Monroe, OH 
Monroe Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #22
3 / 235ft.   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #22 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun, Hilly Course

1    9/9/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: DragonVT
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, well maintained course with excellent signage! I printed out a map to be on the safe side, but I only used it once or twice, and probably could have figured it out on my own. Tees and baskets are in great shape, courses are all well maintained. Course offers a nice mix or flat, uphill, and downhill holes. Also a nice mix of open and wooded holes. Good variety and playability. Good level of challenge without being off-putting to less experienced players.
Cons: Baskets are not market with numbers. This isn't an issue through most of the course, but we played the wrong basket on #22, because it looked like basket #24 was our target. Discovered our mistake only by looking at the map after we finished the hole. Not a huge issue, but something to be aware of.

Fair amount of poison ivy off the fairways, so wear pants.

Basket 23 is right behind some bleachers for the baseball diamond, so I might be hesitant to play that hole if a game was going on.

Some of the holes obviously have some water flow during wet seasons, so be aware of how recently it has rained before heading out.
Other Thoughts: We had a great time playing this course. The mix of up hill, downhill, open, and tight fairways made for a very enjoyable day. The course is well maintained, and it makes for a nice scenic walk through the woods while you enjoy your game. I will definitely be back!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Monroe

2-4    7/21/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 71  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: excellent 24 holes course in a massive park, lots of elevation change, mostly wooded some in big open fields.
Cons: lots of elevation changes, it is a hike to do all 24 holes, but well worth it.
Other Thoughts: well rounded 24 hole course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of park edge hills and woods

2-4    7/18/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 274  Reviewed: 257  Exp: 4.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 24 decently challenging holes await the recreational to intermediate player in a location midway between Cincinnati and Dayton, Ohio in the wooded and edge areas of a large park which includes several ball fields, some play equipment, bathroom facilities, and even a log cabin! The beauty of the disc golf course is that it uses the hilly and wooded areas of the park that weren't suitable for the other activities, and seldom crosses paths with them. Even the walking paths that go into the woods are separated from the DG fairways.
The course design starts uphill near the middle of the spacious parking area, coming back down nearby after the 5th and the 9th holes, then goes out around the end of the park, with #20 coming back to the main drive, and the last four holes finishing a short walk away from the original lot. Each segment of the design seems to incorporate uphill and downhill, tightly wooded and open, and shots that shape best left and right. There aren't any real monster length holes here, but the 317' #6 rises between 40 and 50 feet, making it effectively a 450 footer for the bigger arms to wow the rest of us. The shortest hole on the course (the 152' #19) presents its own precision challenge, as the basket is nestled in the bend of the twisty (and often muddy) creek bed that drops a sheer 5' down only a dozen feet from the pin in three directions (I know: it's not a lot, but you don't really want to climb down, or up out of there!)
There has been some clearing of the trees and underbrush here this past year which makes the course more enjoyable for players at my level (Rec/ rookies), but appears to have disappointed some of the more experienced players who liked it a bit more challenging. There are still a dozen fairways that require really good lines to avoid playing lumberjack!
Tee pads a level and concrete, but not overly large. Tee signs are appropriate, and baskets are decent quality.
Monroe is challenging enough to host at least a few tournaments every year, in addition to weekly random draw doubles events.
Cons: Some of the early, uphill fairways seem to hold on to water a bit too much, and could use some drainage improvements. I've noticed that, after a rain, several of the tee pads can get a little muddy and slick, particularly in the shaded areas.
A couple of the holes (21 & 22) require strong, confident hyzer shots (rhbh) which put the end of the ball fields a bit too much in play if there are families sitting there in the shaded park edge cheering on their kids.
Other Thoughts: Print a copy of "Course Map II" if it's your first time here, and playing alone. You may not need it, but it does a great job of indicating 'next tee' positions, if you don't spot the signs.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 improvements being made

5+    3/7/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: Gonzo86
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation (Personal opinion a lot of my friends do not care for this course for said reason)
Heavily Wooded
Forces you to try numerous ways of throwing
Good mix from playing in the woods to and open field then back into the woods and so on. Rather than the fron't half being a giant field, and the second half being all wooded.
City Works Dept. has been doing a lot of trimming of overgrown shrubbery.
Cons: Drainage is an issue some times after rain and in the spring time.
There is quite a bit of up hill throwing. I don't mind this but some people do.
Can't really think of any other Cons other than those.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all ranges of play. Challenging for beginners, but a good course to really practice your basic skills as a more advanced disc golfer.
They are still looking for sponsors for holes through out the course which is quite in need of just a few more trash cans to help with the litter control.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 well worth the drive

