Grovetown, GA 
Patriot's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
4 / 457ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

5+    12/3/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Par 59 with 3 par 4's and 1 par 5 , dedicated county maintenance , really good mix of par 3's .
Cons: Non-smoking course , several long walks to next tee , occasional flooding/swampiness on 5 or 6 holes .
Other Thoughts: Good test for your game from the combination of length and tight tee shots .

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/20/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: BCpreheim
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is well designed with a good variety of holes (long, short, wooded and open). Although water exists on the course it is not a real threat to claim discs. It may be the best value for a disc golf course in Augusta.
Cons: It is not well marked. After hole 5, 11, and 15 there are long walks that are not always obvious. It could use updating on benches, signage and trash cans but it does not take away from play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Patriot's Park

1    7/10/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: blando3281
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course with 18 holes spread out around a recreational complex for sports and swimming. Good use of the room available.
Cons: Twice my disc landed on an ant hill and the ants bite hard. Couple of longer walks between a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course that I will play again when I'm back in town!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Augusta?

1    5/10/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 200  Reviewed: 192  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Patriots Park is an interesting course near Augusta, like another reviewer said it feels a lot like IDGC but a little less intense. There are some holes on here that remind you of Steady Ed course at IDGC here. I'm impressed by the par four holes out here especially as these types of holes are misunderstood sometimes by designers. This course plays more towards my skill level so I enjoyed it very much and it is challenging to intermediate players and those that hover around the 900 rated PDGA rating. Most of the course plays through some semi thick woods with punishing rough on the side, the kind I really like; a 300 foot hole can turn into a 5 or 6 on even skilled players if you're not careful. Hole distances range greatly between the open 220 footer and the long narrow bending fairway of hole 4 that reaches out to almost 800 feet long. The mix between right, left, up and downhill is showed off in nice fashion here challenging your distance control and the number of throwing skills you have.
Cons: The only hole that I really didn't love was hole five which was a pretty open 220 foot hole. There was nothing really 'wrong' with this hole and it actually was a nice change of pace but it seemed like a filler hole to get you to walk to the next section of woods. Being from out of town and playing the course for the first time we had a hard time finding the first hole and actually went into the gym and asked and then had to ask a disc golfer in the parking lot as well. Most of getting around after that isn't too bad with a couple of next tee signs but finding the last three holes was a bit of a pain once again.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for ticks and snakes on this course especially in those dry creeks I believe they are that are running through the course. This is a nice little place and an above average course and I really appreciate the area designated only for disc golf but the parking lot(s) get filled up pretty quick even on the weekday we went with people going to soccer, baseball and football games on the many fields at this big park so keep that in mind. I really liked this course because it challenged my skill level and abilities with some tough holes like numbers 4 and 9 with very different styles of par four holes. I go back and forth on whether this course or Riverview Park are my favorites around Augusta but I think this one wins out.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Feels like the IDGC Junior

1    2/13/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Kiosk at the beginning of the course with a general map and information.

2) Nice large concrete tees were appreciated on this course. I always felt like I had enough room to plant wherever I needed to.

3) Benches and posts by most tees to help you find the nest tee and rest if desired. This was a moderate walk through the woods so it was appreciated.

4) Directionals are visible in many spots but they also seem like some have been vandalized or fallen down.

5) Discatchers were a good choice for this course because of the yellow band being so visible on the wooded holes and helping you to find your way around the course.

6) Excellent use of the longer holes and tighter woods to create some true Par 4's. I love that this is the direction curses are being designed and I hope to get involved in this process. Placement shots should be the future in my opinion and here you need to place a lot of your drives.

7) Distance variation is great with holes in the 200', 300', 400' range and the one 750' down the easement. The 750' hole doesn't even feel like a filler because it is a really tough drive because you are forced to turn the disc slightly but not turn it over into a roller. Then you have to throw straight down the easement (50' wide fairway) and then have an approach to a basket on a downslope which can easily run past the basket or off to the sides on a rollaway.

