Greencastle, PA 
Whispering Falls DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cerealman Hole #11 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket: Beware of the river on the left side and the creek bed in front of the basket.



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 First Time

1    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: cjrogus
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fantastic mountain scenery, great variety of hole length, fairway, and elevation.
Cons: Hard to navigate, obstacles like cars and pedestrians too close to fairway.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed this course. Threw on par for most of the course and found the ones I bogeyed fair. Respect to the 717 for keeping the course well maintained and plenty of fun. Just watch out for those marshes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Whispers

1    5/26/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with nice tee signs, bag hangers, and benches. Rubber tees, some holes had two tees. Nice yellow discatcher baskets with multiple pin placements. Mostly well defined fairways. Excellent use of elevation, woods, and hole/shot type variety providing a good test of overall skill from long bombs to short technical shots and tricky greens. Nice bathrooms.
Cons: Navigation a bit tricky with some long walks. Some blind shots. A few holes play too close to the parking lot, other park patrons, and wetlands. Rough is pretty gnarly in some areas so disc loss is a possibility. Poison Ivy. Gnats were pretty bad and ingested/inhaled a few.
Other Thoughts: As an advanced player my overall impression is that I enjoyed most the course, but there are a few issues. This course can be frustrating for a beginner or noodle arm. I was really glad I found a nice local to play as I would have been wandering around a bit finding next tees and baskets, and discs. I imagine the course plays a little nicer in winter with less foliage and insects. I almost stepped on a frog and a large rat snake. Bring a map, plenty of hydration, and shoes appropriate for hiking as there is plenty of elevation. I played here in the morning and then Paw Paw which is about an hour drive. Epic day of disc golf providing quite the workout and crazy dreams.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Serious Disc Golfer Need Only Apply

1    5/31/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 123  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous, large park w/amenities

Out of the way, peaceful, quiet; can't imagine course ever is 'crowded'

Signs/benches/bag hooks at each tee; trash cans at some

Baskets & Rubber tee pads in good condition

Decent mix of open/wooded holes

Elevation used wisely on many holes - from the mild to extremely severe (#3 & #10 specifically)

Necessitates shot variety both off the tee and throughout the hole

Alt. tee positions add more variety, challenge and distance

Extraordinarily physically and mentally demanding

Some fun risk/reward shots
Cons:

Lots of thick brush hazard with high probability of disc loss or frustrating searches

Several holes use existing walking/nature trails creating possible human/disc collision

Some holes are close to/throw near or over paved walking paths, near parking lot, playground, other park users

A couple holes throw near to/around what appear to be 'protected' nature areas

Long hike (and it IS a hike) between 12-13 plus a dissapointing long walk early between 1 & 2

Design really feels forced; the course does not flow well (best word to describe it is 'fragmented')

'Next Tee' signage / navigation could use some improvement (had a map, not really a problem)

Due to blind holes, thick brush, drop offs and dense trees, a spotter is recommended

Last third of the course was disappointing
Other Thoughts: Disclaimer:

Keep in mind that I played when there was a great deal of 'growth', making this course an exceptional challenge.
I assume playing during seasons with less growth (winter, early spring/late fall) would increase the fun factor as the
pictures on this site of those time periods appear to present a vastly different experience.


That being said...

This is in no way a course for beginners or those wanting a relaxing round of disc golf -
definitely for the masochists who are looking for a physical and mental challenge requiring
a significant time investment. Therefore I would not recommend having younger children
or those with physical difficulties play/traverse here. Wear the proper footwear, use bug repellent,
bring ample water and be prepared for some serious disc golf.

I suggest using a spotter on many holes since some fairways use existing walking trails
(I came across the same groups of people on multiple occasions just as I was about to tee off),
have many blind holes with thick/dense rough to eat discs, plenty of trees & severe drop offs (I had a spotter and it helped greatly).

