Grovetown, GA 
Patriot's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 197ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Throw down in the Grovetown

1    8/5/2014   8/7/2014
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Patriot's Park is a solid, mostly wooded course. With some open holes sprinkled in, your accuracy doesn't need to be dialed in the entire round.
- There's a good mix of hole layouts here. There are several open holes (hello easy birdie on #5), several tight layouts (#14 & 11), straight holes and dog legs. There's also a good variety in distances with four holes longer than 400 feet; four less than 250 feet and another seven in the 251 - 300 range.
- If you can control your mid-range shots, you will do well here. Even on the longer holes (mainly #6, 9 & 15), those are multi-shot, dogleg, station-to-station types of holes. So, by hitting a good landing spot at 250 feet, you're in great shape for birdie chances on those holes.
- I really enjoyed hole #10, my favorite on the course. It's a slight dogleg right, slight uphill, 275-foot layout. Good hole for you to carve a shot, with minimal trees meaning you can be aggressive. It didn't hurt my feelings about the hole that I had a birdie putt. Much less painful than missing the 25-foot putt, but that's the story of my disc golf life.
- - There are a couple holes where you can pull out your driver. #1 and 2 are good, simple ways to start your round. #18 is a good closing hole. It's a 370 foot, decently wide tee shot to a back in the woods to the right. This was a solid closing hole for this course.
- Course is very isolated from the rest of the park. Other than walking past the playground (to get to hole #1) or the walks from #4 to 5 & #15 to 16, amongst others, the course itself isn't impacted by other park activities.
- This is a great, big park overall. Lots of facilities for other activities: ball fields, tennis courts, running trail, a gym and playground. Everything looked to be in great shape. Now just pass along some of that attention to the course, and we'll all be happy.
Cons: Navigation and signage is horrible, truly taking away from the course's quality. There aren't maps on the tee signs, meaning, with so many blind tee shots, you'll have to do a lot of extra walking to scout. Or, like me, after doing this enough times, you'll stop doing that, instead begin throwing short, straight shots, choosing to take your chances.
- This didn't make a lick of sense to me. On some of these longer, blind shot holes, they had arrows/next tee signs pointing in the direction of the basket. That's great for me once I'm walking the hole. My discs, on the other hand, can't read that well, especially when they're soaring by the arrows, making it hard for them to know where to go. Perhaps bigger signs or elevated arrows will help my discs see when they're supposed to turn. Plus, I told them there would be no reading at this course, so they weren't prepared for that.
- There are a couple of long walks between holes, which again, could be helped out with better signage. The online map also doesn't offer that much help, mainly because it's so difficult to read. The map maker chose to color all the wooded areas, making 2/3 of the map gray right off the bat. Add to that the holes are thin lines (often a black line in the gray wooded area, which is easy to see) and tiny numbers for the holes.
- A few too many bland or gimmicky holes. I thought one of the worst holes on the course was #4. It's a 780-foot hole that starts in the woods, and then is long and straight for the remainder. It's the same shot two or three times in a row setting up your approach shot, while just trying to stay out of the woods.
- As for gimmicky, when I say that, I simply mean the designers tried to get creative, but ended up going a little overboard in a couple of spots. I wasn't a fan of #11 mainly due to the overly thick rough along the left hand side of the fairway in comparison to the narrow gap to hit. Make that gap a little wider, and I fully appreciate having a thick rough if you can't make the throw. Compare that to #12, which I thought was one of the better holes on the course. Look at the pics on here. It looks like virtually the same view from the tee. What makes #12 far superior is that the gap is much wider, meaning you can start your shot out further to the right, setting yourself up for this dogleg left shot back towards the woods. Just a slight difference separates a good hole from one that isn't.
- I hardly remember seeing many, if any, benches or trashcans throughout. You at least pass trashcans when you come across other parts of the park.
Other Thoughts: All in all, Patriot's Park is an enjoyable course. It's a frustrating play for a first timer; but, the regulars probably don't even notice the missing tee signs, long walks or other navigation issues. This does seem like the type of course that could grow on a person the more it's played.
