Grovetown, GA 
Patriot's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Throw down in the Grovetown

1    8/5/2014   8/7/2014
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Patriot's Park is a solid, mostly wooded course. With some open holes sprinkled in, your accuracy doesn't need to be dialed in the entire round.
- There's a good mix of hole layouts here. There are several open holes (hello easy birdie on #5), several tight layouts (#14 & 11), straight holes and dog legs. There's also a good variety in distances with four holes longer than 400 feet; four less than 250 feet and another seven in the 251 - 300 range.
- If you can control your mid-range shots, you will do well here. Even on the longer holes (mainly #6, 9 & 15), those are multi-shot, dogleg, station-to-station types of holes. So, by hitting a good landing spot at 250 feet, you're in great shape for birdie chances on those holes.
- I really enjoyed hole #10, my favorite on the course. It's a slight dogleg right, slight uphill, 275-foot layout. Good hole for you to carve a shot, with minimal trees meaning you can be aggressive. It didn't hurt my feelings about the hole that I had a birdie putt. Much less painful than missing the 25-foot putt, but that's the story of my disc golf life.
- - There are a couple holes where you can pull out your driver. #1 and 2 are good, simple ways to start your round. #18 is a good closing hole. It's a 370 foot, decently wide tee shot to a back in the woods to the right. This was a solid closing hole for this course.
- Course is very isolated from the rest of the park. Other than walking past the playground (to get to hole #1) or the walks from #4 to 5 & #15 to 16, amongst others, the course itself isn't impacted by other park activities.
- This is a great, big park overall. Lots of facilities for other activities: ball fields, tennis courts, running trail, a gym and playground. Everything looked to be in great shape. Now just pass along some of that attention to the course, and we'll all be happy.
Cons: Navigation and signage is horrible, truly taking away from the course's quality. There aren't maps on the tee signs, meaning, with so many blind tee shots, you'll have to do a lot of extra walking to scout. Or, like me, after doing this enough times, you'll stop doing that, instead begin throwing short, straight shots, choosing to take your chances.
- This didn't make a lick of sense to me. On some of these longer, blind shot holes, they had arrows/next tee signs pointing in the direction of the basket. That's great for me once I'm walking the hole. My discs, on the other hand, can't read that well, especially when they're soaring by the arrows, making it hard for them to know where to go. Perhaps bigger signs or elevated arrows will help my discs see when they're supposed to turn. Plus, I told them there would be no reading at this course, so they weren't prepared for that.
- There are a couple of long walks between holes, which again, could be helped out with better signage. The online map also doesn't offer that much help, mainly because it's so difficult to read. The map maker chose to color all the wooded areas, making 2/3 of the map gray right off the bat. Add to that the holes are thin lines (often a black line in the gray wooded area, which is easy to see) and tiny numbers for the holes.
- A few too many bland or gimmicky holes. I thought one of the worst holes on the course was #4. It's a 780-foot hole that starts in the woods, and then is long and straight for the remainder. It's the same shot two or three times in a row setting up your approach shot, while just trying to stay out of the woods.
- As for gimmicky, when I say that, I simply mean the designers tried to get creative, but ended up going a little overboard in a couple of spots. I wasn't a fan of #11 mainly due to the overly thick rough along the left hand side of the fairway in comparison to the narrow gap to hit. Make that gap a little wider, and I fully appreciate having a thick rough if you can't make the throw. Compare that to #12, which I thought was one of the better holes on the course. Look at the pics on here. It looks like virtually the same view from the tee. What makes #12 far superior is that the gap is much wider, meaning you can start your shot out further to the right, setting yourself up for this dogleg left shot back towards the woods. Just a slight difference separates a good hole from one that isn't.
- I hardly remember seeing many, if any, benches or trashcans throughout. You at least pass trashcans when you come across other parts of the park.
Other Thoughts: All in all, Patriot's Park is an enjoyable course. It's a frustrating play for a first timer; but, the regulars probably don't even notice the missing tee signs, long walks or other navigation issues. This does seem like the type of course that could grow on a person the more it's played.
- There's a good general flow to the course around the outskirts of the park property. The park does still have a lot of wooded, unused space. Maybe down the road, some of that land can be utilized for some disc golf holes, replacing some of the lesser qualities ones.
