Bath, NY 
Hickory Hill Camping Resort Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 401ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Trailer park pinball

1    4/7/2013   4/9/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Disclaimer: Like most of the other reviewers, I only played this course in the 24 hole layout during tournament conditions.

Some unique holes with plenty of challenge. Many holes that can be approached numerous ways, while others require you to use ever shot in your arsenal. There are a few ace runs yet other holes will often cost you 5-6 strokes.
A great vareity of terrain. You start off with flat land, then slowly work in some elevation, then more drastic elevation, followed by tight woods and a hike up the mountain. Plenty of water in play.
The planning of this course requires so many risk verse reward opportunities. There are many holes where a botched putt can roll down a massive hill, but not so many that it gets gimmiky.
There was a store on site as well as a few bathrooms.
Cons: SAFETY HAZARDS ABOUND! (even in the non-tournament layout)
Holes threw over a swimming pool, the front enterance, along a busy road, near vehicles, around trailers, near basketball courts and multiple playgrounds. I saw numerous cars and trailers get hit hard enough to leave marks.
The gravel tee pads for Tourney holes 4 and 5 were uneven and filled with large stones that were very dangerous, but you gould not throw from beside the pad either due to uneven ground.
Course is only 15 holes during the rest of the year.
Course takes forever to dry out. The woods remain muddy for a long time after rain or snow. The course has a reputation for being very wet and muddy.
Other Thoughts: If their were not so many safety hazards I would have given the Suprise of the Fools lay out a glowing 4 star review, but add in the safety hazards to the players and community and it drops drastically.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ok, but needs work

1    5/20/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: MotoAce51
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun at times, the woods section was challenging and my favorite part of the course.
Cons: Not marked well, half the time we were guessing where to throw from and we couldnt tell where the basket was if you couldnt see it. Basket 6 was completely missing. The map was not updated to the course layout and things have changed. I dont like water near so much of the course when you cant tell where you need to go.
Other Thoughts: Sometimes you needed to walk through peoples yards to get to different parts of the course and if there wern't people out in their yard we never would have found the next Tee. The course itself has a lot of potential but its not packed down where you know where your going like other courses. With some work the course could be great. As for now it needs work....

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 bring the hiking boots

5+    2/25/2009   2/25/2009
Review By: 80playedin10states
Played: 84  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: brand new "24 chained" Chainstars and wide variety of shots needed..plenty of elevation and water also..course grows to 22 holes or more every april for the yearly tourney...maps and discs in the "office" near hole one.
Cons: dirt/mud tees...as it is set up now it is a long walk from 15's basket back to 1's tee(parking lot near the office)...not much to whine about here, awesome place to golf...can get sloppy after the big melt and during/after rain storms.
Other Thoughts: when you hear campground course, you usually think pitch and putt. not at hickory hill. holes average around 300', with a few under that and a few over...nice elevation changes on the shorter holes..pond comes into play on 5 out of the first 6 holes..and most of these shots are lefty hyzer..first 9 holes are fairly open and fairly flat, leaving a few options...last 6 are heavily wooded, shorter, and have extreme elevation changes. with cement pads and the full 23 holes i would rate this a tleast a full disc higher!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Get out the hiking boots!

4/5/2008   4/7/2008
Review By: BubbaThrewIt
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course at the surprise of the fools tournament. They added 4 extra holes which was very nice. Course has a variety of terrain, distance, and some great views from atop some hills.
Cons: Not their fault cuz of the time of year, but the tee pads and fairways "in the hills" were very, very muddy. In the summer when it dries out, I'm sure it's an awesome course.
Other Thoughts: Great sponsors, kudos to Hickory Hills Resort!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.