- There's a good general flow to the course around the outskirts of the park property. The park does still have a lot of wooded, unused space. Maybe down the road, some of that land can be utilized for some disc golf holes, replacing some of the lesser qualities ones.
- The back nine is far superior to the front. While playing, I marked down the holes that I enjoyed or thought were really good. Five of the six I noted were on the back nine. The only one that stood out to me on the front side was #9, which was another blind tee shot layout that could have been better with improved signage.
- Whether right or wrong, I think this course will be often compared to the three layouts at the IDGC. I played there first, then drove straight here for another round. I surmise that many out-of-towners take this same route when travelling to the Augusta area. That said, it doesn't help this course's identity that it's so close to three elite layouts, making its flaws stand out.
- This is a solid, if not spectacular course. My hopes were a little higher for the course than was actually experienced. The positive aspect is that the issues are ones that can be easily addressed. With better signage and a little more maintenance (clearing out some rough and knocking down a few trees), the course will be better. That said, this is a solid 3.0 in my book. It's not the reason I'm driving to Augusta, but it's worth the play if you have the time, and perhaps more important, the energy, after experiencing the IDGC and Hippodrome.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    8/2/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 189  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a strong start, but keep going. There are some awesome holes here. The course has a varied design with some of the fairways abutting athletic fields, (although never really interfering) and some heading deeper into the woods. Hole 9 is actually the perfect summation of the course. The first half of the fairways is fairly bland. It runs roughly next to some fields but at no point is there much danger of a disc ending up where it shouldn't. It helps that any time that might be a possibility, there is a large net preventing it from happening. (The nets are there to keep soccer balls from going in to the woods, but the fairways make good use of them.) But half way down this long fairway, it turns into the woods. And wow, what a run to the basket. It's not overly tight but it's downhill to a creek and then a gradual climb to a high basket. The better holes here resemble that second half of nine and there are more than a few of them.
10 is a fantastic hole. It parallels the back half nine, using that same creek and valley to make what would be the best fairway on the course, if it weren't for 14. Not as much elevation as 10 but a nicely curved fairway that forces you over the creek to attempt to land near a basket that sits almost surrounded by a bend. 16 has a similar concept. In fact, all of the good holes here use that creek to some extent, whether as basket protection or just as lurking danger.
And on the variety side, there are some more open shots as well. A few of them are pretty cool, such as 2 which does have a short tunnel at one point, enforcing some accuracy. 3 does pretty much the same thing, except it is uphill where 2 was downhill.
The course is also perfectly suited for intermediate level players. In Augusta especially, this is a very good thing. The area already caters to those seeking an intense experience at the IDGC and Pendleton serves those who want an easy romp. Patriot's is the perfect course to slot in between those levels of difficulty.
Navigation is also well done. Without aids, this course would be a nightmare but every time I wanted a sign to point me in the right direction, there was one. On some of the longer walks, that meant several next tee arrows along the route and I was thankful for every one.
Cons: I'm not against open holes by any means but the ones here are a little on the bland side. It seems like there is too much terrain that is essentially side slope with woods on one side and athletic fields on the other. Not terrible, but they don't match up to what happens when this course goes into the woods. The only real dud is probably 5, which does play into some populated areas. At least it's a very short shot, minimizing the possibility for someone to take a driver to the face.
There are a ton of long walks between holes. Granted, this is better than sticking a hole in by the field you walk over, but still. It's excessive. The longest walk though, is that you will probably take trying to find the first tee. Someone should update the directions on DGCR because I never found it, except by starting at six and playing all the way through 18.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was very impressed and would slot this course in at about a 3.25 if I could. Others mentioned the "dry" creeks. For me the creeks were running with fast water which really make the course better. It's mostly aesthetics but I loved throwing over that bubbling water.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun round

