Greencastle, PA
Whispering Falls DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #4 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 255ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great club, great course

5+    5/23/2009   5/23/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great design. left to right, right to left, elevation changes galore. i hear rumors of an additional 9 holes going in!! the club is great, and hold awesome tourneys. you can tell a lot of thought and effort went into the design, maximizing the terrain, for a fantastic layout.

Beautiful downhill "hollow" shot down to the river/creek is very memorable and fun.

SOme long, technical holes and risky putts tests your mettle.
Cons: there is one long....long walk between holes. You may even have to take a break when you get to the next hole. when i played, the thorns and rough were pretty bad - but that is only a matter of time before the club takes care of it.
Other Thoughts: gotta love elevated baskets wherever you find em. kudos to the 717!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rhbh bring your best turnovers

1    3/20/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: dschley
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee pads course design layout well thought out great use of land benches and signage good but some signs were missing when I played
Cons: Majority of holes seemed to favor lefties or flicks
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play it again but I am going to go home and work on my flick for a while before I go back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date: 3/28/2013 Designer Response by: ferretdance03
As much as I jokingly "gripe" that there's too many "lefty holes" out there, it is actually pretty balanced. Off the tee only holes 2,4,7,8,13,17 and 20 have a pin location that I think strongly favors a LHBH or RHFH shot. There are more that may require a right turning approach, but I think that's just a test of a complete bag of shots.

 Best Course in the Area

5+    7/5/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Bzach
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is very well maintained.
- The holes are long enough to be challenging but not overly long to the point where it feels as though your just throwing a disc to some far away point that you'll never reach.
-There is a good mix of straight and staggered hole that give you the opportunity to you many of the discs in your bag.
Cons: -On the sides of the holes, the vegetation can be very thick and easy to lose discs in.
- Some of the areas of the course can get a little swampy after it rains so wear old shoes if its rained recently.
Other Thoughts: This course offers the Risk/Reward that many players like without the water that it normally requires. Also it has a creative structure that hoists the 15th hole up off the ground. Between the 12th and 13th holes there is a decently long walk that has a small stream near it. Another thing is there can be a lot of bugs during the summer months but any course in a wooded area has that problem so just remember to bring bug spray.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Whispering Falls is Screaming for you to Play Her!

1    12/23/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course is easy to find, with the first tee being near the kiosk and parking lot. The rest of the navigation is pretty simple and getting around is pretty easy from there (although a map wouldn't hurt for a first-timer).

- Great flypad tees and dual pin positions for each hole. The signage is excellent and even gives you tips for throwing on each hole. Very cool!

- The biggest asset to this course is the length of the holes (with over half the holes being > 400 feet) and the elevation (massive uphill and downhill drives). I can't stress this enough--especially on holes 3 and 10, which are some of the steepest dropoffs I've seen in disc golf. As an elevation junkie, I love this aspect of the course.

- Great variety in shots in terms of terrain, with both open vs. technical shots. Some holes also have very sharp hyzer and anhyzer turns, with #8 coming to mind -- it felt like I was driving almost 180 degrees to the basket!

- Very nice disc golfers in the area who were eager to make sure I knew where I was going and what I thought of the course.

- Hole #5 is unique and interesting. You have to clear a gulley lined with very nasty brush and trees and park your disc up on a hill where the basket is situated. It has that feel of a water hazard with the element of risk/reward and is a really fun throw!

- Love the manmade structure that hoists the basket on #15

- Course ends on a nice note with you having to either throw on either side of a giant evergreen tree about 30 feet in front of you--or an overhand shot if you're so inclined. The basket is situated in a grove of trees and makes for a nice memorable end to the day.

- Incredibly challenging and fun!
Cons: - There's a reason I played this course in December. Even with all the foliage gone, it's still very easy to lose a disc here. Overgrowth and brush are abundant throughout the 18 holes and the steep elevation changes really warrant a spotter if you want to keep all of your discs

- The wetland thing on #6,17, and 18 is a little annoying, but I understand why they're trying to protect it.