- The back nine is far superior to the front. While playing, I marked down the holes that I enjoyed or thought were really good. Five of the six I noted were on the back nine. The only one that stood out to me on the front side was #9, which was another blind tee shot layout that could have been better with improved signage.
- Whether right or wrong, I think this course will be often compared to the three layouts at the IDGC. I played there first, then drove straight here for another round. I surmise that many out-of-towners take this same route when travelling to the Augusta area. That said, it doesn't help this course's identity that it's so close to three elite layouts, making its flaws stand out.
- This is a solid, if not spectacular course. My hopes were a little higher for the course than was actually experienced. The positive aspect is that the issues are ones that can be easily addressed. With better signage and a little more maintenance (clearing out some rough and knocking down a few trees), the course will be better. That said, this is a solid 3.0 in my book. It's not the reason I'm driving to Augusta, but it's worth the play if you have the time, and perhaps more important, the energy, after experiencing the IDGC and Hippodrome.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    8/2/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 200  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a strong start, but keep going. There are some awesome holes here. The course has a varied design with some of the fairways abutting athletic fields, (although never really interfering) and some heading deeper into the woods. Hole 9 is actually the perfect summation of the course. The first half of the fairways is fairly bland. It runs roughly next to some fields but at no point is there much danger of a disc ending up where it shouldn't. It helps that any time that might be a possibility, there is a large net preventing it from happening. (The nets are there to keep soccer balls from going in to the woods, but the fairways make good use of them.) But half way down this long fairway, it turns into the woods. And wow, what a run to the basket. It's not overly tight but it's downhill to a creek and then a gradual climb to a high basket. The better holes here resemble that second half of nine and there are more than a few of them.
10 is a fantastic hole. It parallels the back half nine, using that same creek and valley to make what would be the best fairway on the course, if it weren't for 14. Not as much elevation as 10 but a nicely curved fairway that forces you over the creek to attempt to land near a basket that sits almost surrounded by a bend. 16 has a similar concept. In fact, all of the good holes here use that creek to some extent, whether as basket protection or just as lurking danger.
And on the variety side, there are some more open shots as well. A few of them are pretty cool, such as 2 which does have a short tunnel at one point, enforcing some accuracy. 3 does pretty much the same thing, except it is uphill where 2 was downhill.
The course is also perfectly suited for intermediate level players. In Augusta especially, this is a very good thing. The area already caters to those seeking an intense experience at the IDGC and Pendleton serves those who want an easy romp. Patriot's is the perfect course to slot in between those levels of difficulty.
Navigation is also well done. Without aids, this course would be a nightmare but every time I wanted a sign to point me in the right direction, there was one. On some of the longer walks, that meant several next tee arrows along the route and I was thankful for every one.
Cons: I'm not against open holes by any means but the ones here are a little on the bland side. It seems like there is too much terrain that is essentially side slope with woods on one side and athletic fields on the other. Not terrible, but they don't match up to what happens when this course goes into the woods. The only real dud is probably 5, which does play into some populated areas. At least it's a very short shot, minimizing the possibility for someone to take a driver to the face.
There are a ton of long walks between holes. Granted, this is better than sticking a hole in by the field you walk over, but still. It's excessive. The longest walk though, is that you will probably take trying to find the first tee. Someone should update the directions on DGCR because I never found it, except by starting at six and playing all the way through 18.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was very impressed and would slot this course in at about a 3.25 if I could. Others mentioned the "dry" creeks. For me the creeks were running with fast water which really make the course better. It's mostly aesthetics but I loved throwing over that bubbling water.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/3/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Par 59 with 3 par 4's and 1 par 5 , dedicated county maintenance , really good mix of par 3's .
Cons: Non-smoking course , several long walks to next tee , occasional flooding/swampiness on 5 or 6 holes .
Other Thoughts: Good test for your game from the combination of length and tight tee shots .

