Baton Rouge, LA 
Broadmoor U. Methodist Church Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #4 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 177ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good place to practice!

2-4    12/21/2013   12/22/2013
Review By: Fazeddie
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Simple, straightforward for the most part. Well done on such a small piece of property. Baskets in good shape. A lot of out of bounds that make you play safe on a short course. #1, 6, & 7 could find your disc OB & possibly non retrievable. Good luck if you're a newbie finding #7. Behind the building w/ a blind shot & mostly concrete OB.
Cons: Needs to have the course markings updated. For a brand new player like me, if others had not shown up to show me the lay out I might not have figured it out as the "overview" map is unreadable. Sign posts are in a state of disrepair as well. You can barely read the #2 on that sign & it's broken. Details of each hole on signs long since faded or lost.
Not to be rude, but #9 is some kind of masochistic joke. Tried to play it once over the last 2 days & won't bother again until I have "expert" by my name.
Other Thoughts: Great place to learn the game & practice despite the negatives.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Baskets in a Yard

1    2/5/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: MikeK
Played: 191  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful blue powdercoated DGA Mach 5 baskets, a little bit of shade and trees, and a couple of quirky holes.
Cons: Really is more of a practice facility than a course, it feels like playing in a big back yard with the neighbors' dogs barking when you get too close to the fence.
Other Thoughts: It's on such a tiny property that it doesn't really feel like a course at all. It feels more like a skills test course. A couple of baskets are very close to the fence (less than 10 feet I think) on the property line and the dogs on the other side don't seem real friendly---I wouldn't hop the fence if I threw over.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Entertaining shorty...

2-4    12/16/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: LookIhitAtREE
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well designed course for maximum fun in a tiny footprint. I took my wife, who doesn't play much, and she enjoyed it so much we played it twice. Very recommended course for beginners to enjoy without having to throw 300+, yet still still enough challenge, due to trees and odd shaped lines, to keep better players in the fun zone. Very pretty little course, well kept grass, nice old trees.
Very nice baskets that were in perfect condition. Overall this course was fun to play and not too taxing, even for a beginner, ultra-casual player (the wife), or a kid.
Cons: People at the church did not understand what we were doing and walked into the middle of our shot to gather pecans, we waited a few and then finished. Rather short, might bore some better players. Pavement comes into play a few times, as well as buildings. Surrounded by yards with low fences, so errant shots may find their way over. Slightly confusing layout, easy to play wrong basket if you are not careful.
Other Thoughts: If you are in Baton Rouge anyway, this was a really fun course. Take a new player or someone learning, they will love it and so will you. :)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better than it Looks

5+    11/12/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: Drivin2win
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Medium Wooded, has good basket placement. Trees and other obstacles that used to be a problem are cut down and/or moved away. A creek, the parking lot, and Residential yards are OB. Not very congested, but great uses of trees. Challenging course for a beginner or Recreational Player.
Hole 9 is long, thin, and straight. If you stray too far to the left, you will have to deal with a mando, OB, and possibly a car. If you stray too far to the right, the disc flies into an unoccupied house. Trees block the view of the basket, and a creek down the middle (about 8 or 9 feet wide) is also OB. The concrete slabs near the basket are not considered OB. This is indeed a challenge to score a deuce, but is certainly possible.
Cons: It is not very well marked, and for the first time, getting around is confusing. It goes all over the place on the grounds of the church.

IMPORTANT: This course is not always open for playing. Cars are often in the line of danger, and a wayward disc can fly through someone's window. Also, the grounds are the church's and they often use it for their own purposes. Temporary obstacles are often placed in the way. The two buildings mentioned below are home to a Boy Scout troop, so they often have cars, nets, gardens, and even kayaks in the way of throwing. Just remember that this is church grounds, not BREC.

The course utilizes two buildings side by side, and hole 6 and 7 are right behind these. 6 uses small box gardens and currently a large heap of dirt for OB. On the left is a residential yard. 7 is a short, forehand hyzer to the right. Very easy to overthrow and roll into the driveway (OB) or mess up a backhand and fly into someone's yard. Right in front of the teebox, off to the right a little are the building and a A/C unit. They are quite damage resistant (they completely shielded the windows) but a disc is often enough not.
And did I mention the dogs?
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is quite a challenging course. Players who played in 2007 to 2009 should come back and see if they like it more. Plus the fact that it is very close to my house - I live in that neighborhood.

This is a good course for beginners to practice, or Pros to put the icing on their short game.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Real Paradox

2-4    10/20/2007   3/3/2009
Review By: bayouace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun, short, church course that will require only your approach discs and/or putter. Shady. Basket placements are the challenge and use the trees well. Also uses a garden and buildings. OB's are residential yards and a gully. Residents were nice about one disc that flew too far. Fine course to work on your technical short game. Not as easy as it looks for a Recreational player. Easy to get around from basket to next tee.
Cons: That brings us to holes 6, 7, and 9. 6 and 7 are short and utilize a building that many will almost certainly hit. On 6 you must hyzer around a garden and go get your disc in same if you don't throw well. The problem with 7 is that you must annie around the building, with about 8 feet between the bldg and the residential fence, to the basket, or go high and over the roof corner, and you run a risk of scratching up your disc on a cement drive area next to the basket by the church. This brings me to 9, which parallels a parking lot on the left and the gully on the right. The fairway is maybe 12-15 feet wide between the two. So too much left and you scratch up the disc and OB and too much right and you go fishing and OB. The basket placement is difficult. It has blocking trees that make a high hyzer an adventure. 9 is one of the toughest holes I have played anywhere to get a 2, as the distance would indicate.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in the Fall of 2007, so maybe things have changed. It is fun, but bring some old discs. I think it is great that the church offers this. Beginners my want to do 1-6 and 8 for a while.Without more land I think the church folks have done a fine job with what they have. I will play this again

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.