Greencastle, PA 
Whispering Falls DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cerealman Hole #15 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Whispering Falls is Screaming for you to Play Her!

1    12/23/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 6.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course is easy to find, with the first tee being near the kiosk and parking lot. The rest of the navigation is pretty simple and getting around is pretty easy from there (although a map wouldn't hurt for a first-timer).

- Great flypad tees and dual pin positions for each hole. The signage is excellent and even gives you tips for throwing on each hole. Very cool!

- The biggest asset to this course is the length of the holes (with over half the holes being > 400 feet) and the elevation (massive uphill and downhill drives). I can't stress this enough--especially on holes 3 and 10, which are some of the steepest dropoffs I've seen in disc golf. As an elevation junkie, I love this aspect of the course.

- Great variety in shots in terms of terrain, with both open vs. technical shots. Some holes also have very sharp hyzer and anhyzer turns, with #8 coming to mind -- it felt like I was driving almost 180 degrees to the basket!

- Very nice disc golfers in the area who were eager to make sure I knew where I was going and what I thought of the course.

- Hole #5 is unique and interesting. You have to clear a gulley lined with very nasty brush and trees and park your disc up on a hill where the basket is situated. It has that feel of a water hazard with the element of risk/reward and is a really fun throw!

- Love the manmade structure that hoists the basket on #15

- Course ends on a nice note with you having to either throw on either side of a giant evergreen tree about 30 feet in front of you--or an overhand shot if you're so inclined. The basket is situated in a grove of trees and makes for a nice memorable end to the day.

- Incredibly challenging and fun!
Cons: - There's a reason I played this course in December. Even with all the foliage gone, it's still very easy to lose a disc here. Overgrowth and brush are abundant throughout the 18 holes and the steep elevation changes really warrant a spotter if you want to keep all of your discs

- The wetland thing on #6,17, and 18 is a little annoying, but I understand why they're trying to protect it.

- There's a bit of a walk from #12 to #13. You might feel like you're getting lost, but just keep following the trail and you'll eventually get there.
Other Thoughts: - This course kicked my butt a lot more than I thought it would. With that being said, I think it's a fantastic course to work on tight shots, steep anhyzers/hyzers, and long bomb drives. You'll probably hit a lot of trees and spend some time looking for lost discs, but it's a small price to pay for such a nice experience! A solid 4-disc course--no doubt about it!

- A great complement to the small and quaint Wilson College 9-holer, about 20 minutes away in Chambersburg.

Notable holes:
3, 5, 8, 10, and 18.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Always a Great Time

2-4    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: writtenkits
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging from start to finish. The terrain can be just as difficult to overcome as the foliage and trees.
-Beautiful area with different sights to see along the way.
-The holes are kept in very good condition and can usually be seen easily (after you've driven once or twice)
-It is extremely relaxing and quiet from holes two to 15.
-I personally enjoy the challenge of the skinny holes. Getting stuck in the foliage allows me to really practice a good tomahawk throw.
Cons: - I agree with the nature preservation 'gulches' between tees and holes. If they want to preserve them, they shouldn't be in the middle of long drives. This is especially true with hole 18. Whether you throw Am. or Pro. there is a good chance you're going to end up in one.
- The close proximity of a playground and other high population areas can be nerve racking and can lead to someone getting hit. This has happened to me personally, but I can see it happening.
- They apparently took one basket off of each hole, so the course switches between pro and am. Aiming for par can get confusing and annoying. Holes seventeen and eighteen seemed to remedy this with adding long and short tees.
Other Thoughts: I didn't want to place this in the cons, because I really never have a problem with it, but this course does take a long time. Leave three to four hours open and bring plenty of fluids as dehydration can come easily. The hiking can take a lot out of you so remember to rest if it's needed. Please, if you smoke, don't leave your butts on the ground. I saw plenty and picked up as much as I could today.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date: 3/28/2013 Designer Response by: ferretdance03
We currently only have one set of baskets that get rotated between the pin locations. There are painted letters on each tee sign that have a screw indicating which location the basket is currently in.