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/20/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: BCpreheim
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is well designed with a good variety of holes (long, short, wooded and open). Although water exists on the course it is not a real threat to claim discs. It may be the best value for a disc golf course in Augusta.
Cons: It is not well marked. After hole 5, 11, and 15 there are long walks that are not always obvious. It could use updating on benches, signage and trash cans but it does not take away from play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Patriot's Park

1    7/10/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: blando3281
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course with 18 holes spread out around a recreational complex for sports and swimming. Good use of the room available.
Cons: Twice my disc landed on an ant hill and the ants bite hard. Couple of longer walks between a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course that I will play again when I'm back in town!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Augusta?

1    5/10/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Patriots Park is an interesting course near Augusta, like another reviewer said it feels a lot like IDGC but a little less intense. There are some holes on here that remind you of Steady Ed course at IDGC here. I'm impressed by the par four holes out here especially as these types of holes are misunderstood sometimes by designers. This course plays more towards my skill level so I enjoyed it very much and it is challenging to intermediate players and those that hover around the 900 rated PDGA rating. Most of the course plays through some semi thick woods with punishing rough on the side, the kind I really like; a 300 foot hole can turn into a 5 or 6 on even skilled players if you're not careful. Hole distances range greatly between the open 220 footer and the long narrow bending fairway of hole 4 that reaches out to almost 800 feet long. The mix between right, left, up and downhill is showed off in nice fashion here challenging your distance control and the number of throwing skills you have.
Cons: The only hole that I really didn't love was hole five which was a pretty open 220 foot hole. There was nothing really 'wrong' with this hole and it actually was a nice change of pace but it seemed like a filler hole to get you to walk to the next section of woods. Being from out of town and playing the course for the first time we had a hard time finding the first hole and actually went into the gym and asked and then had to ask a disc golfer in the parking lot as well. Most of getting around after that isn't too bad with a couple of next tee signs but finding the last three holes was a bit of a pain once again.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for ticks and snakes on this course especially in those dry creeks I believe they are that are running through the course. This is a nice little place and an above average course and I really appreciate the area designated only for disc golf but the parking lot(s) get filled up pretty quick even on the weekday we went with people going to soccer, baseball and football games on the many fields at this big park so keep that in mind. I really liked this course because it challenged my skill level and abilities with some tough holes like numbers 4 and 9 with very different styles of par four holes. I go back and forth on whether this course or Riverview Park are my favorites around Augusta but I think this one wins out.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Feels like the IDGC Junior

1    2/13/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Kiosk at the beginning of the course with a general map and information.

2) Nice large concrete tees were appreciated on this course. I always felt like I had enough room to plant wherever I needed to.

3) Benches and posts by most tees to help you find the nest tee and rest if desired. This was a moderate walk through the woods so it was appreciated.

4) Directionals are visible in many spots but they also seem like some have been vandalized or fallen down.

5) Discatchers were a good choice for this course because of the yellow band being so visible on the wooded holes and helping you to find your way around the course.

6) Excellent use of the longer holes and tighter woods to create some true Par 4's. I love that this is the direction curses are being designed and I hope to get involved in this process. Placement shots should be the future in my opinion and here you need to place a lot of your drives.

7) Distance variation is great with holes in the 200', 300', 400' range and the one 750' down the easement. The 750' hole doesn't even feel like a filler because it is a really tough drive because you are forced to turn the disc slightly but not turn it over into a roller. Then you have to throw straight down the easement (50' wide fairway) and then have an approach to a basket on a downslope which can easily run past the basket or off to the sides on a rollaway.

8) Elevation use here is great. It isn't quite like Renny Gold or anything like that but it has the same sort of feel. There are a lot of ups and downs and some side-slopes too to create a nice diversity of elevation use.

9) The course remained far away from other activities which is always appreciated . . . especially for me as a travelling disc golfer who doesn't know the layouts and distances by heart.

10) Constantly challenging course. I like to try and execute shots like the holes are designed and there really aren't any holes on the whole course that are just sitting right there for you. Sure you might make some birdies but you will earn them.

11) Exceptional property with all sorts of other activities. There is a recreation center which I am sure has bathrooms and a refreshment machine. There are also many other sports like baseball, soccer, and a jungle gym etc. Plenty of things for the family to do here.
Cons: 1) There was a lot of writing on baskets and one basket missing (which I later found out had happened only recently) along with a couple of basket thefts from other course. What a shame that a town with such great courses has to deal with the same issues as the rest of the country.

