Greencastle, PA
Whispering Falls DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cerealman Hole #12 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 355ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Why is there no one here??

2-4    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: travis.d
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a huge amount of variety shots as far as elevation, distance, left/right turns.
Every hole is challenging, its definitly not a great beginner course. There is a lot of coverage for most of the holes that makes shots difficuly. This makes for very good accuracy practice. I love the amount of par 4s here, really makes you play with accuracy, AND distance. It also makes for good exersice becuase of the hiking between holes.
Cons: The mando on hole 16 is very confuzing, plus you have to shoot over some wildlife protection areas. Hole 5 is especially bad for beginners. It is about 200-250 feet over a deep gully filled with brush. WIthout someone watching close for you, its easy to loose a disc in there. Has some hiking to do so prepare to give it at least 2 hours to play if not 3 depending on your speed. if you dont like hiking or woods, then you better be good enough to keep it on the skinny fairways. Slight confusion on where the next hole was sometimes as well.
Other Thoughts: My local course is very short and easy compared to this. I loved the challege it presented.

One thing that really suprised me was that it seemed really empty. Such a nice course deserves to be played more often, i went two days in a row, and both days there was only 2 other groups playing other than mine.

Has some issues here or there but the pros definitly outdo the cons. Loved it!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Best course in the area (if you dont count pawpaw)

5+    4/10/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: sweatmonster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Large variance of shots
Well maintained
Multiple Pin placements
Elevation changes on several holes
Most every hole a challenge
Plenty of forestry love.
Very large drop on hole 3 if in the long postion
Cons: Some of the shots go over "wild life protection" areas.
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing. I go here if I dont have the time to go to pawpaw. Really good hiking/disc here.

On a side note, while playing down the ravine towards the creek one time, I was serenaded by about 100 menonites. and had some "O brother, where are thou?" flashbacks.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Very Challenging

1    5/20/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: binandfugiodln
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Great if you are extremely accurate. Hard workout. Well maintained.
Cons: Not for beginners or amateurs. Very dense brush. Not for anyone who doesn't like hiking as they play.
Other Thoughts: The signs were either confusing or non-existent. Some holes played the A pins and some B pins, so I never knew which one to play for.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Not for amatuers

1    5/20/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: acouwaila
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Fun for pros
Cons: Heavily wooded, lots of brush

A lot of the wooded areas around the fairways are steep hills so if your disc strays off you have to walk a long way down to retrieve it.

Directions are confusing, some of the maps at tee are misleading with 2 baskets printed but only one basket exists.

Not enough signs to point to next basket, and if you get lost theres lots of hills for you to get tired on your way


0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  A diamond in the rough

1    3/16/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: DGChronicles
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very well maintained
-a wide variety of holes from tight wooded to long open shots over OB
-great tees, some people dont like rubber but i love them
-awesome vairety in elevation! having a top of the world shot down a wooded ravine is something i hadent seen before!!
-beautiful fairways! grass lined with trees
-signage is pretty good, wasn't too hard to find our way around during our first round
-tee signs are great! they even give you tips on how to play the hole
-bag hooks at every tee are nice too!
Cons: -sinage could be a little better, a few holes were missing it
-the construction going on messes with a few holes, but that will go away eventually
-long walk from 12-13
-holes 11-12 felt a little out of place but they were still great holes
Other Thoughts: once we had finished playing this course my group was floored! this is one of our new favorite courses and we think it deserves much more than a 3.5. its a georgous course that is a blast to play! i would deffinetly check it out if you have the chance!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 3 Miles of Nature

5+    11/1/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: MooseDrool
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging terrain with a wide spectrum of fairway types. This is a beautiful course that is continuously improving as the 717FDC members groom, landscape and update it. The course is so enmeshed in the environment that it changes significantly with the seasons. New benches have been added to the tee areas.
Cons: Not as well marked as it could be.
Still a lot of underbrush along some of the fairways.
The surrounding park is expanding causing some issues at holes 16 & 17.
Other Thoughts: Every month the club makes improvements so the course is constantly evolving.
The terrain can be challenging to young children or anyone who has problems walking.
The winter pin positions have been set to minimize difficult terrain.
Shoes with good tread and ankle support are recommended.
Just walking the course is a beautiful hike in the woods.
Take water with you as there is no potable water along the course.
There is a bathroom at the parking lot and at hole 12.
There are trash cans at 4, 7, 9, 12 and 17.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Bring your "A" game

