Grovetown, GA 
Patriot's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Patriot's Parked

1    5/4/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a well maintained multi use park, that offers plenty of parking, restrooms/port-a johns and activities for non disc golfing family members.

Each hole had a nicely sized concrete tee pad and accompanying tee post, which made finding them easier for the first timer. There is a nice clockwise flow around the park.

Not entirely a wooded hole course. There is good use of elevation, and throwing over or near a small creek that weaves its way through some of the wooded holes. The hole distances varies, from some reachable deuce holes, to some longer par 4s. Good balance of different distances.
Cons: The biggest con for me was that a lot of the tee post were either missing, damaged or vandalized, which made it difficult on some holes to know the distance information, and if you were on the correct tee pad.

There were longer than normal walks between 11 and 12, and 15 and 16. A little difficult finding hole 6, while hole 16 was very muddy. I felt hole 17 was a little too close to a tennis court, with a really bad shot, could potentially enter the court.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely more difficult than your typical pitch and putt course. There is more variety, and length here. You will be challenged to make shots and control your disc.

Being a single tee, single basket course, it makes use of the available land that it's on. Providing additional tee or basket locations would only improve the course.

Since there are a lot of wooded holes on the course, there is a reasonable possibility of losing a disc.

If your in the area to play the IDGC courses, which are near by, this is a great compliment to those courses. It should not be missed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown Favorite

5+    12/31/2010   2/6/2011
Review By: do you juju
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being from Augusta, I have been across my fair share of solid courses, and Patriots Park is another one that consistently asks the most out of your game.The course plays throughout a multi-sport complex on the outskirts of Evans, GA. Each hole has its fair share of obstacles that require precision and concentration in order to achieve decent scores. The challenge that each hole offers is just tough enough to push yourself but not too severe where you cant enjoy the well manicured hole layouts. With a nice mixture of holes that play in and out of the woods bordering the soccer fields of the complex. I enjoy a course more when I dont birdie or par every hole every time I play there, and Patriots Park requires that.
Cons: The first few holes follow a pretty basic path that can be navigated by just visually locating the baskets. Once you nail a birdie on hole five by one of the entrances to the park, things can get pretty tricky if you have never played the course before. The only advice that the tee pad offered was the distance and par of each hole. After the first few holes the course can be pretty difficult to play. Throwing blind is never the easiest thing, so playing with a guide or with a sense of exploration as you venture up the fairway is necessary. Hole 16, as well as a few others, can be pretty nasty when you encounter the course after a storm as drainage can sometimes be an issue after a rain storm.
Other Thoughts: No matter how often you play the course your game will be tested amongst the tight fairways in the woods and the distance on some shots. Get a good stretch and/or a few warm up tosses before letting one rip on hole 1 because your arm will be tested throughout the course. Make sure to pick up your A game before heading out to this tremendous course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Patriots Pride

5+    1/19/2011   1/20/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Patriots park is a solid disc golf course in a very nice sports and recreation park. Scorecards and maps are available in the office during weekday work hours. Each hole has a concrete tee pad and basket in reasonably good condition. A few trash cans are placed throughout the course. Very good variance of short/distance, wooded/open, left/right, some water, and some elevation. The fairways are not always easy, but a birdie isn't out of the question on most holes.
Cons: The drainage has improved recently, but it can be a bit messy after rain. Tee signs do not include hole maps, and several are blind shots off the tee. There are a few long walks transitioning between holes, crossing parking lots or skirting baseball and soccer fields.
Other Thoughts: I live in the Augusta area and play Patriots Park about twice a month. The course has gotten the best of me for 5 years now, I had only shot even par (59) once. Until yesterday! I was able to break through with a 55 and only one bogey, and it inspired me to write this review. Patriots has many challenging fairways that demand accuracy and distance to score well. Birdies are attainable on most holes, but keeping bogies off the scorecard was always a bigger issue for me. Thick woods can cause trouble if accuracy fails. This course may be frustrating to beginners or a first time visitor, but as I have gotten to know it, it has garnered my respect and love. In a town with many great disc golf courses, each with their own personality, Patriots is just one more worthy adversary.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course in Multi-use Facility