8) Elevation use here is great. It isn't quite like Renny Gold or anything like that but it has the same sort of feel. There are a lot of ups and downs and some side-slopes too to create a nice diversity of elevation use.

9) The course remained far away from other activities which is always appreciated . . . especially for me as a travelling disc golfer who doesn't know the layouts and distances by heart.

10) Constantly challenging course. I like to try and execute shots like the holes are designed and there really aren't any holes on the whole course that are just sitting right there for you. Sure you might make some birdies but you will earn them.

11) Exceptional property with all sorts of other activities. There is a recreation center which I am sure has bathrooms and a refreshment machine. There are also many other sports like baseball, soccer, and a jungle gym etc. Plenty of things for the family to do here.
Cons: 1) There was a lot of writing on baskets and one basket missing (which I later found out had happened only recently) along with a couple of basket thefts from other course. What a shame that a town with such great courses has to deal with the same issues as the rest of the country.

2) Compaction and erosion as it seems to be typical in this part of the country. The clay soils make it hard for turf to sustain growth through the heavy use and therefore we end up with a lot of compaction. The thinner turf then does not help prevent erosion off these compact soils.

3) Once you go out on the course you work your way away from the parking lot and #1 area the entire time until you reach Hole #16 so be prepared to be out for a while.

4) This course is far from being beginner friendly because of the constant challenge, the tight woods, the elevation, etc. Beginners will be more frustrated because there is no room for them to work their discs or accidentally miss the line and still stay in the fairway.

Other Thoughts: This is not a pro or a con but I have started to focus in on the fact that a lot of great holes and courses incorporate easements of certain utilities. This one is no different as there are a couple holes that run in and out of a gas-line easement and even two holes that use the easement creating a fairway the entire way, but still surrounded with tighter underbrush and woods.

I thoroughly loved this course and was a little shocked it was only in the low 3 disc range. I think if I lived in the area this would be the perfect course for my daily rounds, but the IDGC would be more of a special trip. This has everything on it and can still be fun too because you are rewarded for good shots.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Variably Horizontal

2-4    9/27/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Great variety in length, from an ace run, multiple birdy opportunities, easy-to-tough pars, and a few legitimate par-4s.

The excellent map, and directional signage scattered about, made the course a cinch to navigate.

Long-n-wide concrete tees, wooden benches, and trash cans for every hole.
Cons:
Single tee/single pin position.

About half the holes, 6-15, are missing the tee signs, and the signs that do remain are in poor shape.
Other Thoughts:
Other than #5, which plays near the road/parking lot, the course, located in a multi-purpose park, does not interfere with the other park users, playing in the utilities right-of-way and the edges of the woods forming the border of the park.

About half the holes are entirely contained within the woods, and have fair, but challenging, throwing lanes to hit. Only a couple holes are wide open. The remainder brings the woods into play in various ways, e.g.. open, pass through a bottleneck, then open again on the other side; or, treeline along entire leftside, also containing the basket, but ample room to swing the disc wide right on the drive.

There are subtle elevation changes on most every hole. Fairly even blend of straight/left-/right-turning shots needed from the teepad.

Favourite hole: #6. Flat, in the woods, straight the first ~225', then a sharp right, followed by a gentle continuation to the right as the flight path narrows as I heads to the basket another ~225' away.

Very solid course which should appeal to the intermediate/advanced audience.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    6/21/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: Brad1240
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A very unique and challenging course. It offers many obstacles with trees and other objects. Overall a great but not super difficult course to play.
Cons: The only thing bad I have to write on this course is it's very hard to find the holes after hole 5. I would recomend playing with a local or somebody who's at the park during the duration of the game.
Other Thoughts: 1-par 5. 3- par 4 and 14- par 3

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun round

1    4/21/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 798  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course uses the bits and pieces of land around the edges of a large multi-use park. Many of the holes are in pretty dense woods with lots of trees and some brush to punish errant shots. A few holes play more out in the open, but many of these still bring some areas of rough into play. Despite the nature of the park, there is very little conflict between the course and other park users.