1    4/21/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course uses the bits and pieces of land around the edges of a large multi-use park. Many of the holes are in pretty dense woods with lots of trees and some brush to punish errant shots. A few holes play more out in the open, but many of these still bring some areas of rough into play. Despite the nature of the park, there is very little conflict between the course and other park users.

There is a pretty good mix of left and right turning holes here, it plays pretty balanced for righties or lefties. Most of the holes are relatively short, but they often have tight lines to hit so it's not totally a birdie fest. There are a couple longer holes including a nice multi-shot hole through the woods where you'll need a couple accurate drives to have a chance at the 3. There are good concrete pads and the baskets are older but still catch fine.
Cons: Navigation is a bit of a mess here. Most of the tee posts have been torn out, so there's almost no signage at all to let you know what hole you're on, let alone the distance or direction to the pin. There are several long walks between holes that aren't at all obvious, I recommend a course map or a guide if you don't want to spend a while wandering to figure out the layout.

There were a lot of areas in the woods that seemed to hold water and get quite muddy. Many of the holes with any elevation showed erosion issues, especially the couple basket placements on slopes.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing here, but it would get a little frustrating without a map or a guide. There are some great holes here, but there are also several that don't offer much challenge or anything interesting. It would be a little tight for many beginners, it's not too long but many of the holes call for an accurate drive to stay out of the rough. More experienced players will find some good challenges sprinkled in to a mostly intermediate level course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Least favorite of all the Augusta courses...

5+    9/24/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: btucker11
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful park with all the amenities. The tee pads and pins are in great shape. Nice mix of long and short holes. Many of the holes play through the woods. Tight well played shots needed on many of them. #6 is in my opinion one of the hardest playing holes i have played to date. You don't have to worry about sharing the course with other park visitors. Check it out for yourself.
Cons: Very wet whenever it rains for weeks at a time. Bad drainage I guess. Challenging course but not terribly tough....I'll go with words from another reviewer you'll either love it or hate it.
Other Thoughts: I rank my courses according to the other courses in the immediate area, because I have a young family and don't get to travel.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Probably should have played on a better day??

1    4/2/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: ProOffense
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I grew up coming to this park playing rec soccer, football, and baseball. The facilities are more than acceptable. The front office is very helpful, and would strongly advise picking up a course map before venturing onto the playing grounds. The benches at each hole make for good resting points. The pins are easily marked. (For the most part)
Cons: Ok, here it goes... As much time as i have spent on the grounds, just recently was the first time i've played the disc course. It was 95 degrees outside and the pollen wave was at its worst. So lets say it wasn't the most pleasent experiance. I think if the weather was nicer and i wasn't sick from the pollen, it would have been a Average course at best. The markers at each tee pad are about as helpful as none being there. I had to walk out the fairway to find the chains on multiple holes. Not really a well thought out course in my opinion, kinda seems as though they just threw out tee pads and chains throughout the grounds and gave no real thought to disc flight or ease of access to the chains. Also, the walk between some of the holes is really excessive. Do not play on a sweltering day!
Other Thoughts: Ugh... it really kills me to give such a harsh review, but i really did not have that good a time playing here. And being so close to Augusta and North Augusta, there are definately better courses. Its very clear that it's a course that you really like, or REALLY hate. You will just have to try it and see where you fall in this mix.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Patriots Park, Grovetown Georgia

1    10/1/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 149  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent facilities on site, (bathrooms, showers, course map and scorecard in foyer). Concrete Teepads.
Cons: Vandalism of teesigns. First time players should have a map.
Other Thoughts: This course literally plays clockwise around a huge area that includes softball complexes, soccer fields, a gymnasium, parking lots, and tennis courts. The average hole length is 300 to 400 feet. One huge long hole, 750 feet (#4), and the shortest 250 feet. Only one hole, # 5 plays on the grass. The rest of the course plays in and through heavily wooded areas. There is a good mix straight tight teeshots, dogleg rights, and dogleg lefts. In order to get around the whole area, there is some walking to do between some of the holes. You should go to the entrance to the indoor facility and get a map of the course if you havent played here before.
There are some elevation changes throughout the course but nothing major. Baskets and teepads are in good shape. The vandalism to the teesigns make it a little more difficult to get around the course, but if you look for the white 3 foot tall posts used as markers with a course map in hand, you shouldn't have too much trouble. For first time players some of the blind tee shots will have you walking down the fairways to spot the basket. A couple of holes have been stretched out longer than the teesigns say, but there are signs posted to let you know of that fact.
Because of the tree factor, I believe advanced and pro players will like this course better than a beginner or intermediate player will. Some of the doglegs are better played the second time, as the first time around you will not know what distance or direction is needed for your layup/placement shot off the teepad so you can continue down the fairway to the basket (course knowledge).
This course is not too difficult to play, technically its higher than average. Risk/reward off the teepad and down the fairways is average. No tee shot is unfair in the respect there are routes you can shoot down on every hole. If you stay on the fairway you will score well, if not then a side arm or a cut roller shot will be needed to get you back to where you belong (the fairway).
I enjoyed playing this course, Thursday afternoon there is nobody on the course. I got a little frustrated with the doglegs, but that was from my lack of course knowledge. A few more round there and I know it would be a better experience. As mentioned before, the vandalism to the tee signs and marker posts is unfortunate, but almost every course across the nation has vandalism at some level.
If this course was here in Utah, I would rate it as a 4. Since its in a region where there are a lot more options for disc golf, it brings it down somewhere between a 3 and 3.5. I would play this course again however, if only for the fact its not crowded. At least during the week.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little above average