1    12/31/2010   1/1/2011
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a little bit of everything in a fairly confined environment. It's located in a multi-use facility that includes tennis courts, basketball courts, football fields, and baseball fields. Even with all of these taking up a majority of the park, the designers of this course still managed to produce a great layout with what they had. Most of the holes have clear fairways with strategically placed trees to shape your drives. However, there is still a good deal of variation in distance, the direction of the holes, and elevation. Sloping greens also make for a challenge on most holes. Some of the holes have signs indicating distance, almost all have benches, and there are a good number of trash cans to be found. All tees are concrete and are plenty big enough for a run-up.
Cons: Although there were signs on some holes, none of the signs actually provided maps of the holes. The fact that a lot of the holes have baskets that can't be seen from the tee makes this an inconvenience for the average traveler coming through without a guide. There are also few places to find water on the course, and if the main building is locked then you're completely out of luck. Also some minor erosion and drainage problems on some holes, but overall these were not bad.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a great course to play. I was able to rip some maximum distance drives on a few holes, but the majority of the holes call for accuracy over power. I also wanted to add that the locals using the other amenities at the park were exceptionally nice. If you're driving into Augusta from Atlanta you should make this your first stop. A great warm up for any of the courses at Wildwood or Hippodrome.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Least favorite of all the Augusta courses...

5+    9/24/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: btucker11
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful park with all the amenities. The tee pads and pins are in great shape. Nice mix of long and short holes. Many of the holes play through the woods. Tight well played shots needed on many of them. #6 is in my opinion one of the hardest playing holes i have played to date. You don't have to worry about sharing the course with other park visitors. Check it out for yourself.
Cons: Very wet whenever it rains for weeks at a time. Bad drainage I guess. Challenging course but not terribly tough....I'll go with words from another reviewer you'll either love it or hate it.
Other Thoughts: I rank my courses according to the other courses in the immediate area, because I have a young family and don't get to travel.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    7/13/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: CatFish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signs, trash cans, concrete tee pads, most are through the trees but have nice fairways.
Cons: none really, wet for many days after any rain
Other Thoughts: Great course, play it often. Challenging but not real difficult. A few open holes, most are through the trees. Bring water, its a walk. Could use "Next Tee" signs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Probably should have played on a better day??

1    4/2/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: ProOffense
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I grew up coming to this park playing rec soccer, football, and baseball. The facilities are more than acceptable. The front office is very helpful, and would strongly advise picking up a course map before venturing onto the playing grounds. The benches at each hole make for good resting points. The pins are easily marked. (For the most part)
Cons: Ok, here it goes... As much time as i have spent on the grounds, just recently was the first time i've played the disc course. It was 95 degrees outside and the pollen wave was at its worst. So lets say it wasn't the most pleasent experiance. I think if the weather was nicer and i wasn't sick from the pollen, it would have been a Average course at best. The markers at each tee pad are about as helpful as none being there. I had to walk out the fairway to find the chains on multiple holes. Not really a well thought out course in my opinion, kinda seems as though they just threw out tee pads and chains throughout the grounds and gave no real thought to disc flight or ease of access to the chains. Also, the walk between some of the holes is really excessive. Do not play on a sweltering day!
Other Thoughts: Ugh... it really kills me to give such a harsh review, but i really did not have that good a time playing here. And being so close to Augusta and North Augusta, there are definately better courses. Its very clear that it's a course that you really like, or REALLY hate. You will just have to try it and see where you fall in this mix.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Patriots Park, Grovetown Georgia

