Disc Golf Store
Norwood Young America, MN 
Baylor Park Share
Uploaded By: Craig639 Hole #13 (Taken 10/2008)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 255ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not Worthy of Pay to Play

5+    9/2/2012   8/31/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 46  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintained park
-Some open holes, some wooded holes.
-Water is in play on a couple holes
-18 holes
-Clearly defined holes
-a beach on the land so after a sweaty round or two you can jump in if necessary.
Cons: -This course is not worthy of a pay to play status. Its unfortunate it is wrapped into the park fee, because as a free course it is a decent 18 that i would play, but pass it up now because you have to pay.
-a lot of open holes to the extent at points you feel like most the course is in a field with some trees.
Other Thoughts: In general i think this is a good course, just shouldn't have to pay and $ to play it. I have went out and bit the $5 bullet way more than i would ever expect but that is mainly because it is the closest, good course i can get to. So when i dont feel like driving an hour, i will stop by this course. Give it a shot once, but i by no means feel like it is something anyone would go out of their way for.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beat the front nine and reap the rewards on the back

5+    9/7/2012   5/13/2013
Review By: Tlrmessner
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.2 Years
Pros: Well marked and good layout for the land. Starts and finishes right at the parking lot, and also causes a lot of redemption rounds. Great signature hole in #2, being a shot to a small island with bridge access. Good mix of long and short holes.
Cons: $5 to play isn't terrible, but it's not quite a pay to play quality course. A lot of the holes are wide open so a rhbh player need only a strong hyzer for most. Woods can get overrun with mosquitoes, and I am not one to back down from a few bugs. One hole plays along the park, and can sometimes get congested on nice days
Other Thoughts: This was a hometown course for a couple years, and a great addition to an area lacking courses. The front nine, in particular holes 5 - 9 are the ones that determine your round. You can afford to give a few, but they sometimes take a lot. Keep your patience when going through the wooded holes,and bring bug spray. Then it opens up and shortens up on the back nine for a chance to shoot low.

 Quiet and mellow

5+    7/25/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: Double Helix
Played: 102  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.3 Years
Pros: A true island green - 360 degree surroundede by water! Nice chains. Not a lot of play. Beautiful park setting. On site camping, grilling, swimming and observatory (if you sched it right). Very well manicured. Scoring opportunities abundant!
Cons: Maybe too simple back 9. Grass tees. Can be buggy. Has nearly every kind of thorn plant know to grow in MN waiting for you on holes 6-8. Nearby campground sometimes bring 8-or-9-some first-time famlies out.
Other Thoughts: Some people don't like the parking fee but I think it keeps the course more open. I've been the only one out there on a sunny summer Saturday afternoon many times. A great multiple round course. Keep it close on the front and you can tear it up on the backside. Great for beginners and the more seasoned players should score well.

  Fun and never busy!

5+    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: wintermath
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.2 Years
Pros: -Variety of shots with a wonderful island green on #2.
-Very quiet and never busy
- good baskets
Cons: -grass tee pads
-bugs!
- a few boring straight holes
Don't walk by hole #5 (it's back to the right from basket #4)
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course, and its much better than the other closest option in Glenco. Hope they pour some tees soon!

 Still some time to go

1    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes in a scenic multi use park with new ( DGA) baskets and nice grooming of fairways. Some holes seem to have multiple teepads planned but nothing is poured yet. Each hole is sponsored by a person or persons so it seems a local group is driving the development which bodes well. Basic signage giving distance and hole number is in place.

Has a nice variety of shots and hole distances with good use of available trees and rough to define shot selection. Most areas of the park are fairly open, this isn't a forest course but a few holes do play in the woods.

It has a good signature hole (#2) as others have mentioned. Nice to see an island green finally.
Cons: Some holes are just straight throws in an open field with no real obstacles. Kinda boring.
Since it is a multi use park you run into the other activity issue. For instance, hole 9 plays very near a volleyball court and a few other holes play near a gravel road used by cars, bikes, and walkers.

The rough on the 2 holes in the woods is really rough with itchweed everywhere. Bugs are also an issue. Normally I don't mention bugs, but this course plays near a swamp and water and you will get attacked.
Other Thoughts: A 5$ entry fee for the park makes it a tough call when teepads aren't poured yet.
Once everything is done on this course it will be a pretty darn good course. As it is it is still a work in progress.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.