Monroe, OH 
Monroe Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
4 / 292ft.   3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Up and down for awhile but then.....

1    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 151  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 13.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They really mix it up on this one, just about every shot you would want
Mowed, trash free, and well taken care of
Good mix of wooded and open holes
Plenty of elevation changes
Your in the woods most of the time and they do a really good job of making fairways with challenging but definable lines.
High fun factor
good for different skill levels
Cons: You share the park with playgrounds, soft ball, and soccer courses, it wasn't a problem when I was there but you may have to contend with traffic when the are games/practices going on
The first part of the course goes up and down the side of a steep hill, they start to feel kind of the same.
Other Thoughts: The 1st part of the course as I've already said goes up and down the side of a steep hill, many of the holes are repetitive. There are some good ones in there with some fun elevation changes. But the course really gets going at hole 10

Your never far from the park but you kinda get the feeling that your deep in the woods. The fairways in the wooded part of the course are perfect. They mostly are fairly tight lines with some obstacles but they are clearly defined. If you throw you disc off the path into the woods you can normally find it pretty quickly, the brush is not overly dense. Some nice elevation changes and shot variety back in there as well.

One of the final holes runs right along the edge of a soccer field. You may want to just skip that one when it's in use.

I wouldn't call it a destination course but its a lot of fun. If you live in the Cincinnati area it's worth hitting. I feel it's a bit of an underrated course

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tight N Technical

5+    8/1/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is both a compliment to the Greater Cincinnati scene and the Dayton courses. Now that the course has been in the ground a few years and has matured I can give an honest review without sounding so negative about a great course. First off, I may sound a little homerish eventhough I live an hour away from the course. It is home to my first PDGA Ace, my first PDGA Pro Cash, and several local wins.

I feel this course can challenge both the new player...without being totally punitive....and the seasoned Pro...all because of the scoring expectations that different people have when they go here. A beginner can see most baskets from the tee and play fairly quickly through the course. A seasoned Pro is rewarded for hitting tight but fair gaps in a Deuce or Die quest that can have you muttering to yourself....but enjoying yourself.

The course has great use of elevation playing up and down the hillsides. Some of the holes appear short on paper but play much longer than they are due to elevation and tightness of the fairways. You have to be able to throw straight for distance, throw early breaking hyzers, late breaking hyzers, anhyzers, S-shots, and a good thumber comes in handy from time to time. The course is more about touch and accuracy than it is about raw power. Hole #6 will allow most mortals to air it out and #7 challenges most Intermediate and below players on distance in the open...but most hyzer power throwers will have difficulty on this course if they haven't mastered a hyzer flip with say a Comet or beat Roc that goes lazer straight. I've seen some really good players have difficulty on this course because they were just a touch off the angles on the fairways.

It is a nice fair challenging course. Now that the fairways have grass down in the woods you can even throw a few forehand rollers...or have a reasonable guess of how to play the skips. The tee pads are adequate size for the distance of the holes, the tee signs are accurate, and many trash cans are on the course.

One PRO I must mention due to it being a pet peeve of mine at other courses is...there is a walking trail thru the park being used by kids, moms, dads, grandparents and what not. The park and course designers have made great effort to separate the disc golf course from any dangers of hitting guest walking the trails. The distance...and wooded backdrops leading from one hole to the next across the walking trail is more than enough to ensure the safety of other park guests.
Cons: After mentioning the Pro of the walking trail I need to mention the Con of some holes situate too close to other park activities. While #5 is a pretty good distance from basket to some childrens playground equipment...it isn't out of the realm of possibility that some idiot throws a thumber way too hard with a highspeed driver and cracks some kid because he threw one 80 feet past the hole and way right. Hole #21 is a wonderful hyzer tucked into an elevated tree line at the top of some steps....however..when all the soccer moms are standing on the field watching little susie play...the hole is unplayable unless you are 'that kind of guy' and think it is your God given right to play every hole at the expense of other people's safety. #22 can play over the same soccer field but the main thing is most people hyzer over the top of #24's basket and that can create an unsafe playing experience. #23...there is a baseball field way past the basket...but I've seen people throw too far and hit the aluminum bleachers when nobody was on them...I'd hate to play the hole when the bleachers were full of parents.

