Bath, NY 
Hickory Hill Camping Resort Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 370ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
18 Permanent Holes Now!

5+    4/12/2015   4/13/2015
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 37  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Elevation. 6 downhill shots (a few are VERY downhill). 3 uphill shots. Even those listed as "flat" aren't really as most are slightly up or down...or across the side of the hill with all of the danger included.
- Course balance. I play mostly RHBH but have a dependable FH (much less distance though). Through 3 1/2 rounds of tourney play I threw BH off the tee on 10 tees and FH off the tee on 11 tees. Some were a difference of long/short, some were a risk/reward choice with my FH avoiding OB where a BH anny could be riskier.
- A fun flow of open longer holes (1-6) before heading into the woods (7-17) for short, tight, technical holes, and ending on a huge downhill bomb (if you can stay in the fairway).
- Hole 2. A beautiful risk/reward hole. There is a 240' shot over the pond that is a straight forward slight hyzer. Hit a reasonable gap on the way out, clear the pond (~220), and hit an ample but not huge gap on the way in. If that pond wasn't there I'd expect a 2 more often than not...but that pond is there. Miss the gap on the way in or misjudge the wind and you are swimming. BUT...there is a huge, wide open (but longer) way around the left. Throw an easy flick hyzer, short up, drop in 3. Choose your poison.
- Dangerous greens. Most of the wooded holes have pins on a slope. You have to be very careful on how you land your disc on an approach. Also - long putts are DANGEROUS. If you put it off the cage there is a good chance you'll have a 40' comeback after the roll. It really makes you think and choose carefully if you want to run that putt that is at the edge of your range.
- Relatively low lost disc potential. Through all my practice rounds and tourney rounds the only lost discs i saw was those who failed the risk/reward test on 2. If you go around left on 2 you likely won't lose a disc. You could go into the water on 3/4 but that takes a REALLY bad throw turning way over and not getting lucky and hitting a tree on the way to the pond. Also 5 could get wet if you go long or right of the pin, or go offline right and don't hit a tree. 18 could also be an issue only because you can go so far off the fairway and have a search.
Cons: - This isn't a con for me, but I am listing it here as others may think it is. Bring your hiking shoes & water. The wooded section is up/down/up/down some very steep hills. Those in poor physical shape had a very rough time by the time they were out of the woods. The price we pay for some nice elevated shots.
- Safety issues. Hole 1 plays along a busy road and an errant noob hyzer (especially from longs) has a chance of ending in the road. Also, from the longs many throw a hyzer over a fenced in playground area. 6 may be an issue during busy camping season as you throw through some firepit / picnic table areas. 15/16/17 are packed too tight. Sitting on 17 short tee you are in danger of someone offline on 16. 15s basket is almost in the fairway of 17. The other safety issues listed about throwing over campers and such are for old tourney layout, not the standard 18.
- A few holes need opened up a tiny bit to be more fair. 15 is a perfect example. There IS a RHBH anny line, but it is so tight you need to hit a ~10' gap 200' away on a perfect angle. Not something most players can do. So - what do you do there - throw a FH at the cluster of trees and hope to get lucky. Almost everyone who had a decent to good shot were somewhere from 60-100' out based on how lucky they were at plinko as opposed to the line they threw. Open that up a bit to reward the accurate thrower.
- This is not a con to me, but I list it here as it will be to others - but not many holes to really stretch out a big arm. Only 1, 3, 4, 6, 18 call for a big shot off the tee.
Other Thoughts: I struggled on where to stack this course ratings wise. Usually ratings to me are a "if x and y course are both 5 mins away, which would i rather play". I would put this up with (and above) many of the 3.5s I have rated but I know that is because this course hits so many of the things that I really enjoy and it really plays well to my strengths. Taking in a broader spectrum of golfers though, I feel that this fits more in the 3 range, so that is where I put it.

A note on other reviews. Most other reviews were based on the tourney layout which mixed a few remaining permanent holes in with many temp holes. The new layout has 18 permanent holes and then 4 temp tourney holes added after (19-22). My review and notes above are all regarding 1-18; I will break down those 4 temp holes separately below as well.