2) Compaction and erosion as it seems to be typical in this part of the country. The clay soils make it hard for turf to sustain growth through the heavy use and therefore we end up with a lot of compaction. The thinner turf then does not help prevent erosion off these compact soils.

3) Once you go out on the course you work your way away from the parking lot and #1 area the entire time until you reach Hole #16 so be prepared to be out for a while.

4) This course is far from being beginner friendly because of the constant challenge, the tight woods, the elevation, etc. Beginners will be more frustrated because there is no room for them to work their discs or accidentally miss the line and still stay in the fairway.

Other Thoughts: This is not a pro or a con but I have started to focus in on the fact that a lot of great holes and courses incorporate easements of certain utilities. This one is no different as there are a couple holes that run in and out of a gas-line easement and even two holes that use the easement creating a fairway the entire way, but still surrounded with tighter underbrush and woods.

I thoroughly loved this course and was a little shocked it was only in the low 3 disc range. I think if I lived in the area this would be the perfect course for my daily rounds, but the IDGC would be more of a special trip. This has everything on it and can still be fun too because you are rewarded for good shots.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Variably Horizontal

2-4    9/27/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Great variety in length, from an ace run, multiple birdy opportunities, easy-to-tough pars, and a few legitimate par-4s.

The excellent map, and directional signage scattered about, made the course a cinch to navigate.

Long-n-wide concrete tees, wooden benches, and trash cans for every hole.
Cons:
Single tee/single pin position.

About half the holes, 6-15, are missing the tee signs, and the signs that do remain are in poor shape.
Other Thoughts:
Other than #5, which plays near the road/parking lot, the course, located in a multi-purpose park, does not interfere with the other park users, playing in the utilities right-of-way and the edges of the woods forming the border of the park.

About half the holes are entirely contained within the woods, and have fair, but challenging, throwing lanes to hit. Only a couple holes are wide open. The remainder brings the woods into play in various ways, e.g.. open, pass through a bottleneck, then open again on the other side; or, treeline along entire leftside, also containing the basket, but ample room to swing the disc wide right on the drive.

There are subtle elevation changes on most every hole. Fairly even blend of straight/left-/right-turning shots needed from the teepad.

Favourite hole: #6. Flat, in the woods, straight the first ~225', then a sharp right, followed by a gentle continuation to the right as the flight path narrows as I heads to the basket another ~225' away.

Very solid course which should appeal to the intermediate/advanced audience.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    6/21/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: Brad1240
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A very unique and challenging course. It offers many obstacles with trees and other objects. Overall a great but not super difficult course to play.
Cons: The only thing bad I have to write on this course is it's very hard to find the holes after hole 5. I would recomend playing with a local or somebody who's at the park during the duration of the game.
Other Thoughts: 1-par 5. 3- par 4 and 14- par 3

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun round

1    4/21/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course uses the bits and pieces of land around the edges of a large multi-use park. Many of the holes are in pretty dense woods with lots of trees and some brush to punish errant shots. A few holes play more out in the open, but many of these still bring some areas of rough into play. Despite the nature of the park, there is very little conflict between the course and other park users.

There is a pretty good mix of left and right turning holes here, it plays pretty balanced for righties or lefties. Most of the holes are relatively short, but they often have tight lines to hit so it's not totally a birdie fest. There are a couple longer holes including a nice multi-shot hole through the woods where you'll need a couple accurate drives to have a chance at the 3. There are good concrete pads and the baskets are older but still catch fine.
Cons: Navigation is a bit of a mess here. Most of the tee posts have been torn out, so there's almost no signage at all to let you know what hole you're on, let alone the distance or direction to the pin. There are several long walks between holes that aren't at all obvious, I recommend a course map or a guide if you don't want to spend a while wandering to figure out the layout.

There were a lot of areas in the woods that seemed to hold water and get quite muddy. Many of the holes with any elevation showed erosion issues, especially the couple basket placements on slopes.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing here, but it would get a little frustrating without a map or a guide. There are some great holes here, but there are also several that don't offer much challenge or anything interesting. It would be a little tight for many beginners, it's not too long but many of the holes call for an accurate drive to stay out of the rough. More experienced players will find some good challenges sprinkled in to a mostly intermediate level course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.