There is a pretty good mix of left and right turning holes here, it plays pretty balanced for righties or lefties. Most of the holes are relatively short, but they often have tight lines to hit so it's not totally a birdie fest. There are a couple longer holes including a nice multi-shot hole through the woods where you'll need a couple accurate drives to have a chance at the 3. There are good concrete pads and the baskets are older but still catch fine.
Cons: Navigation is a bit of a mess here. Most of the tee posts have been torn out, so there's almost no signage at all to let you know what hole you're on, let alone the distance or direction to the pin. There are several long walks between holes that aren't at all obvious, I recommend a course map or a guide if you don't want to spend a while wandering to figure out the layout.

There were a lot of areas in the woods that seemed to hold water and get quite muddy. Many of the holes with any elevation showed erosion issues, especially the couple basket placements on slopes.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing here, but it would get a little frustrating without a map or a guide. There are some great holes here, but there are also several that don't offer much challenge or anything interesting. It would be a little tight for many beginners, it's not too long but many of the holes call for an accurate drive to stay out of the rough. More experienced players will find some good challenges sprinkled in to a mostly intermediate level course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Patriot's Parked

1    5/4/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a well maintained multi use park, that offers plenty of parking, restrooms/port-a johns and activities for non disc golfing family members.

Each hole had a nicely sized concrete tee pad and accompanying tee post, which made finding them easier for the first timer. There is a nice clockwise flow around the park.

Not entirely a wooded hole course. There is good use of elevation, and throwing over or near a small creek that weaves its way through some of the wooded holes. The hole distances varies, from some reachable deuce holes, to some longer par 4s. Good balance of different distances.
Cons: The biggest con for me was that a lot of the tee post were either missing, damaged or vandalized, which made it difficult on some holes to know the distance information, and if you were on the correct tee pad.

There were longer than normal walks between 11 and 12, and 15 and 16. A little difficult finding hole 6, while hole 16 was very muddy. I felt hole 17 was a little too close to a tennis court, with a really bad shot, could potentially enter the court.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely more difficult than your typical pitch and putt course. There is more variety, and length here. You will be challenged to make shots and control your disc.

Being a single tee, single basket course, it makes use of the available land that it's on. Providing additional tee or basket locations would only improve the course.

Since there are a lot of wooded holes on the course, there is a reasonable possibility of losing a disc.

If your in the area to play the IDGC courses, which are near by, this is a great compliment to those courses. It should not be missed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown Favorite

5+    12/31/2010   2/6/2011
Review By: do you juju
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being from Augusta, I have been across my fair share of solid courses, and Patriots Park is another one that consistently asks the most out of your game.The course plays throughout a multi-sport complex on the outskirts of Evans, GA. Each hole has its fair share of obstacles that require precision and concentration in order to achieve decent scores. The challenge that each hole offers is just tough enough to push yourself but not too severe where you cant enjoy the well manicured hole layouts. With a nice mixture of holes that play in and out of the woods bordering the soccer fields of the complex. I enjoy a course more when I dont birdie or par every hole every time I play there, and Patriots Park requires that.
Cons: The first few holes follow a pretty basic path that can be navigated by just visually locating the baskets. Once you nail a birdie on hole five by one of the entrances to the park, things can get pretty tricky if you have never played the course before. The only advice that the tee pad offered was the distance and par of each hole. After the first few holes the course can be pretty difficult to play. Throwing blind is never the easiest thing, so playing with a guide or with a sense of exploration as you venture up the fairway is necessary. Hole 16, as well as a few others, can be pretty nasty when you encounter the course after a storm as drainage can sometimes be an issue after a rain storm.
Other Thoughts: No matter how often you play the course your game will be tested amongst the tight fairways in the woods and the distance on some shots. Get a good stretch and/or a few warm up tosses before letting one rip on hole 1 because your arm will be tested throughout the course. Make sure to pick up your A game before heading out to this tremendous course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.