

1    10/18/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: edge3281
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes and narrow fairways that force you to use accurate shots. The tee signs were in great shape and very readable. The course looked like it was kept clean and in great condition.
Cons: Like the other reviews have mentioned all the holes are pretty much straight. One whole was missing a sign but the information was written on the post.
Other Thoughts: I didn't get to play the last 4 holes but I really enjoyed my time at this course. My wife and mother were at IKEA shopping so my dad and I came to this course. It was way better than the mostly flat courses I am accustomed to in my area. I will gladly play this course again when I am in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Get out your Axe!

4/18/2008   4/18/2008
Review By: chuckynobbs
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of technical shots throughout. Really stresses all the shots in your aresenal! I think a few days here would greatly increase your game! Lots of trees that are decently set up so that you have a line (sometimes a very small line). Not much traffic, tee pads are good, tee signs are great
Cons: Some of the holes run parallel to the parking lot with a lot of cars and one of the last holes is right next to a soccer field which when they are playing would make it virtually unplayable. I had a problem hitting every tree in the woods and after awhile it does get frustrating. Sometimes finding the next hole is a guessing game
Other Thoughts: Hard to par this one 24 holes of fun though good luck!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.