Grovetown, GA
Patriot's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 266ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun round

1    4/21/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course uses the bits and pieces of land around the edges of a large multi-use park. Many of the holes are in pretty dense woods with lots of trees and some brush to punish errant shots. A few holes play more out in the open, but many of these still bring some areas of rough into play. Despite the nature of the park, there is very little conflict between the course and other park users.

There is a pretty good mix of left and right turning holes here, it plays pretty balanced for righties or lefties. Most of the holes are relatively short, but they often have tight lines to hit so it's not totally a birdie fest. There are a couple longer holes including a nice multi-shot hole through the woods where you'll need a couple accurate drives to have a chance at the 3. There are good concrete pads and the baskets are older but still catch fine.
Cons: Navigation is a bit of a mess here. Most of the tee posts have been torn out, so there's almost no signage at all to let you know what hole you're on, let alone the distance or direction to the pin. There are several long walks between holes that aren't at all obvious, I recommend a course map or a guide if you don't want to spend a while wandering to figure out the layout.

There were a lot of areas in the woods that seemed to hold water and get quite muddy. Many of the holes with any elevation showed erosion issues, especially the couple basket placements on slopes.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing here, but it would get a little frustrating without a map or a guide. There are some great holes here, but there are also several that don't offer much challenge or anything interesting. It would be a little tight for many beginners, it's not too long but many of the holes call for an accurate drive to stay out of the rough. More experienced players will find some good challenges sprinkled in to a mostly intermediate level course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Least favorite of all the Augusta courses...

5+    9/24/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: btucker11
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful park with all the amenities. The tee pads and pins are in great shape. Nice mix of long and short holes. Many of the holes play through the woods. Tight well played shots needed on many of them. #6 is in my opinion one of the hardest playing holes i have played to date. You don't have to worry about sharing the course with other park visitors. Check it out for yourself.
Cons: Very wet whenever it rains for weeks at a time. Bad drainage I guess. Challenging course but not terribly tough....I'll go with words from another reviewer you'll either love it or hate it.
Other Thoughts: I rank my courses according to the other courses in the immediate area, because I have a young family and don't get to travel.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Probably should have played on a better day??

1    4/2/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: ProOffense
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I grew up coming to this park playing rec soccer, football, and baseball. The facilities are more than acceptable. The front office is very helpful, and would strongly advise picking up a course map before venturing onto the playing grounds. The benches at each hole make for good resting points. The pins are easily marked. (For the most part)
Cons: Ok, here it goes... As much time as i have spent on the grounds, just recently was the first time i've played the disc course. It was 95 degrees outside and the pollen wave was at its worst. So lets say it wasn't the most pleasent experiance. I think if the weather was nicer and i wasn't sick from the pollen, it would have been a Average course at best. The markers at each tee pad are about as helpful as none being there. I had to walk out the fairway to find the chains on multiple holes. Not really a well thought out course in my opinion, kinda seems as though they just threw out tee pads and chains throughout the grounds and gave no real thought to disc flight or ease of access to the chains. Also, the walk between some of the holes is really excessive. Do not play on a sweltering day!
Other Thoughts: Ugh... it really kills me to give such a harsh review, but i really did not have that good a time playing here. And being so close to Augusta and North Augusta, there are definately better courses. Its very clear that it's a course that you really like, or REALLY hate. You will just have to try it and see where you fall in this mix.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Patriots Park, Grovetown Georgia