- There's a bit of a walk from #12 to #13. You might feel like you're getting lost, but just keep following the trail and you'll eventually get there.
Other Thoughts: - This course kicked my butt a lot more than I thought it would. With that being said, I think it's a fantastic course to work on tight shots, steep anhyzers/hyzers, and long bomb drives. You'll probably hit a lot of trees and spend some time looking for lost discs, but it's a small price to pay for such a nice experience! A solid 4-disc course--no doubt about it!

- A great complement to the small and quaint Wilson College 9-holer, about 20 minutes away in Chambersburg.

Notable holes:
3, 5, 8, 10, and 18.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Always a Great Time

2-4    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: writtenkits
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging from start to finish. The terrain can be just as difficult to overcome as the foliage and trees.
-Beautiful area with different sights to see along the way.
-The holes are kept in very good condition and can usually be seen easily (after you've driven once or twice)
-It is extremely relaxing and quiet from holes two to 15.
-I personally enjoy the challenge of the skinny holes. Getting stuck in the foliage allows me to really practice a good tomahawk throw.
Cons: - I agree with the nature preservation 'gulches' between tees and holes. If they want to preserve them, they shouldn't be in the middle of long drives. This is especially true with hole 18. Whether you throw Am. or Pro. there is a good chance you're going to end up in one.
- The close proximity of a playground and other high population areas can be nerve racking and can lead to someone getting hit. This has happened to me personally, but I can see it happening.
- They apparently took one basket off of each hole, so the course switches between pro and am. Aiming for par can get confusing and annoying. Holes seventeen and eighteen seemed to remedy this with adding long and short tees.
Other Thoughts: I didn't want to place this in the cons, because I really never have a problem with it, but this course does take a long time. Leave three to four hours open and bring plenty of fluids as dehydration can come easily. The hiking can take a lot out of you so remember to rest if it's needed. Please, if you smoke, don't leave your butts on the ground. I saw plenty and picked up as much as I could today.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date: 3/28/2013 Designer Response by: ferretdance03
We currently only have one set of baskets that get rotated between the pin locations. There are painted letters on each tee sign that have a screw indicating which location the basket is currently in.

 Why is there no one here??

2-4    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: travis.d
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a huge amount of variety shots as far as elevation, distance, left/right turns.
Every hole is challenging, its definitly not a great beginner course. There is a lot of coverage for most of the holes that makes shots difficuly. This makes for very good accuracy practice. I love the amount of par 4s here, really makes you play with accuracy, AND distance. It also makes for good exersice becuase of the hiking between holes.
Cons: The mando on hole 16 is very confuzing, plus you have to shoot over some wildlife protection areas. Hole 5 is especially bad for beginners. It is about 200-250 feet over a deep gully filled with brush. WIthout someone watching close for you, its easy to loose a disc in there. Has some hiking to do so prepare to give it at least 2 hours to play if not 3 depending on your speed. if you dont like hiking or woods, then you better be good enough to keep it on the skinny fairways. Slight confusion on where the next hole was sometimes as well.
Other Thoughts: My local course is very short and easy compared to this. I loved the challege it presented.

One thing that really suprised me was that it seemed really empty. Such a nice course deserves to be played more often, i went two days in a row, and both days there was only 2 other groups playing other than mine.

Has some issues here or there but the pros definitly outdo the cons. Loved it!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Best course in the area (if you dont count pawpaw)

5+    4/10/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: sweatmonster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Large variance of shots
Well maintained
Multiple Pin placements
Elevation changes on several holes
Most every hole a challenge
Plenty of forestry love.
Very large drop on hole 3 if in the long postion
Cons: Some of the shots go over "wild life protection" areas.
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing. I go here if I dont have the time to go to pawpaw. Really good hiking/disc here.