5+    7/30/2005   7/30/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course mixes some tight wooded, technical holes (half or more of the course) with some very nice-defined fairway holes, with open routes but trouble if you miss them. A fine mix, and a solid challenge to your disc golf game.

No real signature or "WOW" holes, but a lot of good, solid holes. A couple of chances to air it out.
Cons: Some of the wooded fairways are very tight; whether a "pro" or "con" depends on your taste for this sort of thing.

A few long walks between holes.

Probably an unfair "con", but this course is near Augusta, which has a number of better courses.
Other Thoughts: Patriot's Park is definitely worth playing. If you're traveling to the area and only have time for 1 or 2 courses, this might not be one of them, but if you've time for more, be sure to include this one.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Throw In Large Multi-Use Park!

1    7/15/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Patriot's Park is a very large county park with a swirl of activities going on. The course uses the entire park playing through wooded areas, around and behind ballfields, soccer fields, tot lots and past tennis courts. I thought the designers did a nice job staying out of these folks' way. Or maybe I was just lucky the afternoon I played in that regard. The teepads and tee signs were great. Navigation on the course was a little difficult for me as a first timer. There is a nice variety of technical wooded shots, open fairways, lefty-righty, etc. There were a couple of holes that I really enjoyed. # 12 throws below a soccer field fence to a basket set down in a gully below a very steep hillside. And then the next hole, # 13, is a fiarly non-descript hole except it has a very, lovely basket position. The basket is set up right behind a tree which has this odd branch growing out at an angle protecting the basket. Every course would love to have this tree and branch picture for their signature photo op.
Cons: I did have to waste some time trying to find my way around. The on-line map I had printed was difficult to follow. A few more next tee signs would help. Also, this is the first of the 20 + courses that I've played on this trip that has had vandalism problems. Many of the tee signs and posts have been uprooted and thrown about.
Other Thoughts: This course could use a little TLC from the locals. Many tee signs have to be replaced. Some navigational signs would be most appreciated. After playing the monster Gold courses at the PDGA Disc Golf Center in Appling, it was nice to get over here and experience a course designed for me, the average run of the mill recreational duffer.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    3/15/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: 33tango
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Basket and tee pads are top notch. Signage/course making good. Holes have variety. Course doesn't have left/right hander bias. Course doesn't interfere/cross other activities on site.
Cons: Drainage issue after rain makes getting through the course a muddy affair. Not much in the way of elevation variety.
Other Thoughts: There's an area with a triple strand of barb wire around one fenced in area and more than one fairway borders a ball field. An errant shot may be impossible or time consuming to retrieve. Scenery isn't anything special. I'd score this 3.25 if such a thing was possible.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby

6/11/2007   3/13/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well layed out. Variety of shots require. Interesting pin placements on a few holes. Very clean park.
Cons: There was agirls softball tournament going on while we were there meaning we couldn't play at least 2 of the holes.
Other Thoughts: It was an average round of disc golf. It is close to the new PDGA courses as well, so it can be added to a DG excursion easily.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.