Holes 3 and 10 are the obvious stand outs while ones that threw over the protected areas, walking paths,
down nature trails had me scratching my head and asking 'why?'. Most likely constraints on where they could
build the course, which is a shame.

Whispering Falls doesn't feel like a consistent 'whole' but rather fragments pieced and forced together.
Some of the long walks, excess of dense brush (think potential disc hunt frustration), conflicts w/other park users, etc,
really brings down this course's 'Fun Factor' which eventually became a buzz kill - particularly when factoring in this course's
overall potential. With more clearing, tweaking and re-designing (principally to address some of the issues present not only
in my review but in other reviews as well), it would be well on its way to being considered a top level course. Nevertheless
in its present state it is not.

As an outsider looking in, it's obvious how much hard work and effort has been put into Whispering Falls.
I appreciate having the opportunity to play it & I'm glad I did. Please don't let my criticisms discourage
anyone from playing this course - it NEEDS to be played; reviews should be posted and usable feedback provided
which hopefully will generate improvements down the road. It's absolutely worth a visit if you live nearby or
are passing through (as I was).

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 tough hike while playing DG

1    9/8/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 295  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The variety of shots required is tremendous, like others have said, no two holes are alike.

This course is a challenge not only to play but to walk/hike up and down some very steep terrian.

The tee signs are very good with a drawing and written descrption of the hole. Plenty of benches at the tees.

Hole 1 is a great 717 foot hole.

#15 has an elevated basket.
Cons: The signage to hole 2 needs to be better, I found #3 before back tracking to #2.

Some of the fairways are on walking trails and this could develop into a dangerous situation! Someone could get hurt!

#15 is a poke and hope shot.

The walk to 17 backtracks the fairway of #16.

#17 is plain stupid; throwing over 'protected wetlands', the tee of 6 and it plays close to basket 5. This should be changed immediately.

The long walk btw 12 and 13 is the longest between 2 holes I have ever encountered (followed by an uphill drive
when you are tired)

#5: the drive must carry about 250 feet over a wooded area. I got over OK, but even some Adv players can throw a bad shot and lose a disc here.



The rough on 8 and 9 is very dense, I lost a disc and found one. Playing solo
I skipped these after driving #8 since a spotter is needed.
Other Thoughts: Print a map from this webpage, you will need it.

#3 has the steepest downhill shot in the state! This course is so tough, I can't recommend it to Am players; I'd imagine they would become very fustrated.

Arrows on the pad of #5 would help similar to hole 7.

Some baskets were a tad high and there were no trash cans along the way but plenty in other parts of the park.

The hooks on the tee signs are nice but I think a straight peg might work better.

This course will become better with time, much love and care has been put forth already and I know more will follow. I'm a tough grader and will rate this course higher after some modification(s) take place.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Whispering Falls Screaming to be Noticed!