On a side note, while playing down the ravine towards the creek one time, I was serenaded by about 100 menonites. and had some "O brother, where are thou?" flashbacks.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 3 Miles of Nature

5+    11/1/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: MooseDrool
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging terrain with a wide spectrum of fairway types. This is a beautiful course that is continuously improving as the 717FDC members groom, landscape and update it. The course is so enmeshed in the environment that it changes significantly with the seasons. New benches have been added to the tee areas.
Cons: Not as well marked as it could be.
Still a lot of underbrush along some of the fairways.
The surrounding park is expanding causing some issues at holes 16 & 17.
Other Thoughts: Every month the club makes improvements so the course is constantly evolving.
The terrain can be challenging to young children or anyone who has problems walking.
The winter pin positions have been set to minimize difficult terrain.
Shoes with good tread and ankle support are recommended.
Just walking the course is a beautiful hike in the woods.
Take water with you as there is no potable water along the course.
There is a bathroom at the parking lot and at hole 12.
There are trash cans at 4, 7, 9, 12 and 17.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Eighteen Flavours

1    5/25/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 324  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
An incredible amount of unique variety - no two holes seemed very similar to one another. Nice combination of major, minor, no elevation change. Good mixture of left, right, and no turning holes. Majority of the holes will have you dealing with trees or woods, but for the most part, the throwing paths are reasonable. Only a few unguarded baskets, but those that are guarded aren't unbearably so.

Two pin positions on each hole except #15 and #18, which have two tee positions.

Between the map available online and some signs along the course, this was a rather easy course for a first-time visitor to navigate.

The bench at #13!

Bathroom on site, petrol and food available in town about five minutes away.
Cons:
With some holes having thick woods and/or thick underbrush and/or steep slopes and/or blind shots and/or water shots (#3 in the long position has four of the five!), there is a decent chance to lose a disc - if possible, have a spotter.

Some steep slopes, #3 in particular, which could prove to be quite treacherous in wet conditions.

Long walks between some holes - would be even more noticeable when the baskets are in the short positions. The longest walk, 5~10 minutes, is between 12 to 13, with 1 to 2 a close second.

Hole #17 has a large water retention basin about the typical distance/orientation for a RHBH drive. From there, you then have to throw over a protected wetlands. Similarly, #18 has you drive over a wide strip of protected wetlands, roughly 225'-325' from the tee - I can imagine a lot of discs landing in these "protected" areas!

Holes #5 and #17 use the same basket for the long position.

About half the holes play along/across walking trails.
Other Thoughts:
When the baskets are all in the long positions, as in the day I played the course, the average length is about 440'; when in the all shorts, average length is about 300'.

This course will take a bit longer than normal to play, given the extra length, walk between holes, and if you spot for one another (e.g. my friend and I normally take 1.5 hours to play a round at our local courses, but took 2.5 hours to play this course).

This is probably NOT a good course to introduce players to the game, or for lower-level players - some of the distances (on #5, you have to throw a high drive almost 200' over a thickly-foliaged area; when in the long positions, six holes are over 500'), steep slopes, and sharp/long turns would probably prove to be more frustrating than fun.

This is a very challenging course - mistakes will be punished (#2 and #3 combined to put fourteen strokes onto my scorecard!), but you will certainly feel as sense of accomplishment when you manage to score well, because you will have to earn it on this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Take a hike ... and enjoy!

2-4    12/31/2008   1/23/2009
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a real challenge. While I was groaning at how difficult par is on a few of the holes, I know that if I lived in the area, I would relish playing frequently at this course and improving my game.

The park and surrounding scenery is beautiful. I enjoyed being out in the woods, away from all the noise.

From the elevation changes to the direction of each hole, this course provides lots of variety! Despite a ton of bogeys, I enjoyed the course immensely.
Cons: Hole #17 is ridiculous ... there's really no fairway and unless you can fly the basket, you risk hitting the water or out-of-bounds environmental area. Not wanting to lose a disc, I took the sissy route -- I tossed my disc 100 feet and then aimed for the basket.

Hole #9 is far away from the parking lot, so playing a "quick nine" isn't as viable an option, but seriously, if you're at Whispering Falls, you should be planning to play all 18 anyway.
Other Thoughts: This course provides a great workout -- especially considering the hike down the steep embankment at hole #10 and the quarter-mile jaunt after hole #12.

The tees are rubber.

Wear comfortable hiking shoes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.