Oh...and bring bug spray...the mosquitos are quite hungry here...sometimes the ticks can get bad as well.
Other Thoughts: As far as safety is concerned your biggest concern is tripping over a wayward stump that has yet to rot or be taken out...the bridges are in great shape, the tee pads are level, you won't hit your hands on the tee signs on your follow thru...and the neighborhood is small town safe. A regular police cruiser can be seen driving thru regularly.

The park is mere minutes off Interstate 75...there is absolutely no reason not to stop by this park on your way thru. You will enjoy it...unless you are a power hyzer thrower with no touch :)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Course

1    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 66  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 14 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice and well taken care of course. I came here and was not dissapointed one bit from the reviews. Well where should i start with the pros. First i would have to say the concrete launch pad was unbelievably nice. The one thing that i really liked was how the parking lot lined up exactly with the very first hole. Then the twenty-fourth hole ended right in the parking lot also. One of the reasons that i came here was that it was twenty-four holes. There is alot of vegitation and elevation changes. Now that was one big reason why i gave it such a good rating. Each hole was different and even more exciting than the other. The sign at the tee was very nice showin the par, what number the hole was, where the pin is located, and finally the distance. Right by the first tee they have scorecards already for you. Then also right there they have a map of the course so that you will know where each hole is located. It is located in a nice community park that is very well taken care of. From hole to hole there will be a bench located here and there so that if you get tired you can sit down and relax. Also from hole to hole there is a trash can so you wont have to carry your garbage around with you all day. This is a beginner friendly course. Any one can come out here and play no problem. It usually isn't too busy here so you dont have to wait behind others while you are playing. Inside the pin there is a marking showing you what the par is so that if you forget to check it at the tee you wont have to go all the way back, you can just look right in front of you. The bright colored rocks on the ground right by the pin show you where it is if you are from a distance and cant see the pin. The community takes such good care of this park it is almost unreal. Also on the sign at the tee they have the out of bounds line so you can count you stroke count properly. Overall they just make this park so nice. I loved it.
Cons: Oh my i am really going to have to think hard about this. There really are not many cons. The one main one that caught my attention was on holes five and hole number twenty the sign at the tee box was missing. What i think is that some kids have vandalized it. So really that isn't much of a con. I think that on a few of the holes in the woods the fairway is too tight. On the fairways that are too tight there are tree roots sticking out of the ground and when you are walking watch out for this because it is very easy to trip. On hole number ninneteen there is water involved. So make sure you dont throw it in there because it will be very hard to get it out. The woods are very thick. When you go into the woods you have to watch out for spider webs and thorn bushes. On a few of the beginning holes you are kind of throwing through someones back yard. On the beginning holes that are open the grass is somewhat longer. On holes twenty-two and twenty-four the pins are hard to tell apart and the fairways somewhat cross. To tell you the truth it took me a long time to figure out some of the cons because there were barely any.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. If i am in the area again i will for sure come here. I do recommend to anyone passing by this area to stop here and play a round of twenty-four. Personnaly i think that some of the holes should have been a little bit lower in the par area. But that doesn't really make too much of a difference in my rating. This course in general is just very fun. The beginning holes are all very different in the area of elevation and vegatation. On the back holes most of them are very wooded until you get out to hole number twenty-one. I really like hole number twenty-one because i like walking up the steps and getting right to the pin. Out of all the courses i have played this is one of my favorites. I am so used to playing completely different courses that this one was just so much fun. So if you are ever in the area i strongly recommend coming to Monroe Community Park and playing a twenty-four round of disc golf.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

2-4    7/17/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: kjk3410
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent amount of variation throughout the course. Some uphill, some downhill, some tight fairways, others open. Course is not too difficult, which may be a con for some.

Easy to navigate. "Next tee" signs are very helpful.

Cons: The several holes that are in the woods are a bit redundant. It seems like one hole after another of tight fairway and short distance. Still, variety is tough to maintain over a 24 hole course.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners.

The holes with narrow fariways are forgiving in that even if you do throw into the woods, discs are usually easily found. The woods aren't too thick with brush.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

1    6/20/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: kbrandonbaumann
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Sports should be fun and this course was a joy to play!
-24 holes with a variety of shots and challenges
-The layout is very interesting (the course circles the small community park of Monroe)
-Signs and indicator markings are excellent
-Tees and baskets in great condition
-Some shots are in the open others are in the woods
-Most distances are short, but challenging
Cons: -Perhaps if sporting events are taking place there could be some interference with the end of the course.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course to play!!! It is interesting and unique to other courses I have played. The designers did a great job laying out the 24 holes around this small community park. I say this course is a must play if you live in Cincinnati or Dayton.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/13/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: n8dawg
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 24 holes, first 9 or so holes are up and down a decent size hill where #6 holes is straight up the hill making the par a little more difficult.
Cons: could use some long holes and holes #21 is a little close to the soccer field if you go during a game. Could also use trash cans throughout the course as there is normally quite a bit of trash laying around in the wooded areas.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun course my wife likes the course until we get into the woods. even in the woods the holes still seem open and not too tight. If you are looking for a beginners course this course is not too bad.