1    10/1/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 157  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent facilities on site, (bathrooms, showers, course map and scorecard in foyer). Concrete Teepads.
Cons: Vandalism of teesigns. First time players should have a map.
Other Thoughts: This course literally plays clockwise around a huge area that includes softball complexes, soccer fields, a gymnasium, parking lots, and tennis courts. The average hole length is 300 to 400 feet. One huge long hole, 750 feet (#4), and the shortest 250 feet. Only one hole, # 5 plays on the grass. The rest of the course plays in and through heavily wooded areas. There is a good mix straight tight teeshots, dogleg rights, and dogleg lefts. In order to get around the whole area, there is some walking to do between some of the holes. You should go to the entrance to the indoor facility and get a map of the course if you havent played here before.
There are some elevation changes throughout the course but nothing major. Baskets and teepads are in good shape. The vandalism to the teesigns make it a little more difficult to get around the course, but if you look for the white 3 foot tall posts used as markers with a course map in hand, you shouldn't have too much trouble. For first time players some of the blind tee shots will have you walking down the fairways to spot the basket. A couple of holes have been stretched out longer than the teesigns say, but there are signs posted to let you know of that fact.
Because of the tree factor, I believe advanced and pro players will like this course better than a beginner or intermediate player will. Some of the doglegs are better played the second time, as the first time around you will not know what distance or direction is needed for your layup/placement shot off the teepad so you can continue down the fairway to the basket (course knowledge).
This course is not too difficult to play, technically its higher than average. Risk/reward off the teepad and down the fairways is average. No tee shot is unfair in the respect there are routes you can shoot down on every hole. If you stay on the fairway you will score well, if not then a side arm or a cut roller shot will be needed to get you back to where you belong (the fairway).
I enjoyed playing this course, Thursday afternoon there is nobody on the course. I got a little frustrated with the doglegs, but that was from my lack of course knowledge. A few more round there and I know it would be a better experience. As mentioned before, the vandalism to the tee signs and marker posts is unfortunate, but almost every course across the nation has vandalism at some level.
If this course was here in Utah, I would rate it as a 4. Since its in a region where there are a lot more options for disc golf, it brings it down somewhere between a 3 and 3.5. I would play this course again however, if only for the fact its not crowded. At least during the week.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little above average

5+    7/30/2005   7/30/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course mixes some tight wooded, technical holes (half or more of the course) with some very nice-defined fairway holes, with open routes but trouble if you miss them. A fine mix, and a solid challenge to your disc golf game.

No real signature or "WOW" holes, but a lot of good, solid holes. A couple of chances to air it out.
Cons: Some of the wooded fairways are very tight; whether a "pro" or "con" depends on your taste for this sort of thing.

A few long walks between holes.

Probably an unfair "con", but this course is near Augusta, which has a number of better courses.
Other Thoughts: Patriot's Park is definitely worth playing. If you're traveling to the area and only have time for 1 or 2 courses, this might not be one of them, but if you've time for more, be sure to include this one.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Throw In Large Multi-Use Park!

1    7/15/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Patriot's Park is a very large county park with a swirl of activities going on. The course uses the entire park playing through wooded areas, around and behind ballfields, soccer fields, tot lots and past tennis courts. I thought the designers did a nice job staying out of these folks' way. Or maybe I was just lucky the afternoon I played in that regard. The teepads and tee signs were great. Navigation on the course was a little difficult for me as a first timer. There is a nice variety of technical wooded shots, open fairways, lefty-righty, etc. There were a couple of holes that I really enjoyed. # 12 throws below a soccer field fence to a basket set down in a gully below a very steep hillside. And then the next hole, # 13, is a fiarly non-descript hole except it has a very, lovely basket position. The basket is set up right behind a tree which has this odd branch growing out at an angle protecting the basket. Every course would love to have this tree and branch picture for their signature photo op.
Cons: I did have to waste some time trying to find my way around. The on-line map I had printed was difficult to follow. A few more next tee signs would help. Also, this is the first of the 20 + courses that I've played on this trip that has had vandalism problems. Many of the tee signs and posts have been uprooted and thrown about.
Other Thoughts: This course could use a little TLC from the locals. Many tee signs have to be replaced. Some navigational signs would be most appreciated. After playing the monster Gold courses at the PDGA Disc Golf Center in Appling, it was nice to get over here and experience a course designed for me, the average run of the mill recreational duffer.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.