Grovetown, GA 
Patriot's Park Share
Uploaded By: WAS1  
Park Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
  Patriots Park, Grovetown Georgia

1    10/1/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 169  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 37.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent facilities on site, (bathrooms, showers, course map and scorecard in foyer). Concrete Teepads.
Cons: Vandalism of teesigns. First time players should have a map.
Other Thoughts: This course literally plays clockwise around a huge area that includes softball complexes, soccer fields, a gymnasium, parking lots, and tennis courts. The average hole length is 300 to 400 feet. One huge long hole, 750 feet (#4), and the shortest 250 feet. Only one hole, # 5 plays on the grass. The rest of the course plays in and through heavily wooded areas. There is a good mix straight tight teeshots, dogleg rights, and dogleg lefts. In order to get around the whole area, there is some walking to do between some of the holes. You should go to the entrance to the indoor facility and get a map of the course if you havent played here before.
There are some elevation changes throughout the course but nothing major. Baskets and teepads are in good shape. The vandalism to the teesigns make it a little more difficult to get around the course, but if you look for the white 3 foot tall posts used as markers with a course map in hand, you shouldn't have too much trouble. For first time players some of the blind tee shots will have you walking down the fairways to spot the basket. A couple of holes have been stretched out longer than the teesigns say, but there are signs posted to let you know of that fact.
Because of the tree factor, I believe advanced and pro players will like this course better than a beginner or intermediate player will. Some of the doglegs are better played the second time, as the first time around you will not know what distance or direction is needed for your layup/placement shot off the teepad so you can continue down the fairway to the basket (course knowledge).
This course is not too difficult to play, technically its higher than average. Risk/reward off the teepad and down the fairways is average. No tee shot is unfair in the respect there are routes you can shoot down on every hole. If you stay on the fairway you will score well, if not then a side arm or a cut roller shot will be needed to get you back to where you belong (the fairway).
I enjoyed playing this course, Thursday afternoon there is nobody on the course. I got a little frustrated with the doglegs, but that was from my lack of course knowledge. A few more round there and I know it would be a better experience. As mentioned before, the vandalism to the tee signs and marker posts is unfortunate, but almost every course across the nation has vandalism at some level.
If this course was here in Utah, I would rate it as a 4. Since its in a region where there are a lot more options for disc golf, it brings it down somewhere between a 3 and 3.5. I would play this course again however, if only for the fact its not crowded. At least during the week.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little above average

5+    7/30/2005   7/30/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 124  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 21.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course mixes some tight wooded, technical holes (half or more of the course) with some very nice-defined fairway holes, with open routes but trouble if you miss them. A fine mix, and a solid challenge to your disc golf game.

No real signature or "WOW" holes, but a lot of good, solid holes. A couple of chances to air it out.
Cons: Some of the wooded fairways are very tight; whether a "pro" or "con" depends on your taste for this sort of thing.

A few long walks between holes.

Probably an unfair "con", but this course is near Augusta, which has a number of better courses.
Other Thoughts: Patriot's Park is definitely worth playing. If you're traveling to the area and only have time for 1 or 2 courses, this might not be one of them, but if you've time for more, be sure to include this one.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Throw In Large Multi-Use Park!

1    7/15/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1006  Reviewed: 956  Exp: 38.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Patriot's Park is a very large county park with a swirl of activities going on. The course uses the entire park playing through wooded areas, around and behind ballfields, soccer fields, tot lots and past tennis courts. I thought the designers did a nice job staying out of these folks' way. Or maybe I was just lucky the afternoon I played in that regard. The teepads and tee signs were great. Navigation on the course was a little difficult for me as a first timer. There is a nice variety of technical wooded shots, open fairways, lefty-righty, etc. There were a couple of holes that I really enjoyed. # 12 throws below a soccer field fence to a basket set down in a gully below a very steep hillside. And then the next hole, # 13, is a fiarly non-descript hole except it has a very, lovely basket position. The basket is set up right behind a tree which has this odd branch growing out at an angle protecting the basket. Every course would love to have this tree and branch picture for their signature photo op.
Cons: I did have to waste some time trying to find my way around. The on-line map I had printed was difficult to follow. A few more next tee signs would help. Also, this is the first of the 20 + courses that I've played on this trip that has had vandalism problems. Many of the tee signs and posts have been uprooted and thrown about.
Other Thoughts: This course could use a little TLC from the locals. Many tee signs have to be replaced. Some navigational signs would be most appreciated. After playing the monster Gold courses at the PDGA Disc Golf Center in Appling, it was nice to get over here and experience a course designed for me, the average run of the mill recreational duffer.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    3/15/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: 33tango
Played: 19  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Basket and tee pads are top notch. Signage/course making good. Holes have variety. Course doesn't have left/right hander bias. Course doesn't interfere/cross other activities on site.
Cons: Drainage issue after rain makes getting through the course a muddy affair. Not much in the way of elevation variety.
Other Thoughts: There's an area with a triple strand of barb wire around one fenced in area and more than one fairway borders a ball field. An errant shot may be impossible or time consuming to retrieve. Scenery isn't anything special. I'd score this 3.25 if such a thing was possible.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Check the Schedule

1    6/11/2006   2/10/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 265  Reviewed: 251  Exp: 20.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located in a nice park. Mix of open and wooded. Some interesting holes around the softball fields.
Cons: Long walks to the next tee sometimes, but it seemed to flow well.

Park was very crowded and cars were parked all over a couple of holes. Softball field fences can come into play on some holes. I would avoid playing in the summer on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Next time in the area I will skip this course as there are better alternatives now. But it is still not a bad course to play.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Moderate

2/23/2005   3/23/2008
Review By: mreed12
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent course for those who are serious about wanting to get better. The mando's force you to throw certain ways.
Cons: Highly used park, they host many events which can stop and event prevent you from playing.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby

6/11/2007   3/13/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well layed out. Variety of shots require. Interesting pin placements on a few holes. Very clean park.
Cons: There was agirls softball tournament going on while we were there meaning we couldn't play at least 2 of the holes.
Other Thoughts: It was an average round of disc golf. It is close to the new PDGA courses as well, so it can be added to a DG excursion easily.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

11/22/2007   12/25/2007
Review By: mactavius
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well marked course that is layed out well. Concrete tees. Long holes mixed with short ones.
Cons: Good (not great) course through and through.
Other Thoughts: Courteous players. I played as a onesome and six groups allowed me to play through immediately.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.