 Serious Disc Golfer Need Only Apply

1    5/31/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 125  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 17.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous, large park w/amenities

Out of the way, peaceful, quiet; can't imagine course ever is 'crowded'

Signs/benches/bag hooks at each tee; trash cans at some

Baskets & Rubber tee pads in good condition

Decent mix of open/wooded holes

Elevation used wisely on many holes - from the mild to extremely severe (#3 & #10 specifically)

Necessitates shot variety both off the tee and throughout the hole

Alt. tee positions add more variety, challenge and distance

Extraordinarily physically and mentally demanding

Some fun risk/reward shots
Cons:

Lots of thick brush hazard with high probability of disc loss or frustrating searches

Several holes use existing walking/nature trails creating possible human/disc collision

Some holes are close to/throw near or over paved walking paths, near parking lot, playground, other park users

A couple holes throw near to/around what appear to be 'protected' nature areas

Long hike (and it IS a hike) between 12-13 plus a dissapointing long walk early between 1 & 2

Design really feels forced; the course does not flow well (best word to describe it is 'fragmented')

'Next Tee' signage / navigation could use some improvement (had a map, not really a problem)

Due to blind holes, thick brush, drop offs and dense trees, a spotter is recommended

Last third of the course was disappointing
Other Thoughts: Disclaimer:

Keep in mind that I played when there was a great deal of 'growth', making this course an exceptional challenge.
I assume playing during seasons with less growth (winter, early spring/late fall) would increase the fun factor as the
pictures on this site of those time periods appear to present a vastly different experience.


That being said...

This is in no way a course for beginners or those wanting a relaxing round of disc golf -
definitely for the masochists who are looking for a physical and mental challenge requiring
a significant time investment. Therefore I would not recommend having younger children
or those with physical difficulties play/traverse here. Wear the proper footwear, use bug repellent,
bring ample water and be prepared for some serious disc golf.

I suggest using a spotter on many holes since some fairways use existing walking trails
(I came across the same groups of people on multiple occasions just as I was about to tee off),
have many blind holes with thick/dense rough to eat discs, plenty of trees & severe drop offs (I had a spotter and it helped greatly).

Holes 3 and 10 are the obvious stand outs while ones that threw over the protected areas, walking paths,
down nature trails had me scratching my head and asking 'why?'. Most likely constraints on where they could
build the course, which is a shame.

Whispering Falls doesn't feel like a consistent 'whole' but rather fragments pieced and forced together.
Some of the long walks, excess of dense brush (think potential disc hunt frustration), conflicts w/other park users, etc,
really brings down this course's 'Fun Factor' which eventually became a buzz kill - particularly when factoring in this course's
overall potential. With more clearing, tweaking and re-designing (principally to address some of the issues present not only
in my review but in other reviews as well), it would be well on its way to being considered a top level course. Nevertheless
in its present state it is not.

As an outsider looking in, it's obvious how much hard work and effort has been put into Whispering Falls.
I appreciate having the opportunity to play it & I'm glad I did. Please don't let my criticisms discourage
anyone from playing this course - it NEEDS to be played; reviews should be posted and usable feedback provided
which hopefully will generate improvements down the road. It's absolutely worth a visit if you live nearby or
are passing through (as I was).

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Why is there no one here??

2-4    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: travis.d
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a huge amount of variety shots as far as elevation, distance, left/right turns.
Every hole is challenging, its definitly not a great beginner course. There is a lot of coverage for most of the holes that makes shots difficuly. This makes for very good accuracy practice. I love the amount of par 4s here, really makes you play with accuracy, AND distance. It also makes for good exersice becuase of the hiking between holes.
Cons: The mando on hole 16 is very confuzing, plus you have to shoot over some wildlife protection areas. Hole 5 is especially bad for beginners. It is about 200-250 feet over a deep gully filled with brush. WIthout someone watching close for you, its easy to loose a disc in there. Has some hiking to do so prepare to give it at least 2 hours to play if not 3 depending on your speed. if you dont like hiking or woods, then you better be good enough to keep it on the skinny fairways. Slight confusion on where the next hole was sometimes as well.
Other Thoughts: My local course is very short and easy compared to this. I loved the challege it presented.

One thing that really suprised me was that it seemed really empty. Such a nice course deserves to be played more often, i went two days in a row, and both days there was only 2 other groups playing other than mine.