The only hole that really stands out to me was the hole in the woods with a creek running through it. a bad throw to the right or past the basket could get you muddy.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course if you are in the area

1    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a shorter course that is mostly wooded with a few more open holes. The baskets and teepads are in nice shape. There were signs on every hole and the course was very easy to fallow. There is a decent amount of elevation change that adds to the course and makes it a little more challenging.
Cons: Several of the holes have sapplings or trees in the fairway and it involves more luck then skill getting through. There were 2 baskets completely missing when I played it. There was only one hole on the course that really stood out to me. That was the short hole with the small creek/ditch that runs beside the basket. Everything else seemed a little too much alike and a touch boring. The last 3 holes seem very thrown together and if you are not careful you could throw at the wrong basket because the baskets do not have numbers. The soccer fields can also come into play on the last few holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is not a bad little course. A few of the fairways seemed a little unfair but not terrible. The main thing is that there just wasn't a lot of exciting throws to be made on the course. Everything was in good shape other then the 2 missing baskets. The looked to have been stolen. This is good little course to play if you are on the north side. There are much better courses in the area though.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Monroe DGC

5+    7/7/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: True par 3 course, lust laugh at the par on the signs.
This course requires very tight line shaping. Managing to navigate around the multiple tree-lined fairways will give you a great rush of excitement and confidence boost. Although the look down some fairways may not reveal an obvious throwing lane there are tight target zones available.
The majority of holes for this course require you to navigate elevation changes from moderate sloping to steep incline with your shots.
This course is very well maintained and extremely easy to navigate.
The tees are very long and wide enough for all players. I tend to use the entire tee; short tees do not suit my style.
This course is short, 2 holes are 350' and they are the longest on the course. This allows for the REC-INT player to build confidence while trying to reach every hole in one. This however is extremely challenging unless you are an ADV-Open player.
This course offers some very creative shots to wow your friends with your bravery.
Cons: As noted above the length of the holes on this course are very repetitive and at the end of the round leaves your arm feeling a little let down. I for one like to rip several long drives during rounds and this course just doesn't suit that need.
During the early spring and fall the park is full of other sports and spectators. This can limit parking and make some holes unplayable. 10, 21, 23, 24.
This course is not very lefty friendly. I normally would not say this about a course however it is frustrating for LH that lack a good turnover shot or a sidearm throw.
Other Thoughts: ** Hole by hole description below.