For the 2015 temp holes (these definitely can't be played during camping season):
19: Long starts over the pond (only ~100') and through a tight gap needing to hyzer hard into a clearing for an up. Miss the gap and you may get knocked into the water. Tough 3. From the short - simple big hyzer.
20: Downhill shot with a low ceiling. Lots of options but you need to stay low and get a big skip for a shot at 2.
21: Long, open, downhill bomb. Let it rip! Wind LOVES to swirl here and do weird things.
22: Likely a placement shot and easy up. To have a shot at 2 requires a monster anny that risks you taking a 4 if you misplay it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 On the right track

1    11/24/2014   11/24/2014
Review By: jay_stratton15
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I got a pleasant surprise when I found out that they had expanded to 18 holes. The woods are challenging for any skill level. Good variety of shots from the launch pads.
Cons: Needs to be better marked in regards to navigating the cougar and marking out the holes. Its pretty hilly abs could be challenging to get around once you get into the woods.
Other Thoughts: I popped my head in at the office after the round and let the owners know of what I thought of the course. Another pro is that they are aware of the issues and have plans to get get better signs and arrows so that navigating the course is better. They seem to be very receptive and open bettering the course. They themselves aren't familiar with the sport (they have another guy that had designed and keeps up the course) but they seem willing to learn to grow. If this keeps up, this is going to be a must play course in the state.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Trailer park pinball

1    4/7/2013   4/9/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 222  Reviewed: 203  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Disclaimer: Like most of the other reviewers, I only played this course in the 24 hole layout during tournament conditions.

Some unique holes with plenty of challenge. Many holes that can be approached numerous ways, while others require you to use ever shot in your arsenal. There are a few ace runs yet other holes will often cost you 5-6 strokes.
A great vareity of terrain. You start off with flat land, then slowly work in some elevation, then more drastic elevation, followed by tight woods and a hike up the mountain. Plenty of water in play.
The planning of this course requires so many risk verse reward opportunities. There are many holes where a botched putt can roll down a massive hill, but not so many that it gets gimmiky.
There was a store on site as well as a few bathrooms.
Cons: SAFETY HAZARDS ABOUND! (even in the non-tournament layout)
Holes threw over a swimming pool, the front enterance, along a busy road, near vehicles, around trailers, near basketball courts and multiple playgrounds. I saw numerous cars and trailers get hit hard enough to leave marks.
The gravel tee pads for Tourney holes 4 and 5 were uneven and filled with large stones that were very dangerous, but you gould not throw from beside the pad either due to uneven ground.
Course is only 15 holes during the rest of the year.
Course takes forever to dry out. The woods remain muddy for a long time after rain or snow. The course has a reputation for being very wet and muddy.
Other Thoughts: If their were not so many safety hazards I would have given the Suprise of the Fools lay out a glowing 4 star review, but add in the safety hazards to the players and community and it drops drastically.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ok, but needs work

1    5/20/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: MotoAce51
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun at times, the woods section was challenging and my favorite part of the course.
Cons: Not marked well, half the time we were guessing where to throw from and we couldnt tell where the basket was if you couldnt see it. Basket 6 was completely missing. The map was not updated to the course layout and things have changed. I dont like water near so much of the course when you cant tell where you need to go.
Other Thoughts: Sometimes you needed to walk through peoples yards to get to different parts of the course and if there wern't people out in their yard we never would have found the next Tee. The course itself has a lot of potential but its not packed down where you know where your going like other courses. With some work the course could be great. As for now it needs work....

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 bring the hiking boots

5+    2/25/2009   2/25/2009
Review By: 80playedin10states
Played: 84  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: brand new "24 chained" Chainstars and wide variety of shots needed..plenty of elevation and water also..course grows to 22 holes or more every april for the yearly tourney...maps and discs in the "office" near hole one.
Cons: dirt/mud tees...as it is set up now it is a long walk from 15's basket back to 1's tee(parking lot near the office)...not much to whine about here, awesome place to golf...can get sloppy after the big melt and during/after rain storms.
Other Thoughts: when you hear campground course, you usually think pitch and putt. not at hickory hill. holes average around 300', with a few under that and a few over...nice elevation changes on the shorter holes..pond comes into play on 5 out of the first 6 holes..and most of these shots are lefty hyzer..first 9 holes are fairly open and fairly flat, leaving a few options...last 6 are heavily wooded, shorter, and have extreme elevation changes. with cement pads and the full 23 holes i would rate this a tleast a full disc higher!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Get out the hiking boots!

4/5/2008   4/7/2008
Review By: BubbaThrewIt
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course at the surprise of the fools tournament. They added 4 extra holes which was very nice. Course has a variety of terrain, distance, and some great views from atop some hills.
Cons: Not their fault cuz of the time of year, but the tee pads and fairways "in the hills" were very, very muddy. In the summer when it dries out, I'm sure it's an awesome course.
Other Thoughts: Great sponsors, kudos to Hickory Hills Resort!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.