Has some issues here or there but the pros definitly outdo the cons. Loved it!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Best course in the area (if you dont count pawpaw)

5+    4/10/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: sweatmonster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Large variance of shots
Well maintained
Multiple Pin placements
Elevation changes on several holes
Most every hole a challenge
Plenty of forestry love.
Very large drop on hole 3 if in the long postion
Cons: Some of the shots go over "wild life protection" areas.
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing. I go here if I dont have the time to go to pawpaw. Really good hiking/disc here.

On a side note, while playing down the ravine towards the creek one time, I was serenaded by about 100 menonites. and had some "O brother, where are thou?" flashbacks.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Very Challenging

1    5/20/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: binandfugiodln
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Great if you are extremely accurate. Hard workout. Well maintained.
Cons: Not for beginners or amateurs. Very dense brush. Not for anyone who doesn't like hiking as they play.
Other Thoughts: The signs were either confusing or non-existent. Some holes played the A pins and some B pins, so I never knew which one to play for.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Not for amatuers

1    5/20/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: acouwaila
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Fun for pros
Cons: Heavily wooded, lots of brush

A lot of the wooded areas around the fairways are steep hills so if your disc strays off you have to walk a long way down to retrieve it.

Directions are confusing, some of the maps at tee are misleading with 2 baskets printed but only one basket exists.

Not enough signs to point to next basket, and if you get lost theres lots of hills for you to get tired on your way


0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  A diamond in the rough

1    3/16/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: DGChronicles
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very well maintained
-a wide variety of holes from tight wooded to long open shots over OB
-great tees, some people dont like rubber but i love them
-awesome vairety in elevation! having a top of the world shot down a wooded ravine is something i hadent seen before!!
-beautiful fairways! grass lined with trees
-signage is pretty good, wasn't too hard to find our way around during our first round
-tee signs are great! they even give you tips on how to play the hole
-bag hooks at every tee are nice too!
Cons: -sinage could be a little better, a few holes were missing it
-the construction going on messes with a few holes, but that will go away eventually
-long walk from 12-13
-holes 11-12 felt a little out of place but they were still great holes
Other Thoughts: once we had finished playing this course my group was floored! this is one of our new favorite courses and we think it deserves much more than a 3.5. its a georgous course that is a blast to play! i would deffinetly check it out if you have the chance!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 3 Miles of Nature

5+    11/1/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: MooseDrool
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging terrain with a wide spectrum of fairway types. This is a beautiful course that is continuously improving as the 717FDC members groom, landscape and update it. The course is so enmeshed in the environment that it changes significantly with the seasons. New benches have been added to the tee areas.
Cons: Not as well marked as it could be.
Still a lot of underbrush along some of the fairways.
The surrounding park is expanding causing some issues at holes 16 & 17.
Other Thoughts: Every month the club makes improvements so the course is constantly evolving.
The terrain can be challenging to young children or anyone who has problems walking.
The winter pin positions have been set to minimize difficult terrain.
Shoes with good tread and ankle support are recommended.
Just walking the course is a beautiful hike in the woods.
Take water with you as there is no potable water along the course.
There is a bathroom at the parking lot and at hole 12.
There are trash cans at 4, 7, 9, 12 and 17.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Bring your "A" game

5+    10/4/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: d mars
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is extremely challenging,but makes you strive to perfect your game. You have a mix of everything imaginable. Water, elevation changes, and narrow, tough fairways. Yes, there is some long hikes between holes, but if you wnat to complain, quit and go ride your couch. YOUR disc golfing. Playing alone is not recomended(you need a spotter), but if your in the area with some friends, stop in and play a round.
Cons: The long walks between holes can wear you out(but I'm a glutton for punishment, personally) and the rough is ROUGH(hence, a spotter). The tee pads could be more level.Besides that, the intermediate to advance player should appreciate what a fine course this is.
Other Thoughts: The only change I recomend is hole 17(way more OB than inbounds) but, I'm sure that change is in the makings. Otherwise, I love and sometimes hate this course(yes, I'm a local). It is one of the most interesting and challenging courses I've played in southcentral Pa.!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.