Grovetown, GA 
Patriot's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Nice Throw In Large Multi-Use Park!

1    7/15/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 720  Reviewed: 671  Exp: 37.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Patriot's Park is a very large county park with a swirl of activities going on. The course uses the entire park playing through wooded areas, around and behind ballfields, soccer fields, tot lots and past tennis courts. I thought the designers did a nice job staying out of these folks' way. Or maybe I was just lucky the afternoon I played in that regard. The teepads and tee signs were great. Navigation on the course was a little difficult for me as a first timer. There is a nice variety of technical wooded shots, open fairways, lefty-righty, etc. There were a couple of holes that I really enjoyed. # 12 throws below a soccer field fence to a basket set down in a gully below a very steep hillside. And then the next hole, # 13, is a fiarly non-descript hole except it has a very, lovely basket position. The basket is set up right behind a tree which has this odd branch growing out at an angle protecting the basket. Every course would love to have this tree and branch picture for their signature photo op.
Cons: I did have to waste some time trying to find my way around. The on-line map I had printed was difficult to follow. A few more next tee signs would help. Also, this is the first of the 20 + courses that I've played on this trip that has had vandalism problems. Many of the tee signs and posts have been uprooted and thrown about.
Other Thoughts: This course could use a little TLC from the locals. Many tee signs have to be replaced. Some navigational signs would be most appreciated. After playing the monster Gold courses at the PDGA Disc Golf Center in Appling, it was nice to get over here and experience a course designed for me, the average run of the mill recreational duffer.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    3/15/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: 33tango
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Basket and tee pads are top notch. Signage/course making good. Holes have variety. Course doesn't have left/right hander bias. Course doesn't interfere/cross other activities on site.
Cons: Drainage issue after rain makes getting through the course a muddy affair. Not much in the way of elevation variety.
Other Thoughts: There's an area with a triple strand of barb wire around one fenced in area and more than one fairway borders a ball field. An errant shot may be impossible or time consuming to retrieve. Scenery isn't anything special. I'd score this 3.25 if such a thing was possible.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Check the Schedule

1    6/11/2006   2/10/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 245  Reviewed: 232  Exp: 18.9 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located in a nice park. Mix of open and wooded. Some interesting holes around the softball fields.
Cons: Long walks to the next tee sometimes, but it seemed to flow well.

Park was very crowded and cars were parked all over a couple of holes. Softball field fences can come into play on some holes. I would avoid playing in the summer on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Next time in the area I will skip this course as there are better alternatives now. But it is still not a bad course to play.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Moderate

2/23/2005   3/23/2008
Review By: mreed12
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 20.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent course for those who are serious about wanting to get better. The mando's force you to throw certain ways.
Cons: Highly used park, they host many events which can stop and event prevent you from playing.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby

6/11/2007   3/13/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well layed out. Variety of shots require. Interesting pin placements on a few holes. Very clean park.
Cons: There was agirls softball tournament going on while we were there meaning we couldn't play at least 2 of the holes.
Other Thoughts: It was an average round of disc golf. It is close to the new PDGA courses as well, so it can be added to a DG excursion easily.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

11/22/2007   12/25/2007
Review By: mactavius
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well marked course that is layed out well. Concrete tees. Long holes mixed with short ones.
Cons: Good (not great) course through and through.
Other Thoughts: Courteous players. I played as a onesome and six groups allowed me to play through immediately.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.