5+    10/4/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: d mars
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is extremely challenging,but makes you strive to perfect your game. You have a mix of everything imaginable. Water, elevation changes, and narrow, tough fairways. Yes, there is some long hikes between holes, but if you wnat to complain, quit and go ride your couch. YOUR disc golfing. Playing alone is not recomended(you need a spotter), but if your in the area with some friends, stop in and play a round.
Cons: The long walks between holes can wear you out(but I'm a glutton for punishment, personally) and the rough is ROUGH(hence, a spotter). The tee pads could be more level.Besides that, the intermediate to advance player should appreciate what a fine course this is.
Other Thoughts: The only change I recomend is hole 17(way more OB than inbounds) but, I'm sure that change is in the makings. Otherwise, I love and sometimes hate this course(yes, I'm a local). It is one of the most interesting and challenging courses I've played in southcentral Pa.!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not for beginners

1    9/6/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Johnbunker
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: well groomed and you need to throw every kind of throw known........................................
Cons: Some holes are so difficult it can take the fun out of playing.
Other Thoughts: Hiking and discin' at the same time..... I prefer just discin'.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 tough hike while playing DG

1    9/8/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 27.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The variety of shots required is tremendous, like others have said, no two holes are alike.

This course is a challenge not only to play but to walk/hike up and down some very steep terrian.

The tee signs are very good with a drawing and written descrption of the hole. Plenty of benches at the tees.

Hole 1 is a great 717 foot hole.

#15 has an elevated basket.
Cons: The signage to hole 2 needs to be better, I found #3 before back tracking to #2.

Some of the fairways are on walking trails and this could develop into a dangerous situation! Someone could get hurt!

#15 is a poke and hope shot.

The walk to 17 backtracks the fairway of #16.

#17 is plain stupid; throwing over 'protected wetlands', the tee of 6 and it plays close to basket 5. This should be changed immediately.

The long walk btw 12 and 13 is the longest between 2 holes I have ever encountered (followed by an uphill drive
when you are tired)

#5: the drive must carry about 250 feet over a wooded area. I got over OK, but even some Adv players can throw a bad shot and lose a disc here.



The rough on 8 and 9 is very dense, I lost a disc and found one. Playing solo
I skipped these after driving #8 since a spotter is needed.
Other Thoughts: Print a map from this webpage, you will need it.

#3 has the steepest downhill shot in the state! This course is so tough, I can't recommend it to Am players; I'd imagine they would become very fustrated.

Arrows on the pad of #5 would help similar to hole 7.

Some baskets were a tad high and there were no trash cans along the way but plenty in other parts of the park.

The hooks on the tee signs are nice but I think a straight peg might work better.

This course will become better with time, much love and care has been put forth already and I know more will follow. I'm a tough grader and will rate this course higher after some modification(s) take place.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Eighteen Flavours

1    5/25/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
An incredible amount of unique variety - no two holes seemed very similar to one another. Nice combination of major, minor, no elevation change. Good mixture of left, right, and no turning holes. Majority of the holes will have you dealing with trees or woods, but for the most part, the throwing paths are reasonable. Only a few unguarded baskets, but those that are guarded aren't unbearably so.

Two pin positions on each hole except #15 and #18, which have two tee positions.

Between the map available online and some signs along the course, this was a rather easy course for a first-time visitor to navigate.

The bench at #13!

Bathroom on site, petrol and food available in town about five minutes away.
Cons:
With some holes having thick woods and/or thick underbrush and/or steep slopes and/or blind shots and/or water shots (#3 in the long position has four of the five!), there is a decent chance to lose a disc - if possible, have a spotter.

Some steep slopes, #3 in particular, which could prove to be quite treacherous in wet conditions.

Long walks between some holes - would be even more noticeable when the baskets are in the short positions. The longest walk, 5~10 minutes, is between 12 to 13, with 1 to 2 a close second.

Hole #17 has a large water retention basin about the typical distance/orientation for a RHBH drive. From there, you then have to throw over a protected wetlands. Similarly, #18 has you drive over a wide strip of protected wetlands, roughly 225'-325' from the tee - I can imagine a lot of discs landing in these "protected" areas!

Holes #5 and #17 use the same basket for the long position.

About half the holes play along/across walking trails.
Other Thoughts:
When the baskets are all in the long positions, as in the day I played the course, the average length is about 440'; when in the all shorts, average length is about 300'.

This course will take a bit longer than normal to play, given the extra length, walk between holes, and if you spot for one another (e.g. my friend and I normally take 1.5 hours to play a round at our local courses, but took 2.5 hours to play this course).

This is probably NOT a good course to introduce players to the game, or for lower-level players - some of the distances (on #5, you have to throw a high drive almost 200' over a thickly-foliaged area; when in the long positions, six holes are over 500'), steep slopes, and sharp/long turns would probably prove to be more frustrating than fun.

This is a very challenging course - mistakes will be punished (#2 and #3 combined to put fourteen strokes onto my scorecard!), but you will certainly feel as sense of accomplishment when you manage to score well, because you will have to earn it on this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.