1    3/7/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Underrated! I really don't understand why this course is not getting the recognition of similiar courses. This is one of the best courses I have played. It offers challenge and beauty as well as plenty of amenities: benches on every hole, Great Info Kiosk, Informative tee signs, next tee markers, and ample rubber tees. There are a good blend of 2/3 woods and 1/3 more open holes. 2 holes feature water risk and there is plenty of elevation up down and over wooded valleys. What is most remarkable is the piece of land itself, just perfect disc golf property and utilized very well. This is a breakdown of the course as it plays in the long position:
#1 a spectacular 717 ft opening drive from the kiosk/lot area across an open valley to a moderately wooded field tucked into the woods. If your drive falls short your shooting uphill. If your drive is not placed well there are several trees and sloping hillsides on the field to thwart a par 4. Clever guys, 717 feet named after the 717 disc golf club, very cool!
#2 a short hike to this tee...shot is a clear wooded fairway uphill going to the right with a drastic downhill mountainside danger to the left, I mean drastic....basket is at the top of the rise 355 ft uphill with perhaps 500 feet of mountain dropoff to the left. Don'y hyzer here fellas!
#3 a tight fairway that plays straight but slightly uphill then drastically downhill and back up with very steep pitch on this up/down valley...use the rope to negotiate this valley-I am not kidding! 520 feet of up, dooooown! and uppp! to par 4 this one.
#4 Catch your breath 255 ft anhyzer shorty...get the par 3 you will need it to buffer your ego!
#5 Let it rip 360 foot open drive over a thicketed ravine to a basket in a more open field above. Take your 3.
#6 Tight downhill drive 285 to a basket tucked on a wooded hillside...creek/ravine runs to the left. par 3.
#7 Another 285 foot wooded drive but this one requires you to clear a valley...better avoid the woods to get your par 3.
#8 First of 2 obvious logger road holes...this one is a flat but turns consistently in a crescent moon shape to the right almost 180 degrees from becoming a full circle....lefties revenge I call this par 4 610 foot meanie!
#9 A long straight logging road shot 505 feet...keep it on the fairway and your golden par 4.
#10 Roller Coaster like 410 foot shot straight down the mountain...drastic elevation change here..throw your putter and realize you won't play many other similiar holes to this one and hope for a par 3.
#11 A big open 685 ft drive across a flat open grass field with the serene but huge river to your left from tee to basket. Be smart stay dry and take 4 rather than a fruitless swim.
#12 the only super tight cedar hole on the course. No shule here but plenty of tree trouble. Finesse a 3 on this 355 footer.
Now take a little 1/4 mile hike and realize that your playing one hell of a course.
#13 take a break on the bench and then tee off on this 435 par 4 wooded hole.
#14 Interesting hole here, Theres a pond that provides danger early and then its equally tight the entire 390 distance to the basket, frustratingly hard par 4.
#15 The only ace run on the course. Be careful though its a downhill tight punch to an elevated basket on a manmade foundation. A la Tyler State Park. It's an ace run but you could double bogey this par 3 with bad approaches.
#16 A big righty hyzer out of the woods to a basket in the open field. You got the whip to hyzer 405 to the field or will you hyzer 350 or less into the woods and ruin your chance at a par 3?
#17 Tough semi open dogleg to the left. You have to clear an OOB over 300 feet away and then play smart to this 450 foot par 4
#18 An open blast across a valley and wetlands area to a guarded basket 450 feet of open air away.
Cons: Well the course is new so I will not complain about the trouble off the fairways...BTW it really is not that bad here..I have experienced far worse. I am not a fan of courses with short and long pins alternating. Like the prior review states, the long pins make this gem unforgetable. If it was mostly in the shorts, it's still good but not great and the walks between holes becomes more problematic. I like it if there are both long and short baskets or 2 tee pads. I realize that is a lot of work to make tees or a lot of money for extra baskets. Just prefer the long positions to be somehow permanent. The tees are rubber and there is some breakdown...I don't see how anyone could expect there to be concrete tees way out in the forrest though. The biggest problem with this course is the wetlands area on holes 17 and 18. I think it is unrealistic for 80% of disc golfers to consistently clear these areas.....I think the constant disc golfer retrieving discs in these no trespassing and wetland zones will raise some eyebrows and possibly jeopardize the course...Conservationists and nature lovers are a much more powerful lobby group than disc golfers...I hope some common sense prevails and a subtle redesign is implemented that will preserve the wetlands area and this amazing disc golf course before some naturalist gets the entire thing pulled. After the hike I wasn't as impressed with the latter 6 holes. Still quality holes but the best holes are in the front 12 IMO. So the course ends on a bit of a dare I say Whisper.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love this course. The final 6 holes holes may improve once the construction in that area of the park ceases. This is one of the best and could easily end up being the best in PA if more people would make the trip out here. I would recommend playing this one on your way to or from Paw Paw as it is relatively close. I doubt there are 3 courses of this magnitude so close to one another anywhere else!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.