Monticello, MN 
Par-West Share
Uploaded By: NoLimitsMN Hole #8 (Taken 3/2011)
4 / 261ft.   3 / 198ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Very beginner

1    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: hthomp14
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Good for beginners
- Ace potential
Cons: -Horrible Tee pads ( Dirt)
-Too short
-Hard to navigate
Other Thoughts: Overall Par West is an average course that I feel you shouldn't make the trip to unless you actually live in Monticello. It was fun for opportunities at aces, but other then that it's a pretty lame course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Below Average

1    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: Murderous Monkey
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's a disc golf course.
-Baskets are nice.
-Nice signage, easy to see the next tee.
Cons: -Holes are too short. I know this isn't a big course, but they are definitely too short.
-Any more than 2 groups on the course, you REALLY need to watch for flying discs as holes play back on each other, and a few share the same flight paths.
-Natural tee pads are rough.
-Not aesthetically pleasing at all, power lines, highway, etc.
Other Thoughts: I've played it once, and that is enough. If it hadn't been windy, it would have been zero challenge. I've affectionately dubbed hole 7, the "snake pit". Look in the brush and listen behind the tee pad, you'll know why.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Fun

2-4    9/15/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: ElectricBoogaloo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --GREAT beginner course. It's open, so bad throws go unpunished, but there are enough obstacles to make this interesting.

--Baskets are in good shape, as are the signs.
Not sure the distances are correct on them though, I threw many shots that ended up way short or way past when I gauged them off of the signs.

-Great open, grassy field is good for barefoot rounds on a nice day, which I love.

--Good use of the shrubbery on hole 1, 3, 4 and 5.

--Perfect flow from hole to hole.

--Good use of the power towers on #2 and #7. Makes for a bit of an obstacle.
Cons: --Basket confusion. Hole 1's basket is tucked away behind a clump of small bushes, while 8's is out in the open right next to it. Imagine my surprise when I thought I was parked but had to approach instead.

--The pars are generous. I scored my first double eagle ever on hole 9. Sarcastic WOOOO!

--Tees could use a bit of work.

--I don't think I saw any trash cans, but I hope people can hold onto their trash for 20 minutes until they get back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This course wood be a good one for a wide open safari round. Minimal hazards in the way could make for some sweet holes. The second time through, I made up some power line tower mandos (through the big triangle). Potential to be fun if you make it that way.

--I came soooo close to a 18 here, but my putt was rejected by the chastity belt. I hate those baskets.

All in all, I was super impressed with this tiny 9 holer. It's a great course to bring beginners to help them learn, and to show off some pitch and putt skills

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect Pitch & Putt Possibilities!

1    7/21/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As someone mentioned earlier, this little course plays on one of those neighborhood strips of park land which really aren't much good for anything else. The course plays four holes down and five back back under the power lines although those lines barely come into play. Bring a putter and a mid-range. The natural tees are fine for this baby as only # 9 is longer than 300 and barely that at 315'. There is a bit of thick rough along the right side of # 5 coming back.

The pars on the signs are for the elementary kids so this is another course where you can rack up some eagles or maybe your first double-eagle.

There are just a few bushes in the way for obstacles, no trees, but the wind was challenging on the day that I played.
Cons: If you know you're coming to play a pitch & putt, then you shouldn't look at any of these as Cons BUT if I have to spell them out for you:

The course presents little challenge for most players.
The natural pads.
The flatness of the course.
The lack of a signature hole.
The lack of natural scenic beauty.
The lack of water features.
Little to no amentities.
Other Thoughts: Par-west is what it is. It is an enjoyable little pitch & putt. It's a great place for junior high or elementary school kids. It's a nice place to play that quick 20 minute round. These 2.0 Beginner type courses have a place in our sport and this one fills that niche perfectly!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/10/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: gripNrip91
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for beginners, and fun for expirenced players to park with their fairways/mids
Cons: Short, ony one hole(9) breaks 300 feet, if you are an expirenced player all you need is a putter and a few mids, maybe a fairway driver
Other Thoughts: Would make a fun Ace Race course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/28/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: Disc Golf Dude
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this course is a good course for beginners or if u on ur way from work u can stop by and play a quick round. the obstacles are pretty cool, it has bushes u hav to get around. its good for practicing ur drives and putts
Cons: not many cons to this course besides the bushes. they are very thorny so hopefully u dont land in them. and it can get buggy at later hours. and the pars are kinda messed up
Other Thoughts: hav fun practicing. its a good little course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/7/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: BrompoJr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to walk, easy to follow holes, and obstacles (including bushes, trees, and powerline towers) make this course enjoyable. Very good for beginners and kids. Also, did not have to wait as we were the only ones on the course.
Cons: Short holes, ground is flat with no hills or elevation change. Although obstacles exist, they seldom play much of a factor because of the distance and flat ground.
Other Thoughts: If I did not live so close, I probably would not play this course again. Others in the area, including West Pulaski and Elm Creek are superior.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Was in the area so...

1    5/20/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: a_beautifulplace
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like the holes on this course. I think they have a good layout going and playing amongst the power lines is kind of cool (though they rarely come into play) It's a very quick nine, it has great baskets, and it's very straight forward and good for a quick eighteen.
Cons: Be ready to hunt for your disc if you wander into the big bushes. This place ate a disc and a windbreaker of mine. I would also note that if you are driving from the metro to play this course, I would recommend stopping at West Pulaski to truly make the trip worth your while, as this course is extremely short. But as I said, a quick eighteen was very fun.
Other Thoughts: Play this if you're planning on heading up this way to check out the few courses in the area (mainly West Pulaski), I made a nice day out of playing Pulaski a few times and then P-W. Very easy course but still has a very unique character.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Confidence Booster

2-4    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: ejsandstrom
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great place for the family or beginners. If you want to get a quick round in, it can be played in about 15-20 minutes.The baskets are really nice and in good shape. At most there have been 2 other groups playing, so there is never a wait.
Cons: SHORT. The 9th hole is around 300 ft and is a par 5. Almost all of the holes are wide open or have 1 obstacle. The right side of the course plays down peoples back yards. One time a dog ran out onto the course.
Other Thoughts: It is nice to have a course close but after playing it a few time all of the holes become deuce-able. Great for improving your mid range and putting.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your putters!

5+    5/4/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: gbpremo
Played: 59  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will make you feel great about yourself. Bring your midrange and putter.
Cons: This year they moved a few tee boxes which means they managed to make the longer holes shorter. The holes arent very original.
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a some where to take beginner friends where they shouldnt be able to lose a disc this is the course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.