5+    9/8/2011   2/8/2012
Review By: sidearmdon
Played: 192  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my all time favorite courses. It has it all. 24 holes, elevation, woods, open shots, righty and lefty holes. While it is a difficult course the average player should be under par most of the time. It is a very fun course to play. Plenty of parking available. It is hilly so you will get a work out.
Cons: In the summer, there can be soccer and softball going on at the same time so you might have to skip a couple of holes but that shouldn't be a big deal. Someone needs to pick up the trash.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to play. The designer did well with the land that was available.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    5/29/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: cambo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 33.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation Changes, Lots of tight fairways, Slight water hazard, 24 Holes. They make great use of the land here. Up hill then Back down then up and down on front 9. but not tedious or boring.
Cons: Fast few holes may be a problem if soccer games are going on. Lots of short holes. Could use a couple of longer open and tight holes.
Other Thoughts: All in all a good place to play. good for accuracy over power. Can have soggy fairways. Pay attention to next Tee signs, lol

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best

5+    3/25/2011   3/25/2011
Review By: moshjosh368
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation, I love that there are 24 holes more holes the better for me. I love that there are throwing lanes that are distinctive and that if you throw a bad shot you get punished but if you throw a good shot you usually get rewarded. Great exercise and variety of shots with holes in the open and wooded. Easy to go from hole to hole and know were you are.
Cons: Not many maybe if a couple holes had a little more distance.
Other Thoughts: I always have fun going and playing here and anyone from noobies to vets will enjoy and are able to play here.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/14/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: DrewMillerRH
Played: 108  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation, tight and technical course vs. big arm course, great tee pads, good flow, map not required to play.
Cons: The rough is rough, all honey suckle, good shots can take a bad skip resulting in a poor lie...drives me nuts.
Other Thoughts: Solid course

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    2/12/2011   2/12/2011
Review By: Triflusal
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun to play and challenging course, that plays up and down a hill.
Baskets are in good condition, and catch great.
The teepads are fairly smaller than what I'm used too, but you won't be using the whole thing anyway. They are in great condition.
There are teesigns on most of the holes (I think there are one or two missing, I can't remember which holes), and the are accurate and clear.

The course plays in almost a loop, with a short walk back to hole 1 and the parking lot.
There are benches and trash cans on many of the holes, and they are in great condition.
Cons: The underbrush is pretty thick and can be hard to work with.
Most of the holes are under 275 feet.
It can be pretty confusing near the end of the course finding the next holes, but I was playing in the snow.
Other Thoughts: This course is tight and technical, with tons of elevation changes, valuing accuracy over distance. It will punish errant shots with its thick underbrush.
plenty of different types of shots will be needed.
This course will appeal to the beginner and veteran alike, with fun, challenging and technical holes, that don't require a huge arm.
There is plenty of parking, and I saw some drinking fountains, although I did not try them out, so I don't know if they work.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, short, and wooded

1    9/11/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.4 Years
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly wooded park with dense enough woods and brush to really punish errant shots that go off the fairway but not so thick as to eat discs too badly. The elevation is used well to make some really fun downhill shots and some tricky uphill holes. There is a nice balance of left and right turning holes that keep you throwing different lines and really thinking about your shots. The course is pretty short, but the elevation changes and some variation in hole lengths keeps the lengths from feeling too repetitive.

There are decent concrete tees that are large enough for the length of the holes. The signs are informative, with hole layout and distance. The navigation is good here, it's mostly pretty obvious and there are some next tee signs where there's a possibility of confusion. There are bridges over small creeks and nicely kept paths through the woods that make the course feel very finished and cared for.
Cons: There are some safety issues here. Several holes bring the park road, ball fields and other holes into play, on a nice day there could easily be conflicts. There are lots of downhill walks here, making it feel like you are playing uphill a lot, when you have nice hills to work with it's fun to have more downhill holes than uphill and this course feels like it's the other way around. Some longer holes would make a nicer mix of lengths and a little more balanced layout.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will have a good time here, with relatively short holes, though it can be pretty tight and punitive on errant shots. More experienced players will find it to be a bit deuce or die, but in a fun way with good lines to hit and some good elevation. It's not a course to go way out of your way for, but it's enough fun to be worth a quick stop, and could be a really fun putter round with lots of short tight shots.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.