1    10/1/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 130  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent facilities on site, (bathrooms, showers, course map and scorecard in foyer). Concrete Teepads.
Cons: Vandalism of teesigns. First time players should have a map.
Other Thoughts: This course literally plays clockwise around a huge area that includes softball complexes, soccer fields, a gymnasium, parking lots, and tennis courts. The average hole length is 300 to 400 feet. One huge long hole, 750 feet (#4), and the shortest 250 feet. Only one hole, # 5 plays on the grass. The rest of the course plays in and through heavily wooded areas. There is a good mix straight tight teeshots, dogleg rights, and dogleg lefts. In order to get around the whole area, there is some walking to do between some of the holes. You should go to the entrance to the indoor facility and get a map of the course if you havent played here before.
There are some elevation changes throughout the course but nothing major. Baskets and teepads are in good shape. The vandalism to the teesigns make it a little more difficult to get around the course, but if you look for the white 3 foot tall posts used as markers with a course map in hand, you shouldn't have too much trouble. For first time players some of the blind tee shots will have you walking down the fairways to spot the basket. A couple of holes have been stretched out longer than the teesigns say, but there are signs posted to let you know of that fact.
Because of the tree factor, I believe advanced and pro players will like this course better than a beginner or intermediate player will. Some of the doglegs are better played the second time, as the first time around you will not know what distance or direction is needed for your layup/placement shot off the teepad so you can continue down the fairway to the basket (course knowledge).
This course is not too difficult to play, technically its higher than average. Risk/reward off the teepad and down the fairways is average. No tee shot is unfair in the respect there are routes you can shoot down on every hole. If you stay on the fairway you will score well, if not then a side arm or a cut roller shot will be needed to get you back to where you belong (the fairway).
I enjoyed playing this course, Thursday afternoon there is nobody on the course. I got a little frustrated with the doglegs, but that was from my lack of course knowledge. A few more round there and I know it would be a better experience. As mentioned before, the vandalism to the tee signs and marker posts is unfortunate, but almost every course across the nation has vandalism at some level.
If this course was here in Utah, I would rate it as a 4. Since its in a region where there are a lot more options for disc golf, it brings it down somewhere between a 3 and 3.5. I would play this course again however, if only for the fact its not crowded. At least during the week.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little above average

5+    7/30/2005   7/30/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 114  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 18.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course mixes some tight wooded, technical holes (half or more of the course) with some very nice-defined fairway holes, with open routes but trouble if you miss them. A fine mix, and a solid challenge to your disc golf game.

No real signature or "WOW" holes, but a lot of good, solid holes. A couple of chances to air it out.
Cons: Some of the wooded fairways are very tight; whether a "pro" or "con" depends on your taste for this sort of thing.

A few long walks between holes.

Probably an unfair "con", but this course is near Augusta, which has a number of better courses.
Other Thoughts: Patriot's Park is definitely worth playing. If you're traveling to the area and only have time for 1 or 2 courses, this might not be one of them, but if you've time for more, be sure to include this one.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Throw In Large Multi-Use Park!

1    7/15/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Patriot's Park is a very large county park with a swirl of activities going on. The course uses the entire park playing through wooded areas, around and behind ballfields, soccer fields, tot lots and past tennis courts. I thought the designers did a nice job staying out of these folks' way. Or maybe I was just lucky the afternoon I played in that regard. The teepads and tee signs were great. Navigation on the course was a little difficult for me as a first timer. There is a nice variety of technical wooded shots, open fairways, lefty-righty, etc. There were a couple of holes that I really enjoyed. # 12 throws below a soccer field fence to a basket set down in a gully below a very steep hillside. And then the next hole, # 13, is a fiarly non-descript hole except it has a very, lovely basket position. The basket is set up right behind a tree which has this odd branch growing out at an angle protecting the basket. Every course would love to have this tree and branch picture for their signature photo op.
Cons: I did have to waste some time trying to find my way around. The on-line map I had printed was difficult to follow. A few more next tee signs would help. Also, this is the first of the 20 + courses that I've played on this trip that has had vandalism problems. Many of the tee signs and posts have been uprooted and thrown about.
Other Thoughts: This course could use a little TLC from the locals. Many tee signs have to be replaced. Some navigational signs would be most appreciated. After playing the monster Gold courses at the PDGA Disc Golf Center in Appling, it was nice to get over here and experience a course designed for me, the average run of the mill recreational duffer.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    3/15/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: 33tango
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Basket and tee pads are top notch. Signage/course making good. Holes have variety. Course doesn't have left/right hander bias. Course doesn't interfere/cross other activities on site.
Cons: Drainage issue after rain makes getting through the course a muddy affair. Not much in the way of elevation variety.
Other Thoughts: There's an area with a triple strand of barb wire around one fenced in area and more than one fairway borders a ball field. An errant shot may be impossible or time consuming to retrieve. Scenery isn't anything special. I'd score this 3.25 if such a thing was possible.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby

6/11/2007   3/13/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 133  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well layed out. Variety of shots require. Interesting pin placements on a few holes. Very clean park.
Cons: There was agirls softball tournament going on while we were there meaning we couldn't play at least 2 of the holes.
Other Thoughts: It was an average round of disc golf. It is close to the new PDGA courses as well, so it can be added to a DG excursion easily.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.