Hole 1. 209' and up a moderately steep hill with several large trees and a very low ceiling off of the tee the green is a very tight area surrounded by bushes.
Hole 2. 186' with a very tight initial opening to navigate, a RH with a big arm can go up and over but be careful on any shot to avoid the tree guarding the basket.
Hole 3. 211' with trees in the middle of the fairway and two routes to the basket once again a tree protects the basket that sits on a down slope.
Hole 4. 170' through a tight gap guarded by several tree trunks. This can be a nice ace run for a LH or RH with a sidearm or turnover. This is also another spike hyzer opportunity.
Hole 5. 234' downhill and bending to the right with a very crowded fairway full of branches, the basket is in an open area allowing players to go up and over in several different ways. Be careful not to roll all the way down the hill though.
Hole 6. 317' but plays much longer up a very steep hill with a very open fairway.
Hole 7. 345' through an open fairway to a basket surrounded by a U of bushes and branches. A small opening in the front is your only chance to park your drive or you can go past the U of bushes to the left.
Hole 8. 268' with a snaking fairway and a lot of small tree trunks that can punish your drive severely.
Hole 9. 230' downhill a tight fairway that requires a very straight drive.
Hole 10. 301' with a parking lot to your right that can discourage long hyzer bombs, to even up the RH/LH advantage on this course place a mando restriction for drives to the left of the first tree.
Hole 11. 265' uphill a very tight fairway with tree trunks late to punish drives.
Hole 12. 186' for another tight ace run with two routes to take and a basket protected by a V tree trunk on the right side.
Hole 13. 254' of an open field with many options available to all players.
Hole 14. 270' with a very tight initial gap to drive through and a bending fairway.
Hole 15. 292' down a fairly open fairway that bends to the left beware the skip at the bottom that can punish an otherwise parked drive.
Hole 16. 224' with trees in the middle of the fairway with routes on both sides.
Hole 17. 312' of snaking fairway uphill with trees to severely punish drives off of the tee. This hole is very hard to par as it bends several ways and ends going to the left.
Hole 18. 240' with small gaps through tree trunks with a big turn to the left.
Hole 19. 152' of pure ace run with a snaking creek to play over and a must OB rule to punish those who go for it.
Hole 20. 277' of a narrow fairway that bends to the right most of the hole.
Hole 21. 253' of a big hyzer to an elevated green for RH and a very controlled turnover for LH. The basket is in a small opening past a set of stairs in the woods, open soccer field to the right.
Hole 22. 235' with the same open soccer field to the right the basket is hidden to the left and hidden by woods. There are several routes to take but be careful not to fly right by the basket as many players do.
Hole 23. 266' of open fairway with trees to the left and right that should not come into play unless you mess up your drive. One lone tree near the basket is your only real obstruction of a park job.
Hole 24. 237' with lots of trees blocking your few of the basket both the RH and LH have tight hyzer routes.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice compliment between Dayton and Cincinnati

2-4    4/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: tbird888
Played: 146  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Monroe Community Park is an underappreciated course when referring to Greater Cincinnati's courses. Containing 24 holes, the challenge begins from the first tee. While most holes lie around 300 feet, you won't complain about the shorter holes because you'll be too busy worrying about low ceilings, the trees littering the fairway, elevation changes, and, oftentimes all three.
There are a few holes that really stand out as gems.
1. Short little uphill hole that requires you to really watch your height as the ceiling leaves no room for error.
2. Again, a short little uphill shot that requires you to thread a helix needle to get to the prize. A hyzer line is available but the margin of error is great.
8. After a couple holes of being able to air it out, you're back in the woods with one of the tightest holes on the course. Watch your release as it's tight in here. It's a struggle to par.
14. Left dogleg that gives you about a 15 foot wide tunnel about 40 feet from the teepad to get into the woods and the basket.
21. RHBH Hyzer shot with basket lying on a landing zone about fifteen to twenty feet above you.
Cons: While it is a nice technical course, many of the holes can tend to feel the same. It's ~10 miles north of the 275 loop so it's distance away from the Big Cincinnati 3 hinders many from making the trip north.
Other Thoughts: With so many wonderful choices of 18 hole courses available in the Greater Cincinnati area, it's hard to schedule driving/playing time for 24 holes so far north. However, if you've done the Idlewild/Banklick(Lincoln Ridge)/Mt. Airy pilgrimage and are looking for something new, Monroe might be the perfect starting point to explore the less "popular" courses (Turtlecreek is fifteen minutes away).

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Twenty Four Fun

1    4/5/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 134  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7.9 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice signs/baskets/pads. The course offers a variety of holes (wooded, open, long, short). The park is in a friendly part of town. Everything seemed very well taken care off, fresh mulch covered the fairways. Navigation was very easy as there were many "Next Tee --->" signs. This course is very beginner as well as first timer friendly.
Cons: Not very challenging for advanced players. Course can be very messy/muddy after a rain. The tee pads were a bit narrow.
Other Thoughts: I thouroughly enjoyed this course. The first 9 holes played on a hillside in the woods. There were holes going uphill, downhill, as well as along the side of the hill. In addition to being on a hillside, the holes were also playing between thick brush on both sides of the fairways.

Holes 11-24 continued play through a variety of wooded and semi-open holes. Many of the holes in the woods played on narrow faiways making it somewhat difficult, however, the shorter distance of the holes made par manageable.

It was very obvious that the course is well taken care of. Many of the fairways were lined with fresh mulch. Had they not been, it would have been a very muddy mess as there was a lot of run-off from the top of the hill.

I would definitley come back and play this course again. You really need to bring along your technical game to do well on the course, but you can make up for some of those bogies with a birdie on a shorter more open hole.

I would recommend this course to anyone in the area; Bring plenty of water for the hike up and down the hill on the first 9 holes.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.